Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Formby Point Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Merseyside > Formby > Formby Point Caravan Park > Reviews

Formby Point Caravan Park
Lifeboat Road
Formby
Merseyside   (Browse area)
L37 2EB
Tel: 01704 874367
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 119 Reviews
                9/10 from 119 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: The Drifters 5 reviews from this member

 Having pre booked our pitch and after a gruelling 300 mile drive we arrived at the campsite just before 6. 30pm only to find ourselves in a catch #22 situation. We couldn't get past the barrier until we purchased a pass card from the other side of the barrier. For a while we were stuck and unable to let other vehicles past us as the road was too narrow; even with the pull in; okay for cars but not wide campervans.

During a downpour we eventually gained access and were given a pitch with EHU between two toilet areas; one for humans and one for dogs; everyone on site seemed to walk their dogs past us. They did pick up after the dogs but then placed the bagged contents in a bin just a few yards away.

The sign outside the campsite was far from welcoming; just the name and a list of prohibitions. We then struggled to identify the office as there were no signs; nor were there any signs for the exit.

The human toilet/shower block was a disgrace. In one toilet cubicle something was smeared on the wall for the duration of our stay. The toilet paper dispenser was situated behind your back. There were no bolts on the toilet doors just rusty locks. One cubicle was out of order for the whole of our stay. There were no facilities for the disabled and no where to hang clothes as all the hooks were broken.

The showers were old fashioned coin operated ones. Like the toilets most of the doors were damaged in some way and again had rusty locks. Inside the shower cubicles there was no dry area so if you dried a foot and put your sock on you then had to stand on a wet floor or hop. The water was hot, but sometimes went cold. In one of the shower cubicles I got trapped inside when the door stuck solid. Luckily I was strong enough to wrench it open. Running through al the shower cubicles was an open drainage channel with standing foul water. The end of our stay was a blessing when we finally escaped. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stevieag 13 reviews from this member

 Great site and I will be back.

Greeted by friendly people who helped but didn't intrude. We felt we could of asked for any help if required.

Could do with a few more signs but not a big deal, just ask someone.

My only couldn't find was the elsan. Its next to the toilet block behind a gate.

The key thing is odd. One to get in I suppose but when we came to the toilets some one had left it open anyway as it isn't self locking. Once you see it you will think its mad overkill but I do understand how it may of come about as a solution to a problem without taking all the locks out to replace with latches. They I presume kept the locks as they work.

The dunes. It is a good walk and when I set off I didn't think much of them until I hit the top and then they are spectacular. Its like being in a desert. They are amazing, the beach is huge and equally a beautiful place. I did see some rubbish and it did anger me, why do people do that.

The walk to the dunes through the brush area, you can take any route you wish and I'd recommend it. There is lots of dog poop on the walked routes and poo bags thrown into the bushes. People who do that really pi$$ me off.

I'll visit this site again as the access to the dunes and beach is to die for.

If you feel the walk will be difficult walk through the site and use the road, a lot flatter and a bit shorter. The wood land looked great but we didn't venture here, maybe one of the reasons I didn't see a red squirrel.

Formby roads are mostly 20mph and so a great relaxing drive around.

There are plenty of shops to get your bits.

Out of site turn right and go left at the end, follow the road and in this route is the train station, further is a pub and on the little rb is a shop, go left and you hit a shopping centre with pubs, shops, supermarket etc.

If after coming right from site you go straight at the bend there is a chippy. Left from site is car parking for beach.

Southport is a short car ride, 20min.

The site is very clean, well maintained and Yes, its an older site that has remained successful by doing everything right, its quiet and has everything required for a perfect break.

Teenagers will give the omg I have no WiFi or phone signal what am I going to do. Force them to take a walk through the dunes. I may not get it at first but by the end they will of rolled down the dunes, returned to the child like state of playing soldiers in the dunes, made sand castles, it will be like having you kids back again, away from modern life of viewing a phone screen.

There are no play areas for kids but plenty of room for polite children and huge dunes.

No mobile phone signal at least for EE and intermittent on 3. We were right at the back of the site and lost signal half way in.

Great TV signal

Great choice of pitches, in standard rows both side of a road on hard standing. Tap on right in the middle at back.

Waste water behind each pitch. Pain to lift up your waste water on to the pipe. Don't bother, just pour next to it as that is where the pipe puts it, on the soak away area.

Under pine trees just before rows looks nice though you will have more passing people and cars.

You will get lost in the site at least once :) as it's quite winding and huge. At night can be a tad dark so a torch needed (there is road lighting)

2 returnable deposit needed for toilet key

20 returnable deposit needed for main entrance gate key (its closed around tea time)

Cards are not taken so remember cash.

Wonderful site I thoroughly recommend. I can't wait for my next trip.

My only complaint, isn't the site. It was a caravanner two away from us. Plugged into two electric outlets. Although there are signs to tell you to keep your dogs on leads left there's off, had two cars and two other visit them plus there awning up plus left the kids (14 & 16) play up and down.

Was it a massive deal, no as they didn't make any noise but this site is great as they trust you.

These dingbats are the type that will ruin it for all. The dog also pooped behind our caravan plus ran at our dogs when we walked by, quite scary and actual went for ours. We got the 'oh he's only playing'. Put it on a lead was our reply.

So my point, please site owners, don't legislate for dingbats by restricting us abiding people, please take a walk and warn people like these if seen. Your site is amazing and these idiots will drive us gooduns away.

I have to finish with saying this is one of the Best I have used, really ranks high. If it changed to try an modernise it would lose its charm. Plus would pass 20 per night. Pass that and I'd give it a miss.

Book today :) 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Martin Spiers 8 reviews from this member

 Amazing site to stay

Great touring pitches with plenty of room and near to beach

The site is predominantly statics but routers are well catered for. Shops and pub about a mile+ as is the village and station but there is a regular bus from the end of the road

The washrooms are clean and more than adequate. |The site owner Margaret is a gem and can tell you all there is to know about the local area.

You have the best of all Worlds. A beach second to none, dunes to walk in and forest and open trails to die for. Add to that the red squirrels, local village (Formby) and bus and rail links.

Thank you for a brilliant stay. We will see you again and again. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tworty10 3 reviews from this member

 Upon arrival we really liked the look of this site. The reception was easy to find and staff really helpful.

The location of the site is idea if you have dogs and want to get on to the beach. Just a short walk through the sand dunes which are right next to the site, nice clean beach and not busy at all.

The facilities at the site were clean and and tidy.

Good size pitchs with bins and water close to all pitchs.

Thirty minute walk in to formby where we found a few shops.

All in all we really liked this site and will return. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: WWLL 60 reviews from this member

 Wish all sites were as friendly as this one. Spent a very relaxing quiet few days here, the only noise was of the birds singing. The location is fantastic close to the beach, just a few minutes walk over the dunes or through the pine woods. We were lucky enough to see a red squirrel family playing in the tree tops.

Enjoyed the lack of signs, much better than having too many. We were greeted in a friendly way and directions to the pitch was enough. The pitches were flat with plenty of space in between with views of the dunes or pine woods.

Lovely site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stanney 1 review from this member

 Greeted on arrival, were able to choose the pitch that suited us best. The touring area is behind the static vans in a lovely quiet secluded spot next to the sand dunes. The bathrooms look like a posh shed but inside they are well kept, 20p for a shower which were lovely + hot. We were made very welcome + told there was no hurry to vacate our spot on the day we left.

Would we visit again? Most definitely. The isn't a play area for children, but with a great beach only a walk away it didn't matter 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cheekydog 5 reviews from this member

 Very friendly and easy going owners, we did not pay for the pitch until the day after we arrived. We arrived late and this was no problem as we called the owner who arranged for the warden to open the security barrier. We pitched on the grass under the trees, very pleasant. There are hard standing pitches also. The location is lovely, close to the sandy beach. The walk to the beach is over sand dunes, maybe a 5 or 10 min walk. I think we got a little lost as there are several paths. The beach is lovely and very wide. Someone mentioned that you can drive down to the beach on the road nearby but we didn't do this. We saw several red squirrels in the trees around our pitch. We walked to the train station in formby (approx 1 1/2 miles) and caught a train into Liverpool. The trains run till quite late but remember to take a torch if you need to walk back to the site along the road as there are no lights and its pretty scarey in the dark. The toilet/shower block is clean and tidy. You need 20p for a shower but it is lovely and hot with good water pressure. Could do with a couple of hooks in the shower cubicle. This is the 2nd time we have stayed on this site and will definitely be returning. Great location. Very peaceful. Thanks. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gerry31 16 reviews from this member

 Large static site with perfect touring pitches beside the sand dunes. Easy to walk to the beach across the dunes, 15 mins approx. Clean & tidy around the site and very quiet location. Red squirrels and rabbits playing around the vans.

A key is needed from the office on arrival (deposit payable) to access the shower & toilet blocks. If you are both male & female we suggest you ask for 2 keys as it's awkward once inside the blocks since keys are needed for each toilet & shower cubicle. This is annoying and we felt unnecessary. 20p for showers lasted 5 mins and was adequate. Showers hot & clean but more door hooks would be welcomed.

Nice quiet site with lovely sunset and views but overall the whole spot needs a large cash injection to bring it up to the 21st century. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eric and lorraine 1 review from this member

 On arrival we were greeted by a really nice lady and her son. We were offered the choice of grass or hard standing. We opted for the grass. The water was right beside us as was the waste and shower block. Perfect!

Our expectations before setting of from Glasgow were of a place of easy commute or drive into Liverpool and of a place that was going to be very quiet relaxing and ample places to walk out two jack Russell's.

It gives me great pleasure to highly recommend this site to anyone who is seeking the same. After working 60hours a week for most of the year relaxation was top priority for this break.

The facilities on site amount to a shower block of reasonable standard but kept clean and ample dog walking through the sand dunes.

If you are looking for pubs and shops they are a short drive or nice walk into fornby.

Our definition of relaxation may be different from yours but if it's relaxation you require I can't speak highly enough of this place.

Passing through the static part of this site we saw some kids playing and looked as if they were having a good time, so although it is a quiet site I would also recommend it for families with young kids.

Would we return most definitely. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davidsteel 14 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to this site. We booked specifically to see the giant puppets in Liverpool. We asked for a pitch under the pine trees, there was a choice of 2 pitches, one in full Sun and the other in a shady corner. We chose the shady pitch as weather was very hot, but: 1. Reversing onto the pitch I managed to catch the van roof on a low overhanging branch, I found out later that it has gouged the roof (insurance claim on going). 2. This pitch is next to the sand dune/beach access so dog walkers are constantly passing (we have a dog, so not too bothered). The toilets/showers seem to have been refurbished since last visit, but still have the same key system, they were always clean. Don't forget your 20p for a shower - in the gents, use the far end shower as it has more space and a handy rack to put your stuff on. We used the train to get to Liverpool, very good value at 4. 90 each for an off peak all day ticket valid on all Merseyrail services and I think this also included buses. Can recommend the Bay Horse Toby Cavery just off the town centre behind Waitrose. Would visit this site again, but watch the low tree. 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Formby Point Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Formby Point Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Formby Point Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Formby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Merseyside

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


52040 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement