Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York House Hotel And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Whitby > York House Hotel And Caravan Park > Reviews

York House Hotel And Caravan Park
Back Lane
Hawsker
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4LW
Tel: 01947 880354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 131 Reviews
                8/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 5358darren 2 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from our family camping week at York House caravan park. Fantastic location

On arrival we were met by friendly staff who showed us to our pitch.

The tent area itself was split into 3 sections.

We were on the first level for electric tent pitches with the main camping field being at the top of the hill.

Facilities - the toilet block was clean, 3 toilets and 4 showers, I never had to queue. There was a laundry room with 2 sinks, a washing machine and dryer. Wi-fi is available but it's not free as stated, it costs 7. 50 per 4 nights, and the connection was not available all the time

There is a kids playground, but it was very basic There was a big field next to the playground for ball games etc. And a very good dog walking field.

The site has a shop it is very small and only sold the most basic items. There was also a games room with pool table, table tennis table and a couple of arcade games.

There was also a small bar open til 11 although to my disappointment they would not let dogs in, they did say the bar served meals but when we arrived and tried to order food we were told they did not serve food, although the hotel did we made other arrangements at the fantastic Hare and Hounds pub across the road which sold very good food, has a large beer garden and dogs are more than welcome.

Security seemed good with an electric barrier on the entry and a code for the toilet block. The staff drove round in a jeep at about 10pm as well to check on everything.

Overall, York house is one of the most expensive in the area, amenities for the tariff are very basic and should be better.

My total cost was 135. 50 for 4 days.

Would I return, No I don't think so, I would try other sites first. Despite the fantastic location 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Deek9 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent a weekend at Yorkhouse. Nice site and the staff are wonderful, very helpful and friendly. The pitch was a very poor hard standing and you are quite close to your neighbours but we didn't encounter any noise or problems for being so close, probably visa versa.

Specified barbecue points, good idea.

Didn't use the play area, but lots did and looks fun, nor the emptying points so cant comment on them. The toilet block for the ladies is very good with 6 loos and 4 showers, wish I could say the same for the gents.

Three toilets, one with a broken seat and one that filled up with water when you flushed it. There are notices up from the owner saying about refurbs so perhaps this is something that will be sorted. Also very little ventilation ie no opening windows which were dirty with cob webs and grime. Laundry come dish wash area. What can I say - two sinks and only one had a draining board. This also housed the hair dryer and the room is very small to accommodate washing machine, dryer, sinks etc, needless to say the Qs' are long.

Re electric we were given the option of paying for a pound card or all inclusive, so perhaps if you are long stay they charge you the extra inc EHU.

Never went in the pub but plenty did as we went to the Hare and Hounds 10 mins away. Could be a better site with more improvements but we still enjoyed ourselves. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paddyh70 2 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from our 1st family camping weekend at York House caravan park. 2 adults, and 3 children - 2, 3 and 11. As it was our first camping trip I can't really say how it compares to other places but this is what we though of it.

On arrival - met by friendly staff who showed us to our pitch. To get to the tent area we passed loads of statics and 2 fields of tourers and motorhomes.

The tent area itself was split into 3 sections. It's on a hill so they have done it like 3 flat level terraces each bordered with trees and bushes on 3 sides which gave good shelter.

There was about 5 tent pitches in a row on each section. Ours was the end one near the road down there, so there was loads of room next to our pitch, but the guy showing us to the pitch told us we had stay within the red markings on the fence, our tent is huge (kalahari 8) so it took up most of the space and our guy ropes went passed the red marks as did our car, but when he showed our neighbours to their pitch a few hours later he didn't say anything.

Facilities - the toilet block was clean, 6 toilets and 4 showers, I never had to queue but I imagine that in the school Holstein you might have to. There was a laundry room with2 sinks, a washing machine and dryer.

There is a kids playground, but it was quite basic and too big for my 2 year old, though my 3 year old and 11 year old enjoyed it. There was a big field next to the playground for ball games etc.

The site has a shop but we didn't go in, it looked quite small so probably on stocked essentials. There was also a games room with pool table and a bar in the hotel was open til 11 and welcomed children. There is a bus stop nearby to get the bus to Whitby.

Security seemed good with an electric barrier on the entry and a code for the toilet block. The staff drove round in a jeep at about 10pm as well to check on everything.

On the saturday our porch blew down and they even rang us to tell us. We are thinking of going back in a few weeks for a week long stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KAM81 2 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from a weekend camping at York House, our first ever time camping, and we loved it!

We went as a group of 4 adults and 5 children in 2 tents. The other couple and their 2 children have camped at York House a few times before and so we went with them on their recommendation.

The site staff are friendly and very helpful, nothing is too much trouble. We needed to use the site shop on Sunday but found it had already closed when we got there. One of the staff noticed us and opened it up for us. It was really appreciated.

We took most essential items with us so didn't really have a need to use the shop (except for a few sweets on Sunday!) so I didn't notice whether it had a good selection or not. There was a shop not too far away that was very reasonable so we used that a couple of times when we were out and about.

Pitch size was plenty for our large 8 man tent. We were in a EHU field that had about 10 tents on so it didn't feel crowded. Our field and the site in general was fairly quiet as night time came which was welcomed, and no noise in the night itself. It did take a little while for some of the older children to quieten down for the night which resulted in my young children (5,3,2) not wanting to settle down as they thought they were missing something! I would say that that will be the case at most places though.

The toilet block was clean and well maintained in my opinion but then I don't have anything else to judge it against at the moment. I didn't have the job of emptying our toilet, that fell to my husband! He didn't have a problem with the facilities to do it though.

The playground was great for older children but not really ideal for younger ones as the only access to the slide was a vertical ladder which my 2 and 3 year olds couldn't manage. We made use of the large playing field though and had a few games on there.

I would definitely return to York House again, thoroughly enjoyed our first family camping trip. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CaravanEncounters 3 reviews from this member

 Arrived on site to discover that the 25 per night fee we had been quoted on the phone did not include electric. We had to pay an additional 5 per night. It was a very expensive five night stay, especially considering the facilities on site.

There is a small shower block which was always busy as the site was full. The chemical toilet disposal is just a man-hole cover that you lift up, very unhygienic.

There is a children's play area in a field and several basic taps for filling water etc. Not enough facilities for the size of the site though. The shop stocks very basic supplies.

There seem to be a few caravans that are on permanent pitches one of which has several very noisy children.

The pitches are close together we felt crowded and set on very small gravel patches, not what could be classed as proper hard-standing.

Dogs are allowed on site but not in the pub, there is a gazebo set up outside - not the best if it's cold or raining.

There is a wonderful pub in the village though called the Hare and Hounds, amazing place, great food and jolly staff, plus they let dogs in no problem. Book early if you want to eat in the Hare and Hounds restaurant as very busy.

The site is OK if you spend your days out walking the wonderful coastal paths between Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay, and Cinder track nearby. The staff on site are the saving grace, very helpful and friendly. Let's hope the new owners do indeed put money into the site for improvements - they could start with the chemical toilet disposal.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ozzie1970 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this site for two days in April, lovely clean amenities, washroom, washer and dryer, shop on site kids play area and a field for dog walking, owners were very friendly and helpful.

The bar is lovely and the lovely owners let me charge my mobile there whilst we had a few drinks,

I would highly recommend this campsite it is in a brilliant central area for whitby, robin hoods bay and goathland etc.

Hoping to visit again soon 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jerpickup 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here with a group of friends over the Royal wedding bank holiday. We had a tourer but everyone else was in tents except the 2 grannys who stayed in the hotel.

On arrival the Manager realized that we were going to be a large group and that as we were in a caravan we would be away from our friends so showed us with their state of the art CCTV system exactly where the other tents would be and would we like to put our tourer on the Pony Field with them. Naturally this was ideal as we could all be together. We were then escorted to our pitch and duly set up.

We had 16A hook up. The toilet block was very clean and tidy.A little tired looking in some areas but other than that absolutely fine. The grey water and chemical waste disposal could do with an upgrade and I also found that for such a large site 2 sinks for washing up was too few.

The site was very clean and tidy. Great hotel with lovely bar and very reasonable prices. The Grannys found the rooms to be generously sized and very comfortable. Another nice attention to detail was that they moved my mother in law down to the lowest floor when they realized she could not walk very well.All done without asking.

Their is a really good atmosphere amongst the staff who are genuinely happy to help.

After 3 days of BBQing for 25 people at a time we decided to eat at the restaurant for the last night. What a fabulous night of fun. Steven (The Manager) popped in to see if we were all OK, we explained the food had been great and discussed our comments about the toilet blocks etc. He explained the new owner was investing heavily in the place and aiming to improve the toilet block etc as soon as possible.

The young Chef sent out 13 lovely meals and at 152 for us all including drinks was excellent value for money.

To sum up: Beautiful country side with lovely areas for the kids to run around with a play area too. The kindest and warmest welcome we have had at any campsite. Would we go back?.IN A SHOT. THANK YOU for a wonderful time York House!  


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JamesKelly91 3 reviews from this member

 Visited the site end of May, upon arriving found that the charges were 25 per night per pitch - even though the website prices said that it was only 20 per pitch. When I pointed out this error the guy just told me 'this was the price he was told' and that I would have to pay it.

My friend was also with us, and even though the pitch pricing is for 2 adults and 2 children he charged us an extra 4 pound per night for him as we had three adults. I thought he could have let us off as we didn't have any children and I felt that we had already been over charged.

For a three night stay we paid over 80 pounds. I had previously visited the site earlier in the year so had booked and left a ten pounds deposit. The guy couldn't find any proof of this and was unwilling to take ten pound off our bill until I showed him the receipt for the deposit, which I had luckily kept.

We were then took to our pitch by an older gentleman who explained the site rules rather abruptly and spoke to us as though he was shouting at us - we weren't impressed with his customer service skills at all!

Even though the site states that they do not allow groups of the same sex we were pitched next to a group of 6 young men. This wasn't an issue, as they didn't make a sound - until 3am every morning when they arrived back to the site after hitting the nightclubs.

The site also has a 'quiet time' policy which didn't really seem to go into effect at all. There were lots of large families on the site who seemed to think it was okay to allow there children to run around screaming until well past midnight every night. Maybe this is a problem with today's society perhaps?

The wash facilities weren't the best. The shower block was very smelly and there was no ventilation system in place which multiplied the smell problem. Although the facilities were free to use, there was never any hot water for showers after not very long.

It also seems bizarre that the tent pitches are the furthest away from this facilities block as these are the people who will use it. This isn't an issue until you need the toilet at night and can't be bothered to walk up the hill to the toilet block, so go behind the bushes and meet a number of other people there who have the same idea as you.

We didn't use the shop on site, however we did use the bar. The atmosphere was lacking somewhat but the food selection was good and was of good quality. You could take the food away in plastic containers too - which is something we did a few times - great idea! The pints however were lacking in quality. The 50p price difference (cheaper at the site) isn't worth it when your pint is rubbish!

Walk into Whitby took us an hour and a half. It wasn't particularly difficult and it was quite enjoyable. The route takes you to the top of the abbey - so you can walk down the steps and count them rather than having to walk up them!

Walk into Robin Hoods Bay (RHB) took us an hour, which was all on busy roads - however I am told that there is a route through the countryside on old train tracks which is safer. There isn't much at RHB but the markets and stalls are definitely worth a look when they are running - we found quite a few hidden gems! RHB gets very busy as it is only a small place, however if you use the pubs a little further inland (not directly next to the coast) you will find a better atmosphere and quicker service.

Hawsker, the village over the road is more of a hamlet! However, the pub, the hare and the hounds, is brilliant. Best pint and best meals we had all holiday (although we didn't have a particularly bad experience anywhere). The staff will go out there way to make you comfortable and the atmosphere is brilliant. Lovely little pub, however it is definitely worth booking a table for food!

The village also had a bus stop which serviced the local buses to RHB and Whitby. However, if there are more than three of you it is cheaper to get a taxi anywhere rather than the bus!

We are visiting the area again but using a different campsite as we weren't impressed by it at all.

I would recommend the site for larger groups/families who don't mind other screaming kids and large groups. Definitely not the site for couples and walkers. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Metalhead 37 reviews from this member

 Nicely placed campsite just off the main road to Whitby. We were in the area but didn't book a campsite. Not realising the kids had just finished for Easter we couldn't get a pitch on many of the sites in the area, or not one with hook up, but York House Hotel had vacancies.

There looked to be quite a few units on site but not many people, so the place had a fairly quiet feel to it.

Facilities were adequate. There's a large dog walk field which is good, and the site location is in easy reach of Whitby and Robin Hood's Bay.

All in all a decent campsite. Would stay again if we're in the area. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jimbouk 19 reviews from this member

 Visited for one night in early April, weather was fantastic which was a bonus.

Very easy access to the site off the A171, around 2.5 miles south of Whitby.

Some very faint road noise but not enough to spoil your stay.

Although we had a great day and night on site there were a few areas which could be improved

Pitches quite tightly packed together,not really hard standing but more of a rough pebble base and certainly not level.

The shower block was a little tired looking and I would expect when the site is full it wouldn't be able to cope with the numbers.

Now on to the positives.

Have to say the owners and staff were the most friendly we have come across on any site, nothing was too much trouble.

On arrival we were shown to our pitches by one of the owners, and assistance to set up was offered.

Have to admit we sampled several beverages in the excellent bar / bistro area which had outside and inside seating, food was good value and very tasty and once again the staff were first class.

Childrens play area was huge and away from the caravans and tents, and ther was also a separate games room for the kids.

All in all a very enjoyable stay and would definably return for a one or two nighter in the future 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to York House Hotel And Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3919 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement