Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids > Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park Reviews

Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park
Caerfai Road
St Davids
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6QT
Tel: 01437 720274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 107
Open: 01/03/2021 to 07/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 115 Reviews
                9/10 from 115 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Krogb70 2 reviews from this member

 Campsite offers superb scenery, clean, pretty, sandy beach and bay which is very sheltered, within a 15 min walk. The price you pay for the fantastic views is that you are camped on a very exposed clifftop so if its windy you're the 1st to know. Wear an extra layer!

Toilets & showers were all working and very clean. The family rooms that attracted us to this site were available, clean and made life much easier for bathing a 2 & 3 year old.

No issues with cold water etc. As mentioned on previous reviews & no issues with inclement weather or weaver fish which I believe are out of the campsites control. They're just an unwelcome addition to any british coastal holiday.

Kids had a great time playing around the tent, rolling balls around the sloping bits of the field and chasing after them, counting ships and boats and singing to the cows in the adjoining field.

Wonderful view of the stars at night - a little light pollution but not too bad - satellites easily visible mainly travelling south to north and several shooting stars to the east.

Site was clean, well maintained, well run and open to feedback. Everyone we spoke to was happy to help with everything from chatting about boat trips to getting an up to date weather forecast.

St Davids is pretty, cathederal is intersting, ice cream shop is fabulous, lots of eateries and locally caught crab was very tasty.

The boat trip we took around Ramsay Island was interesting, well run with good commentary and the seals were very friendly and came right up to the boat. It was a bonus to be able to see seal pups on the beaches around the island.

We had a fabulous time and will be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Morwyn 5 reviews from this member

 We first went to stay at Caerfai about 3 years ago. I had never camped before, and it was fantastic. Facilities were good, and the site was well run, the staff happy and courteous. We are now considering a weekend 'for old times sake' and I most certainly want to stay at Caerfai. St Davids is wonderful, quiet and quaint. The only possible problem is the weather! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smiffinch 24 reviews from this member

 The views are stunning from this site. We pitched in the tent only (no electric) field so we had plenty of room. The walk was longer to the toilet block but it was worth it to be away from the caravaners (sorry!)

From the site you can walk down to Caerfai beach which is lovely (not large but can swim there) and also along the Coastal Path to St Non's Chapel etc. The site is in fact located right on the coastal path, so there were several walkers there.

The facilities are very good, nothing to complain about. There are a lot of notices though telling you what and what not to do, takes some reading!

No shop on the site which is a shame, you can go up to the organic shop at the site up the road, but it's very expensive. St Davids has enough shops and a supermarket though.

The best beach nearby is Whitesands Bay - beautiful sands, surfing, body boarding, and a nice little cafe/shop. We ended up going there several nights to eat as the pubs and restaurants in St Davids were so busy.

The boat trips are definitely worth it, but if it's raining they still go out so don't forget your wet weather gear. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rick Ash 1 review from this member

 We visited this site in the last week of July 2010. A really good camp site, well worth the visit. I stayed in field 2. I had no problems with windy conditions other people have experienced - maybe we were lucky.

The toilet blocks are clean, I never had to wait to use them.

There is lots to do in St Davids, great ice cream. It is about a 5 min walk from the campsite. The Cathedral is worth a visit. Caerfi Beach is fine, but we liked White Sands beach (10 mins drive)as it was bigger and had good facilities. Parking at White Sands costs 3 - all day, or you can catch a bus.

The costal path is very near Caerfi, and we enjoyed stunning scenary on the walks. Well worth it!

The farm shop is excellent. I used it dailey to buy milk, bread, meat, cakes, fruit etc. The products are mostly organic and very good.

My children liked to watch the milking of the cows.

I also took a boat Trip that was really good (Venturer). There are many agencies in St Davids where you can book trips.

I would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gerrysw 2 reviews from this member

 Wow what a site and what a view of the sea. The facilities were faultless having every facility from drying wet suites to family rooms with lav, shower or `BATH! in some. Good farm shop with organic produce. Short walk from St David's which now has numerous really good eating places and good welcoming pubs. The Cathedral is awesome it really is. The site is on the edge of the Pembroke coastal path and is very exciting with cliffs overlooking the sea - made my bum go all funny. One night the wind got up (the site is exposed to say the least) and eventually reached gale force 8 gusting to 9. I am afraid a lot of people lost their awnings and tents. It was very scary to be honest. This happens only once a year apparently. The owner however deserved a medal. He housed three families in his own home and let others stay in unoccupied statics on the site. He was around until the early hours making sure all was ok. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camping2009 11 reviews from this member

 This site is great, there are fantastic views wherever you pitch. Right next to coastal walks and small Bay. Shower block in 2nd field very clean, free hot showers, On the down side shower block in first reception area smelt of drains the whole time.

Tent pitches a bit close together and very exposed to wind, but then you are at the top of a cliff.

Lane leading to site is very narrow but only half mile and plenty of passing spaces.

Would recommend this site and would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joebloggs76 2 reviews from this member

 Simply perfect, a great camp site. The facilities were great and the hot pastries from the shop in the morning were a joy.

The beach is a stone throw away and great to walk to.

St. Davids is not far away and has everything you need.

We will return. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: OU812 4 reviews from this member

 Having read the reviews here I booked a four night stay here. The site is very nice and you can't beat the views - fantastic!

We camped in the third field near beside the hedge to the second - as that is where the only 3 electric points are in this field. (There are more in field2 - but these were full when we were there).

Facilities are good - with two toilet / shower blocks. We used the ones at the top of field 2 as these were closest. They're a little shabby but were always clean - bleached within an inch of their life when I used them at 7:30 one morning!

The block has a washing up area, veg prep sink outside, wetsuit cleaning area, family showers and ladies and gents with toilets, showers and basins. There are 3 toilets, 4 sinks and 2 showers in the mens area, and I only had to wait for a sink once at 8am. The showers are warmer (and quieter) at night so I switched to showering before bed.

The staff were very friendly both on arrival and during the initial booking (at short notice) on the phone.

There is a bad weather room with tourist brochures and seating as somewhere to hide from the rain. There are also other facilities such as washing machine, pegging area and a microwave.

The only possible drawback to the site is the wind. It can be very fierce at times, and blew constantly from our arrival on the Thursday until Saturday, it made putting up our tent more difficult than usual - though our neighbours jumped in to help! That said it did not spoil our enjoyment of the holiday and I would most certainly return - just make sure you have some storm pegs.

I didn't worry about the single lane access to the site - its only 1/2 mile long and there are a few spots to pass. Its a quiet road that only serves the campsites and the farm as well as the parking for the beach.

In summary: I will definitely return to this campsite. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Khyamdream 5 reviews from this member

 I have just returned from the site, I mistook this campsite for the organic farm one on the left of the road my friend had recommended.

We stayed here for five nights and if we hadn't been asked to pay upfront we would have left sooner.

The tent pitch was sloping, the ground rock hard and we really struggled to put pegs in and lost several to bending them on rocks. The site is incredibly exposed and when its windy it is relentless and no escape from it.

The facilities are awful, the smell in the toilet block was disgusting. The roof was corrugated iron and in the blistering heat we have had lately, even in the morning it felt like walking into a sauna. The owners constantly cleaned them at 7.30 in the morning, a ridiculous time to shut off the toilet blocks. There was never any hot water, at best it was luke warm going on cold. The sink area faired slightly better on the hot water stakes but still no where near good enough.

The view was the best thing going for this site. The bay is described as being a bathing beach. We walked down to it and it was more silt then sand and I certainly wouldn't bathe in the water. There was also a warning saying that a sand fish with a poisonous dorsal fin lurked beneath the sand and if you stood on it, would cause temporary paralyse and sting for a couple of days.

The farm shop belonging to the organic farm campsite opposite, was small but stocked with enough basics. The St Davids cathedral was a let down. The superstore in town was dire and the nearest decent one was Morrisons in Haverfordwest. St Davids was pretty enough with some fabulous ice cream shops.

Owner's comments:

1. The roof of our lower facilities block, in which the family rooms were completely modernised this winter, is not of corrugated iron construction. We have received no complaints whatsoever of 'sauna' like conditions, 'disgusting' smells and a complete lack of hot water. Additionally, cleaning finishes at 0730, to minimise disruption to campers, and even when underway there are always other facilities available. It is noteworthy that following an inspection in May we recently received our 2010/2011 AA grading which included the following comment:

"I am more than happy to confirm the AA 4 Pennant rating and, because of the quality of the site, the work and maintenance, an increased percentage score to 87%."

2. As for the beach, Visit Britain decided to feature a picture of Caerfai Bay as the lead to the Wales section of the 2010 Official Tourist Board Guide Camping, Caravan and Holiday Parks. We have pictures of the bay on our website. There is certainly no 'silt' and it is indeed a bathing beach!

There is indeed a mention on the car park notice board, at the top of the path to the beach, of weaver fish. These fish are not restricted to Caerfai and the sign is there to ensure, in the unlikely event of being stung, people are aware that the first aid required is to put the affected limb into very hot water.

3. All our pitches are not sloping with rock hard ground which bends pegs! If this Reviewer had such a problem why did he/she not ask to be moved elsewhere?
 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Abner17 3 reviews from this member

 What a great site! The location is fantastic, perched above the bay on a gentle slope and looking out to the open sea. The site is very clean and well laid out with clearly marked pitches and a minimum of 6 metres between tents. The first fields are for static caravans and tourers, the next field is for camper vans and tents and the far field is for tents.

There are shower blocks and washing areas next to reception and also in one of the fields. The amenity blocks are regularly cleaned and generally spotless. Showers are free. There are ample washing up areas. Staff were always friendly and helpful.

It's a short walk into St Davids where there are ample eateries and gift shops and a supermarket. The coastal path passes directly in front of the camp site.

We'll definitely be returning

This site is highly recommended and we'll definitely return next year 


Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Davids      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3213 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement