Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Duke William

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > The Duke William > Reviews

The Duke William
91 Church Street
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 3BZ
Tel: 01629 583111
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 135 Reviews
                9/10 from 135 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Family 1 review from this member

 A small and well-located site for visiting the Peak District.

Clean facilities, one excellent shower, one not so good (hot water temperamental).

Pitches and hook-up good, lovely friendly staff.

Food typical pub grub, very dog friendly. Watch out for the sharp turn into the site on an uphill bend, they recommend large vehicles do not enter uphill. 


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nickb7 1 review from this member

 First class pub site with EHU. We had a grass pitch although hard standing was also available.

Team at the Duke William were friendly and helpful throughout our stay and we’d highly recommend the site which is really well situated for the town and beyond.

Sunday Carvery was brilliant. We were pre-warned of the church bells from other reviews and these added to the charm!

If you’re a light sleeper take earplugs but don’t let it put you off this find of a site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Julie6 1 review from this member

 A warm welcome,

Ample space for the number of campers,

Clean facilities,

Reasonably priced and the added advantage of an on site pub with good food and entertainment. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Salado 1 review from this member

 Fab little camp site in a great location for Matlock, Matlock Bath, Heights of Abraham and Gulliver's Kingdom.

Bar and restaurant on site, with great food (enormous portions, so go empty bellied).

Camp site is peaceful, and the toilet block/showers perfectly adequate for your needs.

Would definitely stay again!

Costs £10 pp/pn.

Shop for supplies about 10 minutes walk. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Liberty15 11 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant site well situated for local amenities, relatively level site,

The church next to the site rang out every quarter hour 24 hours a day but very nice.

The only drawback was the site facilities were a little lacking.

Altogether a nice little hideaway. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Stepha 1 review from this member

 Hidden Gem! Arrived on site about 2pm pub was closed but contact was excellent, they opened up so we could have a refreshing pint before we prepared ourselves for putting up the tent (or before me and my husband argued over the tent)

Pub had a beautiful terrace area, and the showering facilities where perfect and clean. Nice added touch of a baby changing in one of them.

Unfortunately we had to cut our stay short as we had a poorly 2 year old but the owner was fantastic and offered us our money back for the night we weren't staying which was a lovely gesture and definitely wasn't expected.

100% be back!

Only one point would be if there was a little pot washing area with sink for us tenters. But obviously not needed if your in a camper. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Suzanner 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite set at the back of the pub. We had electric hook up and there was plenty of space between pitches.

Very quiet apart from Sunday when the church bells were ringing.

Only two showers in area to back of the pub. Water pressure not so good but enough space in cubical. These are free.

Had quite an issue when eating in the pub Saturday night. A very dog friendly pub yet we were told that we would not be able to sit where we were next time as we should have been in the other part of the pub. They sat us there in the first place knowing I had a dog so not our fault. A lot of things on the menu were not available but we weren't told until we'd ordered. My steak was cold and had to go back. So wouldn't rate the food or the pub service. 


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Limbo 1 review from this member

 We were given a very warm and friendly welcome on our arrival and due to the impending heatwave we were offered a shady spot at the top end of the car park which was very welcoming on the hottest day of the year.

The field has plenty of room and plenty of EHU. You might need chocks if in a van. There are 2 shower rooms with toilets open 24 hours and they are cleaned regularly.

The pub is within easy walking distance (albeit hilly) into the centre of Matlock and there is a great walk over High Tor (opposite the pub) which took us to the Heights of Abraham.

We also ate in the pub and the food portions are very generous and a very wide menu. There is also free wi-fi in the pub but it didn't quite reach the camping field.

Yes, the Church bells opposite do ring on the quarter/half and hour but we got used to it very quickly.

This was a great and friendly pub stop and we will use this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Rayche 1 review from this member

 Absolutely brilliant! We will be making it a regular weekend.

Landlord and lady were really friendly.

Short walk into Matlock and you can grab a well deserved pint upon getting back to the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jaquia 3 reviews from this member

 An amazing place to stay, I have never been more welcomed in any place I have ever stayed.

Phil & Jan and staff brilliant hosts.

To top it off the food was good as well.

Can't wait to return again 10/10 please keep up the good work. 
via mobile


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Duke William child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Duke William?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Duke William dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58526 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement