Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids > Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park Reviews

Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park
Caerfai Road
St Davids
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6QT
Tel: 01437 720274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 107
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rick Ash 1 review from this member

 We visited this site in the last week of July 2010. A really good camp site, well worth the visit. I stayed in field 2. I had no problems with windy conditions other people have experienced - maybe we were lucky.

The toilet blocks are clean, I never had to wait to use them.

There is lots to do in St Davids, great ice cream. It is about a 5 min walk from the campsite. The Cathedral is worth a visit. Caerfi Beach is fine, but we liked White Sands beach (10 mins drive)as it was bigger and had good facilities. Parking at White Sands costs 3 - all day, or you can catch a bus.

The costal path is very near Caerfi, and we enjoyed stunning scenary on the walks. Well worth it!

The farm shop is excellent. I used it dailey to buy milk, bread, meat, cakes, fruit etc. The products are mostly organic and very good.

My children liked to watch the milking of the cows.

I also took a boat Trip that was really good (Venturer). There are many agencies in St Davids where you can book trips.

I would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gerrysw 2 reviews from this member

 Wow what a site and what a view of the sea. The facilities were faultless having every facility from drying wet suites to family rooms with lav, shower or `BATH! in some. Good farm shop with organic produce. Short walk from St David's which now has numerous really good eating places and good welcoming pubs. The Cathedral is awesome it really is. The site is on the edge of the Pembroke coastal path and is very exciting with cliffs overlooking the sea - made my bum go all funny. One night the wind got up (the site is exposed to say the least) and eventually reached gale force 8 gusting to 9. I am afraid a lot of people lost their awnings and tents. It was very scary to be honest. This happens only once a year apparently. The owner however deserved a medal. He housed three families in his own home and let others stay in unoccupied statics on the site. He was around until the early hours making sure all was ok. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camping2009 11 reviews from this member

 This site is great, there are fantastic views wherever you pitch. Right next to coastal walks and small Bay. Shower block in 2nd field very clean, free hot showers, On the down side shower block in first reception area smelt of drains the whole time.

Tent pitches a bit close together and very exposed to wind, but then you are at the top of a cliff.

Lane leading to site is very narrow but only half mile and plenty of passing spaces.

Would recommend this site and would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joebloggs76 2 reviews from this member

 Simply perfect, a great camp site. The facilities were great and the hot pastries from the shop in the morning were a joy.

The beach is a stone throw away and great to walk to.

St. Davids is not far away and has everything you need.

We will return. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: OU812 4 reviews from this member

 Having read the reviews here I booked a four night stay here. The site is very nice and you can't beat the views - fantastic!

We camped in the third field near beside the hedge to the second - as that is where the only 3 electric points are in this field. (There are more in field2 - but these were full when we were there).

Facilities are good - with two toilet / shower blocks. We used the ones at the top of field 2 as these were closest. They're a little shabby but were always clean - bleached within an inch of their life when I used them at 7:30 one morning!

The block has a washing up area, veg prep sink outside, wetsuit cleaning area, family showers and ladies and gents with toilets, showers and basins. There are 3 toilets, 4 sinks and 2 showers in the mens area, and I only had to wait for a sink once at 8am. The showers are warmer (and quieter) at night so I switched to showering before bed.

The staff were very friendly both on arrival and during the initial booking (at short notice) on the phone.

There is a bad weather room with tourist brochures and seating as somewhere to hide from the rain. There are also other facilities such as washing machine, pegging area and a microwave.

The only possible drawback to the site is the wind. It can be very fierce at times, and blew constantly from our arrival on the Thursday until Saturday, it made putting up our tent more difficult than usual - though our neighbours jumped in to help! That said it did not spoil our enjoyment of the holiday and I would most certainly return - just make sure you have some storm pegs.

I didn't worry about the single lane access to the site - its only 1/2 mile long and there are a few spots to pass. Its a quiet road that only serves the campsites and the farm as well as the parking for the beach.

In summary: I will definitely return to this campsite. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Khyamdream 5 reviews from this member

 I have just returned from the site, I mistook this campsite for the organic farm one on the left of the road my friend had recommended.

We stayed here for five nights and if we hadn't been asked to pay upfront we would have left sooner.

The tent pitch was sloping, the ground rock hard and we really struggled to put pegs in and lost several to bending them on rocks. The site is incredibly exposed and when its windy it is relentless and no escape from it.

The facilities are awful, the smell in the toilet block was disgusting. The roof was corrugated iron and in the blistering heat we have had lately, even in the morning it felt like walking into a sauna. The owners constantly cleaned them at 7.30 in the morning, a ridiculous time to shut off the toilet blocks. There was never any hot water, at best it was luke warm going on cold. The sink area faired slightly better on the hot water stakes but still no where near good enough.

The view was the best thing going for this site. The bay is described as being a bathing beach. We walked down to it and it was more silt then sand and I certainly wouldn't bathe in the water. There was also a warning saying that a sand fish with a poisonous dorsal fin lurked beneath the sand and if you stood on it, would cause temporary paralyse and sting for a couple of days.

The farm shop belonging to the organic farm campsite opposite, was small but stocked with enough basics. The St Davids cathedral was a let down. The superstore in town was dire and the nearest decent one was Morrisons in Haverfordwest. St Davids was pretty enough with some fabulous ice cream shops.

Owner's comments:

1. The roof of our lower facilities block, in which the family rooms were completely modernised this winter, is not of corrugated iron construction. We have received no complaints whatsoever of 'sauna' like conditions, 'disgusting' smells and a complete lack of hot water. Additionally, cleaning finishes at 0730, to minimise disruption to campers, and even when underway there are always other facilities available. It is noteworthy that following an inspection in May we recently received our 2010/2011 AA grading which included the following comment:

"I am more than happy to confirm the AA 4 Pennant rating and, because of the quality of the site, the work and maintenance, an increased percentage score to 87%."

2. As for the beach, Visit Britain decided to feature a picture of Caerfai Bay as the lead to the Wales section of the 2010 Official Tourist Board Guide Camping, Caravan and Holiday Parks. We have pictures of the bay on our website. There is certainly no 'silt' and it is indeed a bathing beach!

There is indeed a mention on the car park notice board, at the top of the path to the beach, of weaver fish. These fish are not restricted to Caerfai and the sign is there to ensure, in the unlikely event of being stung, people are aware that the first aid required is to put the affected limb into very hot water.

3. All our pitches are not sloping with rock hard ground which bends pegs! If this Reviewer had such a problem why did he/she not ask to be moved elsewhere?
 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Abner17 3 reviews from this member

 What a great site! The location is fantastic, perched above the bay on a gentle slope and looking out to the open sea. The site is very clean and well laid out with clearly marked pitches and a minimum of 6 metres between tents. The first fields are for static caravans and tourers, the next field is for camper vans and tents and the far field is for tents.

There are shower blocks and washing areas next to reception and also in one of the fields. The amenity blocks are regularly cleaned and generally spotless. Showers are free. There are ample washing up areas. Staff were always friendly and helpful.

It's a short walk into St Davids where there are ample eateries and gift shops and a supermarket. The coastal path passes directly in front of the camp site.

We'll definitely be returning

This site is highly recommended and we'll definitely return next year 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Footpather 5 reviews from this member

 The first thing that hits you on this site are the amazing views of the sea. The staff were warm and friendly. The pitches were well marked and well looked after. Ours was on gravel but some are on grass. The sign outside the site said it was full but there was masses of room still so they don't try packing you in like sardines to maximise their profit.

There are good clean toilets, showers and family amenities. There is also the usual dishwashing areas and additional veg prep room. Nice to also have a wetsuit washing room. Near the office there was also a laundry room with two washers and two dryers and a sink. Other facilities included a 'takeaway' that was open for breakfasts, packed lunches and evening meals. The farm shop slightly up the road from the site had all the basics plus some tasty treats.

The bay was down a steep path but well worth it, small but perfectly formed. It was safe for body boarding but spectacular when the sea was in and rough.

We enjoyed a couple of really good meals at The Grove which is situated at the top of the Caerfai Bay Road. Childrens menu was only 2.99.

I would definitely return here as there was little to fault. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robbo0702 7 reviews from this member

 I had mixed feelings about this site. Firstly, the 3/4 mile narrow road to the actual site was very nerve racking. Towing a large unit, we were praying we were not going to see another vehicle come towards us, unfortunately we did but luckily it was a 4x4 so he had to reverse back. There is a 1/4 mile stretch where if 2 caravans meet you are stuffed, nightmare scenario we didn't get luckily. The views from any pitch on the site were fantastic. What spoilt it for me was the numerous statics. Toilet facilities were average. The money we paid for the pitch per night I would have expected higher quality and standard. One positive was how quiet the site was. One final thing that put us off was the 'Farmyard ' smells. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Azpluk 3 reviews from this member

 This is one of the most beautiful locations we have ever camped. From our tent we just looked over fields out to sea. At night we could see the lights on the tankers waiting to come into port.

The walk down to the bay itself is steep, but not too bad. The bay is breathtakingly lovely when the tide is out a vast expanse of sand and rocks pools is exposed. It is so gently sloping that it is lovely for children to swim in. One word of caution, the tide comes in very very quickly and I would advise against exploring the rocks once the tide as turned as it is very easy to get completely cut off. We witnessed this happen the 1st day we were there to 3 children and the Lifeboat had to be called out. Tide times are published in the free Pembrokeshire magazine available from the site office and tourist info.

Facilities were OK. Site was busy but never had to wait for shower/toilet although at times the water was not quite as hot as I like it! Washing up space was a bit tight and we did have to wait on a few occassions.

When the camping field was full there was no large areas for the children to play in, but pitches are generous and campers tolerant of footballs etc.

10-15min walk up the road into St Davids, which does have a supermarket, find it if you can! Fish and chip shop not much cop, sorry. We took a 20min drive out to 'Somethings Cooking' which is recommended by Rick Stein and it was the most delicious fish and chips I have ever eaten.

The only downside to the camp was the wind. We endured gale force 8, gusting stronger and started to see damage to our tent. After 3 nights of this, we had to cut our 12 night holiday short. Because our trailer tent had been damaged we were given a refund for the remaining nights, which we weren't expecting. We did have 3 days that were beautiful, but just be warned.It is very windy up there! 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Davids      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5402 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement