Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Formby Point Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Merseyside > Formby > Formby Point Caravan Park > Reviews

Formby Point Caravan Park
Lifeboat Road
Formby
Merseyside   (Browse area)
L37 2EB
Tel: 01704 874367
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 119 Reviews
                9/10 from 119 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Terrylynn+flynn 20 reviews from this member

 Just spent another wonderful weekend at Formby. Probably spent about 20+ weekends here over the last 3 years. Very relaxing site with excellent access to the sand dunes and beach. Ladies toilet block has been updated over the winter and now has more spacious showers with new tiling, looks 100% better than before - 20p for approx 5 mins showering.

Great site for dog walking. About 30mins walk into Formby village for shopping and also good bus service about 5 mins walk from site entrance.

Formby train station is about 15 mins walk where you can get regular trains to Liverpool in one direction or Southport the other direction if you don't want to use your vehicle. Also near to the station is a pub that does good food and seems very popular with local people.

Will spend many more weekends here before the season ends - usually have much better weather than at home too! Would say that this is our most favourite site, we always feel at home and relaxed when we arrive. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mbarrett 1 review from this member

 We have just arrived home from are stay at this site, We found it very clean and tidy, It was quiet. The toilets and showers were very clean.

We had a stroll to the beach with our two dogs. We went over the sand dunes which is ok for youngsters, But it was are mistake we should have asked someone for the flatest route. We should have gone through the main gates at the campsite and walked down the road, it was much better for us oldies, Ha.

Will come back again as the staff were very nice. The weather was bad so we came home. In all It is great for walkers and dogs love it. The beach is about 20 mins walking round the flat way, But about 10 to 15 mins over the sand dunes. I have been to other sites that have more facilities, but are more pricey, you only get what you pay for and this was a fair price for this site 17 a night.

There are lots of charity shops in formby village they are very clean, They just look like normal clothes shops, They have a lot of classy stuff in them. Thanks once again Margaret. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pattacake 2 reviews from this member

 We were not impressed with this site. The toilet block was very old and grubby, we were given 1 key for the toilet/shower blocks, which had to open not just the outside door, but the internal shower and separate toilet doors too, and the only way to lock these doors was with the key, so if 2 of you want to use the facilities at the same time it was tough! The lights were on a sensor and turned themselves off a couple of times whilst I was in there. The ground at the side of the pitch was just a mess, no grass as such (whatever it was, was yellow and black) and you had to pay 3 extra per night for the honour of putting a porch awning on it! The beach is a good walk away over sand-dunes, I was told it was a 15-20 minute walk which we didn't make because of disabilities. At 21 per night (including Awning cost), we will not be returning 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Saphie 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for two nights. Wonderful, we really enjoyed the stay. Would recommend it. Formby is a pleasant little town about 1. 5 miles from the site. The site itself is in a secluded and peaceful location backing on to the sand dunes, ideal for

Dog walking The Washrooms are a little dated but very clean. The site has quite a number of static Caravans which you pass on the way to the tourer

Area. There you can either park and hook up under

The Pine Trees or go a little further past into the open and hook up on well spaced hard stand pitches. Will return to this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: WendandStu 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a two day stay at this site with our two grand daughters, aged 4 and 6 years.

Can thoroughly recommend it, safe, quiet, a short walk over the dunes to the beach and sea, what more could we ask for.

Yes the toilet/shower block is a little dated but it was clean at all times with plenty of hot water in the showers for a small 20p charge. Will definitely be back.

Power never tripped once and the owners were so friendly and helpful - were even waiting for us with a friendly wave on arrival. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: JohntheT25 5 reviews from this member

 Me and the dog stayed here Tue-Fri at the end of May 2012. Luckily we had amazing weather which I'm sure helped make the stay perfect.

It cost 17 a night for me and the dog and the Campervan and the key for the showers/toilet block 2 refundable.

The site is mainly for statics, and I found finding reception a bit tricky - it's the brown glass fronted building - drive in, then bear right and it's on the left.

All spots have hook ups. There are about 8 which aren't hard standing- under the line trees right near to the exit to the dunes.

The others are in an oblong shaped field which is fenced to each side- there are about 20 ish pitches here. It does say 'no ball games' and I imagine if it was full (it wasn't when I was there) there wouldn't be much space for ball games anyway!

The exit to the dunes near the non hard standing plots leads literally into the dunes then the beach is about a 5 minute walk! There is another gateway out which leads to the woods on the other side of Lifeboat Road.

The toilet block is dated but it's clean and must have maybe 15 toilets and 5 showers. There are no hair driers just the one Dyson blade hand drier - good luck drying your hair in that!

No washing up facilities - but this was made clear on booking.

No on-site shop - I recalled passing a one stop type shop just down lifeboat road.

Perfect for those whose dogs love the sea and the sand!

Also (it was midweek) I could get there from 1030am and leave as late as 4!

I'll be going back again soon! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kirkhamman 1 review from this member

 Great site that's in a wonderful spot and ideal for walking into Formby with its great shops and waitrose store,

The owners are very good people to deal with and do not rush you off the site.

Would return again and maybe we might see the dolphins in the sea as there is a great walk to the sea along the boardwalk path ideal for prams.

We stayed for 4 nights and had no problems, the site is kept spotless and is very safe.

We walked along the red squirrel path and loved the site and its surrounding area. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shirlnick 7 reviews from this member

 Just been to this site for a two night stay, what a nice clean peaceful site, although the toilets are dated there are still showers and toilets and are very clean and can use them without any problem for what they are meant to be used for.

We had so much fun just walking through the sand dunes and going on the beach, our 7 yr old and George our family dog just loved it.

The owner greeted us on arrival and 18 a night is not bad at all for a bank holiday weekend.

We also went walking through the woods, didn't see any red squirrels on this occasion, but we will be returning to hope to see some then.

The power supply I read was not up to scratch, but we had heating on, extra fridge for beer (husky fridge),the tv on, also the wii plugged in and lighting on and had no problems with the supply whatsoever.

Can't go again this year got holidays booked for the year but come December will be ringing and booking a few breaks. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nic3101 29 reviews from this member

 We visited this site after coming home from a disaster in Anglesey.

The weather had taken a turn for the better so we chose this site for 2 reasons, 1, it's near Liverpool where we fancied visiting and 2, it's right on the sand dunes.

The site does not have anything, no shop, bar, club - just caravans, and for that reason, it's perfect and it's absolutley immaculate, I didn't see any rubbish or dog mess anywhere! :)

We were just going for the weekend, the touring section - which relatively speaking is only a tiny percent of the whole park, is neatly tucked away, right by the entrance to the sand dunes, The sand dunes are totally amazing and we spent hours on them. Although the caravan site was part of the squirrel sanctuary, we didn't see any squirrels :( We did however get to see Anthony Gormley's sea installation which is situated in quaint Crosby just up the road.

It's a great private, secluded, quiet site and I loved the owner too - full of character and information. Couldn't recommend enough. If you are looking for an all singing all dancing site, this is NOT for you ! 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: David + Barbara 6 reviews from this member

 Spent 2 nights here with my daughter (11) and her friend and our puppy Meg. After reading the reviews I was a little wary about taking the children but to be honest it was fine. Where the tourers are its not even a minute walk to the path to the sand dunes and there's plenty of room on the grass to play ball games. I don't mind the children having to be in ( or not running around the site) at 9pm. The electric did trip out once but that was because of our neighbour on the same bollard.

Yes the toilet block is dated but it serves it's purpose and they have installed some fancy handriers now. Staff were very pleasant.

It is situated in a lovely area and within easy driving distance of Southport and Liverpool.

I would go again definitely. 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Formby Point Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Formby Point Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Formby Point Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Formby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Merseyside

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


34434 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement