Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Carsington Fields Caravan Park And Rally Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Carsington Fields Caravan Park And Rally Site
Millfields Lane
Carsington Water
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3JS
Tel: 01335 372872
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: Easter To Sept

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 92 Reviews
                9/10 from 92 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hug_away 1 review from this member

Excellent weekend away. Used site as base to visit Alton Towers, (30 mins away). Shower block costs a £1, but once door open both my daughter and I could use. Water little intermitant in flow but shower warm (if little small). But clean and tidy.

Site wasn't that busy and pitches are good sized. DO NOT TRUST YOUR SAT NAV.

Owners stay on site and are very friendly.

Carsington lakes 15 min walk, but so busy we went back to the campsite and played on the open area.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davers 1 review from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights. The owners on the whole were pleasant. The site was immaculately kept, grass cut, toilet block cleaned at regular intervals. There is a good sized dog walking field.

The downside. No shop so would recommend you stock up on supplies. We were close to the road at the back so sometimes a little noisy.

The showers were £1 so a little expensive. Also, although children are welcome, there is not much for them to do. Yes there is a grassed area for the children to play on but we unfortunately had rain so it was a bit muddy. You are allowed to cycle around but you have to go really carefully because of the caravans around the site.

The surrounding area is beautiful and it is a lovely walk to carsington resevoir.

Had a really good time, this is a relaxing site.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: TheCalams 1 review from this member

Just visited the site for one night to test out our new trailer tent. Rang to book the night before on the off chance of a pitch.
Lovely welcome when we arrived. We did have great weather which always helps but the site is well kept and the toilet facilities kept clean on a regular basis. I would imagine that when the site is full that there would be queues for the showers. Close enough to Carsington Reservoir to walk to and Ashbourne a short drive away. Would certainly return!

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PeteLuc 22 reviews from this member

Just came back from what was a superb yet disastrous weekend! On arrival we were met by the most friendly of staff ever. Everything was clearly pointed out.

Now the fun starts! On arrival on pitch, I made the mistake of assuming the grass area across from the pitch was fine to go on; it looked like it had recently been cut.

Unfortunately there had been a lot of rain and the 4x4 promptly sank! Thanks to the other 2 guys for the tow out. Very much appreciated. First time ever stuck and I've been in some bad places!

I could imagine the owners watching in horror as some idiot went and ruined their lovely field. Then one of the plastic connectors to the hot water tank split and filled the van with 30 litres of water!

Anyway, thats got nothing to do with the site. I felt so bad about ruining the grass that I had to own up. The attitude astounded me. I thought they would probably go mad, yet I was greeted with 'don't worry, things happen'!

The site itself is very well kept and looks great. The shower blocks and toilets were kept very clean and tidy, as was the whole site. A dog walking area has been provided.

The site has some lovely views and is located close to Carsington Water, Ashbourne and Matlock Bath providing an excellent base.

Carsington is well within walking distance and is worth a visit. The whole of the local area has plenty of walks. There are a couple of pubs within a few minutes drive or a short walk.

All in all, this site is well worth staying at, is in a picturesque area, close to the Peak, very clean and run by friendly people. Will be going back again, in fact we booked again whilst there!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ju6573 2 reviews from this member

This is an excellent place to stay, all staff are very friendly and helpful. Plenty of room for the children to run around and to walk dogs. Next to Carsington Water, which is a lovely area to explore. A short drive to Gullivers Kingdom, another great day out for the family. Local pubs/ places to eat, all very friendly. Enjoyed so much going back again this year.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Topbrewer 3 reviews from this member

Hi, Just got back from this small but nice site, plenty of room between pitches. Clean site. Toilet block very smart and well kept, only 2 showers in block though and these cost a pound each. We paid 15 pounds for the night with leccy, and another pound on top of this I think is a bit off, especially when there might be 4 of you in the party. 15 mins walk to Carsington Resevoir then another hours walk to the visitors centre. Nice walk though. Didnt see a pub close by, site is very dark at night, no site lighting, nice sounds of wildlife at night, owls and cock pheasants etc. No on site shop, The people who run the site are very pleasant and were constantly working on the site so when we revisit something new will have popped up im sure. Mobile phone and telly signals are limited due to the hilly nature of the area.Overall good rural site. Would probably revisit.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brodix 7 reviews from this member

A very well maintained site and owners friendly. However the toilet block although very clean is quite small and compact and got very busy at times although there was a caravan rally on the weekend we went. Also showers a bit disappointing for £1 a time. In parts the site is quite close to a road which you could here traffic at all times of day and night. Site dark at night toilet block on timer so only lights up when you approach the block and if you spend too long in block you are plunged into darkness! Plenty of space for kids to run around no play area though. Ideally situated with plenty to see and do nearby.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jo.s 1 review from this member

Wonderful site only a short walk from Carsington Waters, which is great for all ages.  We visited with children and they had plenty of room to ride their bikes etc. Very clean toilet block with complimentary toiletries which I have never seen anywhere else before, a lovely touch (£1 for a shower though).  A bit of a hike to the rubbish bins (front entrance) could do with more bins around the site.  Owners very friendly.  Would definitely use this site again.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taluka 1 review from this member

We choose this campsite for our first camping trip with child aged 2.
Pleasantly surprised how welcoming it was and how attractive it looked. Pitch was large but some of the field was wet and muddy and unsuitable so we could spread out a bit.
Lots of families with young children and a little play house with toys in like tractors, bikes, balls to play with which my little one liked. Showers were £1 each and the cubicle was very small but water nice and hot and some free toiletries in the ladies which I thought was a nice touch.
 
Ideal location for exploring Carsington Water, we drove there but it was near enough to walk to. Ashbourne not far away with banks, supermarket etc.
Nice pubs all around, we didn't eat in any but they looked good.
Food at Carsington restaurant lovely and wholesome. Lots of little shops there too, like the health food one and the bookshop was well stocked.
Would definitely return to site again, friendly people, dog walking area and lots of interesting leaflets in toilet block.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frogget_66 2 reviews from this member

Carsington was our second forage into the camping experience and once again we were not disappointed, apart from the British weather of course. It poured down upon arrival on Friday and again Sunday when we left. The real feel for this site came about with a relatively sunny day when we were able to explore the excellent facilities at Carsington Water nearby. An impressively clean and tidy toilet/shower block. Plenty of good humoured camaraderie around the outside pots and pans wash area as we all tried to make light of the bad weather, despite the optimistic predictions during the week. In all a good friendly site, but with no other amenities make sure you take plenty of provisions.

Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2220 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!