Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Duke William

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > The Duke William > Reviews

The Duke William
91 Church Street
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 3BZ
Tel: 01629 583111
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 135 Reviews
                9/10 from 135 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hesmith97 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a scorching weekend at this site. A great time was had by all.

We didn't book it until last minute and we where about the last to get on the field but we still managed to get two caravans side by side.

The view is amazing of the Riber Castle. Everybody was really friendly including all the other campers and the entertainer on Saturday night was very good.

Toilets and showers where very clean but I think the water point needs to be moved as it is situated in the kids playground and there is no waste disposal but a minor point for a week end break.

We thought very good value for money and will definitely be returning. Just a note though the entrance is a little tricky and we had to go past and turn round in the school car park (not gated out of hours) but they did warn us of that when booking. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hmgvs 13 reviews from this member

 Parked in the carpark as area was very wet. Glad we did so as awoke next morning to snow and doubt we would have got off the very steep meadow if we had parked there.

Didn't use the toilet facilities as we had our own.

The landlord & customers in the pub were very friendly, we were going to eat there but it got very busy with a darts match so gave it a miss and cooked for ourselves.

Easy walk into town.

Be aware the turn into the parking area is quite a sharp turn and up a bit of a slope, we scraped the bottom of chassis going in!

10 for one night. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janx 118 reviews from this member

 I was apprehensive about this site having no electric and being mostly tents but how wrong can you be!

When we arrived on Friday morning there was just one tent and a couple of seasonal vans, off we went for the day and on returning the site was filled with many tents with people everywhere, who were obviously in groups, my worst fear. I thought.

In reality.

Yes there were people talking together at night but not at all rowdy, and we were able to lay in, in the morning as it was quiet.

There is one shower which looked clean enough but we have our own. There are one loo for each ladys and gents with wash basin and (comfy chairs?).

Just across the road along a footpath will take you one way to Matlock (15 mins) or the other way, Matlock Bath, took us about an hour because we kept stopping and looking at all the views. Lovely walk over the top and then through the woods.

The pub in the evening is great, while we were there we had a lovely meal, danced the night away with Dennis (Mr entertainment) and the landlord who certainly has the x factor!

There is the obvious problem mentioned in the other reviews referring to the approach to the site, and I can confirm you do have to turn around even when going out. Our friends went out downhill and caught their corner steady on the way.

The bells from the church clock do appear a bit random and are quite loud but you get used to it.

To sum it up I think the Duke william is perhaps more suited to adults, don't go if you want caravan club standards but if you want a free and easy weekend and not bothered about 'frills' then you won't be disappointed.

We said at first we wouldn't return due to there being no electric but having stayed there, we would sacrifice that for the fun we had in the pub.

I want to return to try the Carvery on Sunday.

I only wish it was my local! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shakirafin 1 review from this member

 We went here camping last year first time ever with two adults and 3 kids under 6, and it was great fun.

The owners are lovely and happy to help, give information.

Only about 5 mins walk into town where there is a lovely park and a small train for adults and kids to ride on.

The campsite is basic but lovely has the views are great, men and women toilet and one shower room.

Pub is lovely to take the kids for a meal and enjoyed listening to the music.

The church bell does go of every hour but after a while you don't notice it, everyone that we come in contact on the campsite was lovely and happy to help.

My kids loved it and enjoyed making new friends. We found it a relaxing holiday and have booked to go this yr again and kids are looking forward to it.

Everyone should give it a try 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JohnC4367 1 review from this member

 I was on my own and I stayed 2 nights in a tent. The facilities are basic but clean. The pub was friendly and had superb food and landlord made me welcome. There are incredible views on the site and lots to see in the surrounding area. Matlock is only 5 minutes walk away. I will come back and bring my family next time and would recommend this site. The church bells do ring often so not for the light sleeper. I thought the site was value for money.

Somewhere to wash dishes would be welcome. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Samjed 1 review from this member

 Booked for 3 nights over the last bank holiday and unfortunately due to the British weather only stayed 2. Pleasant owners and pub friendly enough for drinks didn't try the food though we had thought of booking for the carvery on the Sunday. Small children's play area kept our daughters aged 3 and 1 amused. Toilet facilities basic but clean and sound. The ladies had 2 chairs and a table in so this was great for us all to go in together as a family for washing, cleaning teeth etc. Shower in the disabled toilet but didn't use. Really could do with a pot wash area because had to wash up in buckets, which you don't mind, but when I asked where to put dirty water they said most people threw it down the toilets, and with only 1 gents and 1 ladies it was a hassle. And did notice most people were just throwing it into the bushes.

Good position for visiting the local area and surrounding Derbyshire.

Overall I would say this was good value for money and we would consider going again in the future when we want to visit the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scotsmichael 1 review from this member

 Great few days, lovely location, views, staff & food.

Cheap as chips to at only 5 pppn.

Basic facilities but this works in your favour - the field is big enough for 40 pitches but as only 10 are accepted due to limited loos there is loads of room and you can have your own 'private' area.

The hill is steep but it's a delightful walk downhill to the town through the park and water gardens - just veer to the path on the left of the road past the church.

Thanks for a super weekend, we look forward to coming back soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cralyn 3 reviews from this member

 Great little campsite if a tad basic, two toilets one male one female, one shower, small childs play area.

The pub which is in front of the site provides good food at reasonable prices. Another plus point is that you can have open fires not something you get at many sites now.

The owners are accommodating and very welcoming and prices are also reasonable. The chimes of the church go off every quarter of the hour and could be troublesome to light sleepers as the church is very close to the campsite.

Overall a decent site if you want a weekend away without to many frills. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hikerchick 1 review from this member

 Just come back from overnight stay here. Location is beautiful, with lovely views all round. Landlord, staff and locals very friendly. Pub had fairly extensive menu but we didn't eat there, personally I felt that it was very expensive. Amenities fairly basic - there is ladies and gents toilet plus a shower room with toilet too but what on earth else do you need! Short walk into Matlock itself which has shops/bars/restaurants if you want them. A great campsite and location but of course it did help that the weather was glorious too! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Squiggs 6 reviews from this member

 The landlord here was Great, a very friendly and helpful chap. We arrived on a very busy weekend for one night but he kindly fitted us in. Lots of places in the area insist you stay two nights or won't accept children - no worries here. Our little ones were made very welcome. The facilities were basic in the pub - it was a shame there was only one shower that seemed to block but otherwise it was all very clean.

The food in the pub was fantastic. There was a good menu to choose from and the portions were designed for people who were hungry and wanted to be filled up. The mixed grill was the best had for a long time. For real camping at an affordable price in a great location to explore the countryside this campsite was just right. 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Duke William child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Duke William?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Duke William dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58493 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement