Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth > Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site
Pentrefelin
Criccieth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL52 0PT
Tel: 01766 522696
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 122 Reviews
                9/10 from 122 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  122 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tanya02 2 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a week at Eisteddfa and it was a lovely campsite. Very welcoming and nothing is ever a problem. All the staff we came across were friendly and helpful, which makes a big difference if you are new to camping.

Our pitch was flat and the whole site was spotlessly clean with lovely views.

Toilet blocks and washing up areas were clean and tidy and not too far away.

Porthmadoch was just down the road with a tescos and I think an aldi or lidl is opening soon.

Would definitely recommend this campsite to family and friends. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Takisawa 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Eisteddfa for 5 nights in mid September 2007. The site is on the side of a hill but is terraced well, with a small number of static caravans & quite a few seasonal pitches. It is approached through a nice wide entrance, immediately after the old peoples home (If travelling from Porthmadoc).
There is plenty of room for 2 or 3 outfits to fit in the entrance paddock at the same time for booking in. The small reception office is manned on a part time basis & is tidy & functional. The steward is very helpful with plenty advice on pitching etc.
The pitches are somewhat sloping, but the majority of touring caravan pitches have levelled slabs for wheels to sit on. Access to the upper parts of the site is along a gravel driveway, & is somewhat narrow. There is no footpath to the upper fields, so you have to walk along the track, this is somewhat dangerous as it means having to step into the undergrowth when vehicles pass. The electric hook-up is rated at 10 amps, & there is only a single fresh water & waste water point for the top fields.

The facilities are very clean & modern, & consist of 2 separate blocks. The lower block is set right at the bottom of the sites & consists of separate male & female toilets, sinks & 3 showers. There is also a very well equipped dissabled facility with toilet, sink & shower. A baby bath is also supplied, however there is no surface on which to sit it for bathing the little one(s). The dissabled facility requires a key which is given to dissabled guests & guests with small children. Unfortunately despite asking several times we were not given a key & had to resort to crowding into one of the shower rooms in the upper block to wash our two children. The upper facility block consists of 6 uni-sex rooms, with coded entry. Two of these contain a shower with the remaining four having a toilet & sink. However the biggest let down is the fact that they are not heated in the colder months. This was not really a problem for us adults, but it was a bit cold when we came to bath our 7 week old & his 22 month old brother. The showers require a 20p coin for about 4 mins, but the biggest annoyance was that the showers operate with a push button that needs re-pressing every 15 seconds or so. Totally unnecessary considering that you have paid for the shower in the first place.

A covered dish-washing area is provided in the lower block, with the upper block having 2 open air sinks. Unfortunately the sinks for the upper block are right next to the chemical toilet waste point. (Not very hygienic). There are also no lights for the upper sinks so washing up after dark is a torchlight affair. There is no lighting whatsoever to the upper fields, meaning that trips to the toilet block can be hazardous, especially for children. The site is located about 3.5 miles out of Porthmadoc, & about 1.5 miles from Criccieth. Criccieth has a Spar shop, a decent fish n' chip shop & a small beach. There is a 24hr petrol station in Porthmadoc.

The site has some lovely views of the cardigan bay, & also the surrounding mountains.

We probably would return to Eisteddfa if back in the area. It is a well run site that is tidy & well looked. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lovethewellies 1 review from this member

 Spent fri & sat night here last weekend, site was spacious, shower & toilet blocks nice & clean. Owner was very helpful when the the car would'nt start, also gave good advice on how to take the tent down when the wind became very choppy. Will without doubt go back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barnieslad 1 review from this member

 We thought our three nights at this site where lovely. We managed to get a pitch on the top field which gave us beautiful views of the mountains behind us and the sea in front of us. Although the pitch was slightly sloping it wasn't a problem and the site was quiet of a night. The site isn't far from Portmadog and me and my son walked to Criccieth which is a lovely little town with a popular pebble beach. I personally felt that another shower block would have been better but apart from that it was great. We'll certainly be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Felica82 1 review from this member

 This was my first camping trip with my partner of 3 years. He had never been camping before and it had been almost 15 years since I last went. We found the campsite on off chance as the one we had booked we couldn't find. The staff were very friendly and could accommodate us at short notice. We drove up to our designated pitch and up went the tent in the wind and rain. We found the views very picturesque and the site very clean. The toilets/showers were in a good location and were kept clean and tidy. They did get busy in the mornings. We found that it was quite at night time and would recommend the site to friends and family. We enjoyed it that much that we are returning in 2 weeks time with the children. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mopet 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first time out with a tent after years of caravanning. The site was spacious with lovely veiws,top fields better. Toilets and showers are very clean , although can get a bit busy at times,as the caravan part of the site was busy.
Lots of families and children but always quiet by 11ish.
Bus stop right outside the gates gets you to Porthmadoc and down to Pwelliillli (cant spell it but you know where I mean) runs regularly Mon to Sat.
Staff are friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sprocket 11 reviews from this member

 Just spent a wonderful 4 nights at Eisteddfa.

On arriving, it was unfortunately too windy for us to pitch our tent in the upper field, I had visions of the tent flying away as we tried to pitch, so rather than risk it for the view we moved to a lower field. Typically, the wind died down for the rest of our stay so I don't think the high winds are a permanent feature thankfully. We only live 1.5hrs away so its a perfect site for us for quick 'getaway' weekends, we will definitely be returning, and hopefully next time, we can go up the top where the views are stunning.

I can only agree with other reviews that the toilets and showers were spotless, ok they are a little distance away from the fields but really not that far and its a lovely view on the way down and no way should that put you off this site. Owners and the wardens are always around and keep a close eye on the site.

The location is perfect for exploring the Lleyn Peninsula, local castles and its many many beaches. Don't go for the obvious ones, try and find the quiet, secluded ones, you won't be disappointed.

I'd give this site full marks, its just what we want from a campsite. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve1300 7 reviews from this member

 Just got back from Eiseddfa this was our 8th visit over the last few years and we have yet to find a better site. The toilets and wash room are always spotless. Theres a small play area for kids and a dog walking area,there are no idiots on site so you can let your children play safely, and it is a quiet site at night after 11pm.

We arrived when it was raining but the ground is well drained so it soon dried after the rain, the rest of the weekend was breezy but plenty of sun. The owner Drew is always friendly and helpful.

As mentioned the site is the best we've been and the views from the upper fields are unbelievable, you can walk to Criccieth which is about 1 1/2 miles away theres a lovely chippie near the castle but be prepared to wait. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DIG2754 5 reviews from this member

 Just come home from a weeks stay at Eisteddfa site. First time we have stayed here and it will not be the last. Very clean toilets and showers, with very hot water at all times of the day. The views were just breath taking. Although it rained every day the ground seemed to drain very well.
Not far from the shops or beaches. Drew and Karen are great people. Hope to go back soon  


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carolinerobertson 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a great stay at Eisteddfa.  We are a family of four, 2 adults and 2 boys aged 9 and 5, and we have been camping at Eisteddfa for five years now.  It is the most lovely site with fantastic views from all around the site.  The designated pitches are very well looked after and are extremely good sizes (our tent takes a lot of space!).  Or if you like to pitch where you like, go for the fields - you can see the sea from these. 
The site is family orientated and we feel safe to let the kids have a bit of freedom around the site.  The toilets and showers are always spotless, and the 20p charge for the showers gives plenty of time, and the water is very hot!  If there is a queue at the top block you can always walk down to the lower block where there is rarely a queue.  We are going back again in August with friends for another week. 
The area is full of places to see and things to do.  Our favourite family restaurant is Tiffin on the main street, we always have to go there at least once.  There are some nice little independent shops in Criccieth worth looking at. - you won't be disappointed on this site. 
We have looked at other sites in the area, but can't find one we feel like staying in instead!  The owners are very welcoming and will sort out any problems.  Can't recommend it highly enough. 


Previous     122 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Criccieth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4815 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement