Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York House Hotel And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Whitby > York House Hotel And Caravan Park > Reviews

York House Hotel And Caravan Park
Back Lane
Hawsker
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4LW
Tel: 01947 880354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 131 Reviews
                8/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tdawn 6 reviews from this member

 Visited for many years and what a change this yr. The old manager has left and the new one is very abrupt obnoxious and downright rude.

Toilets constantly dirty the bowls look like they could do with a scrub or some bleach down the men's. The urinals are constantly flooded and heard the men are wading through wee to use the toilets absolutely disgusting.

There is a lot of work still going on like last year so the site is noisy.

We won't be back, this place has gone downhill fast which is a shame this used to be a lovely site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Spark18a 7 reviews from this member

 A well situated site near to an excellent pub and an hours walk to Whitby. We had tp pay upfront on the same day, not the usual arrangement in my experience (well not in Feb).

The toilet shower block is very clean but the showers are on a timed tap (push and water flows) I tried 3 of the showers and the best I could find was 4 seconds - yep 4 whole seconds between pushes (unbelievable) the wash basins were only 2 seconds. ! One other point the really indicates the owners have never bothered to try out the facilities is the loo roll holders in the WCs, they are mounted on the rear wall, now I don't know of anyone who has hands in the back on the neck?! The facilities were not too busy (in Feb) but as there are only 3 WCs I would not visit in peak periods. The bins were overflowing on our visit and rubbish was blown out due to the high winds on such an exposed site.

I would call again if they made some improvements. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Woodcroft 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, we enjoyed our stay.

Close to Whitby and within travelling distance of major seaside towns.

Brilliant dog exercise field, in fact one of the best we have found.

Owners are extremely helpful, they even sited our tourer for us which was great after our five hour drive.

If I had any negatives it would be their signage. A sign tells you breakfast is cooked from 9:30 every day, what it doesn't say is that you have to order and pay for your breakfast the night before you want it.

Their web site says check out is by 11am but, their signs tell you it is 12pm.

Electricity is by card and cost us 6 for a four night stay. Awnings are paid for on arrival and are 4 per night.

They advertise a shop however it is very poorly stocked, some basic foods aren't stocked at all.

Having said that, we would return without doubt. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ketrip 6 reviews from this member

 Just back from this lovely site, first visit in ten years but just as I remember it. Well maintained pitches, and friendly welcome from owners. Currently undergoing building works and upgrades so no cafe or bar on site, however hare and hounds pub five minutes walk away in village. Bus stop to and from whitby and Scarborough outside pub. Thankyou to the site owners for making us welcome, and helping out with walking routes, had a great time. 


Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caz ogden 1 review from this member

 Had a lovely couple of nights stay here. We were warmly welcomed at reception. Who explained everything thoroughly. And was extremely helpful to us. Would highly recommend this place it was lovely clean and peaceful. Close to whitby and other areas. First time stay and looking forward to more thankyou for looking after us. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daveukleics 24 reviews from this member

 First time here and the last. Site is probably 95% seasonal so only a few pitches available.

Our pitch was the worse we have had. Site needs serious drainage work carrying out. Did not put our awning up it was that wet.

The site is near the top of a hill so no protection in the wind. Showers took ages to get to a bearable temperature.

Poorly lit at night so take a torch.

Electric was on a card and because we did not know at what sort of rate it was used we ended up wasting over 3 of a 5 card. As soon as you go the meter is zeroed.

It would be nice to pass the credit onto the next person on the pitch, after all it is paid for.

I expected a bit more after reading previous reviews. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tdawn 6 reviews from this member

 Well yet again a warm welcome from Steve and co couldn't have been any more helpful, facility's cleaned everyday and also heated and if you ask nothing is too much trouble to helping you get the van into the space or anything you need. The shop sells basics if you need it and the staff are all really friendly. It's ideally situated as there is a hotel on site were you can use the bar and also order breakfast which is well worth the money. Over the road is a pub in the village which also serves meals and if you don't want to use the car a regular bus service to Whitby Robin Hood's bay and Scarborough and also you can walk into Whitby or Robin Hoods Bay by the cinder path so won't be long before we are back 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Spyder27 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in our motorhome with some friends who had caravans and all agreed its not a bad site, clean, tidy and well laid out. Just off the main road into Whitby although you wouldn't know it as it is so quiet. Standings aren't perfectly level but not far off and soon corrected with our levellers. You buy credit for the hook ups which was fine with us.

Perfect location just off the Cinder Track in to Whitby, 3 and 1/2 miles away, just under an hours gentle walk through some fantastic woodlands and over Whitby Viaduct or you could easily cycle it in 20-25 minutes. Takes you right into the centre of Whitby. Beware it is a gradual up hill path so takes a bit more effort coming back. We will definitely be back with the Grandkids as it is a lovely safe ride for them.

The Hare and Hound across the road does fantastic food but gets booked up very quickly, luckily we managed to squeeze in and had a bar meal, fantastic food, highly recommended.

Show and toilet block very clean but kept getting a whiff of smelly water. One of our friends did report that the Ladys showers were not draining well so it might be related. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: SUMMEROF63 10 reviews from this member

 Camping trip with my two boys over the bank holiday weekend, ticks all the boxes for me, showers and toilet facilities nice and clean, chap on site who shows you around very friendly and helpful, only a short bus ride from whitby, just catch the bus in Hawsker village, next to the pub, Whitby was packed over the bank holiday so i`m glad I decided not to try and park in Whitby itself as its almost impossible to find a space, York house hotel did some basic pub grub if your stuck, and a descent size Sainsburys just down the road. 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 608 reviews from this member

 The site makes a good base for visiting the coast and the moors.

Excellent walks in the area and lovely villages worth visiting.

Facilities are dated and the site a little untidy.

Fees in low season are very good but EHU runs on a token meter.

Friendly site wardens. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to York House Hotel And Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3763 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement