Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of York House Hotel And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > York House Hotel And Caravan Park Reviews

York House Hotel And Caravan Park
Back Lane
Hawsker
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4LW
Tel: 01947 880354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 114 Reviews
                8/10 from 114 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kareneil 1 review from this member

Arrived Monday the site was lovely an clean, the men most helpful siting you on pitch. Not far from supermarket for provisions, read on reviews that there site shop for basics, not really true. Every one use supermarket. I loved this site quiet good dog walking area we all had a ball. Only one thing the toilets an showers could have done with a good clean, old cobwebs an spiders. Playground for kids good for if grandchildren comes. Pub was bit expensive so only went one night. We stayed 3 nights 66 then electric on top site fees bit high. But did enjoy, even the dog she usually stresses but she was fine will return !

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GoddessFluff 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a short weekend as a party of 27, our annual 'Jamboree' which until recently has been held in Northumberland. I liked this site a lot and couldn't fault anything. The facilities were good and clean and unusually a good handful of toilets in the ladies block rather than the usual two or three! Great playing field for the children and play park. The pub was friendly and reasonably priced. The nice chap behind the bar happily put the World Cup on for us in the conservatory. I didn't try the food but some of our party had an evening meal and a breakfast and seemed content. The staff are very friendly and provided us with telephone numbers for a chippy that delivered for our annual fish and chip Friday night supper.

I would return here as it's so close to Whitby and there's lots to do near by, I will be petitioning for York House over our usual site for next year's Jamboree!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jodie050504 1 review from this member

This caravan park is the best by far we have toured for a few years now and travel to loads of places but once we found york house we have never been any were else and never will go any were else so friendly and will help you to do anything nothing is to mutch trouble we go to the park every time we have time off work well done york house best by far

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Addy01 8 reviews from this member

Well what can I say about York House Caravan park. Errrrmmmm fantastic as usual, been to this site 2 or 3 times now can't fault it, friendly, good clean facilities loads of hot water for showering and in the pan wash area, dog friendly, large field to walk dogs and clean, cheap beer at the hotel bar & food ok. Fantastic views to whitby & easy access to robin hoods bay and surrounding towns.

The tent pitches are marked out so you know exactly where you are supposed to be, we took some camping virgins with there children with us and they seemed to love the area and camping experience the weather helped it was red hot. Maybe play area could do with more swings.

Go there.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Julie bri 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 5 nights, good site and well maintained, just 4 miles to Whitby and 2 miles to Robins Hood Bay. Toilets and showers clean and showers were free and always plenty hot water. There is a pub on the site selling meals which were very well priced and tasty. The staff are very friendly and spot on, and were there to help getting caravan on to our pitch. You pay for your electric by top up cards which are 1 each, we stayed 4 nights and cost us 4. Pitches are large and well spaced. If we tour in this area again we would go back no problem.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shericur 3 reviews from this member

We visited this site for the first time with our friends and dogs in July 2013 and enjoyed it so much we returned in August.

We have just booked again to go at the end of May and I have to say it is one of my favourite sites. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The facilities are VERY good. There is an on site bar selling 'pub grub'. You aren't far from a large Sainsburys and in easy reach of Whitby and Robin Hood's Bay.

The tent pitches are in three different areas. The first being called The 'Pony Paddock', this area is for large tents with EHU and are very close to the showers and toilets. Then there are the 'tiers', where maybe 5 or 6 tents share a tier and they are very sheltered. They are further from the toilets but have a portable loo at the end of each tier. The last area is the top field (only open in peak times) which is the furthest away from the facilities but again has a portable loo BUT no EHU.

This is a very well kept site and I would recommend it for people of all ages, for children and for dogs!

Cant wait to return!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bazz00 2 reviews from this member

Recently visited this site for a 3 night stay, park is set in lovely countryside and a short distant from whitby town centre, all staff where very friendly and informative.

All facilities were clean and well maintained, pitch sizes were good and priced fairly, and all within reasonable distance from toilets and water.

Site has a nice play park for the kids and a small games room that includes a pool table, table tennis and video games, on site bar and restaurant.

All in all a lovely site and will definitely be visiting again

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Donnyvan1 1 review from this member

The site is located in a beautiful area with views across to Whitby. The staff are very friendly and the grassed areas well maintained.

The pitches are slightly cramped preventing us from erecting the bedroom extension to our awning. The entire site appears to be on a slight slope but nothing excessive.

We consider that the fees were too high and did not reflect the standard of the facilities offered which we found to be in need of care and attention.

We left just as the schools were breaking up so I imagine our visit was not at the busiest time. The one toilet/shower block struggled to cope at the rush hour in the morning. The gents block had maintenance issues, for example some of the toilet door locks failed to operate properly and on more than one occasion during our short visit embarrassment was caused when doors were opened on occupied cubicles.

The showers would have been fine, being the push button type but their cleanliness was below standard. The white tiled walls were in dire need of cleaning. All this could be easily rectified with a proper cleaning regime.

We found fellow guests to be largely amiable although one party did deem it ok to play loud music late into the night preventing sleep. Unfortunately this went unchecked by the staff but eventually stopped of its own accord.

We paid 24 per night which included the awning. It did not however include electricity. For this we had to purchase prepayment cards. We used only our refrigerator and a few lights and the bill for our 10 day stay came to 7.

Despite the few issues we did have a nice break, helped along by wonderful weather.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs2be 1 review from this member

Couldn't have asked for a better place to camp as newcomers. My party along with another consisting of the same number (people, dogs and cars) had a wonderful time at this beautifully kept, idyllic little hide away. Showers, toilets and cleaning facilities where spot on (obviously you can't control other users) Staff where really friendly and helpful. Plenty of attractions to be seen and something for all in the surrounding area. Will definitely be booking up to go again.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ketrip 6 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 3 days over bank holiday for the first time. The staff are friendly and helpful and make you feel welcome from the minute you arrive.

The check-in is straight forward and the staff will show you to your pitch and give you any assistance required. The reception is also a shop selling basic foods and extras like toys to keep the kids amused while you set up. You are given a code for barrier and facilities so you can come and go from site whenever you please during your stay.

The pitches are well maintained and the upper and lower terraces private and reasonably quiet, until early morning when the many birds begin their day and havoc commences between, wood pigeons, crows and hedgerow birds! We could hear the motorbikes travelling along the main road late at night but it was intermittent and depends on wind direction as to whether you hear it.

From the upper field there are stunning views towards Whitby and sheep on the fields behind which amused some of the smaller children. There are plenty of public footpaths nearby to have a stroll or you can walk to Robin Hoods Bay, though we found it easier to drive as it's over 2 miles away, saving our energy to explore the many footpaths down to the bay. There are buses from the main road which take you to Whitby, we did not use them as we have car and found adequate parking in Whitby on the harbour side near the Co-operative food store. There is also a Sainsbury's supermarket and petrol station on the main road going into Whitby which is useful if you have family and want to cook your own meals.

The hotel bar on site is worth a visit. We enjoyed a drink in the evening on the terrace. There is plenty of seating outside some of which is under cover. Plenty of people seemed to enjoy the food available though we didn't try meals on this visit.

The play park was popular with small children and teenagers, all seemed to be having a good time. There is room for ball games and kids to run around and let off steam.

Showers were hot and toilets were clean and would have been tidy if it wasn't for some inconsiderate visitors who felt it was ok to leave their make-up, toothpaste and hair all over the facilities.

We visited Staithes, Runswick Bay and Whitby and found plenty of walks, places to eat and quiet spots to enjoy the sunshine.

We are looking forward to booking another stay at York House and have already recommended it to friends visiting Whitby next month. It is good to know that customer service prevails at this site.

Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Where is the nearest shop to York House Hotel And Caravan Park?   There is a shop on site    View all facilities

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park dog friendly?   YES    View all facilities


Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3386 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020