Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids > Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park Reviews

Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park
Caerfai Road
St Davids
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6QT
Tel: 01437 720274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 107
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lynwen42 2 reviews from this member

 This was a site to return to, great scenery, dramatic walks along the cliffs, pleasant open pitches separate from caravans and statics so retaining a really good atmosphere. Facilities were very clean, management helpful. The only criticism was the lack of a freezer for cooling ice packs. Short walk into St Davids and a slightly longer walk to Solva along the cliff tops. Very useful farm produce. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gaznpooh 1 review from this member

 The photo certainly doesn't disappoint. When you arrive at the Site the view is truly amazing, just as the photo promises. It is definitely worth driving down the narrow lane to get to the campsite. We (family 2 adults, 2 children) were very happy with the site. We have a tent so were initially worried about how busy/noisy it would be during peak time, but needn't have. The campsite has strict rules about noise which people adhered to so we weren't disturbed at all and the pitches are very generous so you didn't feel that you were on top of anyone. The facilities were excellent there are ample family rooms, two of which have small baths which made our lives much easier as one of our children hates showers. There's lots to do in the surrounding areas and with the beach 5 mins walk away the children were never bored. You can walk to St Davids, but there is also a bus available at the top of the road, opposite the Tourist Information Office which would probably take about 10 - 15 mins to walk. In all the site is ideally positioned for people who want to explore and/or spend time at the beach neither of which requires a car to do so. The staff are friendly and helpful and in all would have no hesitation in recommending the site. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jaclmur 4 reviews from this member

 This is just the most wonderful touring park. We have been twice now and would definitely go back again. The facilities are excellent. The shower/bathing facilities cater for all needs with either a shower, bath or disabled shower in each cubicle along with a sink and toilet. Even if the site was full, there was no waiting for a cubicle.

The views across the bay are breathtaking, and all the pitches have sea views. There is a small bay close by (albeit with a short but quite steep walk to it). The coast path has excellent walking right from the site.

It is a short walk into St Davids, with a pub-stop half way.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Dogs are welcome, and many of the pubs in St Davids are dog-friendly.

I would highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Traceyloo 1 review from this member

 Me My husband and our 2 boys have just returned from Caerfai Bay after staying 8 nights.

We arrived to glorious sunshine and amazing views My husband was very pleased with my choice which was a good start.

Our pitch was quite central in field 3 and on a slight slope but with such amazing views that was a small price to pay.

It is a lovely walk up the lane into St Davids with all the amenities you could want and a great surf shop Ma Simes which my boys loved.

The bay itself can be a bit sea weedy first thing but soon clears and then the sea is lovely and a great place for rocky pooling.

White sands and Newgale Beaches are brilliant loads of parking and only £2/£3 per day great for body boarding, surfing and lovely flat sands for playing or lazying on.

The coastal walks are great and very accessible from the campsite,maps available from St Davids Tourist info at top of the lane for only 50p each bargain.

Loads to to in the area so you won't run out of ideas if you don't get blessed with good weather.

We has fantastic weather during the day bar 1 when it rained but had 2 very,very windy nights so good tents and firm pegging down is highly recommended incase you should encounter a breeze!

We all had an amazing time and are definitely returning next year with in laws nieces and nephews.

Overall the site has great facilities Wetsuit wash rooms,Take away, Laundrette and good pot washing facilities.Showers can be a little cool if you go at busy times but they are clean and I never had to wait to use either the shower or the toilet.

A fantastic site with fantastic views in a fantastic area. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Steve Fox 2 reviews from this member

 I agree with all the comments that have been made. The views are to die for and the charges are reasonable, but there is a price to pay: the access road is very narrow as you approach the site and although there are passing places, as a previous reviewer has commented, they are not particularly wide if you encounter another motorhome coming in the opposite direction.
The second problem is that if you are in field two, it is quite a long trek to empty your chemical toilet - not great if it is pouring with rain and there's a howling gale. Finally, when I was there, the site was quite crowded and as a result I had to queue for the loos, showers and washing-up facilities at various times.
Having said all that, I have to be fair and repeat that the views are stunning, the pricing fair, the welcome friendly and the location very convenient for the delightful city of St David's. The facilities were very clean too, despite all the traffic. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Douglas1 2 reviews from this member

 Caerfai Bay, one of the loveliest sites we have stayed on, the view’s are amazing over looking St Bride’s bay. The site is well kept, good facilities plenty of hot water. The pitches have strict rules on where you pitch, so plenty of room between, no over crowding, and very quiet.

The beech is a secluded cove it’s quite a steep walk down but well worth it, and easy access to the coastal path, with the most dramatic coast line, aqua green sea, bright blue sky, coves and little islands, views that would beat any Greece island hands down!

St David’s is within easy walking distance, either up the country road or via the coastal path, plenty of shops including supermarket. Also a really good coffee shop with the yummiest ice creams (just past police station on way down to cathedral)

The Framers Arms serves good food, and do try its sister pub ‘sloop inn’ highly recommended. And if you what really excellence food, try the Swan @ Little Haven, what a find, the best meal we had all year (not just the holiday)

Additionally most pubs are dog friendly so bonus in the hot weather, and boy was it hot, definitely staycation for us 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Snoopy33 2 reviews from this member

 We were disappointed by this site. It occupies a lovely position with stunning views but the site was unkempt - the grass hadn't been cut and there were weeds everywhere.

Upon arrival we reported in to an office that was full of tatty furniture with clutter all over the floor and the welcome was lukewarm to say the least. The facilities were tired and the whole site could do with a bit of tidying up. Although new arrivals were not supposed to turn up until after 2 pm, the people who were going to occupy our pitch turned up at 11:00 while we were still packing up and couldn't wait for us to leave. They should not have been allowed in at that time of day.

Also, the statics were dated and spoilt the view.

St Davids is a gem, with a lovely cathedral and nice shops and restaurants. Lots of beaches and the lovely Solva not far away. I agree that the lane is very narrow and we too hoped not to meet another outfit coming the other way!

All in all, it is a shame because this site is popular because of its setting and access to the beach, not because of the facilities. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Banal 4 reviews from this member

 Great site with lovely views over St Bride's bay.

As per the previous poster- don't be put off by the statics. But. I caught the tail end of the school Easter holidays and there was a bit of noise from them (nothing anti-social but maybe sounds quieter in a static than in a tent!)- very peaceful after 10.30 though.

Lovely showers/facilities (and a wetsuit room) If like me, you want to give the kids some freedom (and not be trailing to the) toilet block every half hour, be warned- they have a strict rule about under 7's not using the toilets unaccompanied.

St David's a 20 min walk and easy for 6 year old legs, plus the costal path runs just outside the gate.

All in all a very good site. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Neilos 5 reviews from this member

 When I first arrived I was a little put off by the sight of caravans in the first field. However the second and third fields are very nice. They look out to a beautiful coastline. The campsite staff were all very friendly and helpful. The facilities were excellent. St davids is a 10 - 15 minute walk away. Caerfai Bay is 5 minutes walk down a steep path. I was able to carry my kayak down to the beach no problem. I usually visit Hillend Campsite on the Gower. Caerfai Bay I found was well worth the extra drive and much better value for money. 10/10 very good stuff. 


Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Grumpyman 27 reviews from this member

 Fantastic views clean showers nice staff. Bit of a walk to ST Davids but you cant have everything. Some pitches are not very level and there are statics.
Beware the road to the site is narrow but with passing places. I can see why the site is very busy. A good location to tour the area and then relaxing the evening away.
Water taps were situated near to the pitches we used. 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Davids      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2218 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement