Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Royal Umpire Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Royal Umpire Caravan Park Reviews

Royal Umpire Caravan Park
Southport Road
Croston
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR26 9JB
Tel: 01772 600 257
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 180 & Large Rally Fiield + Camping Pods
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 119 Reviews
                7/10 from 119 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LOLA09 7 reviews from this member

 Just back from a lovely weekend at this site.

A complete bargain at 10 a night in June, we are hoping to go back for the world cup weekend planned at the end of June.

Plenty of toilets and showers, all clean includes hairdryer (20p) and electric sockets for phones / straighteners etc which have music piped into them.

A great playground for the kids on bark with a football pitch next to it.

There is a burger van parked on site and a daily visit from the ice cream van is great.

The camping field is huge so plenty of room to spread out.

They also have a laundry with sinks a washer and a dryer, although quite expensive at 3 a wash and 1.50 to dry.

Plenty of space to walk the dogs.Two pubs and a garden centre and garage all within walking distance, we didn't visit any so can't comment on them other than the garage which has lot's of supplies, the wine section is extensive.

The only down side being the very loud music from the hotel Saturday night which finished at 12.30 pm.

Also agree with previous comments that a little shop and freezing facilities would enhance the site.

We will definitely return and plan our bedtime accordingly. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dicko4 11 reviews from this member

 Lovely site which has a very large camping field. We were 2 families with a large tent and trailer tent and there was plenty of room for us even though we arrived on bank holiday Monday. The toilet and shower block are spacious and very clean, plenty of sinks for washing the dishes and a laundry room if needed. The playground looks quite new and it kept our children occupied or hours!The site is quite local to us and the decision to visit there was made on the last minute.

We only planned to stay 3 nights but due to the fantastic weather and the special offer of 10 per night during June we decided to stay an extra night. Over the years we have found that many sites charge extra for large tents,children, dogs, awnings, trailer tents etc but this was just one standard price with no added extras.

The only suggestion I would make is a freezer to keep your ice blocks. I took extra with me in the hope of popping them into a freezer so that I could swap them with the ones in my cool box mid stay but they no longer have this facility. Obviously this would not stop me visiting this lovely spacious site again. The children can't wait to go back! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lee.jess 1 review from this member

 First visit to this camp site and first impressions were very good.

Nicely laid out, huge field for tents which means your not all bunched together. Toilet block, dog walking area and play area all located on the edge of the field.

Play area fantastic for kids hardly ever saw them, and they made friends easily.

Nice clean facilities.

On the downside there is a Hotel located near by which played loud music until midnight.

Would we go back- most definitely 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andynliz 16 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a fab weekend at this site, very easy to find near the pretty village of Croston. Lovely and clean facilities and very friendly staff. A great play area for the kids along with a massive field for tents if your camping.

Great location with a pub across the road and a great Garden centre next door. Didn't try the food in the Pub but it looked reasonable price wise, just went in for a drink while the kids played on the outdoor play area.

Will definitely be going back to this site, very relaxing and whilst very busy we didn't hear any noise late at night and all other caravanners / campers were very friendly. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ernbarton 18 reviews from this member

 We made the Royal Umpire our first place of call in our caravan after upgrading from a tent. The site was ultra clean and the toilet blocks had just been repainted. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. There is a pub across from the site that served up a decent meal and there is a garage down the road for all your grocery needs. There is no shop on the site at all so a visit to the garage is essential.

There is a good dog walk that takes you down to the river and a small area for late at night walks. The pitches were a good size our hard standing pitch was very spacious with bushes separating us from the vans at the rear. There is a lovely garden at the front of the site and a great feature is the chickens that roam around. It looked like a pond was under construction on our visit and a large house was being built on site. All in all a good site but it could do with a small shop to cover essentials. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leolion 12 reviews from this member

 Once we found the site which I thought it was badly sign posted we arrived and site had a security barrier, staff friendly on arrival. We normally take caravan but took tent this time and we were amazed at the size of the tent park about half a acre plus.

Toilets were good size and clean, they also had a emergency toilet when the main toilets were getting cleaned, few camping and caravanning sites do have an alternative toilet. Children area was fine for kids possibly up to 10 years although this site (as mentioned) looks like most people stay most of the year so there are other kids to intermingle with.

Unfortunately, where we had pitched the tent it was near the barn type area so we had Geese, Cockerel and other farm animals making noises very early in the morning. All in all great site and clean. Never got chance to try food or bar but would like to return at some point. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Crawfordlfc 2 reviews from this member

 We went the week leading upto aug bank hols & managed to stay over the bank hol Monday as someone cancelled, were glad we did as there was a VW fest on the campsite which was brilliant, we did have to move when the cancellation became available but this was worth it site it self was clean good play area great dog walk down by the river.

Toilets could become a bit messy & busy but this was due to amount of campers in the adjoining field & it was wet week, staff and other caravanners were all friendly would recommend 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hannah2002 3 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site 3 times. During the day it is a brilliant site. We have 2 young children and they love it here. The playground it brilliant they stay on it nearly all day. There is a great area for playing football and other sports. The tent field is massive so can more or less pitch where you want. We didn't venture off the site because the kids were so content so cant comment on shops etc.

You have to pay a deposit of 20 for a key to the toilets/shower rooms, but you get that back when you leave. The toilets are clean enough, although toilet paper disappears pretty fast. The ones near the camping field are shut for 3 hours from 12ish, although I personally don't no why it takes 3 hours to clean them! But there is another toilet block less than 5 mins away (at the front of the site) so not really a problem. The showers are really hot too and free!

There is a dog walking area, although it is through a field where there are horses all the time so if your scared of horses its not ideal.

So like I say during the day it is a brilliant site. However the night time is a different matter. Firstly there is a pub across the road which has music absolutely blasting until 1 a.M. One weekend we went it threw it down and we could still hear the music as if we were sat outside the pub.

When you do manage to get to sleep the cockerels wake you up at 3.45am followed by the geese making their noise, followed by the cows mooing. But this of course is not anybodies fault - just life!

So would I recommend this site - well like I said we have been 3 times. We would go back but not for any longer than 2 nights at a time, because we come away feeling absolutely shattered through lack of sleep! If something was done about the loud music stopping at say 11pm then we would stay for longer definitely. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grayfamily 2 reviews from this member

 My friend booked this site for 4 families. When I read previous reviews I was a bit apprehensive but what I can say now from experience is that this is an excellent site. The toilet/shower facilities are excellent. Very clean (and kept on top of). Ample facilities for both personal washing and dish washing (even with a nice view of the site). The play area is fantastic particularly for older children (my eldest is 12). The icecream and burger van are very good value for money. There is no shop on site so the Icecream van was a godsend. The tent field is huge, therefore lots of space available between tents and space to play rounders! The weekend we visited there was a Birds of Prey demonstration which was free of charge unless you wanted to feed or handle a bird. The only negative point is the bouncy castle which was expensive at 1 for 10 minutes.

I will definitely be returning. I live 30 minutes away but would never have known it. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fay.swallow 1 review from this member

 We went to this site at the end of June. We had a great weekend the kids loved it there was about 16 of us and the kids where never of the playground you could leave the kids to do there own things and not worry about them going off. The toilets and the shower blocks where always nice and clean but they could do with changing the times to clean them as they where closed at 12.30 till 3.00pm and not good if you are in tent. We would definitely go back as the children loved it and so did the adults. Its a great place to go if you don't want to spend a lot of money as there is nothing to spend your money on. The lovely pub across the road is great as its food was lovely and not to expensive and was like a wacky warehouse. Its next to part of the farm and they have lots of different animals for the kids to see. 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Royal Umpire Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Royal Umpire Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Royal Umpire Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3529 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement