Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Duke William

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > The Duke William > Reviews

The Duke William
91 Church Street
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 3BZ
Tel: 01629 583111
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 135 Reviews
                9/10 from 135 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tubby2 64 reviews from this member

 Stayed here one night. Staff very friendly and helpful. This is a field to the rear of pub. Pub does nice food

Showers and toilets very clean. Short walk to matlock town.

Small site. Think very large back garden very quite with nice church bell clock. Good place to stay 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Alfie147 4 reviews from this member

 I stayed there for Easter weekend with my daughter the staff were friendly.

We had a great time and the sunday carvery was excellent and great value for money we shall go back again. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nicola maskill 1 review from this member

 What a little gem, lovely landlady and landlord,

Great place to stay,

Very reasonable price at £16 for 2, its only £6. 50 pppn in a tent and kids under 12 are free,

Couldn't be better 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frogsie 12 reviews from this member

 Very basic but with loads of potential. £6. 50 per night for tents.

EHU planned by new owners but needs chemical disposal and pot washing facilities.

Pub very nice with good pub meals and I would use again. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hayleighs 7 reviews from this member

 Paid £8 per person Bank Holiday weekend ie £16. One gents toilet and shower and one ladies toilet and shower. Only nice thing I can think of was water was hot.

Dirty lack of amenities and when I asked the new landlord where the Elsan was he asked “what is that” there wasn’t one. One tap outside which dogs were licking as it was dripping.

Told us he was arranging for EHU but I think toilet facilities and elsan would be a better investment. Pub does great meals and friendly but facilities need improving.

Advantage only a ten min walk into the centre of Matlock. Bit pricey 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 1972matt 2 reviews from this member

 The pub has recently changed hands and the new people are working hard on improvements to the basic facilities.

Just a few minutes walk in to Matlock and Matlock Bath. Excellent value at £6. 50 per night. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sarahk 20 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for the purpose of seeing the illuminations in matlock bath over the weekend.

We parked on the car park as the field at the back was extremely muddy and the grass has not been cut for many weeks.

There is electricity on the main car park but we didn't bother.

The price with electric I believe is £20 without £17 The facilities are basic, the toilet area very dated, no towels or loo roll and not particularly clean.

There is no where to empty waste of any kind.

We felt for the lack of facilities on offer the price was far too high.

The owners of the pub and staff are extremely friendly and the pub is also dog friendly.

With some investment this place would be booked up solid and its a shame it is so run down 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alfie147 4 reviews from this member

 I found the site really good me and my daughter stayed for the weekend.

There was plenty to do there, the heights of Abraham is only 10 mins bike ride.

The pub staff were friendly the food and beer was very reasonably priced.

The village is just down the road. Gullivers kingdom is just by the heights of Abraham, loads for kids to see and do.

We will be going again. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Whitemorph 2 reviews from this member

 My wife & I stayed here for two nights midweek at £8. 50 each per night without EHU. It was an additional £2. 50 pn if you wanted electric, so we did without. Frankly hugely overpriced. As we are about 3. 5 tons we had to park our motorhome at the back of the pub car park, which is reasonably level.

The camping field looks ok but is only grass without any hard standing, and was empty apart from a couple of caravans which looked long term and unoccupied and a small caravan which appeared to be for a guy that was using it as a base to commute to work. So basically the site wasn't busy as there were only 3 of us using it, my wife & I and the commuter.

There was no water tap that I could see in the campsite, so if you needed water you had to use a tap at the back of the pub. No motorhome service point, no chemical toilet disposal or washing up facilities.

There is just one male and one female toilet in the rear of the pub building and just one shower. In the 3 days we were there none of these facilities were cleaned at all, so god knows what this is like in summer when the campsite is occupied. I understand that the pub is under new recent ownership (late 2015?) and things take a while to sort out, but judging by the dust and dirt in the gents loo I don't think it's been cleaned properly in months.

This is a very very poor standard. There is hot water, but no plugs in the gents loo basin or the shower room, so if you want to shave then take your own plug. Thankfully we had our own facilities in our bus. So for £34 we didn't get much for our money other than a parking space for two nights. Maybe the landlord should consider the Pub Stopover scheme for motor homes, where you stay for free provided you buy a meal.

Frankly we have had much better facilities incl EHU for £10 a night elsewhere.

Due to the lack of care and cleanliness in the toilets we we put off eating in the Duke William - although some food reviews were good. The place does look very scruffy inside.

On the plus side, it was nice and quiet at night, and is in a good location being only about ten minutes walk into Matlock via a downhill path, and park, and only about 5 minutes to the footpath leading up to High Tor.

Overall I'd rate this overall at 2/10. This needs to improve greatly in terms of cost and facilities if we were ever likely to use again, which is most unlikely 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mtg18 2 reviews from this member

 The site is in a good position for walking to Matlock & Matlock Bath.

However, the site leaves a lot to be desired. As you enter & leave the site, the driveway is so uneven & built up on one side that the back end of the caravan touches the ground, causing damage to the caravan. We spoke to other people who had also damaged their caravans.

There is 1 ladies, 1 gents & 1 shower cubicle for the whole site. During our stay there were approx. 25-30 units, most of which were tents, therefore the toilet facilities were really insufficient and dirty. There is no proper facility for chemical toilets to be emptied & none for waste water.

It is a shame but we will never use this site again. 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Duke William child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Duke William?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Duke William dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57611 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement