Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Duke William

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > The Duke William > Reviews

The Duke William
91 Church Street
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 3BZ
Tel: 01629 583111
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 134 Reviews
                9/10 from 134 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  134 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Burkey58 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site not very level so you will need chocks,

Showers and toilets are very clean.

Phil and Janet are a lovely couple can't do enough for you, the food in the is great.

Will definitely be returning 😀 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Sabrinaman 7 reviews from this member

 This place was wonderful. Phil was very welcoming, showed me the facilities and invited me to pitch then come in to pay later.

It's a small field behind the pub but my bike and small tent were the only things in it on the Tuesday night I went so the whole place was quiet and I didn't hear any noise from the pub either.

The only problem was the church bell striking every quarter through the night but hey, I soon got used to that and after all, they were probably there first and it saved me keep looking at my watch.

The shower and toilet facilities were so clean I felt as if I ought not to walk in there. Wonderful.

The town is within a short walking distance but if you cycle it'll be a steep climb back up!

To catch the sun in the morning, camp on the north side of the field (to your left as you enter). 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tracey 1 review from this member

 Liked- spacious camp site. With pick your own pitch. Good facilities. Nice and quiet.

Lovely home cooked pub food with friendly welcoming staff in a cosy setting.

Disliked-Can't think of anything. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Emmalo 1 review from this member

 Great location. We walked to Matlock town, Matlock bath and Cromford Mill and back in one day.

Shower and toilets are located in beer garden. Hot showers too! 2 showers available but one trickled water but the other was better. The only thing I wasnít happy about was that there was no hand towels or wastebin in one of the bathrooms.

The baby changing mat and stand was filthy. There is no where to put your bag and clothes and no mop to wipe the floor ready for the next person. Which is pretty normal in other campsites.

I had to go into pub when there was no toilet paper in any of the toilets/ bathrooms. I donít think the toilets /showers get checked or cleaned regularly. The hand sanitiser was empty all week which is not ideal with the COVID virus.

The general cleanliness of the toilet/ showers should have been so much better.

This didnít ruin our stay but we wonít be coming back. This needs to be improved

Please note the church rings itís bells every hour on the hour!. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Blood 3 reviews from this member

 Location was perfect.

Showers were clean and not far to walk to, at the rear of the pub.

No one else on the camp field so even better. No bells or whistles but a pleasant relaxing time had. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Bthorn 1 review from this member

 Liked:We found the site to be in a great location with local amenities within walking distance. The site itself was relatively well maintained and tidy.

Phil the owner made himself known and was friendly.

Disliked :no proper facility for sluice disposal had to use the W. C in the toilet /shower block with no water supply to rinse out.

Toilet /Shower amenities were very untidy on the Sunday morning with paper towels strewn about the floor and there was no loo roll in the dispensers, though in fairness they were clean and tidy over the rest of our stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sandra 1 review from this member

 Likes

Helpful but relaxed attitude of owner

Super clean toilets and showers

Lovely meals in the Duke William as well as really friendly staff

Space to throw a ball for the dog without disturbing other campers

Dislikes

None 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Tys503 1 review from this member

 Small convenient site close to the town.

No assigned pitches so relies on people to distance each other.

Church close by that has a bell that rings frequently 24hours. Not invasive but can be heard.

Facilities are good, shower and toilets clean and tidy. No washing up facilities, we have our own so wasn't a problem.

Friendly and comfortable site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kerryb20 1 review from this member

 The campsite sits directly behind the pub, It is on a hill so bear this in mind and levellers may be required (the top few pitches are relatively flat).

Views from the site were fantastic. EHU is available and fresh water. The toilets are attached to the pub 3 toilets and 2 Showers very clean facilities. The pub menu was extensive and we ate there both nights. Staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Location was perfect, a short walk into the town (approx 5 min) and lots of footpaths to take advantage of.

If I had to fault anything it was that the camp field did have quite a few doggy deposit's left, more of a reflection of the dog owners than the pub, we picked some up as we walked round with our own dogs.

I will definitely be revisiting.

We didn't have kids but I had to score child friendliness nothing on site for them but the town has a very child friendly park. 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Soo140 1 review from this member

 Great site, great pub and facilities

The owner was more than helpful as it was our first time in a camper

I would definitely recommend only downside was the church bell that rang every half hour 24 hours. So sleep was broken.

But lovely place 
via mobile


Previous     134 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Duke William child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Duke William?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Duke William dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


43546 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement