Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Formby Point Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Merseyside > Formby > Formby Point Caravan Park > Reviews

Formby Point Caravan Park
Lifeboat Road
Formby
Merseyside   (Browse area)
L37 2EB
Tel: 01704 874367
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 119 Reviews
                9/10 from 119 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lavlark 11 reviews from this member

 A lovely site. As mentioned before, a mainly static residential site, but well cared for. The touring site is surrounded by trees, with lovely walks through, and a haven for our red squirrel, which we were lucky enough to see. The walk over the sand dunes, meets up with a superb beach.

It is quite a big site, so get your bearings - no sign posts, I got lost on two occasions, which caused some amusement to the residents !

The toilets were clean ( £2 for key) and 20p for the shower, I took two coins but only needed the one. Although there was no way to alter the temperature of the water. Luckily for me, it was just right, nice and hot !

We used the bus to go into Formby No 163, from the top of the road. Plenty of shops and a couple of nice pubs. We also visited Liverpool via the train. Must point out, the sign post to the station stated half a mile - well its one and a half miles ! Nothing to seasoned walkers, but we are not !. However, the Railway pub has a lovely outside garden, and dog friendly.

All in all, the site met our expectations, and would go again. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 138 reviews from this member

 The touring area is tucked in a cul-de-sac corner at the far edge of this large static site ‘village’, clearly much loved by the residents and the manicured gardens. Being tucked away at the far corner has the benefit of direct access into the sand dunes (great for dogs walking) and Lifeboat road beach.

The site has no shop but the surprisingly delightful and up-market Formby centre is an easy 2 mile walk/bike ride from the site. Formby station is 1 ½ miles from the site with trains running from Southport to Liverpool every ¼ hour and offering incredibly good value at £ 4. 80 return after 9. 30 am.

Formby has numerous eateries, Waitrose supermarket, M&S only food, Morrisons local, and an out of town Tesco’s superstore together with local shops.

As other reviewers have commented the toilet/showers are very dated, but clean and has no wash up area. The waste water is via upturned large clay drain pipes feeding very dubious soak-a-ways around the perimeter of the touring area!

The lack of facilities is more than compensated by the friendly laid back owners, the sites location, lovely Formby and the train service. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jaeson 11 reviews from this member

 Just returned today from this site. We thought it would be very remote, but we were surprised! Great location easy walking distance to train station where for £4. 80 you can get a day saver into Liverpool, Chester and every where in between!

Toilets and showers were a little bit old fashioned to look at, but were kept very clean at all times.

No wash up point but we used our own facilities, so no problems.

Great beach within easy distance, we will definitely go back! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shreklite 1 review from this member

 Great location on the edge of the Formby sand dunes, with easy access for walking and taking the dog on the beach (10 mins). Centre of Liverpool 20 mins, picnic sites and forest trails all near by.

Part of a residential mobile home park so tucked out of the way. Shower block and toilets good and clean, although you will need to pay a deposit (£2. 00) for the key. Showers operate with 20 pence pieces, which you get about 3 mins per coin. I found 60p was enough for a decent shower. A minor bugbear was on booking, there was no mention of the £20 deposit for the electronic gate tag that you need to get back on site with your car after 5pm!

Could do with a leaflet printing explaining the site layout and limited facilities, but other than that it was good. Fine weather improved the rating!

£18 for my caravan and £3 for my porch awning with electric hook up. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Asfc70 47 reviews from this member

 Returned for our 3rd visit. This is a great little 'olde' world site, a throw back to the sixties. Tourers can either pitch on hard-standing or on grass beneath trees. Direct access to the dunes is brilliant and our dogs are in heaven. Formby beach is lovely and there are numerous routes from the site, recent storm damage has destroyed a wooden path as it terminates at the beach. Crosby beach with Anthony Gormley's Another Place is a top attraction with free, yes free parking. Formby village is great for shops and pubs. Southport just a ten minute drive along the Coastal Road.

Toilet and shower block has just had a face lift and are adequate. Shower is 20p for 10 minutes. Not much for children on the site. But loads nearby.

Will be back in 2015. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Escort789 3 reviews from this member

 Me and my husband have just got home and can't wait for our next visit. We had a lovely welcome off the staff who were happy to tell us about the surrounding area and places to visit. The park comprises of a lot of statics and in the corner of the park is the hard standing pitches and more private pitches under the trees with people who have visited many times informative to tell you were to visit a lovely bunch of people. The toilet block has been refurbished and is very clean with nice hot showers. The lovely sandy beach is about a 10 minute walk away and is surrounded by nature trails through lovely woodland well worth a day out with a picnic. We had a slow into Formby town centre a 20 minute walk, and a good handful of shops and supermarkets. Found a great pub the Railway the food service and atmosphere was perfect at a very reasonable price. Across the road the train station Southport 20 minutes away and Liverpool 30 mins away differently be back. We need to check out the big amphitheatre just off the beach next time. Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

 Formby Point Caravan Park comprises mostly mobile homes and is located in woodlands sandwiched between the opulent dormitory suburbs of Formby itself and the dunes that front Liverpool Bay. However, there is a small, open field adjacent the dunes with hard-standing hook-up plots for about a dozen touring caravans, as well as a few plots beneath shady pine trees that seem to be popular with motorhome campers.

Entrance to the site is off Lifeboat Road and then through a single track pinch point controlled by a barrier that is lowered at night. Therefore, exit from the site will require a barrier swipe card obtained from reception when you check in (for which there is a £20 deposit payable).

The toilet and shower block on the touring site is clean and well-maintained, even if the décor is not perhaps quite to the latest standard. Entrance to both the main door and the cubicles is by way of a key (for which there is a £2 deposit payable) and the showers work on a coin meter. There is an elsan point alongside the block. Each caravan plot has a large raised drainage pipe into which to tip waste water (and which rather resemble the tunnels in 'The Time Machine' into which H G Wells' intrepid time traveller climbed in order to rescue his century-hopping chariot back from the Morlocks!). The main drinking water tap is situated in the middle of the touring field.

In terms of local amenities, Formby possesses a pleasant 'town centre' with lots of small independent traders and a selection of supermarkets (there is a larger Tesco superstore situated nearby on the main A565 by-pass). Otherwise, Crosby, Southport and Ormskirk are the nearest alternative shopping destinations, the latter boasting a lively Thursday market.

However, the ultimate day out involves purchasing an unbeatable value £4. 80 Saveaway day ticket at Formby Station (a twenty minute walk from the site or there are park-and-ride facilities available) and taking the frequent trains into Liverpool - that rich historic and cultural hub that includes the many museums that spangle the city's iconic waterfront. Once there you can then use your Saveaway ticket on local buses and trains on both sides of the river, as well as on the Mersey ferries. You can even change trains and journey out to Chester on it too!

If you're staying closer to the site, then Formby Point itself is great for exploring on foot or by bike. Indeed, it is one of England's few remaining habitats where red squirrels can be spotted. Paths lead from the site out onto both the dunes and the country park; and once on the beach one can either play in the sand, or find a convenient promontory on the dunes from which to watch the ships come and go (on a clear day you can even spot Blackpool Tower in the distance!), or just stroll or cycle along a wide expanse of unbroken sands that stretches north all the way up to Ainsdale and Southport.

We stayed at Formby Point Caravan Park during a spell of reasonably warm weather at the end of September, and found it a most pleasant and relaxing week. At £17 per night for three people we therefore thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for a cheaper, yet no less spectacular alternative to the more expensive seafront campsites to be found on England's south or south-west coasts. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tour gs 17 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one night in mid July. Found it quite difficult to find the site. More signs would be useful. On arrival we were faced with a barrier, alongside which was a sign asking us to park in the adjacent lay by and go to reception for a barrier pass. The lay by was big enough for a Mini but no way big enough for a mondeo and an 8m caravan! Being a single track entrance road I abandoned the outfit, blocking the road, and went looking for the reception. Again a lack of signs indicating where reception was led to some frustration until a woman needing out of the site kindly opened the barrier and let us in. Once inside we found reception and booking in was simple enough. As previously mentioned we were given one key for the toilet block which was a bit tired to be honest and could do with a spruce up. Having to unlock the external door and internal cubical doors was a bit pointless and could be organised better. The site appears to be mainly statics which have been there for some time and a small number of touring pitches at the rear of the site near the sand dunes. Each pitch has its own waste water disposal point which consists of an 18' high clay pipe of about 18' diameter. This meant lifting a 40l waste master tank up 18'to empty it. Something the less able bodied would struggle with. Overall with some minor changes this could be a good site as the location has potential. Access needs to be looked at though. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sumal 3 reviews from this member

 Had a great time, it was a short visit, Thursday afternoon till 6pm on Friday. Took my mum and sister and the 3 dogs it was so peaceful and close to the beach and a short drive to the shops. The owners were very nice and accommodating letting us stay nearly all day Friday with no extra cost. Will be going again very soon hopefully. The toilets and showers were warm and very clean. We were able to set up where ever we wanted, and it was easy to find 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Roverp6 1 review from this member

 Lovely Bank Holiday week at this site. Stayed 24th May-1st June. Apparently you can get on site before 12 and you are not asked to be off site till 4 o clock when departing. Location is well signposted, very easy to get to, although the entrance road to the site is also used to get public car access to the beach. As it is only single width with passing places and is not one way you can end up waiting a bit to get in or out should you suffer a spate of inconsiderate car users.

Site entrance itself is barrier control with keycard for security. Barrier left up during the day but although you don't need your card to get out you will need it to get back in after five or six oclock.

No shop or pub on site however off licence convenience store and chippy are all located on the left a mile or so before you reach the site. Staff very friendly, however I suggest on arrival YOU PARK UP OUTSIDE RECEPTION AND FIRST WALK THE ROUTE TO YOUR PITCH!. There are not enough signs and it is very easy to get trapped amongst the statics of which there is a considerable number. This apparently happens all too often. BETTER SIGNS NEEDED.

Toilets shower blocks may be dated but I understand modernisation has taken place in the ladies and presumably the gents to follow. Irrespective of this as a family we always found the showers and toilets were kept very clean and tidy. Site very well maintained although no playground there was NO TRACE OF LITTER OR THE DREADED DOG POO!

Two places to pitch, (all hook up no problems at all with power supply) next to each other, either under the pine trees (tv reception not affected) or in a bank of pitches that are fenced off. There is a path running from the pine trees that takes you 10-15 mins through countryside over the dunes onto a very nice beach. There also many different well signposted walks around this area as well. If you have kids and dogs this is obviously spot on.

Big Tesco with petrol station 3 or 4 miles away Southport 10 miles away (nice gardens, traditional high street shops, as well as modern retail park and Pleasureland amusements) Crosby 4 miles away with the statues standing out of the water (take the back road for the scenery and a couple of great pubs) We paid £20 night for caravan awning 2 kids 2 dogs, and are booked to go back again already! 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Formby Point Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Formby Point Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Formby Point Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Formby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Merseyside

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


37115 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement