Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Formby Point Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Merseyside > Formby > Formby Point Caravan Park > Reviews

Formby Point Caravan Park
Lifeboat Road
Formby
Merseyside   (Browse area)
L37 2EB
Tel: 01704 874367
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 119 Reviews
                9/10 from 119 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JBSB 21 reviews from this member

 Great few days, helped by the lovely weather. Staff were very friendly and helpful. As previously commented, the site and in particular the toilet block is very tired, but it is kept spotlessly clean.

Beautiful area, sand dunes are amazing. Easy walk into Formby where you can get the train into Liverpool or Southport 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PaddyInWales 1 review from this member

 What a lovely friendly site! Staff very helpful, facilities clean and well maintained, and very pleasant to walk through the statics and their lovely gardens - nice parrot too!

Site is well located for the dunes and beach, and the Lost Resort of Formby-by-the-Sea. Flora and fauna of the area amazing, in addition to the red squirrels listen for nightjars and inhale the scent of the balsam poplars!

Easy cycling into Formby for the pubs (enjoyed the Lifeboat and the Beer Station) and great shops, M&S, Waitrose and Charity.

Looking forward to visiting again! 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sheffield Steve 9 reviews from this member

 Had 4 nights at this site, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. As previous reviewers have mentioned, the facilities are a bit dated, but everything works, so as they say. If it ain't broken why fix it? The site itself has more emphasis on the mobile home owners, which is fair enough because there are several fields of them!

Having said all that, the camper section is positioned in the best possible place to access the wonderful sand dunes being much closer to them than the mobiles. If you like walking, whether it be just for a few minutes, or for mile upon mile, you can't beat walking through the dunes, and along the fairly empty beach.

If like us, you prefer not to use your vehicle while you are away, there are one or two slight downsides though. The nearest pub/eating place is a mile and a half away, which isn't great if returning at night, and the nearest shop is roughly the same distance.

Also, apart from the local little run around bus, proper transport links to Southport and Liverpool are also a mile and a half away. Formby is a nondescript sort of place, despite the campsite raving about it. Full of charity shops, which says it all really.

The Mersey Rail day ticket for 5. 10 is fantastic value as you can go one way as far as The Wirral as we did (Port Sunlight) and to Southport in the other direction.

To sum up, the site is as advertised, and the area is outstanding so despite my moans I am happy to give the site (almost) full marks! 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: SheilaC 2 reviews from this member

 Great location very close to the sea. Red squirrels on the campsite and in surrounding woodland. Staff helpful. Toilet facilities basic but clean.

Why do they have key locks on all the individual toilet and shower room doors? Also why the 20p showers and push down taps (a pain!). Pricey for one person 20 per night. The most I have paid per night in the three years I have been campervanning. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cockerspadgers 46 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely weekend at this site, our first but won't be our last.

Booked in at reception which wasn't signposted but knew where to find it having read a previous review. The owner was really welcoming and friendly as were other campers. The facilities were clean and the site was tidy although the grass was parched due to lack of moisture.

The site is ideally placed for walking the dog. Entrance to the sand dunes just round the corner from the touring pitches, leading to the dog friendly beach. Also, a short walk through the site leads to a gate directly into the woods. Would definitely revisit this site if we were in the area again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eddiemac 1 review from this member

 We stayed for two nights in our little teardrop caravan and had an amazing pitch site, under the pine trees at the back of the site just yards away from the access path to the dunes. Such a quiet site, the staff were so friendly and helpful and the location near the beach and easy access to the squirrel reserve were just perfect for us.

Our kids are all grown up so holidays these days must be dog friendly and this was the best. Yes - like other reviews the site is a bit dated with 20p coin operated showers, no recycling bins, no camp shop to buy basics and no kitchen was up facilities. But the positives far out weighed these by a mile and in a way the old fashioned facilities were pretty quaint.

The staff friendliness shows that this is a well looked after site by people who care. We will definitely come here again especially if we can book up the same prime spot again. ! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Asfc70 47 reviews from this member

 Visited the site for our annual stay for the fifth year running.

The location is fantastic, . Various routes through the dunes to the beach, the easiest route is through the wooden gate and across Lifeboat road car park, and to the wooden walkway to the the old lifeboat station.

The site is quaint, dated but well maintained. Toilet/shower block is okay. Tourers can either pitch under the trees on grass or hard standing at the end of the site. Lots of static caravans.

Site is very quiet and peaceful. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Formby is a lovely village, lots of shops, restaurants and supermarkets.

Crosby beach and Antony Gormleys ANOTHER PLACE is a must and free parking too. Depending on the tides you can see lots of the Standing men.

Southport is also a short drive away and a good day out.

Will return once again. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Geordiemalc55 2 reviews from this member

 Just had 2 nights at this campsite with a small motorhome. The campsite itself is ideally located, very close to the excellent Formby Point Beach and local entire reserve. As others have said the site itself is somewhat dated, soakaway for grey water and the shower block shows its age somewhat. However the staff are friendly and helpful and the whole site is very clean especially the shower block. The static caravan area us obviously well loved by the residents, lots of flowers and plants. It is also quiet, perhaps not a great deal to do for young children but the beach is not far. The shower block is accessed through a key provided with a deposit. Seems somewhat odd but I presume done as a response to unauthorised access at times. My only gripe would be there are no recycling facilities and for me in this age there probably should be. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jaeson 11 reviews from this member

 Just back again from a short break at Formby point. Really enjoyed the time we spent there. Toilet and showers are a bit old fashioned but work well and are clean. The lady on reception is lovely, warm and helpful, your made to feel welcome straight away. Great walk into Formby and lovely beach. Quiet site but just what we wanted. We will be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AdrianMoore 6 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a one night stopover before boarding Belfast ferry the next morning. As such the location was ideal for our needs. The site is rather old and tired, and facilities minimal, but we picked a lovely pitch under the trees and were able to make a swift exit to continue our journey. Staff very friendly and OK to just let us get on with it really. No on-line booking or email, no deposit required. Phone and book, pay cash on arrival, no nonsense. Good value. 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Formby Point Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Formby Point Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Formby Point Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Formby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Merseyside

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


30961 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement