Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of York House Hotel And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > York House Hotel And Caravan Park Reviews

York House Hotel And Caravan Park
Back Lane
Hawsker
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4LW
Tel: 01947 880354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 114 Reviews
                8/10 from 114 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Petergt5 8 reviews from this member

Booked onto site, got charged mid season rates for what they advertise on their site as low season, £50 for 2 nights we paid it until we seen our pitch!

Uneven and gravel everywhere no grass to sit outside the caravan, it was next to the playpark which seem to be the poorer pitches as the ones in the middle are well kept unlike the ones next to the bushes.

However went and asked for our money back after seeing the pitch which they obliged and gave us it.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Juleshoy 3 reviews from this member

We visited this site for 4 years from 2006 to 2010 and saw the changes in ownership during that time. When we first went the pitches were spacious and it felt well organised - facilities were basic and there were charges for the showers.

When the new owners took over, while there were some improvements - refurb on toilets and shower block, new play area for the kids, it was not all good. We regularly booked for a specific pitch for out Pennine Folding camper and although would have this request confirmed, would turn up for our holiday and discover that they had put someone else in the pitch that we had booked!

They re-worked the hard standing pitches and where originally there had been 4 pitches they had made 5 -which meant that your neighbours were very very close.

As we tended to visit at busy times - school holidays and never for less than 1 week, there were always problems with the power tripping out - and the poor guy John who had to then go round each unit and ask them to turn things off or down - not allowed to have your halogen heater on more than 1 bar regardless of how wet or cold it was, became ridiculous.

Last year we didn't have one night when the power stayed on during the evening - and on some occasions it tripped 3 or 4 times, the rubbish bins weren't emptied and bags of rubbish just piled up - it wasn't good.

Top that off with an increase in prices meant that this out priced itself in terms of what they were offering and the cost of it. In fact we had booked for our 2010 stay in February using the pricing indicated on the web site and paid our deposit. Then we had confirmation that the price was going to increase because the owner hadn't realised it was half term week and wanted to increase his prices. To be fair on the manager on site, they did sort this and agreed that we could have it for the price we had originally booked for but with the power issue during our stay, we decided enough was enough and needed to spend our half term week in Whitby somewhere else.

I am not sure what it has been like this year and know that they had changed their pricing structure to exclude the electric charge but unless they have fixed their outage issue - it may not be enough.

The location is perfect - but just disappointed with the ownership.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Xwasp58 4 reviews from this member

Wow. What lovely place the people was so helpful. There is a nice clean and tidy + safe play area for the children

The scenery is beautiful the toilets are spot less as is the shower. The shower is on a very short timer so you have to keep pressing it. A very clean caravan park. The shop could do with a bit more stock.

The bar is small but cosy. But they didnít have any ice or diet coke for sale in the bar. We got a taxi into Whitby town centre £6.00. I think thatís a good price

All in all a very nice place would recommend this camp site

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BSMike 3 reviews from this member

My friend and I called here on the first evening of a coast-to-coast backpacking trip. The site is focussed around caravans, but despite this there's no excuse for asking for £20 per tent. In light of the time of day we reluctantly paid for one tent, rather than the two we used elsewhere on the trip.

The pitches are flat and the shower block decent.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AJ58WAG 7 reviews from this member

Just returned home after a last minute 1 nighter.

The welcome was very warm and friendy with enough info to keep us happy.

Pitch slightly uneven but hey I wanted countryside and rolling hills not concrete city and tarmac.

Toilets spotless cleanest ive seen on my journeys lady was cleaning them early morning.

Park great for all kids from 3 to 44 hehe

Shop needs more stock and choice.

WIll go again for weekend as it only an hour from home and EVERYONE was so happy there.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stecky 8 reviews from this member

Just got back yesterday from a 3 day camping trip we went on friday 18th and would like to say its the best site we've been to yet cant fault anything,we was on pitch 47 very close to the toilet / shower block,we had a walk round the site and were ever you are your not far away from them anyway.
We had a lovely walk to robin hoods bay 3 miles and the second day walked to whitby 4 miles we took both the cliff top walks with beautiful views overlooking the sea.
But getting back to the site we give it A+ for friendlyness / clean / tidy / shower size and just a great stay we will be returning back next year without a boubt steve & tracey allen

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chris/Lynn 13 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this site. We came here for our first ever camping trip in June and had a fantastic experience. We had no trouble pitching our very big tent on the Pony field, had loads of space and it was 60m to the toilets in one direction and the same to the pub in the other.

On our return visit it was a different experience; having specifically booked the same field, we were shown to a small terraced pitch down hill, which incidentally had a car parked in it and no sign of the owners to move it. Our tent would not even fit in it having paced it out - it was 2m too narrow and 2m too short. The man who showed us to the pitch watched me pace it out and after I requested, he eventually spoke to the manager on the radio. We set off back to reception and after a long discussion were shown back to the field we'd asked for. We were told in no uncertain terms that we should have asked for the Pony field (which we did), and a specific pitch if we wanted it (which we did) and specify that we had a big tent (they asked for the dimensions on the phone at the time of booking). His manner was unhelpful.

We have looked again at this site, and now discovered that they have published the max size of a tent (12x12ft) and even then state that guy lines might cross with neighbouring pitches. Prices have gone up significantly. The rules also state that if your tent cannot be accommodated then your must leave the site and no refund will be given. With regard to quiet time, the bingo from the pub on a loud PA system went on long after the published time.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: H9mrp 2 reviews from this member

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at york house and enjoyed my stay and will return again. I found the location of the site excellent as only 3 miles from whitby and loads of other places to explore.
It is a nice clean quiet family site and I would recommend it to couples or family's who want a nice quiet holiday close to whitby.
I was on pitch 14 it was rather windy but had a great view across to whitby and was close to the showers etc and play park which my son loved. Showers and toilets free which is good only bad point I have to say about them is they would benefit from opening windows to let the steam end smell out.
I never tried the bar or the food but always plenty of people in but was small. The shop was ok but very limited stock however whitby only 3 miles in car. To sum up nice clean quiet site and in great location and pitch prices good I will be returning.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aarfc 3 reviews from this member

Booked for 2 nights in Sept 09, on arrival paid the £5 toilet key deposit and for the pitch and was directed to the tent pitches.

So far so good.

Met a gentleman who directed us to a small pitch that was being overlapped by a huge tent to the right, tried to explain that the pitch was inadequate and the gentleman seemed to become less accommodating at which point I turned the car around and returned to the shop, no refund given not even for the key.

Attitude from the young woman in the shop matched that of the gentlemen guiding you to the pitch.

All in all the worst site I have been to in 20 years of camping

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vinnyboy 1 review from this member

Visited for 6 nights. Very enjoyable. Lovely shower block and pot wash area.

Like the 10pm - 8 am quiet period.

Good site for whitby and robin hoods bay exploring as the bus stops opposite.

Whitby is only a 5 -10 minute drive from the site

The barrier access adds extra security

We will use this site if we decide to visit Nth Yorks again.

The hotel with bar was a bonus and the prices were reasonable

The site owner was so helpful.

Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Where is the nearest shop to York House Hotel And Caravan Park?   There is a shop on site    View all facilities

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park dog friendly?   YES    View all facilities


Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3210 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020