Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Site Reviews

Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park
Caerfai Road
St Davids
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6QT
Tel: 01437 720274
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 107
Open: April To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Polly7705 3 reviews from this member

Wonderful site. We turned up without booking, but staff were so kind and helpful. The view was breathtaking with easy access to the coastal path.

Easy walk into St David's which has a super deli and a range of coffee and gift shops.

Toilets, showers and washing up facilities were spotlessly clean.

We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Damaca 24 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site, perfectly positioned on the Pembrokeshire Coast path for nice walks in both directions, and only a short walk to St Davids's for its charming cathedral, excellent coffee shop (Pebbles), good deli, a couple of excellent clothes shops, and several pubs. The sea views from the pitches are fantastic.

Site staff are friendly and helpful, although we noticed that the office (early season) was sometimes closed and new arrivals were instructed by a notice to find their own pitches.

The warm (! good in cold weather) kitchen/family room/playroom/ dishwasher room/ laundry/ shower & loo area was great. Cleanliness was good. The grey water motorhome discharge point / fresh water point was very wide, level, and easy to drive on to (NB many other sites!). The site (so presumably the local council) has a good recycling scheme.

Next door is an organic farm, - a notice warns campers about its smell but we found it soothing and rural ! We didn't find the slightly narrow access road any problem - try some places in the Scottish Highlands and Islands for really hard to drive places !

We only mark it down to 9/10 instead of 10 for 2 reasons - a) wifi is available at a not insubstantial price but is rather unreliable and we had to leave our van and walk around the site several times to reconnect - not a good thing in poor weather ; & b) all the pitches are varyingly sloping, - we changed pitch to a slightly less sloping one, but still had to chock up our wheels to different levels and even then couldn't get really level.

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sssnake 33 reviews from this member

Absolutely loved it and highly recommend it to you.

Beautiful cliff top location and only a short walk into the city of St Davids (where if you are a carnivore you must try a lamb Oggie). A very short stroll down to the beach which although small is a great wee place.

Site is very well equipped with camperís kitchens and comfortable shower/toilet facilities. Extremely welcoming and helpful owners and staff and great value for money.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 28 reviews from this member

This was our first time at Caerfai Bay and what a lovely site ! We were pitched one of the motor home pitches in the 2nd field and the view over the bay was amazing. The site is exposed and high up so be prepared for the wind ! The last leg of the road up to the site is narrow but we managed ok with no issue.

The facilities on site were clean and warm and there was never any queuing. There are also family rooms available with shower sink and toilet. Facilities for tent campers looked excellent.

Access to a lovely sandy cove, which is dog friendly, is down some steep steps, alternatively the coastal path can be accessed from right outside the site. The site does have a very small dog walk but our dogs were more than happy with beach.

St Davidís is easily each reached on foot from the site and has various cafes and pubs to eat and drink.

Would definitely recommend

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: F40Sirius 4 reviews from this member

Spent 3 nights here earlier this month. We were late bookers so the pitch wasn't the greatest (on a slope as many are) but worth it for the location with views across the bay.

Facilities are very good with plenty of clean showers and toilets available, even with the site being full. We made a point of walking to the main block (same building as reception) for showers etc as these were invariably empty.

Access to the site is via a narrow road so be prepared to have to reverse if necessary and/or, as I had to, explain to an idiot who's just driven by a passing place that he might wish to engage reverse gear. It's only a couple of 100 yards where the road is really narrow but folks with larger vehicles/tailors should be aware.

From a location perspective, the site is excellent. It's right on the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path - on a couple of days we took local buses out and walked back along the path to the site from both directions.

All in all, a great site and we'll definitely be back.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: 07scottk 5 reviews from this member

One of the very best campsites we have used. Top facilities, including phone-charging lock ups and a warm, comfortable kitchen area. Great value for money too, with superb location giving expansive views over St. Brides Bay, easy walk into St. David's and close access to the coast path.

Have stayed here both with a campervan (incl. Hookup) and, last year, whilst on foot with a backpacker tent. Couldn't fault Caerfai Bay on either occasion.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Risfor 4 reviews from this member

Stopped here for 3 weeks. First week just my husband & I, second week with 2 grandsons and alone again for the third week

The approach road is single track with passing places. We have a motorhome and the pitch we had booked on was gravel. Needed to use our levellers as it was slightly uneven. Our pitch overlooked the sea and what a sight that was! Whether it was sunny or cloudy, the views are stunning

There is static caravans, an area for tents and an area for tents and motorhomes.

The toilet block had a separate female and male shower rooms. There was 3 toilets and 3 showers with a sink and a toilet which we used, these were very clean. There was also family rooms which we also used when our grandsons stayed. There is a wetsuit room, washing up area and then at the side where the reception is there is a play area for toddlers, an info area with lots of interesting leaflets, kettle, microwave and toaster, plenty of washing up sinks and 2 washers and 2 dryers that are commercial sized

The site just lacked a little outside play area for the children

There is coastal walks and a very steep hill to the little beach that is wonderful and clean.

Just outside the main gates, there is a little farm shop.

Either a little drive away or a walk away is St David's which is really nice with some lovely shops and cafes as well as the Cathedral

A lovely part of South Wales to stay

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mandy C 5 reviews from this member

This is without doubt the best site we have ever used! Views from every pitch are truly breathtaking. Staff are first class; very helpful, professional and so friendly. Facilities are superb. Immaculately clean, well maintained and warm. There is a rest room and kitchen for all to use, which incorporates a laundry, plus toaster, microwave, induction cooking ring and a selection of plates, cups and pots. We arrived without a booking and were given a wonderful pitch, with uninterrupted views across the sea. Had intended to stay just one night but ended up staying three. Access to delightful cove is via a steep path but if you take it slowly it's no problem. The coastal path is about a minute from the site and my dogs and I enjoyed some very happy hours walking along the cliffs. My dogs were made very welcome and they enjoyed their time here too. Thank you Caerfai Bay Campsite, for a perfect stay. Don't change a thing - you're top of my list.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Windrush2 7 reviews from this member

This is one of my favourites, if not my favourite campsite I have ever been to, and I try to make time to stay every year.

Excellent views and a great location in easy walking distance to the city, and excellent coastal access.

Staff are friendly, and the facilities are pretty good (the original block has more recently been refurbished however the block servicing the tent/caravan fields is also pretty good. There are also plenty of other services including warm washing-up areas, as well as a small kitchen/laundry section which is especially useful at cooler times of the year.

Well worth the price.

Be warned for anyone camping earlier or later in the year, the site is west-facing and has little shelter - wind speeds can be quite extreme sometimes.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Nettie 3 reviews from this member

We enjoyed our stay here very much. The caravan was immaculately clean and well equipped, with great views over St. Brides Bay. It's in a great location within easy reach of the city of St. Davids, close access to the coast path and a short walk to Caerfai Bay itself. Everyone at the site was helpful and friendly especially when a family crisis meant we had to leave early. The campers' facilities looked good too and the pitches for caravans, motorhomes and tents looked to be a decent size and well laid out. We'd definitely go back, whether as campers or to stay in a static van again. Top class.

Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3202 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!