Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of York House Hotel And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > York House Hotel And Caravan Park Reviews

York House Hotel And Caravan Park
Back Lane
Hawsker
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4LW
Tel: 01947 880354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 114 Reviews
                8/10 from 114 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nugga 1 review from this member

We stayed here August bank holiday and it's been one of the best places we've stayed, it has its own pub which is linked to the hotel and they are very welcoming, there's an outside bit with a heater, if you take a dog there is a huge field for dogs only, there's a little shop on site, a games room, toilets close by never have to go far, the electric is super cheap, 5 mins away is a lovely little country pub everyone was lovely and welcoming, it's ideal place for Whitby and robin hoods bay, there is a bus opposite the pub to both of these, there is a children's play area with a field attched for those that want to play footy, would definitely recommend, can't fault it at all great place all round.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulinekezza 5 reviews from this member

Just got back from a fortnight stay. Steve showed us a choice of pitches and explained how to use the barrier, about the amenities and the rules of the site. Both he and his wife were extremely helpful throughout our stay. There are sheltered pitches both with and without hook up but due to access, there is the necessity to have a tent size limit for each of these pitches. The top field (no hook ups) where we opted to stay has no size limit and is fairly flat. The whole site is clean and tidy. Steve drives round several times a day to ensure the site stays that way. He also enforces the rules (when he says no fires etc, he means it!). There is a central toilet block with loads of hot water to the basins, showers and pot wash. In the laundry there are two deep pot wash sinks, a washer and a dryer and hairdryer and shaver point. There are also two portaloos on the top field and two on the bottom. There is a well kept play area and a games room which my daughter of 12 loved. There is a separate very large field for walking the doggies. The shop had milk etc and the hotel does breakfasts and meals although we did not eat there. The bar area has a dog friendly markee.

We well definitely be returning to this site in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leist32 1 review from this member

Our 2nd camping weekend away. Clean site with clean toilets and shower room. Hot water in showers (never used the laundry/washing up room). Received 2 on electric meter for 2 nights, only used about 50p so more than enough. Ideal area for Whitby and Scarborough as just off the main road. Only negative of the weekend was we didn't have anything for tea as we expected the Hotel to serve food, as it had posters advertising weekend offers and after paying 6 for 5 cans of coke in the bar we were then informed that they had decided she didn't want to cook that night', so we had to drive into Whitby to find a Pizza shop. We will come back but after talking to a regular camper about the food problem, we were told to use the other local pubs as they served better food anyway.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dave 418 34 reviews from this member

Just had a weekend at York House and I agree with most peoples comments about the site. Sadly my first look at York House as we pulled up to reception was off putting. I thought the hotel was closed, the car park was a mass of weeds and a static caravan looked like it had been dumped alongside the hotel. The dining area is at the back with a shabby looking marquee with rather tatty looking tables and chairs we assumed for dog owners to sit.

Reception appeared a little short of stock but were helpful with a smooth simple booking in. Another let down was the notice board for local information. You couldn't read the information because it was so faded.

Behind reception is what looks like the remains of a farm with rusty old sheds, barns and the games room.

We were escorted to our pitch area and given a choice of pitches. The pitch was reasonably level if a bit of a stretch to the hook up point. The toilets and showers were clean and usable. Sadly the building looked a bit run down.

We didn't eat at York House. On the way back from our walk we called in at the Hare and Hounds in the village. Dogs welcome in the side bar, a nice pint or two and a nice meal.

A late check out at twelve was a bonus as we had nothing to dash off for. We have now done the walks in this area as we planned so would we go back? I don't think so. First impressions count.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nigela2 4 reviews from this member

Just visited this site and wot a lovely peaceful site, no traffic noise and on a morning the birds singin is great. The camping pitches are very shelterd by trees and bushes. The playground is ok for the older children but only swings for the younger ones. The toilets were always clean and warm the showers were nice and warm too. The pot wash is very cramped has two sinks and one draining board which doesn't make sense to me. Weren't very happy with how the pitches were set out if you have a large tent there is not not a lot of room next doors guy ropes were nearly in our porch. The play room was fine with air hockey pool and table tennis. Went to the pub on site but wasn't busy so went to the hare and hounds great pub very popular with food but didn't eat there they welcome families. Would definitely go back agian to this site but would want more room on the pitch. The chap that showed us to our pitch was very friendly

The electric hook up was about 20 mtrs from our tent and we only have a 15mtr cable so the kind next door neighbours lent us a extension leed

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ShaunNR 3 reviews from this member

Undeterred by some of the negative comments we booked 3 nights at York House Hotel & Caravan Park for the bargain sum of 30. And I'm very glad we did!

We were met with a warm welcome and shown to our pitch. Access to the site is through a barrier with a keypad. The whole site looked very clean and well maintained.

The pitches are relatively level and the grass is in good condition; Well drained and trimmed.

As far as I could see there is one main toilet block comprising separate Male and Female toilet/shower facilities and a washing up/ Laundry room. All of which are accessed with the use of a keypad. The toilets were kept very clean as were the showers which were also lovely and warm. The toilet/shower block was also kept lovely and warm. Good news when nature calls at 2am!

There is a small play area and a large field for the kids to play in. Our son loved this area and would have quite happily spent the whole holiday playing on here.

I have only 1 slight criticism and that is regarding the light on top of the EHU boxes. The EHU box was situated in the middle (at the back) of our pitch and when dark the light on the box came on. Unfortunately this meant that our tent was illuminated which made sleeping a bit more difficult. However it did make the perfect night light for our son. I could see no way to turn it off.

Whitby is a short 10 minute car journey away and Scarborough only 30 minutes. There is a Sainsburys approximately 4 minutes away.

When we return to Whitby we will definitely be staying here!

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Livelylass 14 reviews from this member

Very friendly welcome.

Perfectly placed to explore Whitby and Robin Hood Bay.

Easy access off A171

About 5 min walk to bus stop which is almost opposite The Hare & Hounds pub and restaurant. On bus route x93 between Whitby and Scarborough. (Fare was 7 return to Scarborough)

Walk to Robin Hood bay via coastal path (Cleveland way) 1hr; Cinder track - National cycle network route 1 (old railway line) 40mins.

Walk to Whitby via inland villages and back via coastal path (5hrs)

Electric meter cards 1 each are purchased at reception. These are non-refundable so use before you leave / keep for next trip or generously leave for next arrival.

2 washer; 1. 20 dryer; tokens for hair dryer.

4 Hot showers and clean toilet facilities. Perfectly adequate when I stayed but could see these may get busy when the site is full

Large play area for children and field for ball games.

Easily recommended minimal frills site.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Little Mester 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from our first weeks caravan holiday in our own van. Weather great site very good, staff brilliant nothing too much trouble. Toilet facilities good, decent play area for the kids the site was in good condition but work needed to be done to the roads after work had been done on laying drains (a bit bumpy). Location is excellent walked to Robin Hoods Bay and Whitby very large field for exercising the dog. The Hare and Hounds served excellent real ale and allowed well behaved dogs in the bar. Didn't have a meal but it was reported to be very good. Will definitely be returning next year.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Monty the bongo 49 reviews from this member

Don't let the first impression of the touring field put you off. There are lots of tatty looking long term caravans pitched around the outside of the field, but look past this and you will see a well maintained, clean and tidy site. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The cinder path footpath is a nice walk to Whitby and Robin Hood bay, both 3 miles from the site. The only thing that surprised me, when I booked the pitch I paid for a hard standing with electric, when I arrived I was informed a you pay for the electric as you used it. Despite this would happily return.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vixen55 2 reviews from this member

UGH! This place is really unkempt, dirty and untidy. There are lots of static caravans on site which are well maintained and tidy. The touring part is in some dire need of TLC. There are quite a few Permanent caravans on site - some of which were very old and untidy many of them had gardens and plant pots full of dead plants around them. The pitches are not spaced out very well and the grass and weeds are taking over the hard standings on all pitches. The hedges are not trimmed and are very overgrown. It all looks very unkempt. The toilets and showers were OK but the showers were lukewarm the sink taps wouldn't stay on (push button type) and the hand dryers didn't work in the gents or the ladies. The lady who booked me in was more interested in going outside for a cigarette than in me. Electricity is not included in the price, you must buy prepaid cards to top up the hook up. There were no views at all- you were looking in next doors windows as everyone was so close together. We did not go into the on site bar so cannot comment on that. We walked over the road to the Hare & Hounds - Lovely meal and reasonably priced. The only redeeming feature of the site was its location, but we will definitely not be returning.

Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Where is the nearest shop to York House Hotel And Caravan Park?   There is a shop on site    View all facilities

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park dog friendly?   YES    View all facilities


Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3226 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020