Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York House Hotel And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > York House Hotel And Caravan Park Reviews

York House Hotel And Caravan Park
Back Lane
Hawsker
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4LW
Tel: 01947 880354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 129 Reviews
                8/10 from 129 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  129 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Hutcha 1 review from this member

 We really enjoyed our stay, from arriving at reception to very friendly greeting and helpful staff.

The campsite is very well looked after, clean and tidy showers and toilet facilities including disabled.

The Hotel provides excellent service for all customers either having a drink and food or even a take out pizza.

We can't wait for next visit 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Emmas5 1 review from this member

 We had the best time at York House. We stayed in our motorhome and used the on-site facilities which were spotless!

Location was key as we have a dog and itís a lovely walk into Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay, with a bus route just in the village.

The ladies who work in the bar/kitchen area were amazing and so friendly. We felt like we were old friends returning, even though it was our first time there. Dogs are also welcome in the bar.

Good value for money.

We will definitely be staying again, we really enjoyed our time at York House 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Fantasticfour 2 reviews from this member

 An easy to find campsite just south of Whitby - on the edge of the North York Moors, close to Robin Hoods Bay and Whitby.

It was one of the only sites open in Early February - predominantly a site with Static holiday homes, but with hard standing pitches for plenty of tourers - the pitches come with EHU and water/grey waste/toilet waste emptying points nearby.

The site has good shower and toilet facilities, plus an enclosed room for washing up as well as washing/drying machines for clothes. There are also a couple of play areas for kids.

There is a pub/restaurant at the entrance to the site, and if youre feeling particularly lazy in the morning, there is a takeaway breakfast service too. The site has a small shop. TV reception is pretty good. The site is barrier controlled.

Obviously visiting in early February meant that there weren't many other guests on site (i think 3 or 4 other tourers were there) therefore it was all fairly quiet and chilled, but I imagine it proves pretty popular during the season due to its location and level of services.

All in all a good site 


Date of Visit: December 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Margar 1 review from this member

 We had a fabulous stay here

Facilities were spot on.

Ten minutes walk to Robins hood bay

You can jump on a bus to Whitby or Scarborough

Also dog friendly pub up the rd, nice to walk to only 10 minutes.

Will be booking again 😊 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Fredasooz63 3 reviews from this member

 Great well maintained site, helpful friendly staff.

Facilities clean. Bar very welcoming and a good choice of food, pizza very good and reasonably priced.

Great location between Whitby and Robin hood's Bay. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fredasooz63 3 reviews from this member

 Great site, helpful staff, toilets regularly cleaned, brilliant bar serving great food too at very reasonable prices.

Nicely located between Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay, within walking distance along a cinder path an hour or so either way or a ten minute drive.

Would highly recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Lukef3 1 review from this member

 The site is located between Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay both around a 7 minute drive from the site. I booked a few months prior to our holiday and paid £60 for 3 nights for a tent with electric hook up.

We arrived at York House half hour before check in and where greeted with polite staff who let us onto our pitch early. We had booked an electric pitch but the electric points were a distance from our tent.

We spoke to reception who lent us an extension lead giving us plenty of cable. We were not aware about the electric needed electric card tokens purchasing for £1 per ticket.

We initially worried we would spend a lot on electric but over 3 nights we only used around £2 and some still had money left on the meter. The pitches are fairly close together if you park your car next to your tent as I did but didn't bother us much.

The site facilities were clean and the site seemed all round well maintained. There isn't much with in walking distance other than the site bar and small shop in reception.

There is a large sainsburys on the outskirts of Whitby which is only a 5 minute drive.

The only faults we could pick was the noise of the wooden pod floor's as we could hear kids running around in the pods from our pitch a we had a spot light near the pods that lit up the pitch and did shine on our tent through out the night.

Overall we loved our holiday and the site and would recommend staying. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Harly 3 reviews from this member

 Site well located to cycle or walk the cinder trail that runs from Whitby to Scarborough.

Friendly check in.

Went midweek and site quiet, plenty of birds, even has peacocks walking about which is nice.

Toilet/shower block had key pad for entry! but no hand sanitiser gel in dispenser for the duration of our stay (over 3 days). Covid rules still around! So not good really.

Shower block clean and in good repair but need to press shower button lots to even get shower to be warm. Toilet pressure low so "floaters" not flushed away. Toilet paper dispenser is behind you so awkward for some.

Drive over waste hard to get to as have to exit and re-enter site to use and then awkward as resident of static home parks vehicle close, so impossible to use!

Electric cards very reasonable but I struggled to use.

Touring part of site felt unloved. Our pitch had a good view of neighbouring field of plastic drainage pipe and rubble! Some pitches have good views though.

Dog friendly site except but no dogs allowed into the on site bar! have to sit outside, missing a trick there! Does do a food service but we didn't use but seemed reasonably priced.

Enjoyed our stay as cycling to Robin Hood's Bay, Boggle Hole and Ravenscar was so enjoyable.

All could have been better. Shame 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Kathc3 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet, friendly site. Lots of amenities however due to Covid the bar, restaurant & toilet/shower blocks were unable to open at this time but they did offer a takeaway service ( the food was lovely) & we could order drinks in the beer patio.

We used our own toileting facilities which wasn't a problem. Our dogs absolutely loved the dog walking area, a huge field, one of the best I've seen! Only issue was there were no poop bins in the field so it seemed a few dog owners decided not to pick up their dogs business. We did & then placed it in bins outside of the walk which was not an issue. Maybe a few bins inside the walk would encourage all owners to do the right thing.

Overall though, a fantastic little break away on a pleasant site. It was a few minutes drive away from Whitby Abbey, Whitby, Robin Hood's Bay & lots of pleasant walks. Also, B&M, Aldi, Sainsbury's etc were very near, which was great.

We will definitely keep this one on our list of go to sites. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Soulie-p 3 reviews from this member

 Good location easy access

Had a superb week in spite of the weather

Staff were friendly and helpful,

Only down side was bins and elsan point was a bit away from the pitches 
via mobile


Previous     129 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to York House Hotel And Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2940 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement