Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Royal Umpire Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Royal Umpire Caravan Park Reviews

Royal Umpire Caravan Park
Southport Road
Croston
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR26 9JB
Tel: 01772 600 257
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 180 & Large Rally Fiield + Camping Pods
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 119 Reviews
                7/10 from 119 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stevieag 13 reviews from this member

 I have stayed here a number of time. I have had two long weekends, a two week holiday and a one nighter.

The two weeker. Was supposed to be a three nighter then tour Wales. We enjoyed it so much we stayed :-). We just moved the tent a couple of times around the huge camping field.

One weekend, pure bliss and quiet. Second one very noisy as there was a caravan club turned up and basically took over with a huge tent in the middle for a disco that all the caravanners attended.

One nighter, we turned up to find a dog club had over half the field. We were given a small wet pitch. We complained and was given money back plus a discount at the sister site. Can't remember its name, its nearer Southport. Do not go there. There is more on site there, club etc and its much bigger but chav city. Three fights we saw.

Even though this sound terrible I would recommend this site.

Its clean, the staff are helpful, the showers are to die for, there stuff for the kids, there's plenty of paces to get without to much hassle via a car, a good pub over the road. Just make sure when you book that that don't have a massive event on. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Juanitah26 1 review from this member

 Stayed 2 nights for 9 per night. Reception was helpful and friendly and pitch was easy to find.

Nice level site and well spaced. Not much on site for us but a play area for children-a shop and some basic caravan spares would be useful.

We did not use the toilet/shower block but had a look and they were clean and warm. Across the road is a nice pub which does meals at 2 for the price 1. 1/2 mile away is a petrol station with a well stocked shop.

It's not great for dog walking as they have to be kept on a lead-ours prefers to be able to run freely but there were hens wandering about.

Had a nice relaxing weekend but would only stay again at 9 per night 


Date of Visit: January 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tiggurtee 3 reviews from this member

 We went as a group of 10 caravans for a winter break in January, it is a lovely site with an excellent toilet & shower block with heating and music playing. Nice play area for the children and large playing field.

Pitches are flat and level, mostly hard standing for caravan with grass for awning. Good access for caravans with barrier access.

Nice walk into Croston village. Train station 5 mins away.

Nice pub across the road from the site. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sam952 6 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a short weekend here, quite a large site with lots of space and facilities for children (not that we had any with us). A lot of the site is seasonal pitches. Good facilities, nice hot showers although they could do with a bit of a face lift.

The little village of Croston was lovely with very nice pubs, we had Sunday lunch in The Grapes and would definitely recommend it. 12. 50 for 3 courses, excellent choice of food, high quality service and lovely surroundings, restaurant standard.

15 minute drive to Southport which has been revamped in the last few years and is lovely.

Unfortunately no one around to refund my key deposit when we left but we were a little late, hopefully we can sort by phone. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: McNally Family 2 reviews from this member

 After years of visiting Haven sites we decided that as a family we would give camping a try as oppose to static caravanning. We searched the internet for a suitable, local campsite, and settled on the Royal Umpire, and we were not disappointed in our choice. On arrival, we received a really warm welcome and very clear information regarding all the facilities available. The only bad part was realising that there was no shop on site and that the nearest shop was a garage way up the main road that took my son and I about 20 mins to walk to.

It was very pleasing to be told that there was no designated pitch for us and that we could choose our own. The pitches were not marked out and basically once you found your chosen spot, room was not an issue and there was plenty of it.

We found the toilet and shower facilities very clean and well maintained, and the children's playground was excellent but very busy and well used and as a lot of children don't like to share, my daughter was upset that she rarely got a chance to use the equipment.

To sum up, this site served to encouraged us to carry on camping. It was well run, by very friendly, helpful staff and we were so impressed that we returned the fortnight after for another enjoyable weekend. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dee1971 1 review from this member

 Our stay here was great

Toilet and Showers need key to enter these where cleaned to a very high standard never out of soap, toilet roll etc. Well lit during the night for those in need.

Washing up area also cleaned to a very high standard also had a freezer for ice blocks for those that need them.

The kids enjoyed the park although due to rain was rather muddy.

Site was very quiet at night time (once all kids left the park area). Only ever heard music once from nearby caravan but only till 10. 30 (no noise policy after 10. 30)

Over an excellent site and we will return. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dawnella 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here with my 3 children in our tent midweek. Good location. Field is large and we could pitch anywhere which was nice, the main problem is the wind here, there is no shelter from the wind unless you can get in a small area behind the hotel sheltered by trees which was full when we got there, as there are fields next to the site so the wind comes directly across them all and across the tent field, we thought our tent was going to blow away it was that bad and we came home early because of it, even a few hedges and trees would make a difference here.

The showers and toilets were nice, always clean, the showers had a separate dry area in each one so you have somewhere to put your clothes and to get dressed (unlike their sister site riverside) this is also good when showering children they have somewhere to wait, although after a few pushes of the shower button they do get too hot. We had to pay 20 deposit for the toilet/shower key and front barrier card, we couldn't work out though why the showers/toilets need to be locked all the time anyway as its only guests on the site using it. There is also a separate disabled bathroom but you have to pay an extra 5 deposit for the key for this.

The kids park is really good, it has lots of great play equipment but is very very muddy, even when it didn't rain, ive had to bin all my 5 year olds clothes from camping here as they are all ruined with mud stains from the kids park, and she had wellies on too.

There is a very good petrol station with Londis shop 20 minutes walk away (or 5 mins in car, left out of site) that sells everything you could need, but a small shop on site would have been handy for basic/fresh items. Pub across the road does meals and has a wacky warehouse which got rid of an hour for us one day although its unlimited play time for 2. 50. There is also a garden centre left out of site 10 mins walk with a restaurant too. There is supposed to be an ice cream van, it came one day we were there, the other days we waited and it didn't come, other people have mentioned a burger van but we didn't see that either. Good site and good location, we would stay here again but when it isnt windy at all and sunny to dry up the park. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Leezoenat3080 2 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for 2 nights and found to be very busy. There are 2 sets of toilet and shower blocks, both very clean. The main block next to the large camping field gets used by most people and so does get dirty quite quickly after being cleaned.

Very friendly staff on entering and throughout stay.

Playground is excellent, but muddy in places. (mainly around the tyre swing)

There is a burger van on site which gives good value food. Downside is it opens and shuts at odd times. No on site shop, would be useful. There is a shop 1/2 mile away at the petrol station, which is well stocked, especially with wine.

Some nice pubs close by, especially Rose and Crown.

Pub across road is a 2 for 1 type, reasonably priced with Wacky warehouse for the kids.

We left early Sunday am, before the reception opened, cleaner was available to return our key deposit.

All in all, a nice site that we will return to. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Al-Ky-Co 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a LONG weekend at this site and here are our observations:

Having spent a week camping in Scotland, we were looking for a stop over in the North West Thursday - Sunday/Monday to visit some family before heading home to the West Midlands, we rang one campsite that had no space and were given the phone number for this site, I asked a famiy member to check the reviews online for this site before booking and all seemed to be fine. We arrived around 6. 30pm on Thursday and pitched our tent quickly before the rain came. We then went to the 2 for 1 pub across the road for some dinner (very nice pub and very cheap) I was surprised to see some of the campers from the site changing and washing in the toilets of the pub but thought nothing more of it until I returned to the site to prepare for bed where I was met with dirty facilities sinks. The next morning was no better so we drove to Wigan and showered at my Mums. When we returned the campsite had transformed into a music festival and there were literally hundreds of people there drinking. I was kept awake until 3am and I need to stress that the clientele of this site on this occasion was undesirable. I am far from posh and have been known to swear and drink myself but this was no place for a family who put their children before beer. The children could not play far from the tent as with so many strangers around it would be irresponsible.

We were joined on Saturday by family members who were unable to pitch as with the amount of rain and traffic the field was being subjected to it was completely water logged and a mud bath, which happens, But the site refused them a refund despite the fact that the site had failed to tell us about the 'festival' when we booked. They gave us a voucher for another visit, which will go unused. The staff seemed friendly enough but their only comment was we can't help the weather! When our complaint was the lack of communication and unsuitable facilities.

There is a park on site for the children but it was too busy and there was too little space for ball games.

Needless to say we packed up and went home, the final straw being that we hadnt managed to get into the ladies shower block ALL DAY due to the number of people in there. I was assured by the staff that this weekend happens once a year, but I wont be giving the site a second chance as we arrived on a very quiet Thursday evening and the facilities were unbearable, given the fact I had just used portaloos in Scotland for a week I don't think my standards are too high.

The surrounding area is beautiful and the site is handy for a number of attractions. Shops, pharmacy, restaurants, pubs all within walking distance.

I just want to stress how cross it made me that they refused to refund my family the cost of their stay when the site was unsuitable for their needs. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bensmum 4 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed 2 night stopover within close proximity to Camelot Theme Park which was the main reason for our stay.

The site has a barrier gate which is operated by fob key. There is a 20. 00 deposit for this and a key for shower / block inclusive. Shower / Toilet block very well maintained and clean. Showers are perfect temperature. Hairdryers are available at 20p but sockets are available for your own equipment.

There was a burger van located on site but I preferred the 2 minute walk across the road to the local pub, half plate portions, soft play, playground all available. Reasonably priced

Back at the campsite, my son made full use of play equipment, and there is a large playing field for ball games.

Check out was by 12 noon which suited me as I could leisurely pack away tent! 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Royal Umpire Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Royal Umpire Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Royal Umpire Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2546 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement