Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Carsington Fields Caravan Park And Rally Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Carsington Fields Caravan Park And Rally Site Reviews

Carsington Fields Caravan Park And Rally Site
Millfields Lane
Carsington Water
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3JS
Tel: 01335 372872
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: Easter To Sept

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 92 Reviews
                9/10 from 92 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Val lisle 1 review from this member

The site is so obviously cared for. The owners and staff are genuinely lovely folk and made us feel so welcome. The little shop on site is really well stocked and even has a welly box and an outside toy box for customers to borrow. My 8 yr old niece was stung by a wasp and the staff were so kind and helpful, supplying us with their own potions plus lollies!

Carsington Water is a short walk away and a fab place to spend a day. We hired bikes and cycled the 8 miles around the reservoir. The playground proved very popular too. Close by is the Knockerdown pub which has good value meals (huge portions) plus a playground and resident ostrich!

I suppose the site showers could do with updating although for 3 nights, we managed fine. The family shower room at 2 for 30mins was definitely worth it.

I think the site may also benefit from a few swings and slides too.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Val4syth 1 review from this member

Entirely agree with the rave reviews already posted. Would have given it a resounding 10 except for the showers. The site price is deservedly at the top end but I would expect that to include showers, which cost 1. The cubicles are very cramped and the shower head is fixed so that you have to wash your hair whether you wanted to or not (definitely recommend taking a shower cap. ) The temperature cannot be regulated and the flow is by push button, which of course goes off at annoyingly short intervals. We were also unlucky with less than hot water though other reviewers suggest this is not usual.

Having said that, we shall definitely be going again as in all other respects we loved it.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ANGEDAWS 23 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fantastic weekend at Carsington Fields with 6 adults and 5 kids between 7 and 16 and everyone loved it. The site is easy to get to if you are towing, no narrow or difficult roads and it is easy to find from the motorways.

After many years of camping we can quickly spot the sites where the owners really care about the place and want you to have a good time. This is definitely one of those places. We wanted 3 pitches together, 1 with EHU and this was no problem, in fact the site organised the pitches to make sure that we had plenty of space.

We were in the top field, the middle part is kept free for the kids to play and this worked really well. In fact there is a real feeling of space about the whole site which is nice.

Facilities were spotless but only 2 showers for men and 2 for women. This didn't seem to be a problem when we were there and at least the site didn't try and cram too many tents and caravans in.

An easy walk to Carsington Water, even for our reluctant 7 year old, and this is definitely worth a visit.

A special mention must go to the staff who are so friendly and helpful and must work really hard to keep this place looking so good.

We will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bendog 21 reviews from this member

I can only echo what all the previous comments have said about this site, owners so helpful and everything about this site just so nice. You will not be disappointed with this site if you want a quiet relaxing break away from it all, children and dogs also made very welcome, will definitely be using this site as often as possible

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Spiceypip 6 reviews from this member

Just come back from a two day break. Loved it, loved it, loved it. Great field for the dogs. Very friendly and helpful staff. I forgot the bacon but they had some in their shop, and free range eggs from the resident hens. All double yokers. The showers and toilets were great. Even the chemical toilet disposal area was nice and clean. Even had hand sanitizer and a little knome garden. Sounds strange but you have to see it. It's a lovely relaxing site even though it was during the school holidays. Lovely walk to carsington water. I cant fault this site at all. Its brill. Cant wait to go again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Zecis1 6 reviews from this member

This site delivered a perfect stay for my wife, a camping virgin. She had resisted camping for 25 years of marriage, but ended up being cornered by an ex boss and great friend. The 4 of us ( two couples) had a fantastic time.

This is the cleanest site I have ever seen in the uk, it is complete in every sense. I would not hesitate to unreservedly recommend it.

It is designed for visiting Carsington, but Ashbourne and other great places are close by- a great find

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rstorey 4 reviews from this member

What a lovely site. We visited at the beginning of August with friends and had a fabulous time. We had the pick of pitches in the top field. With only a couple other tents in the field it was fab for the children.

The toilets and showers were spotlessly clean and only a couple of minutes walk. The site is very close to carsington water which is well worth a visit. Ashbourne is also close if you need the shops.

My only gripe about the site is the walk from the top field to the bins. The site is very keen on recycling but could offer nearer drop off points for those in the top field.

We also made use of the local Indian which delivers to the site. Excellent service and the food was good.

Overall a cracking site that we will definitely revisit in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nicdak 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here over the weekend as a lone camper with my two dogs. Made to feel extremely welcome and owners/wardens very friendly and helpful. The site has a lovely feel to it and is very peaceful. The toilet / shower block is very good with items in to use if you have forgotten anything. There is a fantastic dog walking field and there is a lovely walk down to Carsington Water, on this occasion as it was so hot I did not walk all the way round the reservoir. Already planning more visits, thank you Carsington Fields.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TimKing 3 reviews from this member

Although we have visited many camp sites throughout the UK, this was our very first with a caravan! Being brand new to caravanning we were quite apprehensive about our first trip out! I was quite worried about getting it onto the pitch and setting it up! I need not have worried! We were given a very warm and friendly welcome by the owners! They took us to our pitch and then helped us to position the caravan and get things set up. Later came back to check that we were ok and told us to ask if we needed any help at all.

The site is lovely. It is clearly well maintained and very user friendly. It was so peaceful and had a really good feeling about it.

The dog walking field was brilliant for our energetic dog. The water points are well situated and the electric hook up was problem free.

We had constant use of the free wifi and the TV reception was excellent. I'm on O2 and the mobile signal for calls / texting was fine.

We walked the short distance ( which is safe and off road) to Carsington Water visitor centre.

I would most certainly recommend this site to my family and friends and we will definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: V70tom 3 reviews from this member

We been there last weekend.

Very clean, grass cut, large site as such, some Hardstanding, Rally side, big play area for kids and adults ( with into age related games, lol ). A pond in the middle with a big rabbit, ( not for BBQ ).

A big nice Dog Walk Area, Tent side, Ehu available, wifi advertised, near carsington waters ( 1 mile ), all in all very friendly and familiar.

The toilets are very friendly and nice, fresh flowers every day, some stuff they supply you can use, like shower gel, shampoo, deodorant and stuff, never seen this before on a side.

The showers nice and hot, just a bit too small in my opinion.

The WIFI Access is fairly poor, you only get good signal near the office otherwise if you use a ipad or something modern you can't get signal. My old notebook just managed.

I did not have any mobile reception, neither mobile network, but it looks is supported by O2 in this area.

The tent side is also very clean and very space.

Hardstanding are great and big.

Ehu available around the side, even for tents and Rally side.

No you can't swim in the pond!

There is a pen at the dog walking are with chickens, therefore you can buy fresh eggs in the shop,

Also supplies with news papers if you want them, and other basics.

There is a supply of dog poo bags around the caravan side which is very nice from the owners in case

Someone has the excuse he forgot this, lol,

It is quiet located even is next to the main road to carsington waters.

Well, you can hear some tosses speeding there motorbikes up and down on Saturday night, and the lorrys in the morning, but nothing major to complain.

We loved being there, big family / disabled shower room.

Easy walk around the site.

Ashbourne is about 20 minutes away, buxton about 40 minutes.

Unless you want to go shopping most entertainment like biking etc is available at carsington waters.

We definitely coming back as we enjoyed the very warm welcome, friendly owners, helpful advise and nice chats.

People on side are friendly and always chatting with you.

Missus had an issue being woken up by the ducks in the morning but she could hardly tell them off. Ha ha

If you looking for a nice, familiar, friendly and clean side, this is the one.

Just don't expect being on the internet all day. Lol

Tv reception is fairly good on standard caravan top aerials.

Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2338 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019