Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Carsington Fields Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Carsington Fields Caravan Park > Reviews

Carsington Fields Caravan Park
Millfields Lane
Carsington Water
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3JS
Tel: 01335 372872
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 17/03/2024 to 01/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clueseau 1 review from this member

 It's only the second time we've been out in our van but we chose wisely by picking Carsington Fields. The surroundings were very peaceful and the dog walking facilities excellent. The welcome could not have been warmer or more helpful. The hook-ups are lit at night and close to the pitches. The toilet block was absolutely spotless and the water was hot and plentiful, for a pound I thought it was reasonable. We chose the site as it was close to Carsington Water where I went trout fishing, and as a thank-you I gave a trout to the owner. The grounds were immaculately kept and I didn't see any litter or dog waste. I can recommend this site to anyone. Just a short drive away is Matlock where there is plenty to see and do, and even closer is the Knockerdown pub that serves excellent food and the beer is great! 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wooltman 22 reviews from this member

 What a great site, friendly wardens and lovely views. Carsington reservoir is close by and is an easy walk from the site.

The toilet block is small but is very clean. We visited Ashbourne, Wirksworth and Matlock all full of amazing shops and things to see. There is so much to do in the area, we took a trip on the Ecclesbourne Valley railway this is well worth a visit, at the Peak railway at Matlock you may be lucky enough to get a steam train ride.

The road by the campsite is busy but not to noisy,

We would visit again if in the area. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bmwbabe 2 reviews from this member

 We have been going to this site for many years after not being able to use the caravan site next door and have kept going back. The site manager and her husband are so helpful, and keep the site so clean and well maintained it never feels too busy as the central area of the site is always free of campers and is only used for children to play on. The showers are hot and spotless - worth 1. Even when the site is classed as full, the facilities are in no way overstretched.

I have several dogs and the dog walk on site is ideal. I love this site so much and I am sure anyone who tries it will also fall for its charm. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grahamnshaz 1 review from this member

 Just spent week at this lovely campsite were every thing is very well kept showers and toilets were spotless. The dog walk was spot on, you could let them off to run.

The wardens who were very friendly and always went the extra mile to help nothing was to much trouble for them. Would certainly return to this campsite when back in the area.

Short walk to casington water short drive to ashbourne and belper both nice towns 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stanmoor 6 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely weekend at this site finding the welcome very warm, the pitches level and large and the site spacious. It is well situated for walks and activities. The nearest pubs need a bit of a trek but are well worth the effort. We did a round walk which took in 3 villages and 3 pubs which was picturesque and not too strenuous.

The site is much less compact than the neighbouring Caravan Club site and much easier to pitch up. The only problem we had was the shower block. A charge of 1 per shower was unwelcome given the standard of the toilet block. Only two showers with a push button operation and even more annoying a sensor on the lights which meant the light kept going off requiring a hand waved about outside the shower to get another 2 minutes of light. I don't think children would cope very well with this set up and a family going for showers would find their bill being bumped up quite a bit. Only 2 showers for such a large site is not enough and we were put off the site by the penny pinching on the showers. Given the choice, because of this, I would choose the CC site next door. A shame really because this is a really friendly well run site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cottagegardener 1 review from this member

 We booked into this site fairly last minute over the Bank Hol weekend, lots of other places were full but the site manager couldn't have been kinder on the phone saying that they would 'squeeze us in'. That said, I kind of expected the site to be heaving and not up to much. I was totally wrong. Upon arrival, both the site manager and her husband were friendly and welcoming, it didn't feel too busy and nothing was too much trouble for them. We asked about local facilities (ie - where the pubs were!) and they were open and honest about what was available & what they were like.

They put us in a perfect pitch overlooking a wide open space which we assumed (wrongly) would be full of campers by the end of the day. No, on this site, they keep the whole central area free of campers (they explained that the area was for children to play on. We didn't have ours with us this time, but had they been there, they would have loved it).

The showers were compact but hot and spotless - worth 1 and we didn't have to wait, indeed, considering the site was classed as full, the facilities were in no way overstretched. We couldn't fault the loos and there was even a basket of toiletries in the bathrooms (both the mens & womens) in case you'd forgotten anything.

There were 2 decent pubs within biking distance and the beautiful attractions of Dovedale and Tissington just a 15 minute drive away. All in all, a perfect few days escape and this site is definitely on our list to return to. Also a total bargain at 15 per night. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sharpei1 2 reviews from this member

 The site is pretty close to home in Chesterfield and was a good start to our camping career !

It was easy to find and the attendants met us straight away with friendly smiles.

The acreage is good at the site and units are not packed together-we chose our own spot close to a beech hedge slight slope but that was my fault for choosing it !

The camp was peaceful and everyone was mindful of everyone else.

The toilet/shower block is clean with free shower gel/soap etc.

Drinking water taps are sited around the site and hook ups are available.

Price for the pitch was 15 very- reasonable.

We had a lovely night at the site and visited Ashbourne on Saturday which is only a few miles away.

Carsington water is fabulous for walking and cycling round and full water sports facilities are available.

We would recommend this site to others and will definitely be visiting it again ! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tench 10 reviews from this member

 This was our first stop on a two week trip in a rented motor home so we were completely green and unsure what to expect. We needn't have worried as the owner greeted us on arrival and helped us with everything we needed including a top up of the water tank.

There is a small shop as part of reception selling a few essentials including the bag of sugar that we had forgotten.

The site itself is neat and tidy and the pitches reasonably level although our pitch was on grass which was a little soft given the recent rain.

There is just the one toilet and shower block and not a very big one at that so it was a bit awkward at busy times. Showers were a 1 a time as well which we did not see on any other sites. All that said they were clean and everything worked.

It is just a short walk to Carsington Water although the weather didn't permit a walk there.

Note that the TV, 3G and phone signal are all very weak at this site so be prepared to find alternative entertainment. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tsanders 1 review from this member

 We had a fantastic stay the campsite is in a great location with a short walk to Carsington Waters.

There are plenty of villages around to visit. The wardens were very friendly and met us on arrival.

The pitches had plenty of space and the site was quiet at night. There is a good area for dog walking.

The toilet and wash facilities were very clean and had a basket of essentials if you forget yours. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Em00tjw 1 review from this member

 My wife and I stayed here the last weekend they were open last year (2011), and again this weekend.

We find it to be a lovely well thought out site - gravel tracks and hardstandings for tourers and tracks into the camping areas.

We use our own facilities so cannot comment on the showers etc. There are numerous water points around the site and a large dog walk area.

For those that think it's expensive try parking at Carsington Water! 2. 50 for two hours! (I drove the kids down for a treat after tea, you have to pay at all times!)

We have found the wardens and owners to be polite and helpful at all times.

I would recommend for those looking for somewhere fairly quiet 


Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Carsington Fields Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carsington Fields Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Carsington Fields Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


56663 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement