Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of York House Hotel And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > York House Hotel And Caravan Park Reviews

York House Hotel And Caravan Park
Back Lane
Hawsker
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4LW
Tel: 01947 880354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 114 Reviews
                8/10 from 114 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keeto 1 review from this member

This was our first camping trip, so I don't have anything to compare it with; however, here goes!

Pros:

Camping area was on flat ground; the toilets and showers were clean. There was a pot washing area and a washing machine and dryer.

There is a small camping shop on site and there is also a pub and hotel, which serves food to take out.

There was also a field for dogs, which was really useful, as we took along our four legged friend camping with us. There is also a kids play area on site. There was also a helpful old guy who showed you to your pitch and told you what you needed to know about the campsite.

This site is good as regards to location for Robin Hood's Bay and Whitby Abbey. Car parking for the Abbey is only a 5-10 minute drive away from this campsite.

Cons:

The pitches for the tents were a walk away from the toilets; this was ok if it was not raining and pitch black at night. You had to leave a deposit of 5 for the shower and toilet key; however, you do get this back at the end of your stay.

The camping shop lacked basic essentials, such as bread, sometimes milk and washing up liquid (however, there is a shop about two miles down the road, called Premier).

The pitches for the tents were on the small side; we had a large family tent (8 man) and a car,but the pitch size meant that we had to park our car at the end of the field that we were on, or, park on someone else's pitch (if they said it was ok) if they had a small tent.

Also, you may have to book first before arriving at this campsite, as a guy came onto the site hoping to pitch up for the night and they said they were fully booked; however, there was loads of spaces that were not filled up for days.

Overall, it was a good first experience of camping; would like to find a campsite with bigger pitches next time. If you have a big tent, a car, gazebo, awning or trailer and want a pitch with electric hook-up, this campsite may not be suitable.

Basically, the campsite is well looked after and you do feel secure, as the barrier is locked at 10pm (this is what we were told). We had a brilliant time.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crazykids 3 reviews from this member

Nice kids playground.
Shop on site opens at 9 a.m, is expensive and very limited, better off going to coop in whitby.
Showers free, however water was cold as problems with heater. Free soap in toilets. Toilets were messy / dirty during our stay, maybe class of clients or just not being cleaned, who knows?
No toilet roll or soap for 2 days in mens toilets.
Meals in bar not nice (cardboard fish and chips).
There is a 10 p.m - 8 a.m policy which was observed by all and we really appreciated it.
Washing facilities were very cramped, and claustrophobic, as you had a washing machine and tumble dryer in there with you as well as a hairdryer? And no window to open.
Pitch size adequate, we had elec hookup.
There is a key system for the facilities, which proved awkward as sometimes we forgot the key and had to go back, and also when one of us went to the loo you could guarantee someone else wanted to go, but 9/10 the ladies door didn't shut properly so you could go straight in.
You are 4 miles from the fantastic town of whitby which has a lot of history a fantastic shopping centre, sea fishing, boat trips (we saw porpoises), and an attachment to Dracula as well as ghost walks, just too much to list!
You are 2.5 miles from robin hoods bay, which is a beautiful village situated on a very steep hill (think clovelly if you've ever been), it's fab for crabbing, does excellent fish and chips, has a great 2nd hand book store, as well as other shops, there are also lots of cottages to rent.
There is a cycle path where you can get to Scarborough, its an old railway line that's been converted, you can also cycle to robin hoods bay and beyond, however do not take your bikes to the bottom of robin hoods bay as you'll have to push them up as we did (not good!), there is a cycle hire shop on the way to whitby with direct access to the cycle path. The cycle path is up and down, we took our 2 eight year olds to robin hoods bay and they both struggled on the way back, on the way there its a steady slope down, which means its all up on the way back.
All in all we really enjoyed the area, and would definitely return to whitby, however I don't think we'll go back to york house.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Petergt5 8 reviews from this member

Booked this site as the other main ones we use were fully booked.

Upon arrival you check in and get a park map and pay 5 deposit for shower / toilet block key.

Got shown to our pitch which was very uneven and sloping back over however I have a old caravan and don't really care much for it and just even it up the best I can but could see the pitch (no19) being a problem for newer vans.

Now here's a few little niggly points,

The park/play area could do with a few more things in and there is nothing for say under 3s as its all climbing, even to get to the slide though there is 1 toddlers swing.
Secondly the toilet blocks, the actual toilet cubicle is the smallest I have ever been in and the paper is in a holder behind you, it's most inconvenient, I think the toilets are self clean as there are a few mop and buckets left in there so every time I used the shower / toilet I give it a quick mop down.

Now here is the good points,

Staff are very very friendly and make you feel very welcome, everyone talks to you. The kronenberg 1664 lager on sale in the pub is very nice pint, they allow children into the pub which is really small but very homely and they even got some of there own kids to give my young one toys and sweets which was a great touch

The location is just 5mins drive into whitby with buses that stop just outside on the mainroad. The site has a strict no noise rule at night which was great and I never heard a peep all night so if your looking for a quiet place this will most certainly appeal,

If you have got kids under 10ish then just half hours drive away ( on the A64 york / scarbourgh road) is little hoppers a big indoor play area which only cost 4 for unlimited play they serve really nice meals there so well worth a visit.

The negatives I have pointed out on the site are very minor so don't let it put you off visiting this site. I definitely will be visiting again and I will go as far as saying as this will be the 1st place when I am visiting whitby that I will phone for spaces.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MandiNKel 7 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights.

The location of the campsite is ideal.

The campsite is tiered, we were on the bottom tier which has portaloos at the end, which could do with being kept a bit cleaner. The main toilet and shower block is rather small considering the size of the site, and in the morning rush you can be queueing quite a while.

The first day there it rained which brought out the midges and there were loads of them.

The pitch size is rather small compared to the other sites we have been to.

The local pub serves lovely food and is warm and friendly.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Woodys37 2 reviews from this member

Nice enough site in a pleasant area.

Pitch was the the smallest we have ever experienced (and we had booked and paid extra for a large pitch!) We could hear neighbours both sites breathing and we had to park our car elsewhere.

Showers ok, but could do with more sinks and/or washing cubicles.

Nice to have a bar on site and the children liked the play area, but the pitch size would stop us from returning.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Flush 6 reviews from this member

Spent 3 nights over the August Bank Holiday weekend here.

A neat and tidy site which seems to be well maintained. Has a pub on site which does food and accepts children till 11pm. Wonderful base for exploring the surrounding area. Excellent playground for the kids and a spacious dog field. The things that put us off though.

On arriving at the site, we were shown to out pitch and then proceeded to be told about all the site rules and regulation, and the consequences of breaking them. We were told to pitch as close as possible to the next tents and indeed asked to turn our car around so it did not take up pitching space. This was due to the site being fully booked, however, our terrace never filled up during the whole weekend. Our tent, and that of our neighbours was stuffed up in a tiny area and a resultant huge space next to us all unoccupied.

Our pitch was in the bottom terrace, which whilst nice and sheltered offered no views whatsoever.

Facilities were reasonably clean, however the hot water ran out every time I and my family needed a shower. The washing up facilities are simply not adequate for a site this size. 2 sinks and 1 drainer is not good enough, compounded by the fact that the hot water was the slowest running I have ever seen.

By Monday morning the bins were overflowing, not something I want to see on a camp site. If you know you are going to be full it stands to reason that you arrange for extra bins to be hired for the weekend.

The facilities block is in the middle of the static caravans and Touring Van pitches, but a good distance from the tents. Surely this is the wrong way around ?

Overall, I think for us the bad points outweighed the good points and would probably not return.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BikeBabe 1 review from this member

Just spent 10 nights at this site with my better half and a small dog.

Location wise it was excellent for exploring the Whitby coastline on foot or bicycle, being a short walk to High Hawsker village where the bus service is excellent to Whitby, or to the cycle track which forms National Cycle Network route 1 with nearby cycle hire centre.

We never tried the on-site Hotel for a drink or food as the menu did not appeal to us, rather we found the Hare & Hounds pub in High Hawsker excellent, serving very good food, a selection of real ales and dog friendly. We were most impressed with Whitby generally for it's dog friendliness and since coming home have discovered that this website www.Doggiepubs.Org.Uk lists the dog friendly places that we also discovered locally.

Site itself is clean and tidy, staff in Reception friendly who gave us a map of the site. Stock in shop rather limited, would like to have seen an emphasis on locally sourced products.

As seems often the case, the tent pitches are located the furthest distance away from the site facilities, with static caravans etc with their own facilities positioned the closest! Areas for tents are landscaped so that pitches are level. I was gutted to discover the first morning that there were no hair dryers in the ladies toilet block and it's such a basic piece of equipment, that I didn't think to check before booking.

The pot washing facilities were located in a separate room which got very hot and cramped if another person came in to do do their dishes too. This was also where a hairdryer/shaving point was provided but there would be very little room to dry your hair or shave here, no mirror and you had to buy a token from reception to use the hairdryer! Not sure what the hygeine Police would say about drying hair where food utensils are being washed up! I resorted to squatting under the warm air handryer in the ladies loo's to dry my hair each morning. Considering we paid 100+ to stay as long as we did, we found the facilities rather 'mean.'

On the plus side the showers were free, very clean and no restrictions on the hot water apart from the mild annoyance of having to keep pressing the button to keep the water flowing.

Dog walking field was brilliant with wonderful views towards Whitby. Number of dog poo bins did not correspond with the site plan.

Re-cycling facilities limited to glass bottles.

Overall a nice site. Location compensates for the facilities

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Simon 78 3 reviews from this member

This was our 1st visit to York House but it won't be our last. The site is well situated just of the main road and is about 5 miles from Whitby town and 3 miles from Robin Hoods Bay. The views going into Robin Hoods Bay are stunning.

The site toilet block is very clean and tidy. It also has a pot room with laundry. We had a pitch with electric hook up, which was well shielded by hedges and trees. There is a playground for the kids and a special field for dogs to be walked in. They also have special brick structures for you to use disposable BBQ on.

We like the site so much that we are planning to return for our wedding anniversary.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gillian haigh 1 review from this member

Great site with friendly staff. Childrens play area and dog walking area. All very well kept including the shower and toilet block, there are also plenty of showers, toilets and basins. The site also had gates to stop intruders getting in in the night which were locked (peace of mind)

The hotel/pub serves good food and a lovely beer garden.

Only downfall is no power points in shower block for hairdryer.

Will be returning to this site very soon.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stemet 10 reviews from this member

Very convenient site for Whitby and surrounding area. Staff friendly and helpful. A large camp field with EHU available. Some pitches on caravan field have quite severe slopes, difficult to pitch level if the slope is across the 'van, and no chance pitching porch awnings. Much easier when the slope is along the 'van.

Dogs are most welcome, with a huge secure exercise field. There is also another play/sport field for children. Toilet and shower block with pot wash is modern and generally clean, for which you need a key, deposit 5, but didn't seem to get the attention during the week when less people on site than at the weekend when full. Shop on site sells most essentials and gas prices are the cheapest I've paid for a long time.

Walking from the site is easy, with an old rail track into Whitby (2.5m) and down to Robin Hoods Bay (3m). Very convenient pub on site, with another across the road in the village, both with good food. All in all, a very comfortable friendly site, (if you can get level) and helpful staff. Have booked again for later in the year.

Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Where is the nearest shop to York House Hotel And Caravan Park?   There is a shop on site    View all facilities

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park dog friendly?   YES    View all facilities


Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3279 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020