Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York House Hotel And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Whitby > York House Hotel And Caravan Park > Reviews

York House Hotel And Caravan Park
Back Lane
Hawsker
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4LW
Tel: 01947 880354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 131 Reviews
                8/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dave 418 38 reviews from this member

 Just had a weekend at York House and I agree with most peoples comments about the site. Sadly my first look at York House as we pulled up to reception was off putting. I thought the hotel was closed, the car park was a mass of weeds and a static caravan looked like it had been dumped alongside the hotel. The dining area is at the back with a shabby looking marquee with rather tatty looking tables and chairs we assumed for dog owners to sit.

Reception appeared a little short of stock but were helpful with a smooth simple booking in. Another let down was the notice board for local information. You couldn't read the information because it was so faded.

Behind reception is what looks like the remains of a farm with rusty old sheds, barns and the games room.

We were escorted to our pitch area and given a choice of pitches. The pitch was reasonably level if a bit of a stretch to the hook up point. The toilets and showers were clean and usable. Sadly the building looked a bit run down.

We didn't eat at York House. On the way back from our walk we called in at the Hare and Hounds in the village. Dogs welcome in the side bar, a nice pint or two and a nice meal.

A late check out at twelve was a bonus as we had nothing to dash off for. We have now done the walks in this area as we planned so would we go back? I don't think so. First impressions count. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nigela2 4 reviews from this member

 Just visited this site and wot a lovely peaceful site, no traffic noise and on a morning the birds singin is great. The camping pitches are very shelterd by trees and bushes. The playground is ok for the older children but only swings for the younger ones. The toilets were always clean and warm the showers were nice and warm too. The pot wash is very cramped has two sinks and one draining board which doesn't make sense to me. Weren't very happy with how the pitches were set out if you have a large tent there is not not a lot of room next doors guy ropes were nearly in our porch. The play room was fine with air hockey pool and table tennis. Went to the pub on site but wasn't busy so went to the hare and hounds great pub very popular with food but didn't eat there they welcome families. Would definitely go back agian to this site but would want more room on the pitch. The chap that showed us to our pitch was very friendly

The electric hook up was about 20 mtrs from our tent and we only have a 15mtr cable so the kind next door neighbours lent us a extension leed 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ShaunNR 3 reviews from this member

 Undeterred by some of the negative comments we booked 3 nights at York House Hotel & Caravan Park for the bargain sum of 30. And I'm very glad we did!

We were met with a warm welcome and shown to our pitch. Access to the site is through a barrier with a keypad. The whole site looked very clean and well maintained.

The pitches are relatively level and the grass is in good condition; Well drained and trimmed.

As far as I could see there is one main toilet block comprising separate Male and Female toilet/shower facilities and a washing up/ Laundry room. All of which are accessed with the use of a keypad. The toilets were kept very clean as were the showers which were also lovely and warm. The toilet/shower block was also kept lovely and warm. Good news when nature calls at 2am!

There is a small play area and a large field for the kids to play in. Our son loved this area and would have quite happily spent the whole holiday playing on here.

I have only 1 slight criticism and that is regarding the light on top of the EHU boxes. The EHU box was situated in the middle (at the back) of our pitch and when dark the light on the box came on. Unfortunately this meant that our tent was illuminated which made sleeping a bit more difficult. However it did make the perfect night light for our son. I could see no way to turn it off.

Whitby is a short 10 minute car journey away and Scarborough only 30 minutes. There is a Sainsburys approximately 4 minutes away.

When we return to Whitby we will definitely be staying here! 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Livelylass 16 reviews from this member

 Very friendly welcome.

Perfectly placed to explore Whitby and Robin Hood Bay.

Easy access off A171

About 5 min walk to bus stop which is almost opposite The Hare & Hounds pub and restaurant. On bus route x93 between Whitby and Scarborough. (Fare was 7 return to Scarborough)

Walk to Robin Hood bay via coastal path (Cleveland way) 1hr; Cinder track - National cycle network route 1 (old railway line) 40mins.

Walk to Whitby via inland villages and back via coastal path (5hrs)

Electric meter cards 1 each are purchased at reception. These are non-refundable so use before you leave / keep for next trip or generously leave for next arrival.

2 washer; 1. 20 dryer; tokens for hair dryer.

4 Hot showers and clean toilet facilities. Perfectly adequate when I stayed but could see these may get busy when the site is full

Large play area for children and field for ball games.

Easily recommended minimal frills site. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Little Mester 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our first weeks caravan holiday in our own van. Weather great site very good, staff brilliant nothing too much trouble. Toilet facilities good, decent play area for the kids the site was in good condition but work needed to be done to the roads after work had been done on laying drains (a bit bumpy). Location is excellent walked to Robin Hoods Bay and Whitby very large field for exercising the dog. The Hare and Hounds served excellent real ale and allowed well behaved dogs in the bar. Didn't have a meal but it was reported to be very good. Will definitely be returning next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Monty the bongo 49 reviews from this member

 Don't let the first impression of the touring field put you off. There are lots of tatty looking long term caravans pitched around the outside of the field, but look past this and you will see a well maintained, clean and tidy site. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The cinder path footpath is a nice walk to Whitby and Robin Hood bay, both 3 miles from the site. The only thing that surprised me, when I booked the pitch I paid for a hard standing with electric, when I arrived I was informed a you pay for the electric as you used it. Despite this would happily return. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vixen55 2 reviews from this member

 UGH! This place is really unkempt, dirty and untidy. There are lots of static caravans on site which are well maintained and tidy. The touring part is in some dire need of TLC. There are quite a few Permanent caravans on site - some of which were very old and untidy many of them had gardens and plant pots full of dead plants around them. The pitches are not spaced out very well and the grass and weeds are taking over the hard standings on all pitches. The hedges are not trimmed and are very overgrown. It all looks very unkempt. The toilets and showers were OK but the showers were lukewarm the sink taps wouldn't stay on (push button type) and the hand dryers didn't work in the gents or the ladies. The lady who booked me in was more interested in going outside for a cigarette than in me. Electricity is not included in the price, you must buy prepaid cards to top up the hook up. There were no views at all- you were looking in next doors windows as everyone was so close together. We did not go into the on site bar so cannot comment on that. We walked over the road to the Hare & Hounds - Lovely meal and reasonably priced. The only redeeming feature of the site was its location, but we will definitely not be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kareneil 1 review from this member

 Arrived Monday the site was lovely an clean, the men most helpful siting you on pitch. Not far from supermarket for provisions, read on reviews that there site shop for basics, not really true. Every one use supermarket. I loved this site quiet good dog walking area we all had a ball. Only one thing the toilets an showers could have done with a good clean, old cobwebs an spiders. Playground for kids good for if grandchildren comes. Pub was bit expensive so only went one night. We stayed 3 nights 66 then electric on top site fees bit high. But did enjoy, even the dog she usually stresses but she was fine will return ! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GoddessFluff 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a short weekend as a party of 27, our annual 'Jamboree' which until recently has been held in Northumberland. I liked this site a lot and couldn't fault anything. The facilities were good and clean and unusually a good handful of toilets in the ladies block rather than the usual two or three! Great playing field for the children and play park. The pub was friendly and reasonably priced. The nice chap behind the bar happily put the World Cup on for us in the conservatory. I didn't try the food but some of our party had an evening meal and a breakfast and seemed content. The staff are very friendly and provided us with telephone numbers for a chippy that delivered for our annual fish and chip Friday night supper.

I would return here as it's so close to Whitby and there's lots to do near by, I will be petitioning for York House over our usual site for next year's Jamboree! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jodie050504 1 review from this member

 This caravan park is the best by far we have toured for a few years now and travel to loads of places but once we found york house we have never been any were else and never will go any were else so friendly and will help you to do anything nothing is to mutch trouble we go to the park every time we have time off work well done york house best by far 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to York House Hotel And Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3944 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement