Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York House Hotel And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Whitby > York House Hotel And Caravan Park > Reviews

York House Hotel And Caravan Park
Back Lane
Hawsker
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4LW
Tel: 01947 880354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 129 Reviews
                8/10 from 129 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  129 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tab Caravan 1 review from this member

 We would definitely return to this site. We stayed here for a long weekend and we were fortunate with the weather as it was sunny or cloudy but dry.

When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly owner. We were shown where to go and he was very helpful.

I think the facilities on this site are great for what we needed having both children and dogs. The playing field is very large and a fantastic area for families to play on. The playground area looked quite small but there was a constant flow of children using it (the swings squeaked constantly).

The games room seems quite popular and has pool tables, a ping pong table and another table game. It also has 1 fruit machine and a sweets dispensing machine.

The dog walking field is excellent for dogs. Again it is very large and well fenced in, although the entrance is open to the campsite. At the top of the field is a lovely view of the sea in the distance - very pretty. The field was quiet when we used it.

The toilet block was clean, warm and relatively modern. We did not use the showers. The water taps were close to our caravan so filling up was reasonably quick. The waste water area was a little further away.

The shop was small and could be better stocked but it had everything we wanted, which admittedly wasn't much. We ate in the hotel one night and the food was very nice. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

We didn't leave the campsite but some of our party went to Robin Hoods Bay. I agree with others that you need a car to visit places.

Overall, I found this site to be very child-friendly and dog-friendly and we felt relaxed during our stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Addy01 10 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a 3 night stay at York House Hotel & Caravan park, where we took our dog and stayed in our tent, the tent pitches where very good, nice grassed area with water tap & electric hook up (if wanted & we did) which also had a light at side of pitch, quite private as well,

the area we were in had a few tents already pitched for a very hot weekend, everybody at the park are very friendly & polite, lovely views all round,

we were about 4 miles outside Whitby, 2 miles from Robin Hoods Bay & 17 miles from Scarborough, great we visited all above with the dog (he loved it on beach at Robin Hoods Bay & Scarborough, where dogs are allowed on).

The toilets & showers were clean & tidy (you had to run water in shower for a bit to get shower hot, no problem), you were provided with a code to enter the site (this also enabled you access to the shower/toilet block).

Camp shop was a bit basic & possibly could be improved with supplies.

Dog walking area supplied is brilliant a large field provided to exercise the dog (enclosed).

Children's play area, well we didn't use this, but some kids were using it (climbing frame/swings)they seemed happy.

One place we did use was the Hotel bar, what very good value for money (cheaper beer than home)polite young man & young lady behind the bar,

We sat outside with the dog (weather fantastic).

We visited the pub down the road because a review said it was dog friendly & nice (shame lad behind bar wasn't & we didn't like the pub, well that wouldn't have mattered they didn't have Carling, camp site DID).

Would we recommend this Camp site YES, YES, YES, we intend visiting it again(weather permitting).

We couldn't fault it, great camping experience. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brooksy913 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a Monday to Friday at a very reasonable 10 a night,

Staff are very friendly and helpful,

Toilets very clean but gents had a bit of a smell when running the taps,

The bar is ok but could be better with a bit of entertainment for the kids,

The only shop is on site or you have to travel to whitby,

The pub over the road is small but the food was really good, we went on steak night, 28 a couple and a bottle of wine, one of the biggest stakes I have had.

Overall its a good site but you do need a car to get about 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kelvindog3 7 reviews from this member

 This site has some good and bad points I do not think we would return unless we could not get in at a other site

Good points staff where friendly and other campers also where friendly

Bar area nice to sit out

Pitch was big

Showers and toilets clean

Good dog walking field

Good games field

Barrier good and safe

Some bad points

30 a night for a tent with hook up a lot for what was on site Only one adult and one child

Showers where chair was to get dry floor had puddle of water

No mops in showers and very cold heater not on

Only two pot wash sinks

Pitches un even

Not a lot nearby need a car

No information re area or site

Asked about bus time table did not know re bus to Whitby 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Unsocialsquid 4 reviews from this member

 Following a 5 day visit to the site, I can say I would return,

The pitch size was extra large which I was happy about as I paid extra for my tent, the ground was flattish but could be better.

The pub was good and the staff on site are extremely friendly,

The shop was poor in it's content but not an issue really,

The ladies said their toilet block was clean but the mens needed a good scrub and the toilets being located in the same room as the sinks and showers was poor in design,

Same with the washing up area, two sinks and one drain board was pretty poor.

All in all an average site which I would return to, but due to the price they charge for the pleasure, not as a first choice. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aitch65 1 review from this member

 Visited for a weekend and found the staff really friendly and helpful. We were shown to our pitch which was very close to the pub on the site. The pitch was quite tight although there was plenty of room at the front of our tent which gave us a feeling of space. We did not notice the noise from the pub too much which it is open from 8am til 11pm.

The toilet block was very clean and I had no trouble getting a shower at 8am even with a very full site. We did however have to queue to use the pot washing facilities housed in the shower block between the ladies and gents. The site appears to be very well managed.

The surrounding area is fantastic with lovely views especially along the cinder track between Hawsker and Robin Hoods Bay. There is a cycle hire place close by so that you can choose between cycling or walking the track.

It is the most expensive site we have stayed at but the beautiful weather and helpfulness of the chap with the jeep (jumped started our car which had a flat battery) made up for this. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ameythist 7 reviews from this member

 Like before us we arrived on site to discover that the 25 per night fee we had been quoted on the phone did not include electric. We had to pay an additional 5 per night. It was a very expensive five night stay, especially considering the facilities on site.

There is a small shower block which was always busy as the site was full. The chemical toilet disposal is just a man-hole cover that you lift up, very unhygienic. Very smelly and very hard as you are bending - also no proper facility to empty waste on motorhome.

There is several basic taps for filling water etc. Not enough facilities for the size of the site though. The shop stocks very basic supplies. The staff are very friendly.

There seem to be a few caravans that are on permanent pitches and were a bit intimidating when passing. Felt as though we were on their 'turf' so to speak. Not many adhered to the 10pm quiet rule and this was not policed. There were also some noisy dogs. One of which was directly opposite us and whined all the time as it did not like being tied up.

The pitches are close together we felt crowded and set on very small gravel patches, not what could be classed as proper hard-standing. Once we opened our pull out awning it was impinging on next door. If we would have been a full size closed awning we would have stepped out the door and touched the van next to us very tight fit and when the evening drew in we could hear the family in the next van chatting in their awning and hear their TV.

Dogs are allowed on site but not in the pub, there is a gazebo set up outside - not the best if it's cold or raining.

There is a wonderful pub in the village though called the Hare and Hounds, amazing place, great food and jolly staff, plus they let dogs in no problem. Book early if you want to eat in the Hare and Hounds restaurant as very busy. Fabulous food average 9 a meal but really nice atmosphere.

The site is OK if you spend your days out walking the wonderful coastal paths between Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay, and Cinder track nearby. The staff on site are the saving grace, very helpful and friendly. All in all a beautiful area but overpriced and too squashed in 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Philha 2 reviews from this member

 Very friendly staff, we were made very welcome.

Facilities good and kept clean all the time we were there and the site was very busy.

The bar had a couple of games of bingo during our stay, again we were made to feel very welcome.

Take away meals from the hotel very good quality.

Shop well stocked and it was great that you could order your morning paper for the next day.

The actual pitch we were on was a little cramped but we had good neighbours all around us so no troubles on that account.

I did think the fee was a little high and I also felt a little disappointed at having to buy an electric card for 5 but only used approx 2. 40 worth of electric during my stay.

Great dog walk field and excellent location for Whitby.

No grey water waste drain for a motorhome and the lack of a full facility to empty the chemical toilet (just an drain in a large hole under a metal cover with no flush or water supply at present) badly let the site down for us but I have been told they are in the process of installing these features. How long has this site been open though, shouldn't they have had them by now?

We will return, the staff made up for any lack of draining facilities 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 5358darren 2 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from our family camping week at York House caravan park. Fantastic location

On arrival we were met by friendly staff who showed us to our pitch.

The tent area itself was split into 3 sections.

We were on the first level for electric tent pitches with the main camping field being at the top of the hill.

Facilities - the toilet block was clean, 3 toilets and 4 showers, I never had to queue. There was a laundry room with 2 sinks, a washing machine and dryer. Wi-fi is available but it's not free as stated, it costs 7. 50 per 4 nights, and the connection was not available all the time

There is a kids playground, but it was very basic There was a big field next to the playground for ball games etc. And a very good dog walking field.

The site has a shop it is very small and only sold the most basic items. There was also a games room with pool table, table tennis table and a couple of arcade games.

There was also a small bar open til 11 although to my disappointment they would not let dogs in, they did say the bar served meals but when we arrived and tried to order food we were told they did not serve food, although the hotel did we made other arrangements at the fantastic Hare and Hounds pub across the road which sold very good food, has a large beer garden and dogs are more than welcome.

Security seemed good with an electric barrier on the entry and a code for the toilet block. The staff drove round in a jeep at about 10pm as well to check on everything.

Overall, York house is one of the most expensive in the area, amenities for the tariff are very basic and should be better.

My total cost was 135. 50 for 4 days.

Would I return, No I don't think so, I would try other sites first. Despite the fantastic location 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Deek9 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent a weekend at Yorkhouse. Nice site and the staff are wonderful, very helpful and friendly. The pitch was a very poor hard standing and you are quite close to your neighbours but we didn't encounter any noise or problems for being so close, probably visa versa.

Specified barbecue points, good idea.

Didn't use the play area, but lots did and looks fun, nor the emptying points so cant comment on them. The toilet block for the ladies is very good with 6 loos and 4 showers, wish I could say the same for the gents.

Three toilets, one with a broken seat and one that filled up with water when you flushed it. There are notices up from the owner saying about refurbs so perhaps this is something that will be sorted. Also very little ventilation ie no opening windows which were dirty with cob webs and grime. Laundry come dish wash area. What can I say - two sinks and only one had a draining board. This also housed the hair dryer and the room is very small to accommodate washing machine, dryer, sinks etc, needless to say the Qs' are long.

Re electric we were given the option of paying for a pound card or all inclusive, so perhaps if you are long stay they charge you the extra inc EHU.

Never went in the pub but plenty did as we went to the Hare and Hounds 10 mins away. Could be a better site with more improvements but we still enjoyed ourselves. 


Previous     129 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to York House Hotel And Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3751 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement