Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York House Hotel And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > York House Hotel And Caravan Park Reviews

York House Hotel And Caravan Park
Back Lane
Hawsker
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4LW
Tel: 01947 880354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 119 Reviews
                8/10 from 119 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Newnatjj 25 reviews from this member

 Lovely located site between Robin Hoods Bay and Whitby.

Pre paid electric cards - very reasonable.

EHU pitch with decent space on a gentle slope; good drainage.

Excellent dog walking field.

Basic clean facilities. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Kismet dal 2 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed our stay here, spacious pitches with plenty of places to play with the kids.

Toilets are very clean, small dog walk on site but plenty of longer walks in the area 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Nodlin 1 review from this member

 Loved it, close to Robin Hoods bay and Whitby.

Lovely play areas for kiddies and well run site.

Was 2 adults age 15 and age 8, the 8 year old had a blast. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Croftyleeds 3 reviews from this member

 We wouldn't stay again and I'd suggest you look elsewhere.

Could be a good site if they spend some money, we stayed here for 3 nights and arrived in the rain. This site isn't great if it's raining at all, as the pitches get boggy and you either can't get your awning up as pegs just come out or your awning / van is full of the clay which comes off the pitch when it rains. The touring part of the site is slightly higher than the rest of the site and gets hit hard with winds.

Toilet block is a joke it's like going back to school in the 80's it's very old and made from cheap white wood. I've never known any toilet block to have the toilet roll holder behind you which isn't accessible easy. You don't use that much electric but each card is £1 not a lot but why charge I've never known it, only thing I can think is to get another £5 out of you.

Our friends were given pitch number 9 which is the smallest pitch of all and you get charged the same, if you take a van and awning you'll struggle to get parked next to your van as most people end up having to park on the road. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Helenf 1 review from this member

 This is a super campsite, small enough to not get lost but very good facilities, really enjoyed it.

Lots to do in the area,

The cinder track from Scarborough to Whitby is a lovely place for a bike ride.

We will definitely return here. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Georgecat1 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived at yorkhouse for 2 nights in their pods. When we got there they were clean and easily accessible

Very nice site for our first time in pods

Toilets clean and tidy, only a short walk no complaints though.

Only downside was we were not allowed to check in before 1 oíclock which was disappointing as all the pods were empty, we asked twice but were told no

And on web site it said lovely views, unfortunately all we could see were trees in front of us, not as described. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Sand57 3 reviews from this member

 Disappointed with the showers - not even 20 seconds of water before you have to push the button again. Same with taps and hand dryer. No hair dryer.

In 2 nights we went through £10 electric - first time ever that we had to pay for it separately. And we were out all day! We contacted the site manager and was told we would have to wait until morning

The nearest pub looked like it was only open until 9pm but donít be fooled that just itís food times. Hare n hounds hawkser. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sarar2 1 review from this member

 The site itself was good and very clean. Nice and quiet but we were in the very end field. This meant a long walk to the amenities building for washing up, shower, toilets etc. They are building a new hut in the end field so once that is complete it will be much better.

We thought that there was a pub/ restaurant on site but this wasnít open the whole time we were there. It wasnít owned by the site but still, it would have been good to know it wasnít open. The Hare and Hounds 5 mins walk away served amazing food but try and book a table! Itís busy!

The site is handy for Whitby and Scarborough and is on the main bus route so you donít have to drive and park.

The people in the shop were helpful and friendly. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tdawn 6 reviews from this member

 Visited for many years and what a change this yr. The old manager has left and the new one is very abrupt obnoxious and downright rude.

Toilets constantly dirty the bowls look like they could do with a scrub or some bleach down the men's. The urinals are constantly flooded and heard the men are wading through wee to use the toilets absolutely disgusting.

There is a lot of work still going on like last year so the site is noisy.

We won't be back, this place has gone downhill fast which is a shame this used to be a lovely site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Spark18a 6 reviews from this member

 A well situated site near to an excellent pub and an hours walk to Whitby. We had tp pay upfront on the same day, not the usual arrangement in my experience (well not in Feb).

The toilet shower block is very clean but the showers are on a timed tap (push and water flows) I tried 3 of the showers and the best I could find was 4 seconds - yep 4 whole seconds between pushes (unbelievable) the wash basins were only 2 seconds. ! One other point the really indicates the owners have never bothered to try out the facilities is the loo roll holders in the WCs, they are mounted on the rear wall, now I don't know of anyone who has hands in the back on the neck?! The facilities were not too busy (in Feb) but as there are only 3 WCs I would not visit in peak periods. The bins were overflowing on our visit and rubbish was blown out due to the high winds on such an exposed site.

I would call again if they made some improvements. 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to York House Hotel And Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2281 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement