Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Royal Umpire Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Royal Umpire Caravan Park Reviews

Royal Umpire Caravan Park
Southport Road
Croston
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR26 9JB
Tel: 01772 600 257
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 180 & Large Rally Fiield + Camping Pods
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 119 Reviews
                7/10 from 119 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Watercool 1 review from this member

 Set in a nice location, can be used as a base for places like Southport, Blackpool, Preston etc

Dogs are allowed on site but we only saw a few being walked, all on leads with only the odd bark now and again. Plenty of kids, which is ok if you have one but could be annoying if you don't.

The campsite is a friendly place, quite a few resident tourers there which actually makes it more of a community and well kept caravans with little gardens. No issues with water or electric hookup.

The downsides for the campsite are the toilets and showers, they were grubby, no sockets, the toilets did not flush, the cubicles were missing locks/handles etc and the showers were literally a trickle. 4 of them in one of the two blocks, not enough.

Also you are only allowed one car on each pitch, even if you have a small caravan and there's plenty of space. Then the car park for the extra cars was full. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yummymummie 1 review from this member

 We left 2days earlier than planned due to drunken night parties at nearby tents until gone 2. 30am. The people in these tents sounded young but were in their 50s and were utter scroats! No consideration or moral values! we wereted money leaving early but 3 hours sleep we cannot function on.

It was a shame as ruined our stay as they were so loud and inconsiderate we could not sleep.

Site itself good, park great and toilets clean. Music in toilets was a great touch.

Would we return?. No because these yobs are not told to stop drinking swearing and shouting middle of night we have never stayed at such a load campsite with so many groups.

I booked what I thought was a family tranquil site.

It is such a shame as site great, staff you couldn't fault and toilets and showers clean 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eccles13 4 reviews from this member

 The site has two toilet blocks and fully serviced pitches, available at a great price for Monday to Friday bookings on their website.

However, we were placed on pitch 100, perhaps the worst on the site as it is a gravel pitch leading straight into the toilet block. As the toilets play music, the sites many children congregate here and kick balks around, throw water bombs etc. We didn't feel we could sit out as we do elsewhere.

It is a shame as the site overall is nice enough. The cleaners were lovely people and very effective and despite the many seasonal tourers on site, it is well cared for. We would go back, indeed this was our second visit, but never on pitch 100 again! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Billdan 2 reviews from this member

 Visit July 23rd for 3 nights.

Left after 2 nights

Very noisy even at 1 a. M

Many, many dogs and much barking

Lots of seasonal pitches our pitch No. 131 was amid all seasonal no other tourers.

Toilet facilities inadequate for the number of pitches and camping field and needing T. L. C

The top area of the caravan park is lovely with tarmac roads the lower gravel roads pitches not so good.

We stayed here 10 years ago and it really nice, not any more.

For us its back to Caravan club sites  


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JG1971 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for the bonfire weekend, weather was truly awful.

When we booked there were only grass pitches left - these turned out to be a mudbath with standing water everywhere.

People were understandably reluctant to park on the grass but this meant the narrow gravel roads were partially blocked - with some even double parking (this made getting off the site quite tricky).

In my view - the grass pitch bookings should have been cancelled or at least some effort made to inform people of the state they were in prior to arrival.

In addition - the pub across the road is not good, they first of all forgot our order, then it was wrong when it eventually turned up. Sticky Tables & filthy carpet - stinking toilets too!

Overall a pretty awful weekend spent here, couldn't wait to get home. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Judergn 3 reviews from this member

 We visited this site twice last year just after we bought our motorhome as it is near to where we live so that if we had any problems we wouldn't be far from home. We really enjoyed our stays - the site, is clean and well maintained - the staff were friendly and helpful. There are a few places to eat nearby and some pretty walks - Croston itself is a very interesting place with lovely historic buildings. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ethan0796 16 reviews from this member

 Visited this campsite over the weekend with friends & family, small children and dog. Reception didn't have our correct booking- only had us down for one tent with ehu instead of two, warden apologised but was also had to wait a few mins for her to arrive to let us in. Pitches were good, flat and dry and pitched us next to each other. Was expecting a little more from this site so came away feeling disappointed with what was on offer- expected more things for the children ie marquee with activities going on. Was told this happens hight of the season only. One playground and large field for football or other ball games. Showers clean and tidy very warm water but did feel a little grubby in the showers. Didn't like it when met with a group of teenage girls each time I visited the toilets and showers. Seasonal residents did seem to be having a good laugh and plenty of beer during the weekend but didn't find this offensive and this didn't cause us any problems later on during the evening. My only complaint would be as previously mentioned in another review- seasonal residents happy to let there dogs roam free & mess on the grounds and turn a blind eye to it. Very annoying when you have children playing and I also had my own dog with me who was on a lead at all times and all his mess was always cleaned up. Think management need to clamp down on this- its not acceptable. Overall we had a lovely relaxing weekend break and will return next year over the summer period. Very reasonable prices for the pitches and electric was fine. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Leeguapo 6 reviews from this member

 Recently spent a weekend here in our caravan on the tent pitch without EHU. It was our first ever camping trip in the caravan and thoroughly enjoyed it. Would have preferred EHU but it was fully booked. Going again for August bank holiday. Has a really nice feel about it with lovely residents and staff. Pity local tent visitors let their dogs fowl on the grass. Wardens need to be more aware of this. Otherwise a really good site and yummy burgers. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Penfold2922 2 reviews from this member

 Wonderful site, great showers and toilets, very clean and in a great location, would definitely visit again very soon. Plots were all big and well separated, on site burger van was reasonable and served good food at breakfast and tea time, also several local pubs that do food within walking distance, bins were emptied regularly and kept very clean and tidy. Only down side was no shop on site, but there was a well stocked shop at the local petrol station about a 5 minute drive away. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Posh lad 1 review from this member

 My how this site has gone downhill, there are longterm residents leaving in their droves due to other residents rowdy, late night drunken parties till 2am! The place is a disgrace with scruffy units, yobish behaviour where people think its fine for foul language. Also many big open fires! what the hell is going on Royal Umpire! There are children as young as 7 running riot till after 11pm the toilets are filthy, the overall vibe of the place is hostile with many dogs roaming free and running in the roads! I would never go back here its an absolute disgrace. Until the few yob residents are removed this site will just get worse! 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Royal Umpire Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Royal Umpire Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Royal Umpire Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2413 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement