Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth > Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site
Pentrefelin
Criccieth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL52 0PT
Tel: 01766 522696
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 122 Reviews
                9/10 from 122 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  122 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carolsmith 5 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit to this site and will return many times in the future. The site is wonderfully spacious, the shower blocks are spotless and cleaned so many times a day we lost count and the hosts, Drew & Karen really enjoy making sure you have everything you need. Thanks to Drew & Karen for another wonderful break away from the hustle & bustle of Birmingham. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chinabluew 1 review from this member

 We found this a great and friendly site. We visited on August Bank Holiday we friends and their children and found the owners to be very friendly and helpful. We were pitched in a newly cleared area near the wooden section. After our first night we discovered the pitch became very soggy and informed the owners. They apologised and lent us a huge piece of sheeting to put in front of our door access.
The site was quiet and very well maintained. Toilet and wash block was cleaned regularly. There are good sized pitches so you are not too close to each other.
We found this sites prices are great value as you are charged for the pitch not for the number of occupants. Alot of other sites work out expensive if there are a number of you, and they only have the same level of facilities. This is a great site if you are looking for a touring base.
Only thing we found was the games room is in need of better lighting, and the area we were pitched in could do with a gravel drive down it.
Overall we had a great break and our kids made friends.
We highly recommend this campsite and will be revisiting next year 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mark.s.s 1 review from this member

 Nice site,well run,staff always on hand to help.Toilets and showers constantly being cleaned.Fantastic views from our pitch and close enough to the beaches and attractions of the area to make days out easy.Drew was very helpful in starting our car on the last day after we flattened the battery by leaving the electric coolbox on all night. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emmilou 5 reviews from this member

 Well I think I may be the first person on here not to rave about this site! Don't get me wrong it was a nice, spotlessly clean and spacious site, we were pitched at the top of the hill with sheep behind us, stunning views. But I found the facilities let it down because although the showers were hot, clean etc there were not enough for the size of the site (2 unisex in the top block 3 ladies in the lower block don't know about mens) hence queues all the time which is a pain. ONE hairdryer for whole site, bad for us girls and nowhere for own appliances e.g. straighteners (I know but it can make or break a holiday for me!) except a socket in the washing up bit - no mirror.
The washing up sinks were at the bottom of the lower field so a bit of a trek and only 4 sinks - so yet again queues.
The play area was a bit of a let down the baby swing didn't fasten properly so it was unsafe and my final moan you paid for everything 20p for shower, 20p for hairdryer a charge for pool table in games room and then they put washing up bowls in the sinks because they said people were using too much water which may be fair enough but surely you are paying for stuff like that in your site fees. Moans aside beautiful views, well maintained, friendly people, would we go again? Possibly as it is a nice place but taking loads of 20ps! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dan Baker 4 reviews from this member

 This site is second to none! The owners, Drew and Karen, really care that you are happy and having a good time. The pitches are well spaced and level (we also had a hook up) with plenty of space for the kids to run around. There are a playground and playing field for ball games on site. The toilets and showers are probably the best we have ever used in many years camping, cleaned at least three times a day and warm! Hot water is plentiful and a twenty pence shower seems to last forever. Washing up and laundry facilities are good, although a couple of washing up sinks at the upper shower block would be useful. You can walk to the coast in ten minutes but we found great beaches for kids at Llanbedrog and Abersoch (about 30 min's away).

The mountains are also about a half hour drive away but avoid Porthmadog which seems to be the traffic jam capital of North Wales. How many times has a site owner come to your pitch on the last day to make sure everything has been up to scratch?? 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Theallens 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived on our first "expedition" and definitely think we made a good choice in this site. Having read the other reviews we were not disappointed. Mark, the site warden showed us to our pitch and was very friendly and helpful and Drew, the owner was indeed a "top bloke"! He even jump started our car for us when the battery went flat after we left the fridge plugged in all night! The shower and toilets were spotless, cleaned inside and out at least three times that we saw in two days (and probably more as we were out all day!) The showers cost 20p which gives you plenty of time and stops people lingering in there too long!- so queues weren't really a problem. After a day on the beach we found it easier to shower in the evening when it was quite quiet. Allow plenty of time to re-freeze your ice packs as people are in and out of the freezer constantly so it didn't feel that cold. Washing up facilities were very good and again spotlessly clean everywhere. We tended to wash up combined with a trip to the kids play area which worked quite well. All in all we were very impressed with this site and have already recommended it to the several friends of ours who inspired us to start camping in the first place! We visited two lovely beaches nearby - Porthmadog which is a vast sandy beach - very clean and well "beach-patrolled" One side is dedicated to water sports, another area is a designated "No Dogs Area". For £3 you can drive your car right onto the beach and park all day. The toilet facilities near the entrance leave more than a bit to be desired, there may be other better ones further along though - we didn't look. The other smaller stoney beach we visited was at Llanbedrog about 12 miles away, between Pwhelli and Abersoch) There is a very narrow sloping road down to the beach -don't be tempted to take the car down there! Park on the National Trust car park at the top and take the short walk down the steps! 
We will definitely be making a return trip here soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jason rushton 1 review from this member

 I stopped at this site at the end of May / early June 06 for 5 days and I took my son Bobby aged 7. I  was joined by my mate Daniel with his 2 children aged 3 and 5. Can I just say what a wonderful time we all had and was exceptionally pleased with the hospitality of the campsite staff and the cleanliness of all the facilities provided.
The site is within easy reach of some fabulous walks and superb beaches and I would recommend it to anyone in the possession of a VW camper van as there was no sign of being alienated as I have experienced at some other sites of this quality. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maddy68 6 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, really well maintained with lovely grassy boarders between pitches. We have a very large tent and the wardens found us a huge pitch. Every day they mowed the lawn and picked up rubbish, toilets and showers were spotless and cleaned several times a day.

Not a site for teenagers as nothing for them to do, the games room was tired and needs a rethink, a nice little play area for young children.

A freezer to freeze blocks in at no extra charge, 20p for showers 20p for hairdryer. A washing machine and dryer was available.

Too far to walk to the beach from here, but a short drive in either direction soon remedied that!

I would certainly recommend this site, me, husband , 2 teenagers and a puppy had a lovely time here! 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coone 1 review from this member

 I agree with all the previous comments. Eisteddfa is a wonderful site, run by lovely people.

We have been going there for 25 years and have seen the site develop, especially since Drew and family took over. The natural beauty has never changed.

We are going back in August, now taking the grandchildren. Cant wait. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gordon +nicky 1 review from this member

 Just spent a week here and could not fault the site. Drew the owner and the wardens were really friendly and very helpful. Great views and great location. Facilities among the best we've seen. Toilets cleaned at least twice a day. We do not hesitate in recommending Eisteddfa. 


Previous     122 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Criccieth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4685 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement