Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Royal Umpire Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Royal Umpire Caravan Park Reviews

Royal Umpire Caravan Park
Southport Road
Croston
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR26 9JB
Tel: 01772 600 257
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 180 & Large Rally Fiield + Camping Pods
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 119 Reviews
                7/10 from 119 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lennonf 2 reviews from this member

 Me and my other half stopped at this site for one night only as we are camping virgins! We loved everything about this campsite and would highly recommend it! We could not fault it in any way.

The playground for the children was great, the children on the site loved it, we were very impressed as all the adults were out and children were playing right up to 11pm but then everything went very quiet so we were able to get a good nights sleep.

The toilet and shower block are kept very clean, the lady that greeted us was very helpful and polite.

There is a fast food van on site that is very reasonable, if you don’t fancy cooking or a great pub opposite the site that serve 2 for 1 meals, we ate there and the food was very nice and the staff friendly.

We booked the site before we went and thought it a little on the expensive side but when we arrived we realised that you certainly get what you pay for and found it extremely good value for money.

We will definitely be going back to this site but for longer than 1 night next time. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fatowl 1 review from this member

 This is not a tent friendly site. The caravan owners brought their dogs on to the field where the tents are sent, to exercise them and use it as a toilet.

The child play area is noisy throughout the day, and then occupied by noisy teenagers late on in to the evening. There was no noise discipline on this site, when we visited there was loud music being played from one camper until 1.30am on more than one occasion.

The toilets were closed from 12.30 till 15.30 hrs while being cleaned. They were on occasions rather messy, but this was down to certain campers in all honesty.

There is the one vehicle per pitch rule in operation at this site. The car park is quite small, so be warned. In our party we had a couple of campers with disabilities so we had to ferry them to there vehicles. 


Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Coastal taff 5 reviews from this member

 The first thing that becomes apparent, on arrival, is this is not a holiday site. This site is 90% residents who go off to work in the morning and all return after 5pm.

The Rose and crown pub down the road would not allow children in after 7pm, a time we like to have our evening meal whilst on holiday. The fast food pub opposite the site were having their late xmas party the night we were there and so decided to close early . The hotel next to the site no longer open their public bar, so we had to spend the night in the caravan in front of the tv.

This area is not what we look for on a break.

A very poor site to which we will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: THE MADDIS 6 reviews from this member

 We are regular visitors to Royal Umpire. Lovely site. Grounds are well kept and pitches are flat. Site is secure as barrier entry. Nice park which our kids love. Toilets are relatively clean though can be left little messy by other untidy guests. Couple of pubs within walking distance which serve food, one with a children's play area. Maybe a little more expensive than some of the other sites we have been to but well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RigLee 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed 2 nights 10th October 08 and was greeted by a friendly receptionist. Paid the £20 to cover the swipe barrier card and toilet key and in we went to our allocated pitch.

It had water and electric hook up and was fine.

It was allocated past the people who 'live' here and try and make their sites unique. But a lot of the lived in plots were very tired indeed.

Went out the first night to the Rose and Crown pub (turn left on exit) about 5-10 mins walk away. Lovely meal and atmosphere. We then went to the other pub opposite the site. A very large pub that also did meals but at 9.30pm was not very busy.

It was a cheaper bar and I could imagine gets too busy at certain times of the year.!

The toilet blocks were lovely and clean and hot water all the time.

It was a quiet site and I enjoyed it further into the park than near the entrance.

They have a lovely kids play area although this was not one of our needs on this visit.

The only negative for me was the 'lived' in caravan area that you passed going in and out of the campsite.

I feel and I think the people who live here most of the year might benefit from their own private area away from the weekenders / visitors as some peoples taste in decorating their caravans was an eyesore and If the campsite wants to attract more people to it then the campsite should instil that these people smarten this area up. ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bri+den 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site on the whit weekend.

On entrance there is a security barrier with swipe card (£20 refundable deposit) this also gives you access to the toilet / shower blocks.

As you drive onto the site, the first thing you see is a giant american style motor home, adorned with elvis painting and every type of american flag.

The plots are quite spacious with gravel and grass, super pitch included water,drain and mains hookup. So far so good.

Most of the site seems to be seasonal tourers with huge awnings,(approx 80%) most have full size home furniture in them, not small camping style chairs etc, and most have full size tv's (full size noise coming from each awning).

Quite a number of caravans were extremely tacky, with plastic gardens outside, complete with gnomes and plastic windmills! several pitches had things like old caravan parts, (an old oily axle) a dismantled motorbike, and one chap having a bit of a car boot sale!

Car parking outside was poor in places, as the tourers had that much garden furniture and lawnmowers etc, cars wouldnt fit, so it was a tight squeeze between each car.

The toilet block was reasonably clean, but we visited at various different times, and there was never any loo roll, or soap in the dispensers. Although it was entry with key, there always seemed to be loads of kids unsupervised playing in the loos.

Showers push button type, but ran hot and cold hard to get a constant temperature.

Childrens play area was very good, but tended to get taken over by older kids, too old for swings.

Sadly the site reminded us of 'Steptoe's Yard', and a lot of the caravans and pitches looked like gypsy sites.One site that we will never return to. 


Date of Visit: February 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vfrostron 2 reviews from this member

 This was our 1st ever venture out in our motorhome (never even done camping/caravaning before), and we loved it. Only had 2 nights on site, but we found the toilet blocks perfectly clean, tidy, warm and well equipped (even piped local radio!).
The rest of the camp site seemed to be well run/clean (there did seem to be a quite few permanent residents in touring caravans/motorhomes which surprised us, but as we said we are 'virgins' at this game!)
The play area for children was exceptionally well equipped with what looked like all new gear(no kids with us, and none seen on site, but we imagine it would get well used in the school hols) There is a very large field to the side of the main site which is for rallies etc (we presumed!) Some nice walks through lovely countryside directly from the site.

The local village, Croston, is also within easy walking distance, and has some very old buildings/cottages/churchs etc, and at least 4/5 pubs all doing various standards of food and prices(you take your pick and take your chances), bank, post office, small supermarket etc. All well worth a visit.

We didn't travel 'further afield' from the site, but Southport, Preston, Lytham St Annes, Blackpool are all easy to get too, even the big cites such as Liverpool, Manchester, Lancaster aren't that far.

Just one down side of the site. The grey water dump site is a bit awkward to access with a motorhome, but maybe that was because we are 'virgins'(but not anymore !).

Enjoy. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Wandering willys 3 reviews from this member

 We visited this site in late September. Our arrival was treated with a cool response from the person in reception. We were given our allotted pitch and set off to find it.

First impression was a well kept site with pitches set in 'avenues'. The first couple of rows seemed to be permanent pitches with a lot of large Hobby twin axle caravans all without registration plates attached.

We found our pitch which was large and level. We were lucky to be near to the water point,so not too far to walk.

The downside was that behind us, was a large, thick hedge which we felt was too tall, as when the sun shone, we were permanently in the shade. Which meant that whilst our opposite neighbours were lounging outside enjoying a barbeque, we were inside with the door shut.

The toilet block was clean and well kept, but showing signs of being ready for a little bit of TLC.The toilet disposal point was broken and not a pleasant place to visit.

The showers on the other hand were a different matter. They were scalding! You just couldn't stand under them and there was no adjustment as they were the push button type. Everyone we spoke to warned us of this problem. Some had complained but to no avail. This could have been just temporary, but we were there for a week and in that time they remained the same.

There is plenty to see and do in the area and there are lots of pubs doing decent food and real ales. Although we were not impressed with the two opposite the site.

There is a security gate at the entrance with a swipe style key. It states that it is locked at eleven at night until seven in the morning, but we were woken each morning by cars going off from as early as five thirty a.M.

Overall, we thought the Royal Umpire is a reasonable site. The grounds are well maintained and fellow campers were very friendly. Its just a pity it was spoiled for us by the lack of maintenance in the loo block 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kirsty m 2 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site a few times with our tent.
 
You will always get a very friendly welcome from the owners which is always a nice thing.
 
We used a tent and to get to the entrance you need to go back out onto the main road and turn the next right.
 
The pitches aren't allocated and the whole field is flat, no slopes or anything. It is also quite big so there is lots of choice on where to pitch your tent.
 
The facilities are ok, the toilets are kept clean as well as the showers. There is also a hairdryer in the ladies which is very useful. The is a washing up area with approx 5 sinks which are also kept very clean.
 
There is a childrens play area on the site which all the children seem to love but it's not too far away from the actual tent pitches.
 
There is a pub/restaurant across the road which is buy one get one free on main meals. There aren't many shops around so a shop on site would be a good idea, but it only takes 10 minutes to get to the nearby petrol station.
 
The only major bad point about this site is security. Anyone can come on to the rally field whenever they like, where as the entrance to the caravan park is only open to residents but overall it is a lovely site with more than adequate facilities and only 20 minutes out of Southport. We will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crank63 5 reviews from this member

 Just done a couple of nights at this site. On the plus side the shower blocks where spotless and modern, even though the muzak piped through was a little strange, when your sat on the toilet. The play area for kids was fine and well used The rally field was well appointed and litter free. The big minus for us though was the nearby hotel disco, It was horrendous! Quality it wasn't. We had bad weather as well, which didn't help(no bar!) There is no shop on site but a few local pubs nearby.With there being no shop it meant a car ride into Croston itself for supplies of any sort. All in all I think the site isn't for us and we wont be going back again  


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Royal Umpire Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Royal Umpire Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Royal Umpire Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2680 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement