Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids > Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park Reviews

Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park
Caerfai Road
St Davids
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6QT
Tel: 01437 720274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 107
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aishlynsmum 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic sea views from every pitch here. The site is small & well spaced; they were full but there was plenty of open grass area. Facilities were simple but pretty clean & never seemed overcrowded. Pleasant kitchen/dining area available too; good for campers in the rain! Access to coast path is excellent & St Davis's itself was a real surprise; a lot going on for such a small place. We loved it & would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dawath1948 21 reviews from this member

 The site is located 1 mile from St Davidís at the end of a very narrow sloping lane (not good for nervous drivers!).

The site is sloping; the hardstanding pitches are relatively flat. Very large site with 110 touring pitches and static units.

Well organised site with 2 very handy and very clean facilities, including kitchen areas etc. , there are only 3 showers in each block, which may be a problem in the high season.

Ideal for all campers, caravanner's etc.

Most of the hard standing pitches are on the cliff top, superb view.

No shop on site, but a small shop is available at the farm site next door, or in St David's about a mile away.

Skomer Island is just across the bay an hours drive. 
Management response: Thank you for your review, to ensure that people are not mislead regarding the number of showers at Caerfai Bay there are 15 showers across our two amenity blocks. In the first amenity block there are three showers in the mens facilities and three showers in the ladies facilities and a shower in the disabled facility. In our second amenity block there are two showers in the mens facilities and two showers in the ladies facilities, and an additional four showers in our family rooms which are available for all our guests to use.

Many thanks, Caerfai Bay


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 134 reviews from this member

 The site is located 1 mile from St Davidís at the end of a very narrow ĺ mile lane (not good for nervous drivers!). The site is sloping; the hardstanding pitches are relatively flat. Very large commercial site with 110 touring pitches and static units. Well organised site with very hand extra facilities, kitchen areas etc. Ideal for campers and wet weather.

Two facilities blocks on site, one by the reception area and one by the touring/camping field, plus family bathrooms. Could imagine these are problematic at peak seasons given the size and popularity of this site.

Caerfai Bay with safe bathing/surfing/kayaking is 5 minute walk from the site although this is quite steep with a few steps to the beach. The coastal path is located outside the site entrance.

The site has no shop, but a farm shop run by the adjoining camping site is only 5 minutesí walk from the site.

Wi-Fi is available but costs £ 1. 00/hour or £ 3. 00/day. Electric is only a 10 amp supply to pitches.

Overall very good location, views and access to sea/coastal walks, clean and tidy facilities and easy access to St Davidís. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hilary C 31 reviews from this member

 To find this site go right to the very end of the road like you want the public car park and you will see a sharp right hand bend into the site. We stayed here for two nights in field 2, hard standing, electric and water close by. There are two drive over drains for motorhomes to use for grey water. I do wonder if there would be enough showers and toilets if the site was full and don't be put off by the appearance from the outside as inside they had been modernized quite nicely although only 2 showers in our block there were also 2 privacy washbasins as well and everything always spotlessly clean. There were also two family rooms. I imagine this would be an excellent site for those with tents as the indoor washing up facilities were very good also having a fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster. There are also mobile phone charging lockers. It is about a mile walk into St. Davids, partly along the narrow twisty lane that you will have driven along on arrival. We visited the Oriel y Parc gallery which has a very nice cafe. I recommend the delicatessen in St. Davids for welsh cheese and they also sell a few free from foods. The Cathedral is a further half a mile and is down in the valley meaning a steep climb back up a slope and steps and is well worth visiting. We couldn't find a newsagent to buy a newspaper and were told to go to CK's Supermarket down New Street (look for Barclays Bank on the corner) and it's quite a way down. We decided we'd walked far enough and didn't bother. We didn't walk down to the beach as it was a bit uneven but the views from the site or the public cliff top car park where there is a bench seat are beautiful. I didn't see any play facilities for children. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Callie968 57 reviews from this member

 We stayed here at Easter for 5 nights in a Twin Axel tourer. We thought the site access lane was very narrow in some parts and quite stressful for such a big van as ours we did it but were surprised the site and the reviews have never mentioned this please be aware.

Fabulous views on immaculate site the shower block although dated was clean and had spacious showers with lovely warm water however there was only 3 showers in the main block so there maybe a queue in peak season.

Beach 2 minutes away and is dog friendly if you like the beach and walking this is the site for you, Older children maybe bored as there is not even a small park and Wifi Charges are quite steep just be aware if you have moany teenagers !

St Davids, Whitesands beach and Newgale lovely, great area for exploring.

Pitches large well drained and cared for, need some dog poo bins on site though.

Would be nice if there was a small shop on site for essentials but the Spar at the nearest garage is very well stocked.

Staff very friendly and helpful, site felt secure and friendly but maybe for older couples or young families out of season when the weathers colder and you cant use the beach as much.

Would recommend particularly to tent campers as they have a great indoor campers kitchen available to use with tables chairs a microwave kettle fridge and freezer and wash up facilities all free of charge and very warm and clean.

Statics to hire also looked very nice and cared for. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chris4 18 reviews from this member

 A well-organised site with very good facilities and fantastic views along the coast and out to sea. Well arranged pitches, some directly above the cliff-top (all pre-booked when we arrived) and others further back but with excellent views. Great location for walking the coast path which is accessible directly from the site. Lovely beach a few minutes walk away. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dave 418 35 reviews from this member

 Another stay at this great site. The only small niggle with this site is the lack of a shop. Hence 9 for site facilities Not a problem to us but if you need anything the nearest supermarket is off the main street in town. We were walking up to catch the bus so we did our shopping whilst in town.

We couldn't find fault with the site. Like last time we had an uninterrupted view out to sea. The coast path runs past the site entrance.

Other sites need to think about there motorhome service points. This site has two drive over drains. One I think is the original with lift up covers in the ground. The second one is a drive over drain type.

A site we will go back to. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Fionavan 39 reviews from this member

 We've stayed here previously so knew that it is in a great location - fantastic walks as you are right on the coast path, close enough to walk into St David's. There is also a fantastic farm shop - pop along for your breakfast croissants, stop by in the afternoon to collect something for supper - they sell so much lovely stuff!

A warm welcome in reception & they were very helpful on the phone as we booked while en route. Some areas don't take dogs in high season, so plan ahead if you wish to camp & take the dog but the site were very accommodating.

Spotless facilities with piping hot water my only concern would be if the site was full they would be very busy.

We couldn't comment on child friendliness as we don't take one with us - but there's lots to do & lots of fresh air. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

 Stunning part of Wales and we chose this site especially for the views - we were not disappointed even on a very wet Monday!

Friendly check in and lots of information given. We had a good sized hardstanding pitch with views over the coast in Field 2, which seemed to be full of motorhomes!

2 toilet/shower blocks on site (one in field 2 and one near the main reception). Small but always clean. Ours had 4 'family rooms' which were always busy, each with either shower or bath plus sink and toilet. The ladies had 3 or 4 toilets, 2 privacy cubicles and another 2 shower cubicles and I assume the gents was similar?! There was also washing up sinks housed in the same building and a small kitchen for campers use! Dustbins and recycling just outside the block. There only seemed to be one chemical disposal area (for your toilet) and that was right up near reception so empty it on a dry day! The access road down to the site from the main road is small in places but there are some passing places, you just need to be lucky! Wi-Fi expensive and in fact it wasn't working when we stayed (not the sites fault, good old BT again!).

There's a small farm shop on the site next door but it never seemed to be open! Odd times - 2 hours in the early morning and then 2 hours 4-6pm - so never used it.

We walked into St Davids quite a few times, the first time along the coast path past St Nons Chapel and Well (stunning) and the other times via the small lane from the main road - care is required! St Davids is a pretty city, lovely cathedral and bishops palace ruins. It has a couple of nice pubs The Bishop (the touristy one) and The Farmers (the locally one)! Although the menus are very similar so we think they maybe owned by the same people? Drinks were a lot cheaper in the Farmers and we ate in there too one evening and the food and service was really good. We also ate in Saffron, an Indian restaurant in St Davids which was also very good. Lots of little cafes and tearooms to choose from too.

From the site we also walked along the coastal path to the pretty fishing village of Solva. It's about 4 miles or so and is a bit up and down but the views are stunning. We caught the bus back to St Davids from Solva. They run about every hour or so and it was a reasonable £1. 70 each (single). There is also a large visitor centre in St Davids which has lots of interesting information.

Lovely area, nice site. I'm sure we'll be back one day. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Angieb13 6 reviews from this member

 My husband and myself plus our dog stayed here in June. The site was lovely & quiet very relaxing. Fabulous access to the coastal path. Shower block was clean and site was immaculate. They don't take dogs during summer holidays. Farm shop across the road does lovely croissants & pain au chocolat, but you need to be there early. Views are spectacular across the sea. Short stroll into St Davids where there are a few pubs & shops. Highly recommend x 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Davids      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1720 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement