Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York House Hotel And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Whitby > York House Hotel And Caravan Park > Reviews

York House Hotel And Caravan Park
Back Lane
Hawsker
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4LW
Tel: 01947 880354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 129 Reviews
                8/10 from 129 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  129 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sourmash 1 review from this member

 Spent two nights here with my husband and our two kids in our own caravan. Paid 48 for two nights, including 8 charge for our awning. They charge extra for electric once you arrive, which seemed odd to us when we booked an electric pitch. A 2 card was enough for us for the weekend. Need to be off pitch by 12pm on your last day.

The site is in a lovely spot and the grounds are well kept. Quiet and peaceful site. The toilet block was kept adequately clean. The playground is not ideal for younger kids but our eldest did enjoy it.

The bar and the games room is very dated, we did not spend much time here at all. The pub off site, the Hare and Hounds, is just a short walk and worth a visit. I would advise you book a table if you wish to eat as it was very busy and fully booked on the Saturday evening when we popped in.

Our favourite thing about this place was its close proximity to the cycle path as we do love a bike ride and the cycle path was traffic free which meant our 6 year old could ride alone rather than in the bike trailer. Mostly flat trail so perfect for his little legs, and the ride along to Robin Hoods Bay was lovely.

The place is a good base for Whitby and the surrounding area. We probably won't rush back here as there isn't a great deal on site for our young kids, nor is there much around for them by foot, but it would maybe suit older families or couples looking for a quiet site which is a short drive for Whitby, Robin Hoods Bay etc. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Missbuck 1 review from this member

 This campsite is very very family friendly, welcoming. Owner is very helpful and approachable. All the staff are helpful. No noise allowed after 11pm which is great as the owner is doing his rounds just before then to check all is good. Toilets kept clean and warm, the grounds are very well kept. Stayed here with my wife and teenage children and we all loved it. Will be taking our youngest children back here very soon. I have had some bad experiences with inconsiderate noise on campsites but not on this one 😀 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Barney9999 4 reviews from this member

 Very disappointed, we booked after taking the best reviews we read, upon arrival, site was unkempt, grass long not kept cut especially near units, shower unit was tired and needed a thorough clean, not just a once over, hair dryer not in shower block but in laundry, wheelie bins overflowing and just got fuller day by day.

We paid 12. 00 per night then a premium of 20. 00 for the Friday night, plus 2. 00 per night for the dog, dog field ok, but no dog 'poop' disposal bins to be seen. Bar appeared closed and uninviting.

Site is a great location but we would not return as 14. 00 per night weekdays + 22. 00 per night - Friday was expensive for poor tired facilities. 


Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Alfearnley 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site last weekend and just wanted to leave a review saying how good it was. Fantastic value for money at 12 plus electric. We used 64p in one night to run lights, fridge and heater pump plus about an hour of electric fan heater.

Weather was awful. Raining sideways and 40mph+ winds but this didn't effect our stay too much as the hard standing is great so no muddy feet.

Friendly reception staff on arrival. Showed us our pitch and helped us get best positioning so we were level and sorted our electric for us.

Facilities were clean and warm, lots of showers and toilets so think even when busy there wouldn't be queues.

We didn't use the bar on site but as we ran past on the way to the local pub it looked warm and welcoming and the menu looked good.

Local pub Hare and Hounds is about 5 mins walk away, you do have to cross main road but it wasn't so busy to cause a problem. It is a must for a meal if staying on site the food was fantastic with a great menu with lots of choice (I recommend the sharing dessert platter) and the service was friendly and efficient.

The location is great if you want to be a bit outside of the busy towns but within easy reach of everything. The traffic free cycle/walking path is just around the corner, as is bike hire, and is 4 miles into Whitby. You can also access the Cleveland way by walking about half a mile, through High Hawsker and towards the coast.

We will definitely return for a longer break in better weather and bring our bikes. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Little Mester 2 reviews from this member

 Returned from our 2nd visit to York House just as good as last year can't beat for value for money. Every thing spot on been on better sites but paid 3 times as much. Weather was brilliant went to Scarborough and Filey by bus (oap pass) from stop in village, walked to both Robin Hoods Bay and Whitby by way of the old railway line now a cycle way and footpath. Pub in village just as good see last year's review just the same can't fault. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nugga 1 review from this member

 We stayed here August bank holiday and it's been one of the best places we've stayed, it has its own pub which is linked to the hotel and they are very welcoming, there's an outside bit with a heater, if you take a dog there is a huge field for dogs only, there's a little shop on site, a games room, toilets close by never have to go far, the electric is super cheap, 5 mins away is a lovely little country pub everyone was lovely and welcoming, it's ideal place for Whitby and robin hoods bay, there is a bus opposite the pub to both of these, there is a children's play area with a field attched for those that want to play footy, would definitely recommend, can't fault it at all great place all round. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulinekezza 5 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a fortnight stay. Steve showed us a choice of pitches and explained how to use the barrier, about the amenities and the rules of the site. Both he and his wife were extremely helpful throughout our stay. There are sheltered pitches both with and without hook up but due to access, there is the necessity to have a tent size limit for each of these pitches. The top field (no hook ups) where we opted to stay has no size limit and is fairly flat. The whole site is clean and tidy. Steve drives round several times a day to ensure the site stays that way. He also enforces the rules (when he says no fires etc, he means it!). There is a central toilet block with loads of hot water to the basins, showers and pot wash. In the laundry there are two deep pot wash sinks, a washer and a dryer and hairdryer and shaver point. There are also two portaloos on the top field and two on the bottom. There is a well kept play area and a games room which my daughter of 12 loved. There is a separate very large field for walking the doggies. The shop had milk etc and the hotel does breakfasts and meals although we did not eat there. The bar area has a dog friendly markee.

We well definitely be returning to this site in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leist32 1 review from this member

 Our 2nd camping weekend away. Clean site with clean toilets and shower room. Hot water in showers (never used the laundry/washing up room). Received 2 on electric meter for 2 nights, only used about 50p so more than enough. Ideal area for Whitby and Scarborough as just off the main road. Only negative of the weekend was we didn't have anything for tea as we expected the Hotel to serve food, as it had posters advertising weekend offers and after paying 6 for 5 cans of coke in the bar we were then informed that they had decided she didn't want to cook that night', so we had to drive into Whitby to find a Pizza shop. We will come back but after talking to a regular camper about the food problem, we were told to use the other local pubs as they served better food anyway. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dave 418 38 reviews from this member

 Just had a weekend at York House and I agree with most peoples comments about the site. Sadly my first look at York House as we pulled up to reception was off putting. I thought the hotel was closed, the car park was a mass of weeds and a static caravan looked like it had been dumped alongside the hotel. The dining area is at the back with a shabby looking marquee with rather tatty looking tables and chairs we assumed for dog owners to sit.

Reception appeared a little short of stock but were helpful with a smooth simple booking in. Another let down was the notice board for local information. You couldn't read the information because it was so faded.

Behind reception is what looks like the remains of a farm with rusty old sheds, barns and the games room.

We were escorted to our pitch area and given a choice of pitches. The pitch was reasonably level if a bit of a stretch to the hook up point. The toilets and showers were clean and usable. Sadly the building looked a bit run down.

We didn't eat at York House. On the way back from our walk we called in at the Hare and Hounds in the village. Dogs welcome in the side bar, a nice pint or two and a nice meal.

A late check out at twelve was a bonus as we had nothing to dash off for. We have now done the walks in this area as we planned so would we go back? I don't think so. First impressions count. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nigela2 4 reviews from this member

 Just visited this site and wot a lovely peaceful site, no traffic noise and on a morning the birds singin is great. The camping pitches are very shelterd by trees and bushes. The playground is ok for the older children but only swings for the younger ones. The toilets were always clean and warm the showers were nice and warm too. The pot wash is very cramped has two sinks and one draining board which doesn't make sense to me. Weren't very happy with how the pitches were set out if you have a large tent there is not not a lot of room next doors guy ropes were nearly in our porch. The play room was fine with air hockey pool and table tennis. Went to the pub on site but wasn't busy so went to the hare and hounds great pub very popular with food but didn't eat there they welcome families. Would definitely go back agian to this site but would want more room on the pitch. The chap that showed us to our pitch was very friendly

The electric hook up was about 20 mtrs from our tent and we only have a 15mtr cable so the kind next door neighbours lent us a extension leed 


Previous     129 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to York House Hotel And Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3877 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement