Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of York House Hotel And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > York House Hotel And Caravan Park Reviews

York House Hotel And Caravan Park
Back Lane
Hawsker
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4LW
Tel: 01947 880354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 114 Reviews
                8/10 from 114 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aitch65 1 review from this member

Visited for a weekend and found the staff really friendly and helpful. We were shown to our pitch which was very close to the pub on the site. The pitch was quite tight although there was plenty of room at the front of our tent which gave us a feeling of space. We did not notice the noise from the pub too much which it is open from 8am til 11pm.

The toilet block was very clean and I had no trouble getting a shower at 8am even with a very full site. We did however have to queue to use the pot washing facilities housed in the shower block between the ladies and gents. The site appears to be very well managed.

The surrounding area is fantastic with lovely views especially along the cinder track between Hawsker and Robin Hoods Bay. There is a cycle hire place close by so that you can choose between cycling or walking the track.

It is the most expensive site we have stayed at but the beautiful weather and helpfulness of the chap with the jeep (jumped started our car which had a flat battery) made up for this.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ameythist 7 reviews from this member

Like before us we arrived on site to discover that the 25 per night fee we had been quoted on the phone did not include electric. We had to pay an additional 5 per night. It was a very expensive five night stay, especially considering the facilities on site.

There is a small shower block which was always busy as the site was full. The chemical toilet disposal is just a man-hole cover that you lift up, very unhygienic. Very smelly and very hard as you are bending - also no proper facility to empty waste on motorhome.

There is several basic taps for filling water etc. Not enough facilities for the size of the site though. The shop stocks very basic supplies. The staff are very friendly.

There seem to be a few caravans that are on permanent pitches and were a bit intimidating when passing. Felt as though we were on their 'turf' so to speak. Not many adhered to the 10pm quiet rule and this was not policed. There were also some noisy dogs. One of which was directly opposite us and whined all the time as it did not like being tied up.

The pitches are close together we felt crowded and set on very small gravel patches, not what could be classed as proper hard-standing. Once we opened our pull out awning it was impinging on next door. If we would have been a full size closed awning we would have stepped out the door and touched the van next to us very tight fit and when the evening drew in we could hear the family in the next van chatting in their awning and hear their TV.

Dogs are allowed on site but not in the pub, there is a gazebo set up outside - not the best if it's cold or raining.

There is a wonderful pub in the village though called the Hare and Hounds, amazing place, great food and jolly staff, plus they let dogs in no problem. Book early if you want to eat in the Hare and Hounds restaurant as very busy. Fabulous food average 9 a meal but really nice atmosphere.

The site is OK if you spend your days out walking the wonderful coastal paths between Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay, and Cinder track nearby. The staff on site are the saving grace, very helpful and friendly. All in all a beautiful area but overpriced and too squashed in

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Philha 2 reviews from this member

Very friendly staff, we were made very welcome.

Facilities good and kept clean all the time we were there and the site was very busy.

The bar had a couple of games of bingo during our stay, again we were made to feel very welcome.

Take away meals from the hotel very good quality.

Shop well stocked and it was great that you could order your morning paper for the next day.

The actual pitch we were on was a little cramped but we had good neighbours all around us so no troubles on that account.

I did think the fee was a little high and I also felt a little disappointed at having to buy an electric card for 5 but only used approx 2. 40 worth of electric during my stay.

Great dog walk field and excellent location for Whitby.

No grey water waste drain for a motorhome and the lack of a full facility to empty the chemical toilet (just an drain in a large hole under a metal cover with no flush or water supply at present) badly let the site down for us but I have been told they are in the process of installing these features. How long has this site been open though, shouldn't they have had them by now?

We will return, the staff made up for any lack of draining facilities

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 5358darren 2 reviews from this member

We've just returned from our family camping week at York House caravan park. Fantastic location

On arrival we were met by friendly staff who showed us to our pitch.

The tent area itself was split into 3 sections.

We were on the first level for electric tent pitches with the main camping field being at the top of the hill.

Facilities - the toilet block was clean, 3 toilets and 4 showers, I never had to queue. There was a laundry room with 2 sinks, a washing machine and dryer. Wi-fi is available but it's not free as stated, it costs 7. 50 per 4 nights, and the connection was not available all the time

There is a kids playground, but it was very basic There was a big field next to the playground for ball games etc. And a very good dog walking field.

The site has a shop it is very small and only sold the most basic items. There was also a games room with pool table, table tennis table and a couple of arcade games.

There was also a small bar open til 11 although to my disappointment they would not let dogs in, they did say the bar served meals but when we arrived and tried to order food we were told they did not serve food, although the hotel did we made other arrangements at the fantastic Hare and Hounds pub across the road which sold very good food, has a large beer garden and dogs are more than welcome.

Security seemed good with an electric barrier on the entry and a code for the toilet block. The staff drove round in a jeep at about 10pm as well to check on everything.

Overall, York house is one of the most expensive in the area, amenities for the tariff are very basic and should be better.

My total cost was 135. 50 for 4 days.

Would I return, No I don't think so, I would try other sites first. Despite the fantastic location

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Deek9 2 reviews from this member

Just spent a weekend at Yorkhouse. Nice site and the staff are wonderful, very helpful and friendly. The pitch was a very poor hard standing and you are quite close to your neighbours but we didn't encounter any noise or problems for being so close, probably visa versa.

Specified barbecue points, good idea.

Didn't use the play area, but lots did and looks fun, nor the emptying points so cant comment on them. The toilet block for the ladies is very good with 6 loos and 4 showers, wish I could say the same for the gents.

Three toilets, one with a broken seat and one that filled up with water when you flushed it. There are notices up from the owner saying about refurbs so perhaps this is something that will be sorted. Also very little ventilation ie no opening windows which were dirty with cob webs and grime. Laundry come dish wash area. What can I say - two sinks and only one had a draining board. This also housed the hair dryer and the room is very small to accommodate washing machine, dryer, sinks etc, needless to say the Qs' are long.

Re electric we were given the option of paying for a pound card or all inclusive, so perhaps if you are long stay they charge you the extra inc EHU.

Never went in the pub but plenty did as we went to the Hare and Hounds 10 mins away. Could be a better site with more improvements but we still enjoyed ourselves.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paddyh70 2 reviews from this member

We've just returned from our 1st family camping weekend at York House caravan park. 2 adults, and 3 children - 2, 3 and 11. As it was our first camping trip I can't really say how it compares to other places but this is what we though of it.

On arrival - met by friendly staff who showed us to our pitch. To get to the tent area we passed loads of statics and 2 fields of tourers and motorhomes.

The tent area itself was split into 3 sections. It's on a hill so they have done it like 3 flat level terraces each bordered with trees and bushes on 3 sides which gave good shelter.

There was about 5 tent pitches in a row on each section. Ours was the end one near the road down there, so there was loads of room next to our pitch, but the guy showing us to the pitch told us we had stay within the red markings on the fence, our tent is huge (kalahari 8) so it took up most of the space and our guy ropes went passed the red marks as did our car, but when he showed our neighbours to their pitch a few hours later he didn't say anything.

Facilities - the toilet block was clean, 6 toilets and 4 showers, I never had to queue but I imagine that in the school Holstein you might have to. There was a laundry room with2 sinks, a washing machine and dryer.

There is a kids playground, but it was quite basic and too big for my 2 year old, though my 3 year old and 11 year old enjoyed it. There was a big field next to the playground for ball games etc.

The site has a shop but we didn't go in, it looked quite small so probably on stocked essentials. There was also a games room with pool table and a bar in the hotel was open til 11 and welcomed children. There is a bus stop nearby to get the bus to Whitby.

Security seemed good with an electric barrier on the entry and a code for the toilet block. The staff drove round in a jeep at about 10pm as well to check on everything.

On the saturday our porch blew down and they even rang us to tell us. We are thinking of going back in a few weeks for a week long stay.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KAM81 2 reviews from this member

We have just got back from a weekend camping at York House, our first ever time camping, and we loved it!

We went as a group of 4 adults and 5 children in 2 tents. The other couple and their 2 children have camped at York House a few times before and so we went with them on their recommendation.

The site staff are friendly and very helpful, nothing is too much trouble. We needed to use the site shop on Sunday but found it had already closed when we got there. One of the staff noticed us and opened it up for us. It was really appreciated.

We took most essential items with us so didn't really have a need to use the shop (except for a few sweets on Sunday!) so I didn't notice whether it had a good selection or not. There was a shop not too far away that was very reasonable so we used that a couple of times when we were out and about.

Pitch size was plenty for our large 8 man tent. We were in a EHU field that had about 10 tents on so it didn't feel crowded. Our field and the site in general was fairly quiet as night time came which was welcomed, and no noise in the night itself. It did take a little while for some of the older children to quieten down for the night which resulted in my young children (5,3,2) not wanting to settle down as they thought they were missing something! I would say that that will be the case at most places though.

The toilet block was clean and well maintained in my opinion but then I don't have anything else to judge it against at the moment. I didn't have the job of emptying our toilet, that fell to my husband! He didn't have a problem with the facilities to do it though.

The playground was great for older children but not really ideal for younger ones as the only access to the slide was a vertical ladder which my 2 and 3 year olds couldn't manage. We made use of the large playing field though and had a few games on there.

I would definitely return to York House again, thoroughly enjoyed our first family camping trip.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CaravanEncounters 3 reviews from this member

Arrived on site to discover that the 25 per night fee we had been quoted on the phone did not include electric. We had to pay an additional 5 per night. It was a very expensive five night stay, especially considering the facilities on site.

There is a small shower block which was always busy as the site was full. The chemical toilet disposal is just a man-hole cover that you lift up, very unhygienic.

There is a children's play area in a field and several basic taps for filling water etc. Not enough facilities for the size of the site though. The shop stocks very basic supplies.

There seem to be a few caravans that are on permanent pitches one of which has several very noisy children.

The pitches are close together we felt crowded and set on very small gravel patches, not what could be classed as proper hard-standing.

Dogs are allowed on site but not in the pub, there is a gazebo set up outside - not the best if it's cold or raining.

There is a wonderful pub in the village though called the Hare and Hounds, amazing place, great food and jolly staff, plus they let dogs in no problem. Book early if you want to eat in the Hare and Hounds restaurant as very busy.

The site is OK if you spend your days out walking the wonderful coastal paths between Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay, and Cinder track nearby. The staff on site are the saving grace, very helpful and friendly. Let's hope the new owners do indeed put money into the site for improvements - they could start with the chemical toilet disposal.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ozzie1970 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site for two days in April, lovely clean amenities, washroom, washer and dryer, shop on site kids play area and a field for dog walking, owners were very friendly and helpful.

The bar is lovely and the lovely owners let me charge my mobile there whilst we had a few drinks,

I would highly recommend this campsite it is in a brilliant central area for whitby, robin hoods bay and goathland etc.

Hoping to visit again soon

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jerpickup 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here with a group of friends over the Royal wedding bank holiday. We had a tourer but everyone else was in tents except the 2 grannys who stayed in the hotel.

On arrival the Manager realized that we were going to be a large group and that as we were in a caravan we would be away from our friends so showed us with their state of the art CCTV system exactly where the other tents would be and would we like to put our tourer on the Pony Field with them. Naturally this was ideal as we could all be together. We were then escorted to our pitch and duly set up.

We had 16A hook up. The toilet block was very clean and tidy.A little tired looking in some areas but other than that absolutely fine. The grey water and chemical waste disposal could do with an upgrade and I also found that for such a large site 2 sinks for washing up was too few.

The site was very clean and tidy. Great hotel with lovely bar and very reasonable prices. The Grannys found the rooms to be generously sized and very comfortable. Another nice attention to detail was that they moved my mother in law down to the lowest floor when they realized she could not walk very well.All done without asking.

Their is a really good atmosphere amongst the staff who are genuinely happy to help.

After 3 days of BBQing for 25 people at a time we decided to eat at the restaurant for the last night. What a fabulous night of fun. Steven (The Manager) popped in to see if we were all OK, we explained the food had been great and discussed our comments about the toilet blocks etc. He explained the new owner was investing heavily in the place and aiming to improve the toilet block etc as soon as possible.

The young Chef sent out 13 lovely meals and at 152 for us all including drinks was excellent value for money.

To sum up: Beautiful country side with lovely areas for the kids to run around with a play area too. The kindest and warmest welcome we have had at any campsite. Would we go back?.IN A SHOT. THANK YOU for a wonderful time York House!

Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2532 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020