Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of York House Hotel And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > York House Hotel And Caravan Park Reviews

York House Hotel And Caravan Park
Back Lane
Hawsker
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4LW
Tel: 01947 880354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 114 Reviews
                8/10 from 114 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Georgecat1 4 reviews from this member

Arrived at yorkhouse for 2 nights in their pods. When we got there they were clean and easily accessible

Very nice site for our first time in pods

Toilets clean and tidy, only a short walk no complaints though.

Only downside was we were not allowed to check in before 1 oíclock which was disappointing as all the pods were empty, we asked twice but were told no

And on web site it said lovely views, unfortunately all we could see were trees in front of us, not as described.
via mobile

Date of Visit: November 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Sand57 3 reviews from this member

Disappointed with the showers - not even 20 seconds of water before you have to push the button again. Same with taps and hand dryer. No hair dryer.

In 2 nights we went through £10 electric - first time ever that we had to pay for it separately. And we were out all day! We contacted the site manager and was told we would have to wait until morning

The nearest pub looked like it was only open until 9pm but donít be fooled that just itís food times. Hare n hounds hawkser.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sarar26370xzp 1 review from this member

The site itself was good and very clean. Nice and quiet but we were in the very end field. This meant a long walk to the amenities building for washing up, shower, toilets etc. They are building a new hut in the end field so once that is complete it will be much better.

We thought that there was a pub/ restaurant on site but this wasnít open the whole time we were there. It wasnít owned by the site but still, it would have been good to know it wasnít open. The Hare and Hounds 5 mins walk away served amazing food but try and book a table! Itís busy!

The site is handy for Whitby and Scarborough and is on the main bus route so you donít have to drive and park.

The people in the shop were helpful and friendly.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tdawn 6 reviews from this member

Visited for many years and what a change this yr. The old manager has left and the new one is very abrupt obnoxious and downright rude.

Toilets constantly dirty the bowls look like they could do with a scrub or some bleach down the men's. The urinals are constantly flooded and heard the men are wading through wee to use the toilets absolutely disgusting.

There is a lot of work still going on like last year so the site is noisy.

We won't be back, this place has gone downhill fast which is a shame this used to be a lovely site
via mobile

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Spark18a 6 reviews from this member

A well situated site near to an excellent pub and an hours walk to Whitby. We had tp pay upfront on the same day, not the usual arrangement in my experience (well not in Feb).

The toilet shower block is very clean but the showers are on a timed tap (push and water flows) I tried 3 of the showers and the best I could find was 4 seconds - yep 4 whole seconds between pushes (unbelievable) the wash basins were only 2 seconds. ! One other point the really indicates the owners have never bothered to try out the facilities is the loo roll holders in the WCs, they are mounted on the rear wall, now I don't know of anyone who has hands in the back on the neck?! The facilities were not too busy (in Feb) but as there are only 3 WCs I would not visit in peak periods. The bins were overflowing on our visit and rubbish was blown out due to the high winds on such an exposed site.

I would call again if they made some improvements.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Woodcroft 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site, we enjoyed our stay.

Close to Whitby and within travelling distance of major seaside towns.

Brilliant dog exercise field, in fact one of the best we have found.

Owners are extremely helpful, they even sited our tourer for us which was great after our five hour drive.

If I had any negatives it would be their signage. A sign tells you breakfast is cooked from 9:30 every day, what it doesn't say is that you have to order and pay for your breakfast the night before you want it.

Their web site says check out is by 11am but, their signs tell you it is 12pm.

Electricity is by card and cost us £6 for a four night stay. Awnings are paid for on arrival and are £4 per night.

They advertise a shop however it is very poorly stocked, some basic foods aren't stocked at all.

Having said that, we would return without doubt.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ketrip 6 reviews from this member

Just back from this lovely site, first visit in ten years but just as I remember it. Well maintained pitches, and friendly welcome from owners. Currently undergoing building works and upgrades so no cafe or bar on site, however hare and hounds pub five minutes walk away in village. Bus stop to and from whitby and Scarborough outside pub. Thankyou to the site owners for making us welcome, and helping out with walking routes, had a great time.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caz ogden 1 review from this member

Had a lovely couple of nights stay here. We were warmly welcomed at reception. Who explained everything thoroughly. And was extremely helpful to us. Would highly recommend this place it was lovely clean and peaceful. Close to whitby and other areas. First time stay and looking forward to more thankyou for looking after us.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daveukleics 24 reviews from this member

First time here and the last. Site is probably 95% seasonal so only a few pitches available.

Our pitch was the worse we have had. Site needs serious drainage work carrying out. Did not put our awning up it was that wet.

The site is near the top of a hill so no protection in the wind. Showers took ages to get to a bearable temperature.

Poorly lit at night so take a torch.

Electric was on a card and because we did not know at what sort of rate it was used we ended up wasting over £3 of a £5 card. As soon as you go the meter is zeroed.

It would be nice to pass the credit onto the next person on the pitch, after all it is paid for.

I expected a bit more after reading previous reviews.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tdawn 6 reviews from this member

Well yet again a warm welcome from Steve and co couldn't have been any more helpful, facility's cleaned everyday and also heated and if you ask nothing is too much trouble to helping you get the van into the space or anything you need. The shop sells basics if you need it and the staff are all really friendly. It's ideally situated as there is a hotel on site were you can use the bar and also order breakfast which is well worth the money. Over the road is a pub in the village which also serves meals and if you don't want to use the car a regular bus service to Whitby Robin Hood's bay and Scarborough and also you can walk into Whitby or Robin Hoods Bay by the cinder path so won't be long before we are back

Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


13002 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Christmas Giveaway


Advent Calendar

A new prize every day til Christmas PLUS a grand Christmas Day Star Prize

Click to Play!