Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Duke William

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > The Duke William Reviews

The Duke William
91 Church Street
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 3BZ
Tel: 01629 583111
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 12/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 80 Reviews
                8/10 from 80 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Blood 1 review from this member

 Location was perfect.

Showers were clean and not far to walk to, at the rear of the pub.

No one else on the camp field so even better. No bells or whistles but a pleasant relaxing time had. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Bthorn 1 review from this member

 Liked:We found the site to be in a great location with local amenities within walking distance. The site itself was relatively well maintained and tidy.

Phil the owner made himself known and was friendly.

Disliked :no proper facility for sluice disposal had to use the W. C in the toilet /shower block with no water supply to rinse out.

Toilet /Shower amenities were very untidy on the Sunday morning with paper towels strewn about the floor and there was no loo roll in the dispensers, though in fairness they were clean and tidy over the rest of our stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sandra 1 review from this member

 Likes

Helpful but relaxed attitude of owner

Super clean toilets and showers

Lovely meals in the Duke William as well as really friendly staff

Space to throw a ball for the dog without disturbing other campers

Dislikes

None 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Tys503 1 review from this member

 Small convenient site close to the town.

No assigned pitches so relies on people to distance each other.

Church close by that has a bell that rings frequently 24hours. Not invasive but can be heard.

Facilities are good, shower and toilets clean and tidy. No washing up facilities, we have our own so wasn't a problem.

Friendly and comfortable site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kerryb20 1 review from this member

 The campsite sits directly behind the pub, It is on a hill so bear this in mind and levellers may be required (the top few pitches are relatively flat).

Views from the site were fantastic. EHU is available and fresh water. The toilets are attached to the pub 3 toilets and 2 Showers very clean facilities. The pub menu was extensive and we ate there both nights. Staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Location was perfect, a short walk into the town (approx 5 min) and lots of footpaths to take advantage of.

If I had to fault anything it was that the camp field did have quite a few doggy deposit's left, more of a reflection of the dog owners than the pub, we picked some up as we walked round with our own dogs.

I will definitely be revisiting.

We didn't have kids but I had to score child friendliness nothing on site for them but the town has a very child friendly park. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Soo140 1 review from this member

 Great site, great pub and facilities

The owner was more than helpful as it was our first time in a camper

I would definitely recommend only downside was the church bell that rang every half hour 24 hours. So sleep was broken.

But lovely place 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mikem3 1 review from this member

 Site located in starkholmes village on the edge of town, at back of the pub. Nearest convenience store and chip shop about half mile.

Site owner and staff friendly and helpful. A few electrical hookups.

The downsides are that the site is sloping and does not have gravel tracks to the unmarked pitches, so there would be potential to get stuck in wet weather. No Chemical or grey water disposal facilities. One pub visitor used field to exercise and toilet his dog.

Ok for one night only. £16 per night (2 people) + £5 electrical hookup. 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gilthe 1 review from this member

 Friendly hosts, great beer. Fantastic location.

If you're adventurous try the mixed grill ( best starter Iíve ever had!)

And even more adventurous have a walk round Giddy edge. Book now. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Scaley143 4 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for 4 days. Phill and Janet were the top hosts.

I stayed in my campervan, on the pub car park. Electric hookup was provided and the shower was better than the one I have at home.

The campsite wasn't being used at the time as it was a bit waterlogged, and Phill was expecting a busy weekend and wanted it mud free.

The pub was cosy and it wasn't long before all the staff made me very welcome.

I had a meal there, on a couple of occasions, and they were tasty, hot and homemade.

The current protective measures were in place, and Janet made sure these were adhered to.

Overall, a great place to stay, on the doorstep of the Peak District, and I will definitely be staying there again. Soon I hope. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Derbyc 1 review from this member

 Lovely staff to meet you on arrival, show you where everything is

Pub food was wonderful although we had to cancel the Cerberus because of ill child, they was very nice about it

Definitely going back 
via mobile


Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Duke William child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Duke William?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Duke William dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3091 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement