Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids > Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park Reviews

Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park
Caerfai Road
St Davids
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6QT
Tel: 01437 720274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 107
Open: 01/03/2021 to 07/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 115 Reviews
                9/10 from 115 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Campingreview 2 reviews from this member

 What a lovely campsite. We were perched in a windy field just back from the coast path, full of rooks and wagtails. The view of the bay was amazing, ships and waves and rocks and islands by day, and by night lights, from ships and lighthouses and villages. The facilities are excellent: the showers and toilets are clean and well-appointed. As is the kitchen/washing up room, which has been thoughtfully supplied with tea and coffee and utensils, a hob and a microwave. I think there is also a fridge and a freezer. There are family showers and a room for washing and drying wetsuits. Lots of hook-ups and water points, and really important, the recycling area is clean and well used. The campsite is right next to access to Caerfai Bay and the coast path leading to Solva in one direction, and St Justinians in the other, and it's only a short walk up the lane to the very helpful visitor centre (they even had an exhibition of paintings by Graham Sutherland) and a further step to the tiny city of St Davids, with its little jewel of a plant nursery, and the cathedral and its surroundings - definitely worth a whole day's visiting. Would definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Esthermate 3 reviews from this member

 Best equipped campsite I have been too. Fantastic facilities and beautiful location right next to a secluded beach overlooking Ramsay island. Also loved the fact that it was walking distance to St David's. Fantastic big camping pitch. Site very quiet at night. Very reasonable too. Loved the on site kitchen facilities and amount of showers/toilets. Staff very friendly. Only minor quibble was a luke warm dribbly shower on the first morning but tip top apart from that. More set up for adults than families. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Maisie3351 2 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site in a wonderful position overlooking the sea. The showers and loos were spotless and there were good 'family room' facilities in the block. Plenty of hot water. The site is well arranged so everyone has a good sized pitch. Just on the outskirts of St Davids - about a 10 mins walk in. Lovely shops and cafes in St Davids - and of course the Cathedral. Fully recommend the site. Just one point - we have a smallish campervan - the road down to the site is quite steep and might not be easy for large caravans. No shop on site, but a lovely organic shop just up the hill by the next campsite. Prices reasonable. Will visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aishlynsmum 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic sea views from every pitch here. The site is small & well spaced; they were full but there was plenty of open grass area. Facilities were simple but pretty clean & never seemed overcrowded. Pleasant kitchen/dining area available too; good for campers in the rain! Access to coast path is excellent & St Davis's itself was a real surprise; a lot going on for such a small place. We loved it & would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dawath1948 21 reviews from this member

 The site is located 1 mile from St Davidís at the end of a very narrow sloping lane (not good for nervous drivers!).

The site is sloping; the hardstanding pitches are relatively flat. Very large site with 110 touring pitches and static units.

Well organised site with 2 very handy and very clean facilities, including kitchen areas etc. , there are only 3 showers in each block, which may be a problem in the high season.

Ideal for all campers, caravanner's etc.

Most of the hard standing pitches are on the cliff top, superb view.

No shop on site, but a small shop is available at the farm site next door, or in St David's about a mile away.

Skomer Island is just across the bay an hours drive. 
Management response: Thank you for your review, to ensure that people are not mislead regarding the number of showers at Caerfai Bay there are 15 showers across our two amenity blocks. In the first amenity block there are three showers in the mens facilities and three showers in the ladies facilities and a shower in the disabled facility. In our second amenity block there are two showers in the mens facilities and two showers in the ladies facilities, and an additional four showers in our family rooms which are available for all our guests to use.

Many thanks, Caerfai Bay

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 134 reviews from this member

 The site is located 1 mile from St Davidís at the end of a very narrow ĺ mile lane (not good for nervous drivers!). The site is sloping; the hardstanding pitches are relatively flat. Very large commercial site with 110 touring pitches and static units. Well organised site with very hand extra facilities, kitchen areas etc. Ideal for campers and wet weather.

Two facilities blocks on site, one by the reception area and one by the touring/camping field, plus family bathrooms. Could imagine these are problematic at peak seasons given the size and popularity of this site.

Caerfai Bay with safe bathing/surfing/kayaking is 5 minute walk from the site although this is quite steep with a few steps to the beach. The coastal path is located outside the site entrance.

The site has no shop, but a farm shop run by the adjoining camping site is only 5 minutesí walk from the site.

Wi-Fi is available but costs £ 1. 00/hour or £ 3. 00/day. Electric is only a 10 amp supply to pitches.

Overall very good location, views and access to sea/coastal walks, clean and tidy facilities and easy access to St Davidís. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hilary C 31 reviews from this member

 To find this site go right to the very end of the road like you want the public car park and you will see a sharp right hand bend into the site. We stayed here for two nights in field 2, hard standing, electric and water close by. There are two drive over drains for motorhomes to use for grey water. I do wonder if there would be enough showers and toilets if the site was full and don't be put off by the appearance from the outside as inside they had been modernized quite nicely although only 2 showers in our block there were also 2 privacy washbasins as well and everything always spotlessly clean. There were also two family rooms. I imagine this would be an excellent site for those with tents as the indoor washing up facilities were very good also having a fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster. There are also mobile phone charging lockers. It is about a mile walk into St. Davids, partly along the narrow twisty lane that you will have driven along on arrival. We visited the Oriel y Parc gallery which has a very nice cafe. I recommend the delicatessen in St. Davids for welsh cheese and they also sell a few free from foods. The Cathedral is a further half a mile and is down in the valley meaning a steep climb back up a slope and steps and is well worth visiting. We couldn't find a newsagent to buy a newspaper and were told to go to CK's Supermarket down New Street (look for Barclays Bank on the corner) and it's quite a way down. We decided we'd walked far enough and didn't bother. We didn't walk down to the beach as it was a bit uneven but the views from the site or the public cliff top car park where there is a bench seat are beautiful. I didn't see any play facilities for children. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Callie968 57 reviews from this member

 We stayed here at Easter for 5 nights in a Twin Axel tourer. We thought the site access lane was very narrow in some parts and quite stressful for such a big van as ours we did it but were surprised the site and the reviews have never mentioned this please be aware.

Fabulous views on immaculate site the shower block although dated was clean and had spacious showers with lovely warm water however there was only 3 showers in the main block so there maybe a queue in peak season.

Beach 2 minutes away and is dog friendly if you like the beach and walking this is the site for you, Older children maybe bored as there is not even a small park and Wifi Charges are quite steep just be aware if you have moany teenagers !

St Davids, Whitesands beach and Newgale lovely, great area for exploring.

Pitches large well drained and cared for, need some dog poo bins on site though.

Would be nice if there was a small shop on site for essentials but the Spar at the nearest garage is very well stocked.

Staff very friendly and helpful, site felt secure and friendly but maybe for older couples or young families out of season when the weathers colder and you cant use the beach as much.

Would recommend particularly to tent campers as they have a great indoor campers kitchen available to use with tables chairs a microwave kettle fridge and freezer and wash up facilities all free of charge and very warm and clean.

Statics to hire also looked very nice and cared for. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chris4 18 reviews from this member

 A well-organised site with very good facilities and fantastic views along the coast and out to sea. Well arranged pitches, some directly above the cliff-top (all pre-booked when we arrived) and others further back but with excellent views. Great location for walking the coast path which is accessible directly from the site. Lovely beach a few minutes walk away. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dave 418 35 reviews from this member

 Another stay at this great site. The only small niggle with this site is the lack of a shop. Hence 9 for site facilities Not a problem to us but if you need anything the nearest supermarket is off the main street in town. We were walking up to catch the bus so we did our shopping whilst in town.

We couldn't find fault with the site. Like last time we had an uninterrupted view out to sea. The coast path runs past the site entrance.

Other sites need to think about there motorhome service points. This site has two drive over drains. One I think is the original with lift up covers in the ground. The second one is a drive over drain type.

A site we will go back to. 


Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Davids      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3816 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement