Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth > Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site
Pentrefelin
Criccieth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL52 0PT
Tel: 01766 522696
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 121 Reviews
                9/10 from 121 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HelenJ47 17 reviews from this member

 Our first camping experience in Wales and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Site perfect for Snowdonia. Owners very friendly. Facilities clean and we didn't have to queue for either the sinks or the showers. Lovely views of the bay and the countryside is magnificent. So much to do with the kids locally.

Electric mountain, slate museum, the steam trains, walking in the mountains. The local camping shop came in handy, just down the road. Supermarkets not far away either.

The only downside about the site is that there is not much shelter in the fields overlooking the bay and was a bit windy for us but we managed to pitch up behind a hedge so wasn't too bad.

The traffic on the road below can be heard but does get a lot quieter at night and didn't deter either of us from getting a good night's sleep.

Would definitely go again. A big plus was Jenny's a little cafe in Portmadog - does a wicked breakfast which we had on our last day before we went home. Can't wait to go back! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Betty+Wilma 5 reviews from this member

 A weeks stop at this lovely campsite was unfortunatly drawn to an early close when the weather got the better of us!

We had opted for a larger pitch as we were putting our family tent and also a small pop up tent for my neice to stay in - the pitch was brilliant size and we didn't feel cramped at all. The views of snowdonia and the coast are brilliant. Don't forget your mallet for the tent pegs though, through the top inch of grass/soil there is a lot of stone - we had little problem with the mallet though!

There are marked pitches to choose in level 'sections' but also larger fields for groups to pitch where they prefer. 2 park areas for the kids which were excellent. 2 toilet and shower blocks which were clean and well maintained. Also on site is washing up facilities, a freezer to re-freeze your blue packs and mini laundrette for longer stays.

The owners and the wardens of the campsite are lovely and always stopped to say hello. The grass is regularly cut by the owner and we got a feeling they both take a lot of pride in their site and it shows.

Nearby is a large tesco, Lidl and Aldi(porthmadog). The Gelert factory is just down the road with a great outlet shop as well. The beach at blackrocksands is just awesome for the kids and for the dogs - hours of fun with a bucket, spade and a tennis ball for the dogs. Cricceth is a lovely unspoilt coastal town with great fish and chips, and ice cream on teh way up to the castle.

Within half an hour we were at the foothills of snowdon (of which we ascended!) and around beddgelert.

We were so sorry to have cut our holiday short due to the awful weather, but 3 damp kids, 2 wet dogs and 2 adults in a tent in howling wind and rain was not fun anymore! up to this point the weather had been brilliant! the owners were on hand through out the storm ensuring their guests were ok - which we thought was a really nice personal touch.

We hope to return another time to this site and to the area (perhaps in april - which appears to the be the new august for weather!) 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Pjatkinson 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 4 nights and this site is one of the best we have ever been too. The staff are so friendly and the site amazingly clean. Great views and location ideal.

Great couple of play area's for the kids. Great beaches close by. Stayed in the Cocoon. Just enough room for 2 adults and 2 small kids. No messing with tents!

Booked for Tipi in a few weeks. Shower blocks very clean and 20p a shower not an issue. Great place for star gazing as no mega bright lights around! Superb place,

Castles and walk all around the area and not a far drive to Snowdon. Plus one of the best ice cream shops in Cricieth we have ever been to! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Russandjax 9 reviews from this member

 If you want to explore this corner of Gwynedd you won't go far wrong with this site.

The views are stunning, long distance across the bay towards Harlech, mountains and hills.

The staff are all very friendly and welcoming. We had AWP and was given a tarp to put down. I was worried about this beforehand, but it was absolutely fine. Our pitch was spacious and felt private.

There are terraced areas for tents/caravans going up the hillside, plus 2 huge fields for tents who want to pitch where they please.

2 loo blocks with all the facilities. Always very clean (several times a day).

In Portmaddog there is a huge Tesco, totaly geared up for all the campers in the area. Also Aldi & Lidll. Go Outdoors sell very cheap rock pegs compared to other camping suppliers!

Criccieth is a lovely walk away, the front is totally uncommercialised, with the best fish & chips from the shop up the hill towards the castle!

Black Rock sands is a magnificent beach. We parked against the rocks and had a mini camp!

This area never disappoints, the site did not either!

We will be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jaynnie 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a 3 night stop at this site and couldn't be happier.

Everyone very friendly, everywhere well maintained and clean at all times and the views? wow!

Not sure if the freezer has been upgraded/fixed as we were able to rotate 8/8 packs with no problems whatsoever.

Criccieth in walking distance, with bars/restaurants or a quick hop in the car to Porthmadog for camping supplies or shopping from 3 large supermarkets and the town (great Chinese takeaway!)

Ultimately, we were recommended this site by a work colleague - We will certainly be be back again and will recommend it to others too. Can't give higher praise than that. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pitch 5 reviews from this member

 This campsite has everything we needed, good facilities a bus stop right outside the campsite, friendly owners and wardens. Great views. Have already recommended to friends.

This will be our 4th time in September 3rd time this year. We will be returning next season. There is also a fishery next door for the anglers. One of our favourites is the chip shop in Criccieth and Cadwalader's ice cream and finishing the night off at The Bryn Hir pub.

We buy our sausages and bacon from the butcher in criccieth first one on the left. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stafford 4 1 review from this member

 A real gem of a site. From the first phone call through a 3 night stay to our departure nothing but praise.

The site is really well maintained with plenty of space, toilets are kept very clean and the clever use of wet rooms in the upper toilets is excellent--we were there over a bank holiday but had no queues.

Views from top field are incredible. I really like the way the site quietens down from 10.30 great to get youngsters to sleep-

A great site with everyone who works there really friendly and helpful--

We shall certainly visit again 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: C Lockett 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site. Very friendly, helpful staff. Wardens on site ensure everything running smoothly and rules are adhered to. Nice big fields to pitch on in lots of space, or there are set pitches with EHU's too. Static caravans also on site, but unobtrusive. 2 children's play areas where the children loved to hang out and make friends. Big fields for ball games. Washroom facilities spotless. Hot showers 20p. Lovely location with views of sea from the fields. About 1 miles away from Criccieth beach/castle etc. Would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Extremetrader 4 reviews from this member

 What can I say. I arrived the day after the bank holiday and we practically had the site to ourselves. We had a choice of pitches and chose to stay in the Caernarfon Field. This had a bit of a slope and as we had friends with us we chose this as an ideal out of the way location to pitch up tent and had a fantastic view of the sea.

I am glad we didnít arrive during a peak period as looking at the colour of the grass, some of the pitches were very close. However, we did not have this problem and it was very quiet on the 3 days we were there.

The site is close to Criccieth Castle and beach. It is about 1.5 miles and with a leisurely walk and picking blackberries along the route it took about 20 minutes t get to Criccieth.

It is about 2 miles walk to Blackrock sands and caves but we had to take the long route around which was about 4 miles walk after being told about the path not being suitable for a baby stroller.

The site was very clean and quiet. The toilets/shower room were clean but I would not have classed them as 4 star as Iíve seen better elsewhere. You also required 20p for the shower which lasted 4 minutes so it was a bit of a race to shampoo and shower before the water ran out on 20p. A couple of friends had to top up but they were extravagant and used 40p.

The baby room with shower was very good. There was also children's facilities which we did not use.

There were washing facilities and a freezer for the icepacks but this was not very powerful as it took all night to freeze a couple of blocks.

All in the site was very well located, quiet and had fantastic views and felt private. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Corkfeet 3 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from a fantastic long bank holiday week end away. We are well seasoned campers and certainly agreed that Eisteddfa is one of the best sites we have ever been to.

On arrival Drew (the owner) was super friendly, and gave us just the right amount of information so that we could find our way around but not too much so that we could explore our selves.

The actual site was kept very tidy and even though freshly mown there was not any grass clippings at all, so the inside of our tent stayed clean as a whistle.

The toilets seemed to be cleaned a lot, and I never had to queue for the showers which again were kept very clean.

The views from the campsite are unbeatable, look one way and you have the sea and look the other way you have the mountains of snowdonia.

Criccieth village is just a 5 min drive away and is a beautiful place to spend the day. The beach is perfect for children and my nieces and Nephew loved playing in the water, crab lining off the pier and rock pooling in the fantastic rock pools that appear when the tide goes down.They even found a few good waves to body board on.

We had a fantastic meal out to celebrate my brother inlaws birthday at 'Tiffin' restaurant in Criccieth (opposite the bank), if you eat up stairs you have great views of the castle.

The wild life was a extra that we had not expected and laughed at 7am one morning when the cows started moo'ing and my 1 year old nephew started moo'ing back!

If I had to criticise, The freezer was not quite powerful enough to freeze our freezer blocks, and the top field is very windy, but it was worth it for the views.

The Play areas were perfect, and very safe.

The whole site is so gorgeous and we had a very special holiday. We will be back. 


Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Criccieth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4527 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement