Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York House Hotel And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Whitby > York House Hotel And Caravan Park > Reviews

York House Hotel And Caravan Park
Back Lane
Hawsker
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4LW
Tel: 01947 880354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 131 Reviews
                8/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BSMike 3 reviews from this member

 My friend and I called here on the first evening of a coast-to-coast backpacking trip. The site is focussed around caravans, but despite this there's no excuse for asking for 20 per tent. In light of the time of day we reluctantly paid for one tent, rather than the two we used elsewhere on the trip.

The pitches are flat and the shower block decent. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: AJ58WAG 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned home after a last minute 1 nighter.

The welcome was very warm and friendy with enough info to keep us happy.

Pitch slightly uneven but hey I wanted countryside and rolling hills not concrete city and tarmac.

Toilets spotless cleanest ive seen on my journeys lady was cleaning them early morning.

Park great for all kids from 3 to 44 hehe

Shop needs more stock and choice.

WIll go again for weekend as it only an hour from home and EVERYONE was so happy there. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stecky 8 reviews from this member

 Just got back yesterday from a 3 day camping trip we went on friday 18th and would like to say its the best site we've been to yet cant fault anything,we was on pitch 47 very close to the toilet / shower block,we had a walk round the site and were ever you are your not far away from them anyway.
We had a lovely walk to robin hoods bay 3 miles and the second day walked to whitby 4 miles we took both the cliff top walks with beautiful views overlooking the sea.
But getting back to the site we give it A+ for friendlyness / clean / tidy / shower size and just a great stay we will be returning back next year without a boubt steve & tracey allen 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chris/Lynn 13 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site. We came here for our first ever camping trip in June and had a fantastic experience. We had no trouble pitching our very big tent on the Pony field, had loads of space and it was 60m to the toilets in one direction and the same to the pub in the other.

On our return visit it was a different experience; having specifically booked the same field, we were shown to a small terraced pitch down hill, which incidentally had a car parked in it and no sign of the owners to move it. Our tent would not even fit in it having paced it out - it was 2m too narrow and 2m too short. The man who showed us to the pitch watched me pace it out and after I requested, he eventually spoke to the manager on the radio. We set off back to reception and after a long discussion were shown back to the field we'd asked for. We were told in no uncertain terms that we should have asked for the Pony field (which we did), and a specific pitch if we wanted it (which we did) and specify that we had a big tent (they asked for the dimensions on the phone at the time of booking). His manner was unhelpful.

We have looked again at this site, and now discovered that they have published the max size of a tent (12x12ft) and even then state that guy lines might cross with neighbouring pitches. Prices have gone up significantly. The rules also state that if your tent cannot be accommodated then your must leave the site and no refund will be given. With regard to quiet time, the bingo from the pub on a loud PA system went on long after the published time. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: H9mrp 2 reviews from this member

 I have just returned from a 3 night stay at york house and enjoyed my stay and will return again. I found the location of the site excellent as only 3 miles from whitby and loads of other places to explore.
It is a nice clean quiet family site and I would recommend it to couples or family's who want a nice quiet holiday close to whitby.
I was on pitch 14 it was rather windy but had a great view across to whitby and was close to the showers etc and play park which my son loved. Showers and toilets free which is good only bad point I have to say about them is they would benefit from opening windows to let the steam end smell out.
I never tried the bar or the food but always plenty of people in but was small. The shop was ok but very limited stock however whitby only 3 miles in car. To sum up nice clean quiet site and in great location and pitch prices good I will be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aarfc 3 reviews from this member

 Booked for 2 nights in Sept 09, on arrival paid the 5 toilet key deposit and for the pitch and was directed to the tent pitches.

So far so good.

Met a gentleman who directed us to a small pitch that was being overlapped by a huge tent to the right, tried to explain that the pitch was inadequate and the gentleman seemed to become less accommodating at which point I turned the car around and returned to the shop, no refund given not even for the key.

Attitude from the young woman in the shop matched that of the gentlemen guiding you to the pitch.

All in all the worst site I have been to in 20 years of camping 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vinnyboy 1 review from this member

 Visited for 6 nights. Very enjoyable. Lovely shower block and pot wash area.

Like the 10pm - 8 am quiet period.

Good site for whitby and robin hoods bay exploring as the bus stops opposite.

Whitby is only a 5 -10 minute drive from the site

The barrier access adds extra security

We will use this site if we decide to visit Nth Yorks again.

The hotel with bar was a bonus and the prices were reasonable

The site owner was so helpful. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keeto 1 review from this member

 This was our first camping trip, so I don't have anything to compare it with; however, here goes!

Pros:

Camping area was on flat ground; the toilets and showers were clean. There was a pot washing area and a washing machine and dryer.

There is a small camping shop on site and there is also a pub and hotel, which serves food to take out.

There was also a field for dogs, which was really useful, as we took along our four legged friend camping with us. There is also a kids play area on site. There was also a helpful old guy who showed you to your pitch and told you what you needed to know about the campsite.

This site is good as regards to location for Robin Hood's Bay and Whitby Abbey. Car parking for the Abbey is only a 5-10 minute drive away from this campsite.

Cons:

The pitches for the tents were a walk away from the toilets; this was ok if it was not raining and pitch black at night. You had to leave a deposit of 5 for the shower and toilet key; however, you do get this back at the end of your stay.

The camping shop lacked basic essentials, such as bread, sometimes milk and washing up liquid (however, there is a shop about two miles down the road, called Premier).

The pitches for the tents were on the small side; we had a large family tent (8 man) and a car,but the pitch size meant that we had to park our car at the end of the field that we were on, or, park on someone else's pitch (if they said it was ok) if they had a small tent.

Also, you may have to book first before arriving at this campsite, as a guy came onto the site hoping to pitch up for the night and they said they were fully booked; however, there was loads of spaces that were not filled up for days.

Overall, it was a good first experience of camping; would like to find a campsite with bigger pitches next time. If you have a big tent, a car, gazebo, awning or trailer and want a pitch with electric hook-up, this campsite may not be suitable.

Basically, the campsite is well looked after and you do feel secure, as the barrier is locked at 10pm (this is what we were told). We had a brilliant time. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crazykids 3 reviews from this member

 Nice kids playground.
Shop on site opens at 9 a.m, is expensive and very limited, better off going to coop in whitby.
Showers free, however water was cold as problems with heater. Free soap in toilets. Toilets were messy / dirty during our stay, maybe class of clients or just not being cleaned, who knows?
No toilet roll or soap for 2 days in mens toilets.
Meals in bar not nice (cardboard fish and chips).
There is a 10 p.m - 8 a.m policy which was observed by all and we really appreciated it.
Washing facilities were very cramped, and claustrophobic, as you had a washing machine and tumble dryer in there with you as well as a hairdryer? And no window to open.
Pitch size adequate, we had elec hookup.
There is a key system for the facilities, which proved awkward as sometimes we forgot the key and had to go back, and also when one of us went to the loo you could guarantee someone else wanted to go, but 9/10 the ladies door didn't shut properly so you could go straight in.
You are 4 miles from the fantastic town of whitby which has a lot of history a fantastic shopping centre, sea fishing, boat trips (we saw porpoises), and an attachment to Dracula as well as ghost walks, just too much to list!
You are 2.5 miles from robin hoods bay, which is a beautiful village situated on a very steep hill (think clovelly if you've ever been), it's fab for crabbing, does excellent fish and chips, has a great 2nd hand book store, as well as other shops, there are also lots of cottages to rent.
There is a cycle path where you can get to Scarborough, its an old railway line that's been converted, you can also cycle to robin hoods bay and beyond, however do not take your bikes to the bottom of robin hoods bay as you'll have to push them up as we did (not good!), there is a cycle hire shop on the way to whitby with direct access to the cycle path. The cycle path is up and down, we took our 2 eight year olds to robin hoods bay and they both struggled on the way back, on the way there its a steady slope down, which means its all up on the way back.
All in all we really enjoyed the area, and would definitely return to whitby, however I don't think we'll go back to york house. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Petergt5 8 reviews from this member

 Booked this site as the other main ones we use were fully booked.

Upon arrival you check in and get a park map and pay 5 deposit for shower / toilet block key.

Got shown to our pitch which was very uneven and sloping back over however I have a old caravan and don't really care much for it and just even it up the best I can but could see the pitch (no19) being a problem for newer vans.

Now here's a few little niggly points,

The park/play area could do with a few more things in and there is nothing for say under 3s as its all climbing, even to get to the slide though there is 1 toddlers swing.
Secondly the toilet blocks, the actual toilet cubicle is the smallest I have ever been in and the paper is in a holder behind you, it's most inconvenient, I think the toilets are self clean as there are a few mop and buckets left in there so every time I used the shower / toilet I give it a quick mop down.

Now here is the good points,

Staff are very very friendly and make you feel very welcome, everyone talks to you. The kronenberg 1664 lager on sale in the pub is very nice pint, they allow children into the pub which is really small but very homely and they even got some of there own kids to give my young one toys and sweets which was a great touch

The location is just 5mins drive into whitby with buses that stop just outside on the mainroad. The site has a strict no noise rule at night which was great and I never heard a peep all night so if your looking for a quiet place this will most certainly appeal,

If you have got kids under 10ish then just half hours drive away ( on the A64 york / scarbourgh road) is little hoppers a big indoor play area which only cost 4 for unlimited play they serve really nice meals there so well worth a visit.

The negatives I have pointed out on the site are very minor so don't let it put you off visiting this site. I definitely will be visiting again and I will go as far as saying as this will be the 1st place when I am visiting whitby that I will phone for spaces. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to York House Hotel And Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4004 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement