Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids > Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park Reviews

Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park
Caerfai Road
St Davids
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6QT
Tel: 01437 720274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 107
Open: 01/03/2021 to 07/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 115 Reviews
                9/10 from 115 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caerfai watch 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site but.

A) The owner never smiles and can be very rude when asserting her authority, like the cold wind of Siberia. She never days Hello.

B) No where for children to play, an accident waiting to happen, as all children play on the roads

C) Gipsy campers park for nothing on the public car park just outside the site but use the toilet facilities of the Caravan park for free.

D) The beach is a 500 yard walk down a very steep path.

E) how on earth the Camp site won an award this year because all pitches on on a steep Hill, and exposed to winds that often destroy the Tents and awnings attached to the caravans.

F) Access to the site is down 3/4 mile single track road, a nightmare If your are towing a Caravan and another is heading towards you. Many caravanners leave in a convoy so forcing other caravanners to reverse back up the Hill. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Goatstarer 2 reviews from this member

 Been visiting this site for 5 years and it remains our most preferred site.

For those who have yet to visit you are missing a view that has to be experienced and the proximity to the Pembrokeshire coast path is the icing on the cake. Sunsets are spectacular and the night sky is something else.

Facilities and staff are lovely and the site fairly well set out but some pitches a bit too close.

Very busy and somewhat noisy in peak season, but do what we do and go out of season.

Narrow approach lane from main road and a tight right hand bend into site mean that you don't want to meet anything coming the other way.

Once pitched and settled leave your car and take the short walk into St Davids. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Winniebergo 2 reviews from this member

 This is the 3rd time me and my flower and the two dogs have stayed at this site and every time we love it! First two, the sun shone (which aways makes it better), 3rd time rain and wind!

It commands great views over the sea, great walk around the coast into St. Davids (and the pubs).

The site is lovely and clean, piping hot water in the shower block and the staff at reception are really friendly. Its a lovely open site, we will be returning! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Motorhometrips 22 reviews from this member

 This is a superb site. We received a friendly welcome and they were perfectly happy for me to look over the site and choose our pitch, All pitches appear to have excellent seaviews and the one we chose, it appeared that we were nearly on the coastal path.

Sanitary facilities are good and kept clean and disabled access appears reasonable. There is a dedicated motorhome service point which always receives a plus from me. For these facilities, 18 for EHU was reasonable and the high season premium is not excessive.

The coastal path is a short stroll away and St Davids is a 25 minute walk, along the coastal path route, rather than the road, which you enter the site. St Davids is a delightful town with plenty of places to eat and a supermarket. A visit to the Bishop's Palace is a must as you are easily transported, by imagination back into history. There are superb coastal walks and additionally there are reasonable bus services, if you only want to walk one way. The Puffin bus and an hourly regular bus runs to Solva and Newgale whilst the Coaster runs an hourly service from town to Whitesands. (more regular in peak season)

The last 1/2 mile of the road to the site is single track but as long as you take it steady there should be no problem and there are opportunities to pass as well. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SlowTravels 5 reviews from this member

 Excellent site on the outskirts of St. Davids, short walk into town and right on the coast path so you can go one way one day and the other the next so ideal for walking. Beach is very close too.

Two shower blocks on site depending where you are pitched, we were in the second field where the pitches for the campervans is levelled out of a slope (and hardstanding) so you have a tiered affair, these are at an angle to the coast so once a van parked next to us we had to sit at the front or back of the van for a view, no great hardship at all. Shower block was very clean, good sized shower cubicles.

The greatest attention to detail - unlike many many campsites you go to the showers had a proper sized seat in there for your clothes and plenty of hooks. Stupid little thing really but makes showering that much easier and gives you an idea of the little details that they have done to make the place comfortable to stay at.

Dogs are not allowed for most of the year but they were when we went at the beginning of September, I guess the long term caravanners know that dogs arent allowed but we got tired of having to explain they were at that time of year since there was an evident anti dog feeling from those people (not the site owners who have provided a dog walking area, not that this is needed with the coast path near by), but hey ho, that's their problem.

Not the cheapest site but you certainly get good value for money with regards facilities and location. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Swanp 1 review from this member

 The site is excellent. Great location, great views from our pitch and also the organic shop that serves hot croissants/pan au chocolates when it opens at 9. 00.

The road down to the site is a single track which we fortunately didn't meet anything coming teh other way whilst arriving or leaving.

St David's is an easy walk in and the cafe Sound does an excellent Tapas.

If you have an awning take wind straps.

The only problem we found and it is a big one is that the bay itself attracted a lot of rubbish opposite a shipping lane which was a shame as it had great waves for boarding. One day I had to remove a wheel (minus tyre) and the following day a large jerry can and a pink rubber glove.

The beaches around by whitesands are cleaner (saw seals around there) and much better and so we stopped using the bay which was one of the main reasons that had attracted us to the site in the first place.  


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Searchlighters 15 reviews from this member

 This is a wonderful site. We absolutely loved it! Peaceful, beautiful views, great facilities and within walking distance of beautiful St Davids.

Pitches are a generous size and all have fantastic views out to sea. Toilets/showers are a good size, immaculately clean and with plenty of (free) hot water.

There is direct access to the Pembrokeshire Coast path with some wonderful walks in either direction - remember to keep your eye out for porpoise and seals. There is also a fantastic beach within two minutes of the site albeit via a relatively steep path - worth the small amount of effort required.

St Davids is about a 10 to 15 minute walk away and is extremely pretty with lots of pubs and eateries - as well as the gorgeous cathedral.

Our children are grown up so I didn't notice if there was a play area but I think kids would love it. There is a small dog walk but given there is a dog friendly beach and coast path a minute or so away the size wasn't an issue.

All in all a really fabulous site - we have booked a return visit! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: GrumpyBoaby 58 reviews from this member

 We had 5 Nights at Caerfai Bay touring park, Nr St Davids, we enjoyed every minute of it, we were in field one, on washed gravel hard standing, with fresh water and drainage close to the pitch, stunning views from our pitch.

As mentioned by other visitors to the site, it has good facilities, a wee gem of a site and will come back in the future.

We had two days of heavy rain and gales, but still managed down to the beach and local farm shop. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bettyj69 2 reviews from this member

 Unfortunately, our stay was cut short at Caerfai Bay due to the unfortunate British weather.

Site is beautiful, views are stunning. We were pleased with our pitch (we were in Field 3).

The shower block/washing facility were very clean and we never had to queue for showers. There are 2 in the female toilets and there are also 4 family rooms. The water was hot when I used the showers.

The only downside was that the hot water for the dishwashing was heated by solar panels and it was cold. We were told by another camper that they had been there a week, and they hadn't known the water to be hot yet.

I will definitely go back to Caerfai Bay - we were gutted we had to leave early, but it was better to be safe than sorry. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Scubakeefy 7 reviews from this member

 What more can I say other than a great, fantastic site overlooking the sea from the cliff tops.

We were blessed with glorious weather for the two days we were there so made the most of it. We cycled to Whitesands bay, pretty easy except for the last bit when you leave which is all uphill then reasonably level for the main part of the journey.

It is a short, reasonably non steep walk down the path to the beach which is a tiny cove ideal for kids to rock pool and explore.

The coastal walk goes from this location too all along the Pembrokeshire coast and affords stunning views but make sure you have a head for heights, which I do not!

Overall, all facilities were spot on. Modern, clean, spacious and warm showers.

Easy walk or cycle into St Davids city which is lovely with just the right amount of bars and places to eat. Small galleries are dotted around with local artist and craft ware although in one of them, the front room of a house the name escapes me, when the owner realised I was a painter too, the mood changed from welcome to hurry off out as I know you are not going to buy! to be fair, it was the artists wife and I am sure the artist would have been more chatty and interested as us artists do like to share! it was a shame as the work was stunning but expensive, and after at least half a dozen mentions of 'they have to pay the mortgage' we left a little jaded!

Anyway, I ramble on.

Great site, great pitches all with a view and lovely location with easy access to organic shops etc. What more can you want? 


Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Davids      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4543 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement