Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Royal Umpire Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Royal Umpire Caravan Park Reviews

Royal Umpire Caravan Park
Southport Road
Croston
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR26 9JB
Tel: 01772 600 257
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 180 & Large Rally Fiield + Camping Pods
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 119 Reviews
                7/10 from 119 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Remixedhuman 1 review from this member

 We picked this place as our first ever camping trip for me and my girlfriend, I have to say I loved every second of my stay here.

Toilets and showers where perfect and clean, the ground where we pitched was perfect and the grass was well cut.

We met some nice people there and we will be going back in 2 weeks to stay again and we cant wait

Price was fair, pub over the road was 2 for 1 which is handy for us

The children there were not at all disruptive and just relaxed on the park all day. I honestly cant say a bad thing about this place. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lynda3018 1 review from this member

 Have just spent the weekend there and this is what we thought.

Overall the campsite is great and ideal for families. There's a great playground and lots of field space for them to play ball games. Ours had a great time. They even had a Man City Summer Soccer School on the Saturday morning which my son absolutely loved (additional cost for this but not much).

There's somewhere to buy full breakfast or bacon barms etc and they also do jacket potatoes and various other foods all cooked fresh to order. Had the breakfast which was great on the last day and friends had the burgers and chips on the first night and they said they were nice.

Toilet and shower block kept clean and there's portacabins on the fields with extra toilets which were clean and kept well stocked of toilet paper although the paper towels ran out quickly. There's good washing up facilities although the water was a lot hotter in the evening.

The only downfall was that on the Saturday night the site allowed a group of what can only be described as 'louts' on the site and they pitched in close vicinity to us - they were campers from hell. They were vulgar mouthed and shouted obscenities and played very loud music until well into the early hours. Considering the site has a no noise policy after 10.30pm it was annoying that they were allowed to continue to stay on the site and were only told to be quiet by the warden at 2am long after most campers had tried to go to bed and there were a lot with children like ourselves.

We would probably return but would more than likely be if we couldn't get in anywhere else. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bensmum 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent, a campsite I am definitely returning too.

Was a pleasure to camp with a massive field where you can pitch almost anywhere.

There was a football pitch for my son to shoot goals and a good sized playpark within view of pitched tent!

Toilet block nearby very clean and in good condition, Showers lovely and hairdryers on site (20p) for 20 mins. There are plugs for your own styling equipment etc.

A deposit of 20 for swipe key for security gate and tiolet block was needed and check out was late at 12 noon which meant no rush to pack everything away and no early mornings bonus!

A pub with grub was found within 2 minutes walk of campsite, good food with half portion sizes of the big main meals which were ideal for a growing boy. Within the pub there is a soft play area, now I never paid anyting for the use but am unsure if this is the case for through the day! There is also an outdoor playpark!

We were within a 10 minute drive of Camelot Theme Park which was the main reason for camping here!

Very happy with the service provided by the friendly staff at this campsite. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Twisted-pixel 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights after not being able to get in our first choice site. Wasn't disappointed!

June special is just 10 per pitch per night (4 people plus car)

The camping field is a very large open space, no marked pitches so you can pitch where you like, although the centre of the field is reserved for the many activities that take place during the day (football coaching, cricket matches between the kids etc). There's a play park for the kids and a very burger van on site.

The toilet blocks were very clean, although the showers were a little too hot for our kids and they aren't adjustable. You pay a 20 deposit for the toilet key, plus a card that operates the barrier to get in and out of the site. We had to leave early on Sunday (8. 40) but the reception didn't open until 9 and the warden wouldn't come and let us check out early, so we had to return later that day to get our deposit back. Worth noting this if you plan to check out early one morning and haven't made previous arrangements with them.

No pub or shop on site, but there is a pub just 2 mins walk that does two for one deals all day every day.

We will more than likely be using this site again 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fish111 3 reviews from this member

 Great place and we have visited this site lots of times. A play area keeps the kids entertained and if the weather is kind there is plenty of space in the field to have fun and play games including large scale water fights!

The facilities are good, clean and plentiful and the staff on arrival are friendly and welcoming.

Lots of activities throughout the year including sports days, football competitions & talent contests so make sure you go there with a view to join in and have fun.

If the weather is not so good then a Wacky Warehouse is a two minute walk away as an alternative to sheltering in your tent for hours on end plus Southport with its attractions and funfair is a short drive away too. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adventurors 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights in May2011 with our tourer to visit the Southport Food Festival. The site has an entry barrier operated by a key card a 20 deposit required for this and toilet block key refunded on departure. There are a large number of long-term residents we don't mind this as it usually makes for a quieter site and better looked after facilities. The toilet block is immaculate,hot showers, fully stocked with toilet roll etc and with a coin operated hair dryer 20p gave 20mins of drying. There is no site shop but the nearby village would provide for all your needs and larger supermarkets are available in nearby Southport. There are also several excellent farm shops nearby.We visited on a Thursday and Friday and found the site very quiet in spite of being busy. We will use this site again when next in the area 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Millet 31 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over the Easter weekend.

Was very busy, especially with tents. This made for a busy toilet block. But it was kept clean and tidy never the less. Cleaning time seemed lengthy though.

No pub but there is one close by. Lots of residents on the site. Some do seem on the quirky side. Very protective of grass!

Road to the side was good. Track round the site became stone/limestone but seemed in okay condition. As was said on another review the residents have a tarmac area to drive on.

Didn't bother us.

Key operated barrier and toilet block which was refunded on departure.

Great play area for children.

Would recommend for families on this alone.

Would return here if in the area again. 


Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shirlnick 7 reviews from this member

 We visited this park for 3 nights, for the time of year it was a great break. The chickens and cockerels roaming round added to our holiday, as did the early morning call, we loved it has did our 6 yr old. Park having a bit of repair work done, as we left on the tues morning, so will be all the better for when we return again. Thanks to all staff. The toilets/showers we found to be very clean although the cleaning times seem to be a bit long at the weekend. The pub across the road we found to be excellent, two for one meal deal. Our 6 yr old loved the ball play area two hrs for 2.50 kept her happy after tea. 


Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Royal Umpire 1 review from this member

 I would like to respond to the previous review from Ladyleon. We apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay, we have pitches varying from 25ft to 35ft and we always try to allocate a pitch suitable. The site is undergoing a number of improvements now we are approaching the end of winter. There is 100 tonne of stone in the compound that will be spread around the bottom half of site at the beginning of next week to solve the pothole problems. The dog walk is across the fields so at this time of year it can get a little boggy. Rainfall was so heavy the previous week it caused the river in Croston village to come up over the walls and flood the main road. In the dog exercise area this week we have flagged a path down the centre and across the back, the remaining area is to be soiled and seeded next month. Unfortunately there was a fault with the exit barrier on Saturday 12th February. An engineer was called in first thing Monday morning to repair it.

Best regards,

Joe Howard

Royal Umpire 


Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Zyroman 2 reviews from this member

 Well, our first time out in our new motorhome and it did not go entirely as planned. We booked a pitch with water as I wanted to fill our tank with water so I could add cleaning fluid this being a second hand van that has stood for a while. We turned up and were allocated a pitch which we drove to. Turns out it is way to short for our 8M van so back up to reception. Yep, you guessed it, no other pitches with water available so we were given a longer standard pitch (with no offer of a refund for the extra paid for a 'wet pitch' )disappointing as I would have thought that when they ask for the unit length on the online booking system you would be allocated a pitch you can fit on. Other than that we had a good time, the facilities were clean and warm and no problem with the noise other people mentioned but that might be because it was out of season. Yes, it does seem a bit like a trailer park in America in some areas but we are not Caravan snobs so no bother to us. 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Royal Umpire Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Royal Umpire Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Royal Umpire Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3472 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement