Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Royal Umpire Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Royal Umpire Caravan Park Reviews

Royal Umpire Caravan Park
Southport Road
Croston
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR26 9JB
Tel: 01772 600 257
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 180 & Large Rally Fiield + Camping Pods
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 119 Reviews
                7/10 from 119 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ladyleon 3 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a weekend here and to be honest was disappointed even though it is supposed to be a camping and caravanning club Bellamy award site.

On entering the site there seems to be lots of residential caravans and noted that they had a lovely tarmacked road whereas the tourers road was full of pot holes and only hardcore.

The pitch we were allocated was for a twin axle caravan and it was not long enough leaving the hitch sticking out into the road. Also it was not wide enough as it only barely fit the caravan and the car - if we had an awning there would have been nowhere for the car!

On arrival the toilets and showers seemed clean and warm enough, although my husband had a shower and said the water came out in a trickle.

The dog walk was a muddy playing field, although this is a wet time of year, there was also a dog exercise area which was very smelly.

Local pub across the road was not very good either, but the Rose & Crown down the road was excellent both for food, politeness and friendliness.

The security barrier, which we thought was a very good idea, which we had to pay 20 cash for on arrival, was open for the majority of the weekend, therefore not very secure!

The location is quite good for exploring this area. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Howard95 4 reviews from this member

 Came back for our third visit of the year. Site has very good facilities. Two pubs within yards, excellent showers, play area and playing field for children.

The site is also very dog friendly, having a secure dog exercise area where you can let your dogs off the lead and they are perfectly safe.

The pitches are wide and the site is always kept very clean. The staff are also very helpful.

The area is good for travelling to Southport or Blackpool but the only downside is that when a rally is on the showers do deteriorate very badly. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Freddyk 1 review from this member

 We visited this site in September. 2 adults and the dog.

On arrival, we were very impressed, there is a security barrier as you drive in and reception on the left.

Very helpful staff, giving clear directions to pitch and a map.

The Pitch was great (Luckily we had nice weather!)and flat. EHU as requested for an extra 2.00.

We were situated with a high hedge behind us, so it was fab as a natural windbreak.

Toilet block and showers immaculate when we arrived on Friday. However by Saturday they were very dirty. To be honest though,the site was very very busy and the toilets were due to be cleaned at 12pm.

Very strange that the toilets/showers are closed for almost 3 hours for cleaning! But there is another block up near reception.

The site itself is well laid out, clean and tidy.

Mainly residential and tourers though - not very many tents.

A great play park for the kiddies (and adults if youre brave!) A burger van that was on site from 8am-10pm and this was sooooo CHEAP! 1.50 for a burger! Cant go wrong at that price!

The site was in a great location for surrounding areas - Southport beach is only 20 mins away.

The only negative I have to add is the LOUD LOUD music coming from the nearby hotel - this had karaoke on until they called last orders at 1.30am!

Great dog walks nearby, and a good 2for1 meal pub just outside of the camp gates.

I think the site could improve by having a little shop for essentials on site. Just for bread, milk etc.

In all. A great site - but I would go back mid-week and avoid the Saturday night disco! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JUSSI75 6 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 1 night stay in a tent at the Royal Umpire with my wife, 2 kids aged 6 and 2 and the dog. The tent field was very muddy with plenty of puddles and standing water, not good drainage at all compared to other sites.

3 quarters of the field was closed due to a dog show so space was limited to say the least. Play area was ok for the kids although again was very muddy and dangerous. There was a burger van close by which was convenient although we didn't try it.

Cannot comment on the toilet and shower blocks because our key did not work, we didn't realise until late because we had been out all day and we couldn't get reception on the mobile phone to ring the warden(reception was now closed). Luckily the dog show had a portable toilet which we ended up using although couldn't have a shower only a wash.

Overall the tourer and static side of the park seemed nice and clean but the tent field just seems like an after thought and not really cared about. Would not return or recommend, just glad I only booked for one night. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jacs9303 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a very good stay at this site. The camping field is enormous and you are allowed to choose where you choose to pitch. The children's play area is very good and ours spent several hours playing on it.

There are also two goals set about 60mtrs apart that made for great entertainment. On the Saturday night a small game soon developed into a large one with both kids and dads playing until it went dark.

As on previous feedback there is a hotel close by that does host functions and on the Saturday night there was a disco, but I have to say it didn't cause us any problems, and wouldn't let it put you off. Once my earplugs are in I cant here a thing!

On Saturday afternoon the staff hosted a sports day for the kids providing free drinks, sweets and crisps. There were a load of competitions with medals to be won. The only slight issue was there weren't enough medals to go round so some kids had to do without when they had won races. This was taken in good faith though as clearly the staff had worked hard to make it a success.

The toilet and shower block were ok, and clean enough, but I have stayed in places that are superior and don't claim to be a four star site. There isn't a shop on site but staff will print you off a map to find either Somerfield or Tesco which are only a short drive away.

This was a great site for us with two young boys and I didn't expect to enjoy it as much as I did. I will definitely return next year as it is close to home and the kids loved playing there. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Towbarjim 20 reviews from this member

 Grass standing for four nights. 2 adults, two young children and one dog, all for the princely sum of 84. Not bad in consideration of the time of year etc. There is a 20 refundable deposit for the barrier card and toilet key.

There is not shop on site, but a Londis store 5 mins walking distance will supply all the average needs. There was a VW meet ongoing throughout our stay, but it was separate to the standard camper, which was fortunate, because it involved large numbers and loud music until 12 am.

If you enjoy that sort of excitement and drinking bonhomie, then you will enjoy the free entertainment. Otherwise, upon arrival, we found the park extremely quiet. There is a section for the children to swing and slide, but depending upon the weather, it can be a muddy playing area. O.K. When dry.

We arrived during the wet season, which proved too much for our car and caravan to gain access to the grass. A tractor soon rectified that problem. I found the receptionist helpful and pleasant. On one day we travelled to Cedar Farm, which is good for both child and adult and only 10 mins distant.

The fish and chips in Croston are to be recommended. There is a pub and a decent Garden Centre within 5 mins walk. Overall we enjoyed our stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sandrareeve70 1 review from this member

 We chose this site as it was only an hour away and it was our first time camping. We found staff very friendly and helpful.The site is huge and very well laid out. Toilet and shower facilities are excellent. We didn't see the children 95% of the time we were there as they were at the park and football field! Shop within walking distance and a tesco is only 10mins in the car. Only downside for us was no freezer facilities but it definitely wont put us off going back in fact we did for the world cup weekend which was a roaring success. The children ask every weekend when are we going back to the royal umpire. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Canvascampers 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely weekend here, helped along by great facilities, good company and fantastic weather and without doubt the price of only 10 a night (A June special).

There were 13 of us in 4 tents and we arrived quite late on Friday evening due to work commitments, this wasn't a problem, the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful.

Having not been to this site before we were taken aback by its size and how busy the site was, however, we found a large enough spot for all us to camp together. I should point we pitched at the back of the field next to the hotel and on Saturday night there was a wedding on which included a cheesy disco think conga and the locomotion, this didn't bother us though in fact we enjoyed the music which finished at 11.30 pm. Furthermore, a gentleman from the site did come around and asked if everything was ok to which we gave a resounding yes. I am sure some people would not have appreciated the music but plenty of reviews on here comment and identify where the hotel is (our friends further up the field heard nothing).

We had a positive stay and have booked for 2 more weekends in July. The pitch was flat (a bit hard in areas to peg) but well cared for, the play area and football pitch are great

The toilets were clean (except late in the evening when some people can't be bothered using the bins or the hand dryer), the showers were hot and plenty available, there is a on site snack van (only foods and sauces) and the ice cream van visits regularly

The location is great - the Rose and Crown serves fab food and there is a 2 for 1 pub called the Highfield just across the road with bingo on a Friday night, a garden centre close by, a Tescos about 10 mins drive away and the lovely village of Croston a short walk away.

There was plenty of walking areas for the dogs (we have 3) and rambling delights all in all we had a great stay and are looking forward to the next visit 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stenloz 1 review from this member

 We stayed at royal umpire because it was reasonably local to try our new tent, we were a bit wary after reading some reviews about the noise from the adjacent hotel but to be honest camping with 4 children you would not expect to sleep before midnight and the music from the hotel was not intrusive and ended at 12 midnight so no sleep was lost.

We checked in at 5pm and check in was really easy and staff very friendly the camping field is huge even on this busy weekend because the weather was great finding a large pitch was really easy all pitches seemed to be on good level ground.

I would not say the toilets were the cleanest but to be honest the site was so busy it would have been difficult to improve other than my only slight suggestion would be an additional shower/wc block in the tent field and also no EHU in the camping field but not a major issue.

The surrounding public footpath through the adjacent farm land is a fantastic walk our labrador loved it!

The play area is great and our children were invisible for most of the weekend!

We are new to camping and yes the great weather was a real plus but we would recommend this site and will be returning you don't realise what's on your own door step sometimes! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Vickynewby 9 reviews from this member

 Decided to book this site last minute, so all they had left were hard standing pitches. The site is large and busy, but friendly and does quieten down at night.

There is a fabulous kid's playground and the toilets and showers very clean. There is a security barrier too and the wardens are very friendly and helpful. The pitch we were given was next to the main road around the site and the only downside of this was that for some reason, cars were driving round the site at gone midnight and then from 5.30am which I found very odd and annoying!

There is no shop or other facilities, but there is a petrol station down the road with a good sized shop and just across the road is a large family pub with an outdoor and indoor play area.

There is a map available from reception showing local walks and we tried some out, and will definitely go back to try out some more as this site is quite local to us.

The site is predominantly occupied by seasonal tourers, with a few available pitches and then a large camping field. I must comment that where we were pitched, we couldn't really hear the hotel that others have commented on, but I could see this might be an issue from the camping field which is much nearer. We were closer to the main Southport road though, which you do get quite a bit of noise from, but you only really notice this at night time.

The only other downside is the price, we paid 23 a night for a pitch with EHU which we thought was a bit steep, but they do have special offers on from time to time, so will keep an eye out for those. 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Royal Umpire Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Royal Umpire Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Royal Umpire Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3679 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement