Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Formby Point Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Merseyside > Formby > Formby Point Caravan Park Reviews

Formby Point Caravan Park
Lifeboat Road
Formby
Merseyside   (Browse area)
L37 2EB
Tel: 01704 874367
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Juliem35871uhz 1 review from this member

Fabulous spot under pine trees and excellent hot shower 👍

Dottie our parson Russell loved it on the beach which was five minutes walk away 🌸🌸

Will return ASAP x thankyou Margaret
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jobeddows 1 review from this member

We only live 50 minutes away from formby and decided to stay away for the night, this site is perfect very well kept, only 5 minute walk to the beach, 2 minutes from red squirrel trail.

Wish we could of stayed longer will definitely be going back this year.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chalky9 29 reviews from this member

Interesting location next to large National Trust reserve comprising endless beach, dunes and woodland. Set in the corner of a large static park.

Sanitary facilities could, as has been said, do with updating but everything works and they are clean. Wi-fi and phone signal both very limited.

Easy access to Liverpool and Southport via train, every 15 minutes.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pamedav38 10 reviews from this member

This would not normally be the type of site we would choose for a short holiday, no wi-fi, no phone signal, NOT Adults only and some reviews were a little disheartening. However, there was a last minute cancellation that meant we would be able to visit the Southport Flower Show, and I'm really glad we made the trip.

Yes the reviews regarding the toilet/shower facilities are genuine, they are tired and dated, but clean. Yes, the staff are very welcoming and helpful, but best of all is the peace and quiet of the site and the area as a whole. The tens of options to walk the dog in the dunes or the woods was a bonus. We visited the Sparrowhawk, dog friendly pub and restaurant about 4 miles away off the A565.

Crosby beach with the Antony Gormley cast iron statues was worth a visit and Southport itself is a town of 2 halves, with the old Victorian buildings/shops and parks vying for attention with the more seaside attractions of the fairground rides and shopping precinct. Overall an area that is worthy of a short stay at Formby Point Caravan Park.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JBSB 6 reviews from this member

Great few days, helped by the lovely weather. Staff were very friendly and helpful. As previously commented, the site and in particular the toilet block is very tired, but it is kept spotlessly clean.

Beautiful area, sand dunes are amazing. Easy walk into Formby where you can get the train into Liverpool or Southport

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: PaddyInWales 1 review from this member

What a lovely friendly site! Staff very helpful, facilities clean and well maintained, and very pleasant to walk through the statics and their lovely gardens - nice parrot too!

Site is well located for the dunes and beach, and the Lost Resort of Formby-by-the-Sea. Flora and fauna of the area amazing, in addition to the red squirrels listen for nightjars and inhale the scent of the balsam poplars!

Easy cycling into Formby for the pubs (enjoyed the Lifeboat and the Beer Station) and great shops, M&S, Waitrose and Charity.

Looking forward to visiting again!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sheffield Steve 7 reviews from this member

Had 4 nights at this site, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. As previous reviewers have mentioned, the facilities are a bit dated, but everything works, so as they say. If it ain't broken why fix it? The site itself has more emphasis on the mobile home owners, which is fair enough because there are several fields of them!

Having said all that, the camper section is positioned in the best possible place to access the wonderful sand dunes being much closer to them than the mobiles. If you like walking, whether it be just for a few minutes, or for mile upon mile, you can't beat walking through the dunes, and along the fairly empty beach.

If like us, you prefer not to use your vehicle while you are away, there are one or two slight downsides though. The nearest pub/eating place is a mile and a half away, which isn't great if returning at night, and the nearest shop is roughly the same distance.

Also, apart from the local little run around bus, proper transport links to Southport and Liverpool are also a mile and a half away. Formby is a nondescript sort of place, despite the campsite raving about it. Full of charity shops, which says it all really.

The Mersey Rail day ticket for 5. 10 is fantastic value as you can go one way as far as The Wirral as we did (Port Sunlight) and to Southport in the other direction.

To sum up, the site is as advertised, and the area is outstanding so despite my moans I am happy to give the site (almost) full marks!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SheilaC 2 reviews from this member

Great location very close to the sea. Red squirrels on the campsite and in surrounding woodland. Staff helpful. Toilet facilities basic but clean.

Why do they have key locks on all the individual toilet and shower room doors? Also why the 20p showers and push down taps (a pain!). Pricey for one person 20 per night. The most I have paid per night in the three years I have been campervanning.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cockerspadgers 33 reviews from this member

Had a lovely weekend at this site, our first but won't be our last.

Booked in at reception which wasn't signposted but knew where to find it having read a previous review. The owner was really welcoming and friendly as were other campers. The facilities were clean and the site was tidy although the grass was parched due to lack of moisture.

The site is ideally placed for walking the dog. Entrance to the sand dunes just round the corner from the touring pitches, leading to the dog friendly beach. Also, a short walk through the site leads to a gate directly into the woods. Would definitely revisit this site if we were in the area again.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eddiemac 1 review from this member

We stayed for two nights in our little teardrop caravan and had an amazing pitch site, under the pine trees at the back of the site just yards away from the access path to the dunes. Such a quiet site, the staff were so friendly and helpful and the location near the beach and easy access to the squirrel reserve were just perfect for us.

Our kids are all grown up so holidays these days must be dog friendly and this was the best. Yes - like other reviews the site is a bit dated with 20p coin operated showers, no recycling bins, no camp shop to buy basics and no kitchen was up facilities. But the positives far out weighed these by a mile and in a way the old fashioned facilities were pretty quaint.

The staff friendliness shows that this is a well looked after site by people who care. We will definitely come here again especially if we can book up the same prime spot again. !

Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Formby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Merseyside

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4066 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019