Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Carsington Fields Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Carsington Fields Caravan Park > Reviews

Carsington Fields Caravan Park
Millfields Lane
Carsington Water
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3JS
Tel: 01335 372872
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 17/03/2024 to 01/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nors 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site even on August Bank Holiday. The owners were very welcoming, helping us to find a sheltered pitch out of the wind. The site has a lovely open feel to it, with plenty of space left clear for children to play in etc. The owner makes a point of not over booking the site, and there was a 'site full' sign up, even though there was a lot of empty space which on many sites would have been crammed full.Shower and toilet block is small, but kept very clean and warm. My 11 year old son voted them 'amazing'.

Lots to do in the area. Carsington Water is a short walk away and has lots of activities at reasonable cost. An hours canoeing costs 10.00 including hire of a wet suit. Poole's Cavern at Buxton is interesting for an afternoon and is part of the country park set in lovely countryside. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kosb2446 5 reviews from this member

 The staff were very friendly and help full.We used this site as a base to get to alton towers and derby. Carsington water is a good place to go for a walk. The sites toilet block is clean and has focelites to do washing up in but paying one pound for a shower is steep as any wear else you would ether pay twenty pence or you would not have to pay anything. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lozzer 4 reviews from this member

 Would like to say what a welcoming and friendly site. The staff were very helpful, very polite and always available if you had a problem.
The site was very clean and well maintained, with a newly built shower block which was kept very clean and with plenty of hot water, you have to pay 1 for a shower which did not bother us a family of 7,as 2 of us would go in together, but when you consider the sites fees this is not a problem.
Also there was sinks for you to do your dishes again with hot water. There is plenty of space for the children to play in. We had a lovely walk to the Carsington Water. The site was very peaceful and relaxing. Overall excellent site with excellent fees, will be using again very soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alibongo61 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend at this site with three other families, so we had 4 tents / trailer tent between us. Site owners were friendly and helpful. Pitches were ample and slightly sloping.
When we booked there were not enough electric hook up pitches available, so we opted to go without, which was no hardship. But it did mean we were situated quite a way from the toilet / shower block and close to the road that ran past it, which was occasionally a bit noisy.
The site was very busy with quite a few big parties which meant that the toilet / shower block was running to full capacity and members of our party had to queue several times, even for the loo! There were only 3 loos, 2 small handbasins and 2 showers in a very small area.
Also the pot washing area was rather small and at the side of the toilet block, after the first night we ended up heating water and washing pots etc by the tents.

We know the area quite well, only living about 40 mins away, so were able to take full advantage of the facilities at Carsington Water, which this campsite is ideally situated for. Overall a nice well kept site in a beautiful setting, but a bit lacking in ablution facilities. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chris Bull 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here on a showery weekend. This was to our advantage as people had seen the forecast and wimped out making the site quiet for us !

The site is easy to find and a great location to walk to Carsinton Water and its attractions. Site has a large pond which is very well stocked with very greedy fish and a useful dog walk, although the grass can be long so expect a soaking wet dog!

Owners were very friendly and helpful. The toilet block is small but OK when not busy. It's heated and always has hot water. Our gripe is that you had to pay a 1 per shower and the showers were 'cosy' and needed a good scrub. If staying as a group / family I'd advise going at once and making the pound work. Owners should consider revising this charge or perhaps put it in their details. This probably will prevent us going again as it added 2-4 a night to the pitch. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mandipa 5 reviews from this member

 Would definitely come back here again - it was quiet (I think everyone else had seen the forecast - terrible weather!), beautiful area, very friendly staff despite being busy organising their own children's birthday party at the same time as running the site!

Toilet block was one of the best I've seen - not even a cobweb let alone a spider, always toilet roll and soap and towels, and complimentary toiletries to use if needed. No shop but not a problem as we were only there for a weekend. Plenty of wildlife - cows in the field behind us, various birds of prey and other birds to spot.

Slightly sloping pitch but plenty of room, sheltered by high hedges and trees. Carsington Water few minute's drive away. Would recommend Cromford Village for a quick look around, very pretty. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RIMMER 203 reviews from this member

 Booked in to this campsite by mistake instead of the caravan club site up the road and was not disappointed with a very friendly welcome to a large site consisting of two large fields, one with a pond. Yes there was some road noise but disappears at night.
Was charged 19/night for two adults with ehu on hardstanding,the downside being the extra 1 for a shower but this perhaps is reflected in the immaculate condition of the toilets.
The site is rather remote with no pub/shop within reasonable walking distance but is good for cyclists with a cycle route along the perimeter of the nearby Carsington water but is steep in parts.
We cycled to the award winning GBG listed Barley Mow in Kirk Ireton where beer is served straight out the barrel,however this pub doesn't do food or open till 7pm. In the eve. And don't expect any music either as this is a 'proper pub' with slate floor, old wooden furniture and a real coal fire. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cariad 7 reviews from this member

 We found this site whilst travelling around one weekend looking at all the different sites in the area. We only live 30 minutes away and were looking for somewhere to stay for the May Bank holiday. Everywhere was full but we left our name with this site and sure enough we got a call to say there was a cancellation.

I have never met such friendly people, always willing to help, asking if all is ok and smiling. They even walk you to your pitch.

This site is fab with a great area for children to play ball in the middle of all the pitches. There is a lovely pond that is fenced off and gorgeous friendly ducks that come and sit by you.

Pitches are gently sloping but there are blocks readily available for you to borrow if need be.

Toilets are immaculate with a personal touch of items like deoderant shower gel etc for you to use if you happen to have forgotten them.

There is a Sainsbury's, Co-op and Somerfield in Ashbourne just 5 miles away.

Carsington Water is a 10 min walk from the site with plenty to do.

We like this site so much that we have booked 3 nights for the Whitsun bank holiday. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Spencers69 1 review from this member

 First time away in our new to us caravan after years of tenting. Very warm welcome and lots of advice and help on offer. Guided tour of all facilities given (toilets, water points, waste points etc).

Choice of pitches as quiet. Gently sloping pitch picked and van soon levelled. Lovely views and great atmosphere.

Walked across the dam and to the visitor centre (lovely walk) with a buggy, first 400 yds on grass verge of road (easy enough) but otherwise on paths.

We were allowed to stay until 6pm on day of departure as quiet, was a nice touch.

Toilets and showers immaculate.

Bit of road noise but nothing too disturbing - not a busy road, especially late evening and night.

Overall I'd really recommend it. Very nice staff. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Harrysmum 1 review from this member

 We visited this campsite last weekend and was very impressed with the set up. On arrival the owner changed our pitches to enable us to be next to our fellow campers. The toilet/shower block was very clean and never over busy. The only downside was that you had to pay 1 for entry to the shower cubicle, although once entry was gained, the shower was very clean and plentiful. There were a number of toiletries suplied by the owner to use which was a nice touch and handy if you had forgotten anything.

The hook up pitches were a good size and well laid out, not over cramped as with many other sites, and although the site was full there was still plenty of open space for games and the kids to run around.

It was a peaceful site within walking distance of Carsington Water, but little else in walking distance. It was 15 minutes drive to Ashbourne and set in beautiful surroundings.

I would definitely visit this site again. 


Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Carsington Fields Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carsington Fields Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Carsington Fields Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58645 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement