Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Duke William

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > The Duke William Reviews

The Duke William
91 Church Street
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 3BZ
Tel: 01629 583111
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 10/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 66 Reviews
                8/10 from 66 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Tylajayex 1 review from this member

 We searched for weeks to find a campsite that could accommodate our need for multiple large pitches, both electric and non electric. We finally came across The Duke William and booked it immediately. Rang up and Jan was absolutely fantastic, booked us in with no issues.

A few days before we were due to arrive we phoned up and asked if we could swap one of the non electric pitches for on with electric hook up, she was unsure if she would be able to accommodate us but said she would be able to let us know on arrival.

Directions to the campsite were easy to follow and we had no issues finding it.

On arrival Jan came out and greeted us with 'you must be my Blackpool lot' which was a lovely touch. She managed to sort us out the extra electric pitch and the payment process was quick and simple. Rhianne took us down to the field and showed us which pitches were ours.

Absolutely amazing views from the campsite and Rhianne is brimming with information about Matlock.

We had a few beers in the pub before and got talking to Phil about how much we enjoy a game of darts. They invited us down the following day to have a tournament with their darts team. We were in the pub every night and the service we received was nothing short of phenomenal. We truly felt at home.

On our last night we had a meal in the restaurant, with there being so many of us we prebooked our meals with Rhianne for the following day. Phil made sure they had everything in stock that we had ordered and even managed to get the brie wedges we were told were out of stock!

We originally booked for 6pm but phoned and asked to be moved back to 8pm after a late lunch, which again they did with no problems. When we arrived at the pub we had a drink in the bar before they called us through. It was my birthday and when we got to our table Rhianne had decorated the area with birthday balloons which was a lovely touch.

The food was absolutely amazing, all served together and piping hot. Rhianne was absolutely amazing with the kids! The mixed grill was HUGE, kids chicken meals were proper chicken breast not cheap nuggets as you'd expect, and the steak and ale pie, wow! My sister in law said it was the best pie she had ever had and deserved its own advertising board😂

The pub are also participating in the dine out to eat out scheme making the food and soft drinks half price and an absolute bargain!

We couldn't recommend this pub/camping site any more! First time campers are converted! Oh and the shower for the camping facilities 😍 beats my shower at home!

We will be back. Biggest thankyou to Jan, Phil, Rhianne and Toni. You made my birthday! See you next time x 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sitattoo 1 review from this member

 Met by phill in the car park, he offered us two areas, one hard standing the other on grass,

Shower and toilet area great,

Food in the pub is excellent,

Staff are all very helpful,

Great location for Matlock and Matlock Bath, 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lifelongram 1 review from this member

 Great little site, close to town - which is what we wanted.

Pub ok, landlord a character and pub has nice outdoor space.

Only negative could be church bells that ring every 15mins 24 hours a day!

But we will be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Philad163187fol 1 review from this member

 Absolutely brilliant little site! The staff couldn’t do enough and where very informative about the area!

The food was top notch also. Our dogs were welcomed and were given fresh water, with ice! We can’t endorse this site enough!

We’ll definitely return! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Aihuk056882cpk 1 review from this member

 Excellent weekend

Will definitely come again.

Friendly nice place. Brilliant staff, thanks

Lovely location and very clean.

I have Had a lovely meal and found pub very friendly. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Catwoman69 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for one night, but wished it could have been longer. We will certainly go back next year. We found the Duke of William through friends, who we camped with.

The owners and staff and the pub regulars are very friendly and give you a very warm welcome.

The food is lovely, and the carvery was worth staying longer for. We were going to leave at 10ish in the morning.

But after hearing about the cavery we decided to stay to try it, we were all very pleased we did.

The facilities are clean and well looked after. I would recommend the Duke of William to anyone who wants to explore that part of the country.

There are church bells in the village and I liked to hear them. I didn't find them too loud even though they go through the night.

The Duke of William also has very good music nights so check out their website, that also gives you directions on where to find them. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: K1fmp 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from 4 nights stay at The Duke William Matlock. It is a must return. Phill, Janet & all staff made us so welcome.

Camping field was well drained short mowed and lovely views. Toilets and shower spotlessly clean. (shower pressure to die for). Food cooked to order.

A very good variety of food on menu including Gluten Free, Good hearty portions and good value for money.

All served with a smile. Drinks reasonably priced.

FMP Worcestershire. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Oisin 1 review from this member

 Great little find, easy walk into Matlock, uphill on way back minutes walk from War Memorial at the back of St. Giles church (which chimes on the hour light sleepers)

Campsite basic and sloping, some hard standing which is basically pub carpark.

EHU on left side of field only. Dogs allowed.

Two loos male& female and X1 shower only (free to use), beer nice and reasonable. Didn't eat in the pub.

Friendly bar staff. I didn't see any children so gave score of middle of the road 5.

All in all, I will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Traveling seniors 3 reviews from this member

 Just had 3 nights on d/william. Basic grass field with ehu, need ramps but not too bad. Janet & phill have put great effort into the toilets, 1 gents, 1 ladies + shower room with massive new shower cubicle.

Also the pub. They serve outstanding meals all with a smile from all the staff. Bus stops outside both ways.

Would stay again here no problem. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Richard Reddish 2 reviews from this member

 A field at the back of the pub a few electric hook ups,

Only 1 shower 2 toilets,

Clean & tidy lovely place

So close to Matlock & very help full & accommodating owners & staff.

Pub food was great we will be going back 


Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Duke William child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Duke William?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Duke William dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6296 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement