Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Duke William

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > The Duke William Reviews

The Duke William
91 Church Street
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 3BZ
Tel: 01629 583111
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 10/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 64 Reviews
                8/10 from 64 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Scaley143 4 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for 4 days. Phill and Janet were the top hosts.

I stayed in my campervan, on the pub car park. Electric hookup was provided and the shower was better than the one I have at home.

The campsite wasn't being used at the time as it was a bit waterlogged, and Phill was expecting a busy weekend and wanted it mud free.

The pub was cosy and it wasn't long before all the staff made me very welcome.

I had a meal there, on a couple of occasions, and they were tasty, hot and homemade.

The current protective measures were in place, and Janet made sure these were adhered to.

Overall, a great place to stay, on the doorstep of the Peak District, and I will definitely be staying there again. Soon I hope. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Derbyc 1 review from this member

 Lovely staff to meet you on arrival, show you where everything is

Pub food was wonderful although we had to cancel the Cerberus because of ill child, they was very nice about it

Definitely going back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Antony 1 review from this member

 Great location for matlock and matlock bath

Site owner very helpful

Would definitely stay and recommend again

Great little pub on site

Misunderstood the site fees £8 per person per night plus ehu 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Paulmuxlow 13 reviews from this member

 Great little site, good facilities and the pud does lovely food. Has great views of riber and easy access to matlock and all pots facilities. T

He main downside is that it slopes heavily. We had the front in the ground and still couldn't get it level.

Being grass and on a slope, we had to get the owner to pull us out on the day we left. Which he did with no problem 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Gdento 1 review from this member

 Good site, great location, easy to walk into Matlock and great access for the peaks.

Pub serving home made food on site, we didn't eat there as it was fully booked so must be good!

Very welcoming in bar though and helpful throughout our stay.

Will definitely return. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bungleboy 3 reviews from this member

 Great little site. Really good location for exploring this part of the world. 15 minute walk into Matlock.

The site is part of a pub which has live music on a Saturday evening. We went along and had a great time.

Highly recommended. We have a motorhome unit and to enter the site its easier to drive past the pub, turn around in the school a bit further up the road and approach whilst facing downwards. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Tylajayex 1 review from this member

 We searched for weeks to find a campsite that could accommodate our need for multiple large pitches, both electric and non electric. We finally came across The Duke William and booked it immediately. Rang up and Jan was absolutely fantastic, booked us in with no issues.

A few days before we were due to arrive we phoned up and asked if we could swap one of the non electric pitches for on with electric hook up, she was unsure if she would be able to accommodate us but said she would be able to let us know on arrival.

Directions to the campsite were easy to follow and we had no issues finding it.

On arrival Jan came out and greeted us with 'you must be my Blackpool lot' which was a lovely touch. She managed to sort us out the extra electric pitch and the payment process was quick and simple. Rhianne took us down to the field and showed us which pitches were ours.

Absolutely amazing views from the campsite and Rhianne is brimming with information about Matlock.

We had a few beers in the pub before and got talking to Phil about how much we enjoy a game of darts. They invited us down the following day to have a tournament with their darts team. We were in the pub every night and the service we received was nothing short of phenomenal. We truly felt at home.

On our last night we had a meal in the restaurant, with there being so many of us we prebooked our meals with Rhianne for the following day. Phil made sure they had everything in stock that we had ordered and even managed to get the brie wedges we were told were out of stock!

We originally booked for 6pm but phoned and asked to be moved back to 8pm after a late lunch, which again they did with no problems. When we arrived at the pub we had a drink in the bar before they called us through. It was my birthday and when we got to our table Rhianne had decorated the area with birthday balloons which was a lovely touch.

The food was absolutely amazing, all served together and piping hot. Rhianne was absolutely amazing with the kids! The mixed grill was HUGE, kids chicken meals were proper chicken breast not cheap nuggets as you'd expect, and the steak and ale pie, wow! My sister in law said it was the best pie she had ever had and deserved its own advertising board😂

The pub are also participating in the dine out to eat out scheme making the food and soft drinks half price and an absolute bargain!

We couldn't recommend this pub/camping site any more! First time campers are converted! Oh and the shower for the camping facilities 😍 beats my shower at home!

We will be back. Biggest thankyou to Jan, Phil, Rhianne and Toni. You made my birthday! See you next time x 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sitattoo 1 review from this member

 Met by phill in the car park, he offered us two areas, one hard standing the other on grass,

Shower and toilet area great,

Food in the pub is excellent,

Staff are all very helpful,

Great location for Matlock and Matlock Bath, 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lifelongram 1 review from this member

 Great little site, close to town - which is what we wanted.

Pub ok, landlord a character and pub has nice outdoor space.

Only negative could be church bells that ring every 15mins 24 hours a day!

But we will be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Philad 1 review from this member

 Absolutely brilliant little site! The staff couldn’t do enough and where very informative about the area!

The food was top notch also. Our dogs were welcomed and were given fresh water, with ice! We can’t endorse this site enough!

We’ll definitely return! 
via mobile


Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Duke William child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Duke William?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Duke William dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3517 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement