Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth > Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site
Pentrefelin
Criccieth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL52 0PT
Tel: 01766 522696
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 121 Reviews
                9/10 from 121 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alec wallace 3 reviews from this member

 My son and I have just returned from a long weekend at this site. We were blessed with good weather which always helps but that aside we rated this site. We pitched on the first of the two rally fields. Undulating/down hill but you can find a flat bit. Toilet blocks and showers were clean. It costs 20p for four minutes. Dish washing area is small, clean and lots of free hot water. There is a chest freezer for your freezer blocks which is good. I recall a washing machine and tumble dryer but didn't use them. There is plenty of room acrosss the site and its well maintained. Lots of familly groups and the kids had plenty of room to run. There is a large field for them. My son is 23 yrs old so we can't comment further. Ideally situated for a 15 minute stroll into Criccieth or to Black Rock Sands. The acid test is would we return and the answer is yes, so check it out. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hedgehog57 2 reviews from this member

 I really can't say much more, about this site, that hasn't been said already however, here goes. We arrived at the site on a warm and dry day - a novelty for us and our friends! In fact such a novelty that we took ages setting up - we decided to fully enjoy our surroundings which were quiet and peaceful (except for a little traffic noise) and eat our sandwiches whilst deciding where to pitch. Our first impressions (which remained throughout our stay) was that the staff were accommodating and helpful. We were there for two weeks and although it rained during our first week the drainage around the pitches was so good we didn't experience any problems (again a novelty for us - mud baths is usually the norm!)

The showers were fine although initially we didn't think we'd get on with having to pay for them - 20 pence for 4 mins. However, it is amazing how quickly you adapt. The washing machine (2.50 for approx 25 mins) and tumble dryer (1 for approx 30 mins) are located within the washing-up room which itself is next to both the men's and women's wash blocks. The family wash rooms, which are situated further up the site were very handy after a day at the beach to get all the kids cleaned up. The site itself is between Porthmadog and Criccieth and is a good setting off point for trips out. There is an Outdoor Pursuits shop on the left just before you approach Porthmadog from the campsite which proved handy for odds and ends 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mel and Dave 1 review from this member

 We thought the facilities were good although I would agree with another member that the pressing of shower buttons are unnecessary once you have paid your 20 pence and 40 pence was adequate. The site was really good with plenty of space. The walk down the hill to the toilet block was a long one and we are blessed that my two children were able to hold it at night! Our weather was not great but we did have 3/7 good beach days and Black Rock Sands in Portmadog was amazing- I had never driven on to a beach before- what a luxury to have your car with you and not need to carry everything for 3.

The owner was very friendly and most helpful. The area was great- we loved Cricceth beach where my children loved finding the little sand crabs and looking for worm trails. The fish and chip dining room was quaint and nipping over the road to the ice cream parlour with lovely views was a real treat. We visited the RSPB centre and saw the Ospreys on their nest, the slate mines at Snowdonia were fantastic and free and the Labyrinth at Corris was captivating. We thought the copper mines nearby were rubbish. We have so much we still want to do so when my youngest is old enough to climb all the way up Snowden by himself we will return and we would return to this camp site as it was very good. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Netean 2 reviews from this member

 A very well run campsite! Price is charged per tent so this site is much better for a group over an individual, but as there was 3 of us visiting it worked out very economical indeed.

Campsite was easy to find, reception was clean and staff were warm, friendly and welcoming.

Facilities were excellent, showers and toilets were always spotlessly clean. Showers worked well and had good pressure.

Didn't use washing machine or drier, but glad they were there (and seemed quite reasonably priced too)

We had an allocated pitch - I understand some people get sent to one of the larger fields and have free pitching, but we were very happy with the allocated pitch as it has a enough room for the tent and a small built up bank around for a little privacy and some wind resistance.

Grass was very well kept, although the ground was stony and it was a challenge finding spots for tent pegs (but we managed)

Overall we found it quiet and easy to sleep. A very nice site indeed, clean well run and very pleasant. Would definitely stay there again.

The only things that it would benefit from is a small shop, as it's just too far from Criccieth to easily walk in and back in with supplies (we drove in, but walking would have been preferrable). Otherwise, I'd like some recycling facilities - there was a glass bank, but I felt somewhat guilty putting not having can/paper etc facilities - just got used to recycling and it seemed somehow 'wrong' for me to put recyclables in with regular waste. (noted that this may be beyond their control,and it is just a very minor/petty request) 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JCP70 2 reviews from this member

 An excellent site with friendly owners who are polite, chatty, helpful and manage the site very fairly. The manager tours the whole site a couple of times daily (once at about 9-10pm 'ish.Just when noise levels can become intrusive) and this is very reassuring, especially when you have younger kids.

Even in peak season they told me that they don't fully book all tent pitches to allow everyone plenty of space.

I'm a caravanner as well as a camper and I'd definitely bring the 'van here too (good pitches).

This is the perfect family site, they don't book large or single sex groups. We've been twice now with another family and we love it.

Tent fields are on a hillside but it's easy to find fairly level areas and the owners are not too picky about pitches provided you camp sensibly.

Facilities

Clean, well maintained toilets and showers which have plenty of space to change without falling over yourself (4 mins for 20p).

Loads of washing up basins.

Washer and dryer. Freezers availalable (Free)for ice packs.

Plenty of space for kids to play safely and a very good little playground and games room.

Criccieth is nearby so is Porthmadog with loads of shops (Lidl, Aldi, Gelert Factory shop etc.).

The icing on the cake!

Fantastic views of snowdonia and the Welsh coast.

Lots of leaflets about local attractions and activities. Reccommend taking the car on the beach at nearby Blackrock sands. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kimmienmatt 1 review from this member

 Myself and my partner arrived on the Friday and was greeted by two gentleman in the office who where very polite and very helpful. We had lovely spot and it felt very private as the bunkers broke up the spaces. Unfortunately we were not aware there was a shop onsite but this didn't cause a problem as we shopped in the local area.
The toilets and showers were always clean and toilet roll well stocked up. We look forward to returning again. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emmalem 1 review from this member

 The site is situated in the middle of porthmadog and cricceth* the staff in the reception where very helpful and directed us to the correct place we began to set up.And the weather was not on our side so they come over and give us some tips on how to stop the tent blowing away seen as we where at the top of the campsite and winds where very high.

There are plenty of water taps arounid the site and the toilet and shower facilities were kept clean and tidy Showers are 20p for about four mins we used 40p, there are washing facilities for dishes and clothes. The play area was full of water so we didn't take much notice of it.

Porthmadog was quite a busy shopping area with a supermarket and variety of shops, Cricceth was a bit quieter, the beach was lovley and the views from the castle were amazing!. We visited Abosoch Beach which was brill.

The views from the campsite where amazing!.The only let down on the site was that you're not allowed campfires on this site. This is one of the main points that we where looking for in a site so this was a big let down for us but if its not something you're bothered about then I recommend this site!

Definitely go back there! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ghwerig 2 reviews from this member

 Regularly cleaned toilets and showers. Staff and owners are helpful and concerned. Well run and good size pitches, larger than standard pitches available in 'rally' fields. Lots of kids around late evening at the bottom of site, though always decently behaved. I have returned to this site three times this year and been happy each time. Upper areas of site have incredible veiws of Snowdonia to wake to. I have been to a few sites on Lleyn and this rates very well. Recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mottster 2 reviews from this member

 This is great campsite and highly recommended. We stayed in a five man tent and had a lot of extra space for the car, space to sit out and a BBQ. Lots of grassy areas for children to play.

The staff were all helpful and advised on some great places to visit in the area including Llanberis and Nant Gwent. Other good areas to see are Beddgelert, Portmeirion, Caernarfon, and of course Criccieth which is half an hour walk away, ten minutes in the car.

Showers and toilets were very clean. Hairdryer on a 20p meter in lower block. Freezer, washing machine and tumble dryer available in lower block. Drinking water taps spread around the site.

Criccieth has a good butchers, a handy camping shop, Spar, number of restaurants and pubs. Also visit Criccieth castle for great views and nearby Black Rock Sands.

Would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tanya02 2 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a week at Eisteddfa and it was a lovely campsite. Very welcoming and nothing is ever a problem. All the staff we came across were friendly and helpful, which makes a big difference if you are new to camping.

Our pitch was flat and the whole site was spotlessly clean with lovely views.

Toilet blocks and washing up areas were clean and tidy and not too far away.

Porthmadoch was just down the road with a tescos and I think an aldi or lidl is opening soon.

Would definitely recommend this campsite to family and friends. 


Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Criccieth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4587 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement