Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Duke William

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > The Duke William > Reviews

The Duke William
91 Church Street
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 3BZ
Tel: 01629 583111
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 135 Reviews
                9/10 from 135 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: JamesPL 11 reviews from this member

 Stayed a couple of nights over the Bank Holiday, when it rained rather heavily on the Sunday night. Had a lovely Sunday roast at the pub carvery which was excellent value for money, a little disappointed with the meal the previous evening.

Hard standing pitch (the car park) for caravans and campers, choice of EHC, lovely helpful people, great surroundings, bit of a dilapidated kids playfround.

Should also be said these people welcome your dogs warmly. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mark Dunn 14 reviews from this member

 A first class site a stone's throw from the Derwent. Even better, it's behind a very decent pub.

This is a campsite, not a resort, so don't expect more than good facilities, though you do have to wash up in the washbasin.

Ditto Maazi- as good as anything in East London.

It's a pleasant walk of a mile or two down the Derwent Valley to Matlock Bath and Cromford Mill. We'll be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saliboti 25 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Duke William. Upon arrival we were greeted in the pub by a chirpy chap who showed us around the facilities and told us all about the exciting entertainment that was taking place in the pub over the weekend.

The campsite itself was situated at the rear of the pub. There were a mixture of tents and camper vans, and the site was quite full. We picked a relatively flat area of ground to pitch our tent, but we did notice that the ground was slightly sloping further along the field.

There were separate male and female toilets with a wash basin in each and a couple of comfortable chairs in the ladies just in case you felt that you needed a sit down whilst getting ready! There was only 1 shower which was old looking but worked fine. Due to the busyness of the campsite, more facilities would have been useful because there was a bit of standing around waiting for the facilities to be free.

The location of the campsite is good if you want to access shops and restaurants in Matlock. We highly recommend Maazi for a good curry.

On the first night there was a karaoke competition taking place in the pub, so it was quite noisy until about 11pm. Unfortunately the noise in the campsite didn't stop because we were next to some very loud campers who continued to shout and run about right into the early hours of the morning. This is possibly because of the site's pub location and it was clear that they must have had a few drinks. The pub entertainment on the second night consisted of an old chap singing and playing a banjo. This was relatively quiet though and finished quite early. The campsite was a lot quieter on this night apart from the distant noise of cars in the town and a few dogs on the campsite barking. If you are looking for a peaceful tranquil camping trip this is probably not the best place, however if you need somewhere to camp for a night that is close to Matlock then this is an ok option. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sox500c 12 reviews from this member

 Excellent basic site. The Duke William allowed us to host our spring motorbike rally here and we had an excellent weekend. A relatively small field on a slight slope. The site was quite full and most of the campers were very friendly. It's just a shame that one or two insisted on partying until the early hours with loud thumping music, leaving their rubbish, food and empty beer cans strewn about til late the next morning. I'm sure this isn't the norm as when I camped here a couple of years ago it was fine. Facilities are basic but relatively clean, one male and one female toilet plus a shower room with a toilet, all open 24 hours. Pub toilets also available during opening hours. One water tap, no electric hookup. A small children's play area but most of the kids played in the centre of the camping field. The pub does excellent home cooked food and there is usually live entertainment on a Saturday night. They serve a good selection of ciders, ales and lagers, as well as mild! The surrounding area is excellent for walkers, sightseers and bikers, it is a short walk to Matlock centre, take the steep lane next to the church for a shortcut. Plenty of places in Matlock for food & drink. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Slaphead 2 reviews from this member

 We had a nice weekend here. Pub friendly and nice food. There was a honda 90 + biker club on the site for a club meet who were nice and sociable. The pub has basic shower and toilet which was heated and more than adequate. Nice walk to the 'bath'. Friendly locals.

Don't turn into the pub left off the road. Go up the hill and turn round otherwise you'll ground out like I did! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Basilbear 3 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site on 3 occasions(4 nights, 3 nights & 3 nights), once in a tent & once in a campervan.

The site is a large field attached to a pub, with no set pitches, so you just choose your spot & set up. No electric hook up. There is ladies & gents loos & one separate shower also with a loo, which was clean.

There's also a small playground suitable for very young children. The pub serves lovely bar meals & there is entertainment at weekends. It did get very noisy later at night on a couple of occasions as people leave the pub after a few drinks, but on the whole it wasn't too bad and we were there at the busiest times.

The church clock chimes every 15 minutes through the night, which can become a bit annoying, but you do start to get used to it! For what we paid it was great value for money, and it is a lovely spot on the outskirts of Matlock with some nice views of the hills & countryside. Matlock is about 10 mins walk and Matlock Bath about 20 mins walk away.

Overall, a great budget site in a lovely location, where we will no doubt visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MR+KR 10 reviews from this member

 We camped on a Saturday night. What a great place! Basic facilities, but proper camping in a terrific location. Right behind the pub (and a very good one). What more do you want!?

I have long and very good memories of Matlock and Matlock Bath, having spent most Sundays there with motorbike and like-minded mates. Matlock Bath is a northern Mecca to the biking fraternity, since the 1950's I believe (Sherburn-In-Elmet, and Devils Bridge being two others). All are welcome though, and I don't remember any incidents of attacking old ladies (or other boring and untrue stereotypes).

The campsite is in a fantastic location, with a quick and easy stroll down to the park and Matlock. Take the connecting alleyway; its much quicker. Some good pubs in Matlock, including a Wetherspoons, and a fantastic location for scenery. Matlock Bath is a 20 minute walk away.

Mel and his crew run a very good 'ship' in the Duke William, which has decent ale and I believe does very good food. Child friendly too, to the well behaved. We had a good chat with Mel and co. On Saturday night, and found him to be a great bloke. A Nottingham Forest fan of many years, he met the Great Man Mr Clough, and has the photos to prove it. Now just why did that bloke never become England manager?

Hugely and highly recommended. Loads nearby. Very scenic. 5 pppn is about right and VFM. Returning will be when, not if. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Publord 4 reviews from this member

 This is what I call a proper campsite. No electric hook-ups, 1 tap at rear of pub to fetch water from & no playground on site for the kids, pitch where you like. The OH & myself took the two girls (4 & 2) for a two night stay, Fri & Sat nights. Had a brilliant time.

The site was quite empty when we arrived Fri noon but quickly filled as the day progressed. The kids from all families played in the middle of the field, everyone was warm & friendly. The pub is nice though we didn't eat there.

We spent most of Fri in Matlock (5 min walk) & Sat in Matlock Bath (20 min walk), train rus from Matlock to Bath every hour & costs 70p EW. Next time we go we plan to spend more time on site as the kids made some proper friends.

Adults 5, Kids 2 per night. Take some good pegs & a hammer as the ground is quite stony about 2' down.

A notice on the site entrance asks you not to pitch till you've booked in but if you arrive before pub opens you can call them then pitch straight away.

Matlock & Matlock Bath are beautiful places (seaside without sea). Expect to pay around 3. 20 per pint & chips aren't cheap either. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Moodoo 2 reviews from this member

 First time camper's

We were greated by mel a very friendly person he made us very welcome we put our tent up there was a group already there with children I must say the children was very good, we went for a steak meal the meal was great could not fault it& the choice of puddings yummy, we had a carvery on the sunday that was yummy hot could not fault it a choice of 4 meats fresh veg, friday night& sat night was great& friendly, the only thing I forgot to take was my flipflops for the shower room with the weather the way it's been the floor was a bit muddy but hey I got the mop gave it a clean and all was well, the only thing I'd have a moan about is the slip matt I'd say get a dozen from shop and give them a change more. Other then that a great propper camping site by propper I mean no eletric which makes it propper camping to me. Yes we are deffo going again. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wibs 1 review from this member

 Stayed in a tent on the campsite here for one night. Overall had a great night with only a few minor niggles.

The People: Just fabulous! Could not have been more warmly welcomed and looked after; Mel and the staff were fantastic, and the locals were just as chatty and friendly. Turned up on the night of the outdoor skittles league match - was great to watch.

The Food: Good hearty stuff, what I'd call 'proper pub grub'. Not the high end quality stuff you find today in todays gastro pubs, but that's not what it is. It's a local pub that serves unpretentious, not-too-bothered-about-presentation decent platefuls of decent grub.

The Pub: Like I said, a proper locals pub but without any of the clique-ness that can sometimes bring. Decor slightly dated, but good selection of ales, good sized dining area, separate TV / darts lounge and cracking service.

The Campsite: Flattish field behind the pub, just 4 other tents and one caravan when I stayed. Decent views across the valley and the church. Facilities ok - juts 2 toilets and one shower, but it's not a huge site so doesn't need huge toilet/shower block. Shower had plenty of hot water and was just about on the right side of ok from a cleanliness perspective. Only niggles were the church bells that pealed throughout the night - got used to it pretty quick though.

Not 5* caravan club type quality camping and facilities, but you're not going to get the Ritz for 5. Overall, I'd say 2/3* facilities with a 5* pub and welcome from the people. I had a great time and would definitely go back and stay there again. 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Duke William child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Duke William?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Duke William dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58772 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement