Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids > Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park Reviews

Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park
Caerfai Road
St Davids
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6QT
Tel: 01437 720274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 107
Open: 01/03/2021 to 07/11/2021
           01/03/2022 to 07/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 117 Reviews
                9/10 from 117 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chris4 18 reviews from this member

 A well-organised site with very good facilities and fantastic views along the coast and out to sea. Well arranged pitches, some directly above the cliff-top (all pre-booked when we arrived) and others further back but with excellent views. Great location for walking the coast path which is accessible directly from the site. Lovely beach a few minutes walk away. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dave 418 37 reviews from this member

 Another stay at this great site. The only small niggle with this site is the lack of a shop. Hence 9 for site facilities Not a problem to us but if you need anything the nearest supermarket is off the main street in town. We were walking up to catch the bus so we did our shopping whilst in town.

We couldn't find fault with the site. Like last time we had an uninterrupted view out to sea. The coast path runs past the site entrance.

Other sites need to think about there motorhome service points. This site has two drive over drains. One I think is the original with lift up covers in the ground. The second one is a drive over drain type.

A site we will go back to. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Fionavan 40 reviews from this member

 We've stayed here previously so knew that it is in a great location - fantastic walks as you are right on the coast path, close enough to walk into St David's. There is also a fantastic farm shop - pop along for your breakfast croissants, stop by in the afternoon to collect something for supper - they sell so much lovely stuff!

A warm welcome in reception & they were very helpful on the phone as we booked while en route. Some areas don't take dogs in high season, so plan ahead if you wish to camp & take the dog but the site were very accommodating.

Spotless facilities with piping hot water my only concern would be if the site was full they would be very busy.

We couldn't comment on child friendliness as we don't take one with us - but there's lots to do & lots of fresh air. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

 Stunning part of Wales and we chose this site especially for the views - we were not disappointed even on a very wet Monday!

Friendly check in and lots of information given. We had a good sized hardstanding pitch with views over the coast in Field 2, which seemed to be full of motorhomes!

2 toilet/shower blocks on site (one in field 2 and one near the main reception). Small but always clean. Ours had 4 'family rooms' which were always busy, each with either shower or bath plus sink and toilet. The ladies had 3 or 4 toilets, 2 privacy cubicles and another 2 shower cubicles and I assume the gents was similar?! There was also washing up sinks housed in the same building and a small kitchen for campers use! Dustbins and recycling just outside the block. There only seemed to be one chemical disposal area (for your toilet) and that was right up near reception so empty it on a dry day! The access road down to the site from the main road is small in places but there are some passing places, you just need to be lucky! Wi-Fi expensive and in fact it wasn't working when we stayed (not the sites fault, good old BT again!).

There's a small farm shop on the site next door but it never seemed to be open! Odd times - 2 hours in the early morning and then 2 hours 4-6pm - so never used it.

We walked into St Davids quite a few times, the first time along the coast path past St Nons Chapel and Well (stunning) and the other times via the small lane from the main road - care is required! St Davids is a pretty city, lovely cathedral and bishops palace ruins. It has a couple of nice pubs The Bishop (the touristy one) and The Farmers (the locally one)! Although the menus are very similar so we think they maybe owned by the same people? Drinks were a lot cheaper in the Farmers and we ate in there too one evening and the food and service was really good. We also ate in Saffron, an Indian restaurant in St Davids which was also very good. Lots of little cafes and tearooms to choose from too.

From the site we also walked along the coastal path to the pretty fishing village of Solva. It's about 4 miles or so and is a bit up and down but the views are stunning. We caught the bus back to St Davids from Solva. They run about every hour or so and it was a reasonable 1. 70 each (single). There is also a large visitor centre in St Davids which has lots of interesting information.

Lovely area, nice site. I'm sure we'll be back one day. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Angieb13 6 reviews from this member

 My husband and myself plus our dog stayed here in June. The site was lovely & quiet very relaxing. Fabulous access to the coastal path. Shower block was clean and site was immaculate. They don't take dogs during summer holidays. Farm shop across the road does lovely croissants & pain au chocolat, but you need to be there early. Views are spectacular across the sea. Short stroll into St Davids where there are a few pubs & shops. Highly recommend x 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John+judy 108 reviews from this member

 Spectacular setting on the edge of cliffs overlooking St Bride's Bay, with views across to Skomer in the distance. We had a serviced pitch with water/grey waste shared with next pitch. For once the waste water did actually flow downhill to the drain - something other sites could learn from! Facilities are good, but not quite up the highest standards, and may possibly be stretched when the site is full. There is wifi available to all pitches but at 2 an hour it is expensive. (other periods/rates available). However, at the visitor centre at the main road free WiFi is available. (You can park free for 2 hours on the road behind the buildings). The lane from the main road is very narrow, though with fairly frequent passing places. Even in low season it was surprisingly busy, as there is a beach car park at the end. High season could be a gambling exercise with a caravan!

During our stay we did numerous walks (Solva about 1. 5 hours each way - superb), and a circular from St David's along the cliffs to the lifeboat station and inland back to the town (9 miles, 5 hours). Fabulous! The cathedral and Bishops' Palace are of course must do's. We also did a trip along the sometimes very narrow coast road through Broad Haven and Little Haven to Marloes and St Martin's Bay for a visit to Skomer island. The puffins, in particular make this trip worthwhile.

Needless to say, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Caerfai Bay site and surrounding area. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rainbow 747 3 reviews from this member

 Very well run site in an idyllic location overlooking the Pembrokeshire coast. Good sized plots with hard standing and electric - all with wonderful sea views. Facilities excellent although would benefit from a small shop. Located on the Pembrokeshire coast path and easy access to a delightful beach with a mixture of sand and rock pools. Our dog loved it! St David's is a lovely little town with dog friendly pubs, restaurants, nice shops and of course the amazing cathedral. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and hope to return. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Roundhead 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site in the most beautiful location. If you want a sea view then this place is hard to beat. Access to the site is a little tight in as much that I had about 6' either side of my van however I do have the largest van available so its not their fault. Showers & toilets were clean and there were facilities there that are free to use such as a kitchen/communal area but we didn't need to use them. Prices are good and we will definitely be using the site again. Booked to go back in Aug for a week however I broke my leg so we couldn't go. Spoke to the site and they have carried the reservation forward to when we want to go next. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sunnytimesahead 15 reviews from this member

 This is the third time we have been to Cearfai, but 1st time over a bank Holiday, it did not disappoint. It is a family run site, divided into 3 fields, we had EHU, but not sure what happens in the other fields, there is plenty information available on their site.

We had the most wonderful view of the sea with a short walk to join the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path, a must if you are able to walk the path( which gets a bit uneven in places) is a visit to StNons Chapel, so so quaint and then just below the chapel is a healing water well.

The nearest beach is within a short walk from site, again a must especially when tide is out, our Cockerpoo just loved the rock pools!

We walked daily into St David's, either along the coastal path or road, both about 1 mile away.

The access road down to site can be busy, limited passing places, just be aware!

The EHU can be a bit of a pain, as very low voltage, think I've read 10amp! So kept tripping. Also on the 1st night, due to it being a bank holiday, the sites electricity tripped, the owners did go around each unit requesting to switch heating off, it was very cold too, only annoying aspect of our stay, I must say.

Facilities on site ok, 2 showers & 1 bath on our field with hair dryer (20p), more available on the other fields. I also saw a wetsuit wash room, brilliant idea.

We just love this site, will definitely make a 4th visit soon.

Nearby Attractions

St Davids, Europe's smallest city, is within 10 minutes walking distance. The Cathedral and Bishop's Palace ruins, 15 minutes walking distance. Oriel Y Parc (OYP) gallery, cafe, and guided walks are available from the top of Caerfai road.

Worth visiting 'The Blue Lagoon' and the Fishing village ( cove) Porthgain. The Sloop inn serves amazing food & reasonably priced

Coastal bus services (Strumble shuttle and Celtic coaster - high season) operate from OYP car park and cover majority of the Pembrokeshire coast to access walks, beaches, boat trips and local villages.

Various watersports - surfing, windsurfing, kayaking, coasteering are available locally, with diving further afield.

Local boat trips(discount vouchers available) offer wildlife watching (seabirds, seals, porpoises)coastal sightseeing and sea fishing. Landing is possible on RSPB's Ramsey Island, home to the UK's largest colony of Atlantic Grey Seals.

Directions

From Haverfordwest - Take the A487 to St. Davids. Turn left at the Oriel Y Parc Visitor Centre. Caerfai is signposted.

From Fishguard - Take the A487 to St. Davids. Once in St. Davids turn left at the Barclays Bank past the Grove Hotel and turn right at Oriel Y Parc. Caerfai is signposted.

The Park is at the end of Caerfai road on the RIGHT, just before the small coastal car park. Please do not confuse us with Caerfai Farm campsite which is on the LEFT or Glan Y Mor further up the road. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ladybaby53 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely welcome and information given on site facilities and nearby facilities and walks. Stunning scenery Well kept site. Toilets and showers clean though building a bit dated and huge cobwebs hanging down from roof. Recycling facilities good and excellent lockers for recharging mobile phones. Has room for accessing internet. Would benefit from having a small shop stocking essentials such as milk, bacon. Eggs. And bread. Also having newspapers delivered. Would certainly return to this site. 


Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Davids      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3404 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement