Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Duke William

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > The Duke William > Reviews

The Duke William
91 Church Street
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 3BZ
Tel: 01629 583111
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 135 Reviews
                9/10 from 135 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paulin 1 review from this member

 Good site very convenient for matlock.

We were able to walk everywhere we needed to go.

Had a drink in pub good did not have time to have a meal this time 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jujohns 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic location so close to Matlock, stunning view of Riber castle, and lovely welcoming people.

The site has EHU and both grass and hard standing, two showers and 3 loos which could do with upgrading, also it is a shame there’s no designated waste, you use the disabled toilet, but to be fair! I think they are still developing the site.

The pub is really nice, great beer and lovely food, with plenty of choice on the menu, the whole team were very friendly and couldn’t do enough for us.

There was live music on Sat night and a great party atmosphere. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Debzr8 1 review from this member

 Absolutely lovely and friendly couple who run the Duke William 😁

Food cooked to order and plenty of it, nothing microwaved.

Showers and toilets adequate, if others left them as they wish to find them then they would be a lot better, so we couldn't judge them and blame the hosts for the state they were sometimes found 😔

Lovely beer garden and live music on Saturday night.

I've read other reviews and some complain about the church bells. We found them to be quaint and soon stopped noticing them.

15 min walk into town, through the town park.

We had a fabulous 2 night stay and would definitely go back.

Thank you Duke William for your friendly welcoming site and pub 😁 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: RosAE 1 review from this member

 Helpful site owners, hot shower (free), clean well stocked toilets. Pitch had a bit of a slope but nothing too bad.

Site was very quiet, didn't hear the act they had on in the pub. Sunday dinner is a must here, one of the best carverys I've ever had.

Some people mention church bells but to be honest after a short time you don't really notice them.

Short walk to Matlock and about 25 min walk to Matlock bath.

Really good value for money, will be going back again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Nomadi 1 review from this member

 Nice pitch, has electric hook-up, good shower facilities and excellent pub.

Pub Quiz on Thursday evening was fab, and the landlords were very accommodating.

Short walk into Matlock centre, great park and cafe which serves breakfast.

Would come again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karens 1 review from this member

 Wonderful campsite, lovely hosts and gorgeous food,

We stayed for two nights,

The owner was there when we arrived and guided us onto our pitch, he was very welcoming, and everyone was lovely,

Lovely walk down to Matlock Baths,

The only downside was the church bells overnight 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Janeki 2 reviews from this member

 Smashing place, really friendly.

Nice pint and recommend the Sunday carvery.

Shower facilities are good.

Price is good,

Ideal location for shops etc.

Lovely beer garden

Very well kept site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sueho8 1 review from this member

 Fantastic facilities at the back of the pub and friendly staff.

Peaceful setting, as a city dweller loved the church chiming although not to everyones taste.

We would definitely go again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ginner38 1 review from this member

 When we arrived we were asked by the landlord if we wanted a grass pitch or hardstanding, which by the way is the top of the carpark, my wife decided grass so he left us to it, drove on the grass and got stuck straight away.

Landlord had to pull us out so them we opted for the hardstanding we got set up and went and had a few drinks in the pub pint of Guinness and half of lager £7.10. we also had sunday carvery which was very nice

There are toilets and shower 24/7, could do with updating

The only problem we had was the nearby church bells ringing every 15 minutes day and all through the night

Would we stay again probably not only because of the church bells, don't know why they ring them through the night 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: LucyD87 1 review from this member

 Lovely little campsite, has everything you need, very welcoming pub, and friendly staff and locals who all chatted to us.

We had the carvery on the Sunday and it was the best carvery we’ve ever had, gave us plenty of meat and lots of choice of vege etc.

The site is an ideal location to local walks and 10mins to Matlock and 25ish to Matlock bath.

Already booked 2 more dates to revisit.

Thanks Lucy and Gav 
via mobile


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Duke William child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Duke William?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Duke William dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57639 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement