Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth > Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site
Pentrefelin
Criccieth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL52 0PT
Tel: 01766 522696
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 122 Reviews
                9/10 from 122 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  122 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Krupp42 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely perfect! We stayed in the cocoon for three nights and found the facilities to be fine and clean,

The showers and toilets were very clean the staff are very friendly and very helpful,

The fields are very well maintained, having nice weather was the icing on the cake,

I highly recommend the site,

Very family friendly, lots of happy families having a great time,

We will be back 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: TONY B 6 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site. Stayed on a very wet jubilee bank holiday weekend in the cocoon and were probably the only dry campers! The cocoon was great for two adults (not sure how previous campers fitted 2 kids in as well) but it does now have a large canopy which provides a valuable shelterd outdoor living space where you can cook and watch the world go by. The toilet and shower blocks are not the best we have stayed at but by no means the worst and are more than adequate and always kept clean. The site owner was very friendly and as previously mentioned, observed turning away campers who had not pre-booked as the site was at capacity. There seemed to be plenty of space for more tents but this was due to max capacity to use the toilet facilities. Have been on sites were owners would have put profit first and this was good to see. The site wardens dave and linda were the best we have ever come across - very fiendly, always walking the site checking everything is ok, advised us on some great walks and places to visit by car. The site in good location close enough to walk into Criccieth (must try cadwalders ice cream and fish and chip shop across road from each other) and is a great base to explore surrounding areas - we went to abersoch, llanbedrog, pwllheli, porthmadog, portmerion and then went around the snowdon mountain range visiting betws-y-coed, llanberis and beddgelert which was our favourite. Will definitely return and will stay in cocoon again. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Archie01 1 review from this member

 We visited this site during the very wet and windy half-term week in June.

The views of the local countryside are fantastic and the warden and owners are very friendly and helpful.

This is located about 30 minute stroll from Criccieth, which is very nice little village with a great little beach for the kids (lot's of rock pools) and a terrific fish and chip shop, which is close to the castle. Be warned, the queue is long, but it's worth the wait!

Thought the campsite was good, however we were at the top of the site and were therefore very exposed to the windy conditions (took our awning down a couple of nights to protect it).

We have two young kids and felt that the playground was not in the best of positions, being at the entrance to the campsite and not too far from the road. We didn't let the kids visit on their own, but might have done had the playground been situated in the middle of the site.

The wash rooms are adequate, but we've experienced far better. They were clean and there was always availability for the showers (20p for 4 mins), however there was no heating. That was ok in June, but might be uncomfortable at other times.

I felt that the site would have benefited from some bins in the upper toilet block and a little shop selling milk and bread would also have been helpful.

All in all, a decent site, but one where a few improvements could turns it into a very good site. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nofrills 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a wet holiday weekend at Eisteddfa where we stayed with three other families. Had a fantastic time despite the weather and will definitely be visiting this site again. On arrival we were met by the owner who impressed us by politely refusing entry to a group, who were in reception with two tents and had not pre-booked.

The owner explained that the site was fully booked and he apologised before the group moved on. This impressed us because the site is by no means overcrowded and there is plenty of space for all to pitch - the owners simply stick to the rules and are not greedy for the extra income.

We were allowed to pitch four tents together but the site operate a strict 5 metre minimum distance between tents. The site warden is fantastic and is always around to offer advice, assistance and weather reports.

The toilets and showers are spotless and we did not have to queue at all, despite it being a bank holiday weekend.

There is a twenty minute walk into Criccieth on a footpath along the busy main road but we found a longer (5 miles) route back through the local golf course - the gents there were also very pleasant and helpful with directions despite us traipsing across the fairway.

There are two good play areas for the kids on site and the owners have a strict 10. 30 pm noise policy which everyone seemed to adhere to. Can't fault this site or way it is run and we will be back in better weather. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lummykins 4 reviews from this member

 This was a last minute booking due to Badminton Horse Trials being cancelled and a group of eight of us wanted to get away. We contacted the site and were initially told that they didn't take groups, but if we were prepared to leave a 'noise bond' we could book in. We turned up just before the bank holiday weekend to be put into a lovely big field with amazing views. The toilet block and wash up facilities were just a short walk away and what ever time we used them found we never had to queue and they were always clean.

The warden came round as we pitched up and was a lovely, friendly chap who gave us advice on where local attractions etc were. We didn't take children but did notice two nice looking play areas and an indoor games room for those wet days. One slight draw back is the noise coming from the busy A road which runs by the bottom of the site, but it didn't detract from the break, it depends on how much attention you want to give it. The showers cost 20p for 4 mins and the hair drier was 20p for what seemed ages. Could possibly provide a hand dryer for use after hand washing from toilet visits.

The local area is lovely. Not too far to stroll to Criccieth and a short drive to Porthmadog which has a very nice beach. Portmeirion village is also a short drive away and well worth a visit. Ideal location for walking, especially Snowdon and surrounding mountains. Plenty of nice pubs around.

We will all be returning to this site in the near future. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Cornishlas 1 review from this member

 This time round we felt like some luxury and stayed in a static caravan on site well equipped and roomy with three young kids.

Kids loved the freedom to play on the two play areas and running across the fields and woodland walk.

Facilities are spotless and wash room ideal for any family washer and dryer on site.

Scenery is excellent in the top fields you can see for miles, very quiet at night not full of yobs and undesirables wardens very helpful and owners are fantastic only thing missing is an on site shop. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helen Small 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed the week leading up to the Jubilee weekend it was very quiet and we had (mostly) lovely weather so perhaps we saw it at it's best.

However, I would say that anyone who can find bad things to say about this site has a fertile imagination.

The welcome is friendly and the wardens are very considerate and helpful.

Our son was taken ill and they were extremely supportive to us helping us keep him clean and dry.

Loads to do in the area, we'll definitely use this site if we visit the area again. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alicia77 7 reviews from this member

 Arrived at Eisteddfa on a a rainy Easter Monday afternoon. I was greeted at reception by Drew the friendly owner, who showed us on a map where to pitch and the site facilities etc.

We were given a pitch on the Cardigan field which had wonderful views of the mountains - fairly flat ground but rock pegs needed.

We stayed for 5 nights non-EHU and found the site quiet and in a perfect location. Only a short drive to Criccieth and Porthmadog. We went to Caernarfon too for a day out and Greenwood Forest Park. The sun shone everyday after we arrived!

The showers and toilet facilities were spotless and the water hot. Showers 20p for 4 minutes. Dishwashing area outside was clean and hot water plentiful.

Freezer available to freeze ice packs and laundry available too.

Lidl, Aldi, a petrol station and a camping shop on the way in to Porthmadog. In Porthmadog there are lots of small shops on the main street and a large Tesco.

A great time was had by myself, my partner and our 3 children aged 10, 6 and 5. The kids loved the playground and the wide open spaces were they could kick a ball about and be free.

We will definitely return to this little gem of a site - thank you to all the staff at Eisteddfa 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Snoopysmum 27 reviews from this member

 Well we chose the right week to return to Eisteddfa - we have come home with a suntan and a very tired dog!

Eisteddfa was immaculate, the wardens were so friendly and helpful ( they even left me a picnic table so I could have my breakfast outside!)

If you are looking for a quiet well-run site then this is it, on some pitches you have a good view of Cardigan Bay. There are lots of places nearby to visit, very good walking along coastal paths or into Snowdonia if you do hills!

We even saw ospreys at Glaslyn!

Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable and I'm sure we will be returning later in the summer. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fred28 1 review from this member

 This is a well located site with good views all round. The hardstanding pitches for tourers are quite small ( ust fitted a 26foot motorhome on) but otherwise OK. Be aware that you have to drive across grass to get to the hardstanding which may be a problem in wet weather.

The only thing that lets the site down is the wash facilities. Whilst there are rooms with WC, washbasin and shower they are unheated, so very cold in March and because the doors are hooked open when not in use attract all sorts of insects. You also have to feed the machine for hot water (20p per few mins) which seems petty when you look at the fees. If the latter could be sorted this would be a great site. 


Previous     122 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Criccieth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4653 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement