Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York House Hotel And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Whitby > York House Hotel And Caravan Park > Reviews

York House Hotel And Caravan Park
Back Lane
Hawsker
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4LW
Tel: 01947 880354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 131 Reviews
                8/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nurseflo 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived for along weekend - had rang to ask if we could have some help to manoeuvre caravan onto a pitch as I had just come out of hospital after an op and could not help hubby manoeuvre caravan - told not a problem. On arrival 3 men were waiting for us who all unhitched caravan and put caravan on pitch before hubby could get out of car. Wonderful service from the site and these men.

Was given disabled toilet key due to my recent operation without asking (only criticism is that these were not heated although main men/women toilets/showers were)

Lovely clean facilities although I would think in high season there would be queues at toilets.Showers as there are not many of them esp as there is also facilities for camping in the next big field which did not have any facilities

Plenty of walks available to take dog on

Very small shop which you had to ring bell for them to open but then this is at the end of the season

Short drive into Whitby for all yr needs though

Bar on site in main hotel which was very reasonable for drinks and staff very friendly and accommodating

Food is served although we ate out in Whitby

This is a lovely site and is certainly worth a visit again 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MickeyNE 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived here about 12pm and were shown to our pitch by the owner up on the top field non electric hook up. After we got pitched we went into Robin hoods bay about 2 miles away, lovely fish and chip shop there and some nice little shops / pubs etc. Also very handy for Whitby 3 miles away,we went into Whitby as well.

Back on site we had porto loo's on our field but there was a shower and toilet block about 5 mins walk from our tent,they were clean and adequate. The site also had a play area and sports field which looked good but we had no kids with us so we never used it.We went to the clubhouse on site it was £2-70 for a pint of Fosters and 30p for Lime and water and £1-20p for tea or hot chocolate.

We were a bit unlucky when we went bank holiday weekend because the wind was horrendous and a lot packed up and went home mind it was like this all over I heard so can't blame this site for the weather.

Ps We only booked this site on the Friday of the bank holiday weekend and got straight in £31 per night for 6 adults in a medium size tent was very reasonable. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Willbury 3 reviews from this member

 We spent 3 nights at York House during the third week of August in a small motorhome, extremely friendly staff, pitch was a good size, very pretty site it was clean and well kept, showers and toilets spotless, sadly no hair drying facilities.

Food in the restaurant was good and reasonably priced. Not much to do for teenagers, small games room, but then we didn't intend to stay on site through the day.

Shop was very basic, but site is only 4 miles from Whitby where you will find a large Co-op with ample parking spaces.

If you intend to take your Motorhome into Whitby, suggest taking the right turn for the 'Abbey' on the road from the site and park in the Abbey car park and walk into the town from there.

You can walk to Robin Hoods Bay from the site, either, via the Coast to Coast route or the old railway line or just take the road route.

Will definitely go back to this site and have already recommended it to friends. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claracloggs 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in August for 2nights & the site was superb, staff were friendly with us. We went in large group, some camping & some staying in the site hotel, which was excellent too.

Although we were a little relaxed on the night of arrival and it ended up a late one around our tent, the noise level from us did go up a little but that was not a problem as we were told from site staff & the following night we keep things to down.

All in all it was a good weekend stay for everyone and would definitely go back! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simon 78 3 reviews from this member

 Having visited this campsite a lot over the last 5 years I was looking forward to our visit. However I was left feeling with a nasty taste in my mouth by this visit. The price for electric hookup had gone up to £30. That was a £10 increase from last year.

We were showed by a gentlemen to our pitch who showed us firstly to the wrong pitch and secondly to a pitch that was appropriately 40m away from our hookup point that our lead would not reach. We had to ask to be moved to a pitch closer to a hookup point.

As some reviews before have said the showers are simply not big enough. I went for a shower at 7.30 in the morning to find all 4 were in use and there were 6 people queuing to use them. Not good.

When we arrived we were told the site rules regarding noise and that quiet time was from 10pm till 8am. We had music going till midnight and it started before 8am in the morning.

The following morning me and my Wife couldn't wait to get the tent down and get out of there. I don't mind paying for anything but £30 a night for facilities and disturbances like that is very poor. We will never return to this site again 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happy Glampers 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from a 3 night stay at this site. The tent pitches are in a narrow valley at the bottom of a steep track.

Quite a windy site and a good hike from the tent pitches to the toilet block and pot washing up a very steep hill.

Toilets and showers were clean and free hot water in showers, only 4 showers though not a lot for such a big site. The washing up room was small and cramped with only 2 sinks so queue at busy times.

Dog friendly site with large field to exorcise in, play ground for the kids and pool room with 2 tables. The site has a small but friendly bar did't try the food but menu looked fairly priced.

The shop has hardly any stock not even milk on one day, plenty to see and do near by.

Would recommend Mini Monsterz only 10 mins away indoor play barn.

The staff are friendly overall a good site but limited views from the cramped tent pitches. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lany90 4 reviews from this member

 Just got back from York House. I felt the site wasn't quite sure what it wanted to be, as there are a lot of statics a lot of tourers and tents are pushed at the back of the campsite which means you are the furthest away from the only toilet block. This seemed illogical as the statics and tourers would have had there own facilities anyhow.

The showers were ok, but the lack of a shower curtain meant that there was no dry area to get dressed. A man showed us where to pitch our tent and stressed we were only allowed the space between the marked out area, he even came back to make sure we had not gone over our allotted pitch.

Overall it was ok

You can walk to Whiby and Robin Hoods Bay from the site, but its a bit of trek to get on to the disused railway line, lovely walk all the same. I think the owner should do the walks so they can give clear instructions on how to get on to the railway line and how long it would take. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Petergt5 8 reviews from this member

 Booked onto site, got charged mid season rates for what they advertise on their site as low season, £50 for 2 nights we paid it until we seen our pitch!

Uneven and gravel everywhere no grass to sit outside the caravan, it was next to the playpark which seem to be the poorer pitches as the ones in the middle are well kept unlike the ones next to the bushes.

However went and asked for our money back after seeing the pitch which they obliged and gave us it. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Juleshoy 3 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for 4 years from 2006 to 2010 and saw the changes in ownership during that time. When we first went the pitches were spacious and it felt well organised - facilities were basic and there were charges for the showers.

When the new owners took over, while there were some improvements - refurb on toilets and shower block, new play area for the kids, it was not all good. We regularly booked for a specific pitch for out Pennine Folding camper and although would have this request confirmed, would turn up for our holiday and discover that they had put someone else in the pitch that we had booked!

They re-worked the hard standing pitches and where originally there had been 4 pitches they had made 5 -which meant that your neighbours were very very close.

As we tended to visit at busy times - school holidays and never for less than 1 week, there were always problems with the power tripping out - and the poor guy John who had to then go round each unit and ask them to turn things off or down - not allowed to have your halogen heater on more than 1 bar regardless of how wet or cold it was, became ridiculous.

Last year we didn't have one night when the power stayed on during the evening - and on some occasions it tripped 3 or 4 times, the rubbish bins weren't emptied and bags of rubbish just piled up - it wasn't good.

Top that off with an increase in prices meant that this out priced itself in terms of what they were offering and the cost of it. In fact we had booked for our 2010 stay in February using the pricing indicated on the web site and paid our deposit. Then we had confirmation that the price was going to increase because the owner hadn't realised it was half term week and wanted to increase his prices. To be fair on the manager on site, they did sort this and agreed that we could have it for the price we had originally booked for but with the power issue during our stay, we decided enough was enough and needed to spend our half term week in Whitby somewhere else.

I am not sure what it has been like this year and know that they had changed their pricing structure to exclude the electric charge but unless they have fixed their outage issue - it may not be enough.

The location is perfect - but just disappointed with the ownership. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Xwasp58 4 reviews from this member

 Wow. What lovely place the people was so helpful. There is a nice clean and tidy + safe play area for the children

The scenery is beautiful the toilets are spot less as is the shower. The shower is on a very short timer so you have to keep pressing it. A very clean caravan park. The shop could do with a bit more stock.

The bar is small but cosy. But they didnít have any ice or diet coke for sale in the bar. We got a taxi into Whitby town centre £6.00. I think thatís a good price

All in all a very nice place would recommend this camp site 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to York House Hotel And Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3786 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement