Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of York House Hotel And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > York House Hotel And Caravan Park Reviews

York House Hotel And Caravan Park
Back Lane
Hawsker
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4LW
Tel: 01947 880354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 114 Reviews
                8/10 from 114 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JamesKelly91 3 reviews from this member

Visited the site end of May, upon arriving found that the charges were 25 per night per pitch - even though the website prices said that it was only 20 per pitch. When I pointed out this error the guy just told me 'this was the price he was told' and that I would have to pay it.

My friend was also with us, and even though the pitch pricing is for 2 adults and 2 children he charged us an extra 4 pound per night for him as we had three adults. I thought he could have let us off as we didn't have any children and I felt that we had already been over charged.

For a three night stay we paid over 80 pounds. I had previously visited the site earlier in the year so had booked and left a ten pounds deposit. The guy couldn't find any proof of this and was unwilling to take ten pound off our bill until I showed him the receipt for the deposit, which I had luckily kept.

We were then took to our pitch by an older gentleman who explained the site rules rather abruptly and spoke to us as though he was shouting at us - we weren't impressed with his customer service skills at all!

Even though the site states that they do not allow groups of the same sex we were pitched next to a group of 6 young men. This wasn't an issue, as they didn't make a sound - until 3am every morning when they arrived back to the site after hitting the nightclubs.

The site also has a 'quiet time' policy which didn't really seem to go into effect at all. There were lots of large families on the site who seemed to think it was okay to allow there children to run around screaming until well past midnight every night. Maybe this is a problem with today's society perhaps?

The wash facilities weren't the best. The shower block was very smelly and there was no ventilation system in place which multiplied the smell problem. Although the facilities were free to use, there was never any hot water for showers after not very long.

It also seems bizarre that the tent pitches are the furthest away from this facilities block as these are the people who will use it. This isn't an issue until you need the toilet at night and can't be bothered to walk up the hill to the toilet block, so go behind the bushes and meet a number of other people there who have the same idea as you.

We didn't use the shop on site, however we did use the bar. The atmosphere was lacking somewhat but the food selection was good and was of good quality. You could take the food away in plastic containers too - which is something we did a few times - great idea! The pints however were lacking in quality. The 50p price difference (cheaper at the site) isn't worth it when your pint is rubbish!

Walk into Whitby took us an hour and a half. It wasn't particularly difficult and it was quite enjoyable. The route takes you to the top of the abbey - so you can walk down the steps and count them rather than having to walk up them!

Walk into Robin Hoods Bay (RHB) took us an hour, which was all on busy roads - however I am told that there is a route through the countryside on old train tracks which is safer. There isn't much at RHB but the markets and stalls are definitely worth a look when they are running - we found quite a few hidden gems! RHB gets very busy as it is only a small place, however if you use the pubs a little further inland (not directly next to the coast) you will find a better atmosphere and quicker service.

Hawsker, the village over the road is more of a hamlet! However, the pub, the hare and the hounds, is brilliant. Best pint and best meals we had all holiday (although we didn't have a particularly bad experience anywhere). The staff will go out there way to make you comfortable and the atmosphere is brilliant. Lovely little pub, however it is definitely worth booking a table for food!

The village also had a bus stop which serviced the local buses to RHB and Whitby. However, if there are more than three of you it is cheaper to get a taxi anywhere rather than the bus!

We are visiting the area again but using a different campsite as we weren't impressed by it at all.

I would recommend the site for larger groups/families who don't mind other screaming kids and large groups. Definitely not the site for couples and walkers.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Metalhead 27 reviews from this member

Nicely placed campsite just off the main road to Whitby. We were in the area but didn't book a campsite. Not realising the kids had just finished for Easter we couldn't get a pitch on many of the sites in the area, or not one with hook up, but York House Hotel had vacancies.

There looked to be quite a few units on site but not many people, so the place had a fairly quiet feel to it.

Facilities were adequate. There's a large dog walk field which is good, and the site location is in easy reach of Whitby and Robin Hood's Bay.

All in all a decent campsite. Would stay again if we're in the area.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jimbouk 19 reviews from this member

Visited for one night in early April, weather was fantastic which was a bonus.

Very easy access to the site off the A171, around 2.5 miles south of Whitby.

Some very faint road noise but not enough to spoil your stay.

Although we had a great day and night on site there were a few areas which could be improved

Pitches quite tightly packed together,not really hard standing but more of a rough pebble base and certainly not level.

The shower block was a little tired looking and I would expect when the site is full it wouldn't be able to cope with the numbers.

Now on to the positives.

Have to say the owners and staff were the most friendly we have come across on any site, nothing was too much trouble.

On arrival we were shown to our pitches by one of the owners, and assistance to set up was offered.

Have to admit we sampled several beverages in the excellent bar / bistro area which had outside and inside seating, food was good value and very tasty and once again the staff were first class.

Childrens play area was huge and away from the caravans and tents, and ther was also a separate games room for the kids.

All in all a very enjoyable stay and would definably return for a one or two nighter in the future

Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nurseflo 4 reviews from this member

Arrived for along weekend - had rang to ask if we could have some help to manoeuvre caravan onto a pitch as I had just come out of hospital after an op and could not help hubby manoeuvre caravan - told not a problem. On arrival 3 men were waiting for us who all unhitched caravan and put caravan on pitch before hubby could get out of car. Wonderful service from the site and these men.

Was given disabled toilet key due to my recent operation without asking (only criticism is that these were not heated although main men/women toilets/showers were)

Lovely clean facilities although I would think in high season there would be queues at toilets.Showers as there are not many of them esp as there is also facilities for camping in the next big field which did not have any facilities

Plenty of walks available to take dog on

Very small shop which you had to ring bell for them to open but then this is at the end of the season

Short drive into Whitby for all yr needs though

Bar on site in main hotel which was very reasonable for drinks and staff very friendly and accommodating

Food is served although we ate out in Whitby

This is a lovely site and is certainly worth a visit again

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MickeyNE 4 reviews from this member

Arrived here about 12pm and were shown to our pitch by the owner up on the top field non electric hook up. After we got pitched we went into Robin hoods bay about 2 miles away, lovely fish and chip shop there and some nice little shops / pubs etc. Also very handy for Whitby 3 miles away,we went into Whitby as well.

Back on site we had porto loo's on our field but there was a shower and toilet block about 5 mins walk from our tent,they were clean and adequate. The site also had a play area and sports field which looked good but we had no kids with us so we never used it.We went to the clubhouse on site it was 2-70 for a pint of Fosters and 30p for Lime and water and 1-20p for tea or hot chocolate.

We were a bit unlucky when we went bank holiday weekend because the wind was horrendous and a lot packed up and went home mind it was like this all over I heard so can't blame this site for the weather.

Ps We only booked this site on the Friday of the bank holiday weekend and got straight in 31 per night for 6 adults in a medium size tent was very reasonable.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Willbury 3 reviews from this member

We spent 3 nights at York House during the third week of August in a small motorhome, extremely friendly staff, pitch was a good size, very pretty site it was clean and well kept, showers and toilets spotless, sadly no hair drying facilities.

Food in the restaurant was good and reasonably priced. Not much to do for teenagers, small games room, but then we didn't intend to stay on site through the day.

Shop was very basic, but site is only 4 miles from Whitby where you will find a large Co-op with ample parking spaces.

If you intend to take your Motorhome into Whitby, suggest taking the right turn for the 'Abbey' on the road from the site and park in the Abbey car park and walk into the town from there.

You can walk to Robin Hoods Bay from the site, either, via the Coast to Coast route or the old railway line or just take the road route.

Will definitely go back to this site and have already recommended it to friends.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Claracloggs 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here in August for 2nights & the site was superb, staff were friendly with us. We went in large group, some camping & some staying in the site hotel, which was excellent too.

Although we were a little relaxed on the night of arrival and it ended up a late one around our tent, the noise level from us did go up a little but that was not a problem as we were told from site staff & the following night we keep things to down.

All in all it was a good weekend stay for everyone and would definitely go back!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Simon 78 3 reviews from this member

Having visited this campsite a lot over the last 5 years I was looking forward to our visit. However I was left feeling with a nasty taste in my mouth by this visit. The price for electric hookup had gone up to 30. That was a 10 increase from last year.

We were showed by a gentlemen to our pitch who showed us firstly to the wrong pitch and secondly to a pitch that was appropriately 40m away from our hookup point that our lead would not reach. We had to ask to be moved to a pitch closer to a hookup point.

As some reviews before have said the showers are simply not big enough. I went for a shower at 7.30 in the morning to find all 4 were in use and there were 6 people queuing to use them. Not good.

When we arrived we were told the site rules regarding noise and that quiet time was from 10pm till 8am. We had music going till midnight and it started before 8am in the morning.

The following morning me and my Wife couldn't wait to get the tent down and get out of there. I don't mind paying for anything but 30 a night for facilities and disturbances like that is very poor. We will never return to this site again

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happy Glampers 3 reviews from this member

Just back from a 3 night stay at this site. The tent pitches are in a narrow valley at the bottom of a steep track.

Quite a windy site and a good hike from the tent pitches to the toilet block and pot washing up a very steep hill.

Toilets and showers were clean and free hot water in showers, only 4 showers though not a lot for such a big site. The washing up room was small and cramped with only 2 sinks so queue at busy times.

Dog friendly site with large field to exorcise in, play ground for the kids and pool room with 2 tables. The site has a small but friendly bar did't try the food but menu looked fairly priced.

The shop has hardly any stock not even milk on one day, plenty to see and do near by.

Would recommend Mini Monsterz only 10 mins away indoor play barn.

The staff are friendly overall a good site but limited views from the cramped tent pitches.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lany90 3 reviews from this member

Just got back from York House. I felt the site wasn't quite sure what it wanted to be, as there are a lot of statics a lot of tourers and tents are pushed at the back of the campsite which means you are the furthest away from the only toilet block. This seemed illogical as the statics and tourers would have had there own facilities anyhow.

The showers were ok, but the lack of a shower curtain meant that there was no dry area to get dressed. A man showed us where to pitch our tent and stressed we were only allowed the space between the marked out area, he even came back to make sure we had not gone over our allotted pitch.

Overall it was ok

You can walk to Whiby and Robin Hoods Bay from the site, but its a bit of trek to get on to the disused railway line, lovely walk all the same. I think the owner should do the walks so they can give clear instructions on how to get on to the railway line and how long it would take.

Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2116 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020