Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Royal Umpire Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lancashire > Preston > Royal Umpire Caravan Park > Reviews

Royal Umpire Caravan Park
Southport Road
Croston
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR26 9JB
Tel: 01772 600 257
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 121 Reviews
                7/10 from 121 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: November 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Barbl9 1 review from this member

 Very pleased with the site

Showers was nice and hot, toilets very clean.

Staff very helpful. Our pitch was perfect for us easy to get drinking water and the use of electricity 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Georget64 41 reviews from this member

 I used this site as a stopover when heading north. Unfortunately I used Satnav for directions, and it took me through Leyland from M6 Junction 28, a laborious route, I am glad I was not towing. (I should have used the site instructions from Junction 27).

Whilst facilities were OK the site seemed very untidy, mostly occupied by seasonal pitches, some of which were very tatty, one even covered in green mould.

The weather was appalling but even so the site obviously could do with some TLC Next morning was also wet and windy, and unsafe to leave early. I had to pay extra to stay until afternoon, when wind and rain subsided. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Rpte54 1 review from this member

 Really excellent campsite.

Facilities were nice & clean, great play area for the kids and huge field to walk the dog.

Would not hesitate to stay again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Zeana 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed last week in our tourer for 5 nights. I needed to be in the area and could not leave earlier or I would have. So many permanent "tourers" it was like holiday on a residential housing estate.

On arrival had to remove 5 dog poops off resident's grass next to our van. Was a mini heatwave all week and the smell and flies! Had to repeat this action several times as the resident worked all day and dogs where left in his "tourer" all day, no windows open. I did tell reception but made no difference. Others let their dogs roam about pooping on our grass and peeing on the awning. Could not use the dog exercise area for the heaps of full poop bags under the 2 overflowing bins.

The only place to put rubbish was in skips near reception where at least 6 bags of rubbish lay in a corner all the time I was there. Can't comment on the shower block as I didn't use after I saw a man (not a cleaner) coming out of the ladies. Went worse at weekend! Cars parked everywhere, even on the grass of our "superior" pitch, party next door until 1. 30am and others later than that.

Feels like this site is being neglected and is just a free-for-all! Wish I had read the reviews before I booked. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Whitegold 8 reviews from this member

 It's not easy to find positive things to write about The Royal Umpire. (But I will start with the Staff, who were clearly doing their best under the circumstances)

Good friendly welcome, good size pitch with minimal traffic, thanks to the layout. Well sheltered by tall hedges, Tarmac access roads and hard standing/gravel. We had a pitch with EHU, tap and drain.

I've never seen so many giant 5th wheelers on one site, and there are very many seasonal pitches that look as if they might be permanently occupied.

So let's move on to the problem areas - and there are quite a list of shortcomings.

There are only two small facilities blocks for a site with over 200 caravan pitches and a huge camping field which could easily take another 200 tents or Motorhomes. I'd estimate there were nearly 100 family tents pitched on the field at the time of our visit.

The toilets were cleaned once a day, but with so many users, it was really a losing battle.

The overall state of the unoccupied (touring) pitches was very unkempt, with weeds, litter and copious amounts of deep gravel/hardcore.

The ornamental garden near the entrance must have been a thing of great beauty at one time, but it now has become a bit of an eyesore, due to neglect.

This is the first site I have ever visited that despite having the customary Rubbish Bin enclosures, with standpipe and grey water drain, actually had no bins whatsoever on site. When we queried what had happened to the bins, we were told that a new recycling facility was in construction, and all waste was to be placed in the 6 standard household Blue wheelie bins in the visitors carpark. Although these were apparently being emptied several times a day, they were always permanently full to the brim every time we took waste to them. We brought our rubbish home to recycle.

Other reviewers have mentioned the '2 for 1' Pub across the road, which we didn't visit - however we did find an excellent Pub - The Rose and Crown - less than 10 minutes walk (turn left at site entrance and follow the main road). Also worth special mention is the Independent Off-Licence at the Texaco Garage opposite the Rose and Crown, a fine selection of mid range wines and craft beers at very realistic prices.

All in all, the Royal Umpire needs plenty of TLC, and although the camping field might suit large family gatherings on a budget, it really doesn't deserve the 7/10 UKCampsite rating it currently holds. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 125 reviews from this member

 Large site - very convenient for M6. Suited us for an overnight stop but earlier comments of loud groups of 'regulars' are well justified even on a Thursday!

Very efficient staff / welcome.

The 'most photographed village in Lancashire' (Croston) is over - rated in our view. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: John,mel,3kids! 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from royal umpire and we have had a great weekend, toilets and showers we great for tent campers, play area was good, washing up facilities were under cover and also ideal.

We had an electric pitch which was surrounded by seasonal caravans, all seem friendly enough.

The kids enjoyed the park and the inflatables were a bonus.

Large pub/ restaurant a 5 minute walk away.

If you don't want electric there is a huge field where you can pitch anywhere you like, lots of water points too.

Would return without hesitation 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John giddins 1 review from this member

 Arrived at the site, polite helpful staff. Toilets were very clean, (important), because it was during the week, could pick our pitch. We got a great price on the pitch as it was Monday to Friday. We would certainly visit again. There was a downside as hens would roam the site from a neighbouring farm along with the cocks which would start crowing at around 5-00am, every morning, and after complaining we were told that nothing could be done as they fly over the fencing and wonder around. 


Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JACRM 31 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over new year, booked as part of a group on deal, and other family members stayed in one of the glamping pods.

Rather large site with lots of fully seasonal caravans.

Clean toilet block and cleaned regularly.

Good pub for food just over the road. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Glynnwi 4 reviews from this member

 My 2nd review here goes;

Called in to check availability, found the site receptionist very, very helpful. And followed up with good comms after booking.

It was our first full week in new to us caravan, we booked onto ehu pitch 193 very level with no drainage problems, don't know the amperage but no trip outs and we were trying everything out.

The site appears to be a long term seasonal site with some campers who spend all the time there and look after their pitches and decorate with flowers around their vans, and others who use it just for weekends who leave their moss covered awnings up and tables outside just doesn't look as clean as it could be.

There's a well used playground for youngsters, giant chess and draughtboards, a very well looked after seating garden area,

The showers and toilets are spotless and cleaned each morning, after the state I saw them in early one morning the cleaners deserve a medal. They are locked and you pay a deposit for key and barrier access card which is refunded.

The gas ran out mid week just as reception was closing but receptionist saved the day and meal by hanging on for me to get up there and the replacement was well priced.

There are two pubs close by and petrol station with little supermarket within walking distance, all main shops in nearby Southport, Chorley, and Ormskirk.

Only bad point is the internet connection which is none existent down at the far end of the site, but there is no charge for it, and in the end it helped for a very peaceful relaxing week. And will definitely be returning 


Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Royal Umpire Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Royal Umpire Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Royal Umpire Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


56974 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement