Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth > Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site
Pentrefelin
Criccieth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL52 0PT
Tel: 01766 522696
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 121 Reviews
                9/10 from 121 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LisaLou1982 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived here just an hour after booking, having driven over to Wales as we hadn't decided where we wanted to stay before we left.

We were not disappointed.

We were warmly greeted on site and given information about where everything was and where we could camp. We were given a designated flat space but we chose Cricceith Field and found a slightly sloping spot which was absolutely fine and had a lovely view over cardigan bay and Cricceith castle.

There are 2 shower and toilet blocks on site - we only used one of them but found them to be extremely clean and modern with plenty of toilets and showers. We never had to wait for a shower. Showers are 20p for 4 mins. There is a hair dryer in the ladies which is 20p.

There is also a washing up area with a washing machine and tumble drier and a large freezer for ice packs which was excellent. There were a few books left for people to read which also worked great for me as I had forgotten mine!

Cricceith is a 25 min walk away and Porthmadog is around an hour (3miles) Its an easy walk and fine during the lovely weather. There is a bus stop outside the camp site but we found the bus very expensive £5. 60 for 2 single tickets!

The owners of the site were very friendly - even helping us with a jump start when we got a flat battery so many thanks! :)

We would definitely return here and would highly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SummerSky 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely week at Eisteddfa campsite in North Wales. We were very lucky with the weather, so have not experienced the site in anything other than brilliant sunshine.

The site is in a beautiful area with lovely views of the hills and bay, is in a good position to explore North Wales and is only a few minutes drive from the coast. The owners/ wardens are very friendly and every time we saw any of them (which is often as the wardens go around the site frequently checking things are ok), they asked if we were alright which was a nice touch.

As mentioned in previous reviews, this site was excellent value for money and I didn't feel that they were trying to charge me extra for every little thing - quite the opposite in fact. We were given a double pitch for our large tent at no extra cost which I felt was very generous.

There are 2 play areas. The one next to reception is small but good and there is also an indoor games room here with a football table and pool table. The other play area was in need of some care and was too far to feel safe to let children play alone there. There is also a large area where dogs can be walked and ball games can be played which was nice.

The toilet blocks were clean and not busy while we were there. The only issue we had was there not being anything to dry your hands with but if you take your own towel with you each time this is not a problem. The separate unisex showers in the smaller block were very good - each had a private toilet, sink and shower with a large area to get changed and a stool for sitting or laying clothing on provided.

There is an indoor dishwashing area with a washing machine, tumble dryer and freezer for ice packs.

This site had an overall friendly, quiet and safe feel about it. We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Shell007 1 review from this member

 Go Glamping ! stayed at Eisteddfa caravan and camping site at the end of June and it was fantastic. We stayed in a cocoon which was both spacious and value for money. The view from the cocoon is amazing as it looks out over the field, and although we had an evening of rain the cocoon was cozy inside. The toilet block is immaculate but you will need twenty pence coins for both the shower and the hair dryer. The wardens/ owners of the site are spot on as they are helpful but not overbearing. The site is a twenty minute walk to criccieth or the beach and makes for a cracking stay in a good location. Enjoy your stay x 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ray001 1 review from this member

 Sorry to read about the bad experience of the previous reviewer.

All I can say is that we have always had great stays at Eisteddfa and can highly recommend the site to everyone! Our 'neighbours' on the adjoining pitch this week and new to this site, stated that they would be definitely returning in the future.

The site is well kept, the staff have always been very helpful, the owners are friendly and accommodating. Never had any problems with the facilities, the grounds are neat and tidy, has great views and is handy for Criccieth and Porthmadog and all the visitor attractions of that part of Wales, not to mention the wonderful surrounding countryside.

Can't wait to get back there! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beverley567901 1 review from this member

 We are new to caravanning & picked this site due to the good reviews on here. We know this area extremely well & have spent many many years on holiday on the Llyn. I am pretty sure whoever we booked with is no longer on the site we didn't get the helpful welcome we had over the phone when booking. We where dismissed after explaining our problems with our pitch on arrival. Our pitch was dark & close to a wooded area. If it had of been warm at night the midges would have eaten us up had we sat out. All the other pitches were in sunnier positions. We only managed to stay one night instead of a week. We came home without a shower, it was very basic & cold in the toilet block although clean. The site was quiet though. This site might be better for experienced campers prepared to rough it a bit or those with better caravans/tents than we had. We still love the Llyn though nothing can ruin that! Wardens really let us down they are not good enough for this job :( 
Management response: After reading our visitors review and seeing it from their perspective, I can understand that being excited to try out caravanning for their first time, they may have been disappointed in the fact that the weather over the spring bank period was anything but Spring and we knew that the lady was concerned as it was cold and wet as her daughter suffers from a heart condition, had we not been fully booked on our electric pitches the party could of course have been moved, we did have other pitches available but without electric. I do haste to add that we always let people know that the area near the forest is shaded and nearer to the road so that they have a fully informed idea of the area in question, interesting enough though is the fact that we have people year in year out who actually request that pitch as it is quaint and offers an intimate space to enjoy the forest. It goes without saying that we always try and make our visitors experience a positive one as they deserve to enjoy their holiday and have many visitors who book year in year out as they enjoy natural beauty, cleanliness and hospitality that our site offers. We hope that the family can see that we couldn’t have done anymore due to being fully booked.

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GaryH35 2 reviews from this member

 My wife and myself stayed here for 5 nights early October in a small tourer. It was a very impressive site with grass and hardstanding pitches and quite spectacular views. Dave the warden was very friendly and helpful and made us welcome. We both loved the site and nearby Criccieth and I would highly recommend the site to anyone.

I will be going back.

We could not find you when we left and we wanted to say thanks and good luck with your up and coming family events. Take care. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: B4rlow 2 reviews from this member

 *** Highly recommended****

We spent a great week at this campsite.

Upon arrival (in the pouring rain) we we greeted by the owner. We were directed to The lower cul-de-sac which we had pre booked for our group (2 Large Tents and a Caravan Which unfortunately had to cancel).

We were advised not to pull the cars right down on the grass as the rain had made it very soft under foot and as the cul-de-sac was down a slight slope.

We were advised that we could use the grass but recommended using the hard standing pitches which were covered with slate. I was a little apprehensive but the owner offered us the loan of extra tarps to put under our foot prints. We opted for this and we had no problems with the tent floors with rips etc (just wasn't the same as walking with grass underfoot). As the Rain continued pouring down and the tent was getting quite heavy to put up the owner was at hand to give us a much appreciated helping hand.

The site itself is very well kept,

We were located near the lower toilet and shower blocks. These were kept clean all the time. (it seemed as though there was someone cleaning it every time I used them) The showers had a charge of 20p for 4 mins but it seemed like you got more time than this and the water was always hot.

The pot washing area was also indoors and had 4 sinks a freezer for ice blocks and a washer and a dryer for clothing to use for a fee. Just one word of warning. The HOT water in this area was extremely hot to the point of scolding hot.

There was a small playground and a small building with a pool and football table in (think there was a charge for the tables) for the kids to use.

The site is located in an ideal position for exploring the local are.

Criccieth is a 2 min car ride away with a little High street and a Spar. There is beautiful fish and chip shop at the top of the hill near the castle and Amazing Ice-cream palour straight opposite.

Porthmadog is abot a 5-10 min drive away. It has a large Tesco, Aldi And lidl. It has the station there for the ffestiniog railway, and a high street with a few shops on, the marina area is great for crabbing off (144 crabs in a few hours).

We also visited Caernarvon, Pwllheli, and Anglesey sea zoo. Which are all within an easy drive.

We had a great time here and the owners were more than helpful. We will definitely using this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clair B 3 reviews from this member

 Absolutely brilliant. What more can I say we were greeted with a lovely warm welcome in the middle of a downpour. We were shown to our pitch in the beautiful lower cul-de-sac we were asked to park at the top because of the soaked grass.

The pitch was slate but this turned out to be a God send. We were given an extra groundsheet and a helping hand putting up the tent. All aspects of our stay was brilliant we couldn't have asked for more our 7 year old loved the play area and surrounding woodland (the next Bear Grylls).

The toilet/shower block was small but always clean. Washing facilities always had hot water. This is probably the nicest friendliest site we have visited. The beach a Criccieth is lovely, The harbour at Porthmadog was crab heaven.

There's a lovely Fish and Chip shop in Criccieth with an ice cream parlour just across the road with gorgeous views of the bay. Plenty of supermarkets in Porthmadog.

You must visit Black Rock beach while in the area brilliant for all types of beach activities. We will certainly be revisiting. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: KERRY50 2 reviews from this member

 After having turbo issues, we arrived at the site on the back of a lowloader. We were welcomed by the owner and the warden who said it was no problem as they could use the site vehicle to take our trailer tent to our pitch.

While on the way to the pitch we remarked on how tidy and well laid out the site was, once at the pitch we had good views of the surrounding countryside.

The warden on one of his many rounds offered to help us, and also advised us on local garages and bus services to the local areas. Toilet blocks were always clean and inspected.

A no noise policy is strictly enforced. There was lots of heavy rain but the site showed no signs of flooding.

All in all the owners and wardens were extremely helpful at all times and would go back and highly recommend this site everybody. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Krupp42 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely perfect! We stayed in the cocoon for three nights and found the facilities to be fine and clean,

The showers and toilets were very clean the staff are very friendly and very helpful,

The fields are very well maintained, having nice weather was the icing on the cake,

I highly recommend the site,

Very family friendly, lots of happy families having a great time,

We will be back 


Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Criccieth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4559 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement