Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth > Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site
Pentrefelin
Criccieth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL52 0PT
Tel: 01766 522696
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 122 Reviews
                9/10 from 122 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  122 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stones700 1 review from this member

 Having read a previous comment before our stay, or the day before we set off, we were a little concerned . We had been last year, and found the site excellent.
This week, it was better than before. The toilet locks as mentioned have been replaced with round indicators (red and green) to make it easy to see if they are in use. The park was pleasant and well maintained. There was a lovely park area for the kiddies to play and the owner was installing a slide. There was a great warmth flowing from the owners and nothing seemed too much trouble. There has been many improvement since last year, including the new office/reception area.
It was a pleasure to stay and we will continue to do so. It makes a change to see that it is a passion and not just a business being run here. 10/10 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sharonspro 1 review from this member

 I have just returned from this site after a†week there with my teenage daughter and her friend. I found the owners to be very friendly and helpful nothing was ever too much trouble for them.
The girls would play on the pool table in the games room which is situated next to the park, both of which are close to the site office which I found quite reassuring, because there was always someone near by to keep an eye on them.
There is a constant supply of hot water in both the dish washing room and the bathrooms. The showers take 20p coins I found that one was plenty to have a shower. The toilets were always clean and tidy. There are plenty of shops in the near by town of Porthmadog.
Overall I found this camp to be very friendly and clean I enjoyed the site so much I have booked to go back later in the year. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Curly14 1 review from this member

 WOW. Great campsite. Myself, husband and children aged 14 and 6, had a fantastic time. We found the camp to be of high standard with cleanliness and the facilities were excellent.
My son had a great time meeting new friends in the games room, and my daughter enjoyed playing on the swings and play house.
We enjoyed this campsite so much we have booked to go again this year. Absolutely great value for money, and the owners are very welcoming.
† 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lucycat 8 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Eisteddfa and it was up to the same high standards as last year.† Drew and Karen were very welcoming and friendly and always around to help with any issues.† The site was mostly quiet at night although the Friday / Saturday night was a little noisier as new arrivals adjusted to tent life.
I would agree with the locks on the upper toilet block, although Drew and the warden Pete were constantly trying to adjust them, they were too stiff and heavy for our children to use safely.†The children's playground does need a little work, although being away from the tents meant that there was no noise coming from there.

Clean dish-washing facilities with VERY hot water! The 20p for† a shower was enough too. Terraced flat pitches with electric hook ups were large - they fitted our Outwell Colorado and canopy on easily.

Gorgeous views across the bay to Harlech Castle and a central location for the attractions of the Lleyn - highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Horton 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our 3rd visit to Eisteddfa, my favourite site.† Weather not that fantastic, but our tent tent thankfully held out.
an all round excellent site, clean facilities, hot water etc.the only downside was we were placed in one of the overspill fields which was a bit further away from the main, this resulted in a trek to the loos and water pipes.
Think the owners would benefit from putting another set of loos nearer top end of site.† apart from that which im sure will happen in time, this site is well worth visiting, the views on a clear day are breathtaking. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Captain Caveman 18 reviews from this member

 This site had a fairly healthy mix of caravans and tents, lending itself to a really friendly atmosphere. I was also very surprised at how quiet it got by about 11pm; the only sounds were those ofsnoring! There were no gangs of youths or loud stereos here and I can only guess that this is down to the friendlywardens that live on site and frequently patrol the fields.
The site was well kept and the showers and toilets were always clean. 20p easily provides enough time for one person to shower. There was always soap and paper in the toilets, but take a towel to dryyour hands. The water in the dish-washroom is piping hot and the facilities were more than adequate for our stay on abusy May bank holiday.
Itís just a shamethat my stay here was slightly let down by a silly little gripe- faulty locks on the toilet / shower doors on the unisex upper toilet / shower block. Whilst all the locks worked of a fashion, the indicator on the outside was broken on a few that meant you didnít know if the cubicle was occupied. Some of the locks were so stiff that the children couldnít operate them, which meant they had to be accompanied to the toilet. Because there is another campsite in an adjacent field, the doors all have combination locks and you are given the code on arrival. This lead to the situation where people were trying to enter cubicles that were already occupied, or a queue would form outside the block when some of the cubicles were unoccupied but everyone in the queue had assumed the person at the front had already tried the locks. When in the cubicle, you could hear the sound of someone tapping in the combination code in your door and trying to push it open- not comforting if you are stood naked inside! This problem was addressed at night when you could see light coming from under the door!
The childrenís play area is not quite as good as the photograph on thewebsite- the slide and one of the swings are now missing, although the other photographs really donít do this site justice as it is far more picturesque than it appears on the web. If the owners are going to renovate the play area I would highly recommend they position it away from the site entrance- like a previous reviewer I wouldnít let my young children go on their own as it was too close to the main road. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Samandian 10 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week at this site with my husband two children aged 7 and 3 and our dog. After reading all the other reviews I was probably a little let down it was indeed a very nice site toilets clean and tidy but the only problem was we were on the second field up so were using the upper toilet block, and there was never any hand towels to dry your hands on and they always seemed dark even during the day. The recreation field was massive but a little to far away from everybody for my liking and I would'nt like to let young children go up there on their own. The childrens park could do with a facelift not much there and again to far from the tent pitches to let the children go on their own also it was very near to the exit of the site and the main road, it also got very muddy. There were plenty of water and waste water points and the pitches were well spaced out and kept very tidy by the wardens. Didnt really see the owners of the site so cannot comment on them but again refering to previous posts people say they were very helpful shown them to there pitch etc but I found that they seemed to only show the caravaners/motorhomes to there pitch and the people with tents/trailer tents etc were just told where to go and given a map of the site.

All this said the site was looked after plenty of pitches and pitches with ehu. The surrounding area was beautiful great views of the sea and the mountains, and in easy reach of criccieth where there were shops pubs etc. Porthmadog was only ten minutes away in the car where you could find all the main shops tescos, somerfield plenty in the town centre. Beautiful beaches all within easy reach and Nefyn is definitely worth a day visit one of the best beaches around. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mikhail31 1 review from this member

 Just a quick overnight stay to try the site out:

We were originally allocated a fixed pitch (the last one left), and were informed that the site was due to be completely swamped the following day- Bank Holiday Weekend. It turned out that the pitch was taken over by the tents on either side.

We went back to the office and, with different personnel, we were sent to one of two overspill fields (called Caernarfon and Criccieth). Brilliant! The views from these large, quarter- full fields was absolutely magnificent: I set the kids the task of counting the tops of the hills that surrounded the bay and the campsite- they gave up in the end.

Toilet facilities excellent, and well respected by the campers. Happy ambiance amongst the children on the site, not too noisy. Small games room and play area.

Criccieth itself has a nice little beach with sand of medium fineness, a promenade and a downwards looking castle, a grassy area with benches and toilets. Behind this is a small railway with level crossings: more interesting than disturbing.

Just down the road is Porthmadog with chip shop, charity shops etc etc.

Definitely recommended! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frube 1 review from this member

 I would agree with all the comments below! Very friendly site in a great location, could do with more showers and toilets in the top field as quite a trek! Wold recommend visiting Borth Y Gest if you like secluded little coves with great sands. Would defiantly visit again!
 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Funkey-Munkey 2 reviews from this member

 Rry itís so long, but here goes:- The campsite is roughly laid out in tiers (not exactly, justmy own interpretation), you arrive at reception bear left and follow the drivepast the games room and childrenís play area up to the first level. Here youfind the static caravans as well as touring caravans. The lower shower blocks, dish washing facilities,freezer, washing machine and dryer are all contained in this block. Follow the one way system round and you arrive at the nextlevel, here you will find caravans and some tents, pitches with hook-ups arehere (they may be else where, not sure, this is just my findings). There isalso another toilet block comprising of 6 toilets with basins (the two eitherside of the centre staff room also contain showers), these are known as the topblocks. Follow the road on and it takes you up to the upper levels,these are basically fields and are used for tents only. We pitched our tent in the very top field, the ground wasfirm, well drained and had very few under surface rocks. We doubted whether wewould be able to see the sea before we arrived. We werenít disappointed. Fromthis field you got a terrific view over Cardigan Bayand the mountains, Beautiful! We mainly used the top blocks for looís and showers, bewarned itís a bit of a trudge from the fields. Ideally the site could do withmore toilets higher up, and especially more dish washing facilities, washingpots is an even longer walk as the whole site has to use the sinks located inthe bottom block. A woman next to me moaned that it cost her 80p for a showereach day, what was she doing? 20p was more than enough for me; the water washot and sufficient to allow you to wash the cubicle at the end of your shower.20P is enough and good value for money, there are long queues at peak timeswhen the site gets busy though. As others have said, the place is spotless andcleaned regularly, if there is a problem you can just tell a warden and itísattended too. The bottom looís and showers are a little less privatealthough as they are situated closer to caravans, many with showers, you cannormally get a shower straight away here when the other block has queues. Againa third set of loos and showers with dish washing facilities would make thissite super good. To be honest though that is the only moan you could have,the site is pristine and all the staff is friendly, courteous and very helpful.Whilst there we had very heavy rain, Drew and others attended to a muddy areanear the entrance to the fields quickly by laying straw and slate shingle toensure cars did not have difficulty entering or leaving the fields. The rest ofthe fields stood up to the rain well and remained well drained and firm. The people on the site were brilliant, no nutters or thugs.There were lots of children but they played and had fun around site without anynuisance, marvellous. This site really is a fantastic place to stay; with theaddition of more looís in time (hint to Drew and Karen) this site would be oneof the best in Britainalthough Iím sure itís up near the top as it is. The location is ideal, youíre a 10 minute drive fromCriccieth or Porthmadoc, Porthmadoc has a Tesco for food & Fuel that isopen till 10.00pm. There is also a 24hr Shell station here thatís worth knowingabout, as well as a Lidl and Somerfieldís. I recommend you take a trip to Borth-y-Gest whilst there,drive into the harbour car-park then walk towards the church; there you followa path that will take you to a fantastic beach. On the way youíll see pathísleading off to the left, taking one of these will lead to secludes coves,absolutely beautiful! We pitched and packed in the rain and didnít have the bestweather whilst there. Would we go again, YES! The site and the location areFab. 


Previous     122 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Criccieth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4667 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement