Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Duke William

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > The Duke William > Reviews

The Duke William
91 Church Street
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 3BZ
Tel: 01629 583111
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 135 Reviews
                9/10 from 135 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sitattoo 1 review from this member

 Met by phill in the car park, he offered us two areas, one hard standing the other on grass,

Shower and toilet area great,

Food in the pub is excellent,

Staff are all very helpful,

Great location for Matlock and Matlock Bath, 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lifelongram 1 review from this member

 Great little site, close to town - which is what we wanted.

Pub ok, landlord a character and pub has nice outdoor space.

Only negative could be church bells that ring every 15mins 24 hours a day!

But we will be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Philad 1 review from this member

 Absolutely brilliant little site! The staff couldn’t do enough and where very informative about the area!

The food was top notch also. Our dogs were welcomed and were given fresh water, with ice! We can’t endorse this site enough!

We’ll definitely return! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Aihuk0 1 review from this member

 Excellent weekend

Will definitely come again.

Friendly nice place. Brilliant staff, thanks

Lovely location and very clean.

I have Had a lovely meal and found pub very friendly. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Catwoman69 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night, but wished it could have been longer. We will certainly go back next year. We found the Duke of William through friends, who we camped with.

The owners and staff and the pub regulars are very friendly and give you a very warm welcome.

The food is lovely, and the carvery was worth staying longer for. We were going to leave at 10ish in the morning.

But after hearing about the cavery we decided to stay to try it, we were all very pleased we did.

The facilities are clean and well looked after. I would recommend the Duke of William to anyone who wants to explore that part of the country.

There are church bells in the village and I liked to hear them. I didn't find them too loud even though they go through the night.

The Duke of William also has very good music nights so check out their website, that also gives you directions on where to find them. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: K1fmp 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from 4 nights stay at The Duke William Matlock. It is a must return. Phill, Janet & all staff made us so welcome.

Camping field was well drained short mowed and lovely views. Toilets and shower spotlessly clean. (shower pressure to die for). Food cooked to order.

A very good variety of food on menu including Gluten Free, Good hearty portions and good value for money.

All served with a smile. Drinks reasonably priced.

FMP Worcestershire. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Oisin 8 reviews from this member

 Great little find, easy walk into Matlock, uphill on way back minutes walk from War Memorial at the back of St. Giles church (which chimes on the hour light sleepers)

Campsite basic and sloping, some hard standing which is basically pub carpark.

EHU on left side of field only. Dogs allowed.

Two loos male& female and X1 shower only (free to use), beer nice and reasonable. Didn't eat in the pub.

Friendly bar staff. I didn't see any children so gave score of middle of the road 5.

All in all, I will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Traveling seniors 3 reviews from this member

 Just had 3 nights on d/william. Basic grass field with ehu, need ramps but not too bad. Janet & phill have put great effort into the toilets, 1 gents, 1 ladies + shower room with massive new shower cubicle.

Also the pub. They serve outstanding meals all with a smile from all the staff. Bus stops outside both ways.

Would stay again here no problem. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Richard Reddish 2 reviews from this member

 A field at the back of the pub a few electric hook ups,

Only 1 shower 2 toilets,

Clean & tidy lovely place

So close to Matlock & very help full & accommodating owners & staff.

Pub food was great we will be going back 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Bikerhiker 16 reviews from this member

 Great location for walking High tor/giddy edge and into Matlock. Loads to do right on doorstep, loved it. As previously mentioned, only 3 toilets, 1 shower but clean and serviceable for a small site.

Great friendly pub with good food and beers. The church bells annoyed me the first night but didn't notice them the second night, you do get used to them.

Would happily stay here again! 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Duke William child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Duke William?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Duke William dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57850 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement