Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Carsington Fields Caravan Park And Rally Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Carsington Fields Caravan Park And Rally Site
Millfields Lane
Carsington Water
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3JS
Tel: 01335 372872
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: Easter To Sept

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 92 Reviews
                9/10 from 92 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Max n Dave 4 reviews from this member

Have been twice to Carsington Fields this year, at the beginning of April, and the back end of May. On both occasions, we have been welcomed by the hosts and made very welcome. It has been an absolute pleasure to stay there.

On our first visit in April, we were on pitch 12 1/2, no 13

!, which was on an incline but with the aid of some bricks that we for bbq use, I managed to get the van level on the legs, with one side up on a levelling ramp. It was also very windy at this part of the site as it is high up. Having studied the other pitches, on our second visit, we asked for pitch 10, down by the pond which was more or less level and sheltered by some trees.

Located more or less next door to Carsington Water reservoir, it was convenient for a wander round there, visitor centre etc. Etc. , an enjoyable few hours and the weather was with us as well. On our visit there we were blessed with a fly past of a DC3 from the Battle Of Britain Memorial Flight. A spectacular sight I must say.

Ashbourne, Matlock, Bakewell and Buxton are all in easy reach and well worth a visit, also Derby is not far away either. If you fancy a trip to Nottingham, this can be done either by car or by public transport, the Red Arrow service runs from Derby bus station every 10 minutes between the two city's.

We tried the Indian takeaway service that is offered by the site which comes from Matlock. We were a little worried that it may be cold on arrival, but in fact it was the opposite, piping hot and very reasonably priced. Can thoroughly recommend this if you like Indian food.

The toilet block is small, but very clean with toiletries provided should you have forgotten yours at no extra cost. A nice touch. We did not use the shower facilities as we use our own in the van, but understand them to be very good.

All in all, this site is great, quiet, with not too many units crammed in like you can find elsewhere. The hosts are very nice, very helpful and genuinely pleased that you have chosen their location to spend your time away.

Not being too far away from this site enables us to get a 'sneaky' weekend away with not too much effort and will be certainly going back again soon.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ljamfam 28 reviews from this member

Very nice site kept clean and tidy by very helpful owners who delivered our newspaper direct to our motorhome each morning.

Large field for dog walking which had an enclosed pen for the chickens and goats. Nice to have such a large area to let dogs off the lead.

Pitches slope slightly so you need levelling ramps. Our pitch was at the top so looked down right over the site. Unfortunately weather not good while there but plenty of nice walks around Carsington Reservoir made up for it. It's 8. 5 miles right round - well worth the effort.

Just a couple of down points - the pot wash area is really exposed to wind and rain and has very basic facilities. It needs a fence panel (or something) to give a bit of shelter and a re-think on the small shelf which holds the drainer. It's a major balancing act when standing plates etc to drain.

My only other problem was the size of the showers themselves. I did not mind paying the 1 to use them, it's all reflected in the nightly price, but the size of them are really small. Not easy to keep both hair and clothes dry.

Nice site but only for one visit.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ALILOU 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here during the Easter break for 4 nights in our touring caravan. There is not a bad word I can say about it! Even though the sign on the gate said that the site was full, there was plenty of free space for the children to run around due to the owners keeping the green space in the middle of the site free of units. There was a lovely little pond (fenced, so safe for kids) and a bunny called Harry and also in an adjoining field there were pigmy goats and chickens. The facilities, although quite small for the size of the site, were immaculate and the owners and employees of the site were very helpful and friendly, always smiling and looking as if they love being there! It's very handy for Carsington Water and lots of places to see quite close to. The only one thing that slightly marred it (which is quite insignificant really) is the hardstanding pitches needed to be packed down a bit more as the gravel was quite deep and loose which caused us a slight problem when trying to level out our van. But otherwise we loved this site and are looking forward to going back as soon as we possibly can!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kittywhisker 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a short break with tourer and tent. It is a beautiful site located close to Carsington Water. Peaceful, Quiet, Clean - the shower rooms are well worth the extra, even down to the complimentary toiletries. The managers, The owners went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and helpful. The tv. And WIFI are a little unpredictable but, the facilities in general are brilliant even down to catering for young children, they seem to have thought of everything and our spaniel particularly enjoyed the walk. Well worth a visit whether in a tent or tourer. We hope to return soon.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daisyroots 2 reviews from this member

We enjoyed our four nights at this campsite and were made very welcome by the owners. As it was early September there were few campers so the camp was very peaceful. The large grounds are beautifully kept with a large fenced pond and feature rock garden.

We enjoyed walking the dog walk - without a dog. There is an orchard, a hen run and a bench from which to admire the view. The views are lovely even though there is no sight of Carsington Water.

As over sixties we enjoy our comforts and chose Carsington Fields for the quality of its washroom facilities (from reviews). We were not disappointed. The heated block was kept immaculately clean. As the camp was quiet we were given the key to the family bathroom - my husband has some mobility problems so this was very helpful.

The office has a supply of basics - milk, bread, eggs, bacon, etc and a freezer is available for ice packs. I was even offered shelf space in a fridge.

We had trips to Carsington Water Visitor Centre, Ashbourne, Ilam Park, Winksworth, Belper, Bakewell and Kedelston Hall - plenty of places to see without going too far.

We came away with happy memories of Derbyshire - and some apples from the orchard! Thanks.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tootncarmen 1 review from this member

Our review covers a 4 night stay after the August bank holiday, the site was fairly quiet but still a good number of caravans and tents pitched. We were invited to self select a pitch in the top field where we sited close to the hedge on the top. A lovely spot for sun set views over the next few nights. The site is immaculate both the fields and the facilities were very well serviced by the helpful and friendly site managers. Toilets and showers (2 of each) were clean and tidy, paper, handwash and towels all fresh and filled. You need a 1 for a shower - which I think is perfectly acceptable for unlimited hot water and private space - albeit small - not a problem for us. For families there is a shower room available between 11am and 4pm. We didn't have to wait on any day to use the showers or toilets. The location is close for visits for Carsington Water where you can walk or cycle around the lake, without having to take your car the 400 yards up the road to the car park! Washing up facilities were good with unlimited piping hot water and adequate draining space. The site is child friendly with space to run, play, cycle etc without the need for any organised play equipment. And 10/10 to the site managers for friendliness and advice about the locality. Free refreezing of ice packs, lendy bats, balls, wellies. And a small but well stocked and well priced shop. Little bit of road noise in the evening and odd nights of aeroplane noise - but nothing that interfered in our peaceful family break! Looking forward to returning.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stokies 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site for 2 nights (26&27/7/13). Excellent site and very clean toilet/shower facilities. Plenty of room for the children to play. We had a thunderstorm with torrential rain and the owners came to each tent to say that they had set up beds in the barn if needed. What absolute excellent service, although we did stay in our tents. Would definitely recommend this site - close to Carsington Waters too! Thank you for a brilliant weekend.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chezney333 1 review from this member

We stayed here with our children for two nights, we thought it was a lovely site very tidy and clean, toilets block was very clean, 1 for shower but that was ok as was never a queue and was a little basket of shampoo and shower gel etc!

Great dog walk where they can be let off the lead:)

Only thing that let this site down was that there were no play ground for the kids, I think that it would be great to have one as there was plenty of room for one! Would be a great addition so that the adults could relax a bit more

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Clueseau 1 review from this member

It's only the second time we've been out in our van but we chose wisely by picking Carsington Fields. The surroundings were very peaceful and the dog walking facilities excellent. The welcome could not have been warmer or more helpful. The hook-ups are lit at night and close to the pitches. The toilet block was absolutely spotless and the water was hot and plentiful, for a pound I thought it was reasonable. We chose the site as it was close to Carsington Water where I went trout fishing, and as a thank-you I gave a trout to the owner. The grounds were immaculately kept and I didn't see any litter or dog waste. I can recommend this site to anyone. Just a short drive away is Matlock where there is plenty to see and do, and even closer is the Knockerdown pub that serves excellent food and the beer is great!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wooltman 18 reviews from this member

What a great site, friendly wardens and lovely views. Carsington reservoir is close by and is an easy walk from the site.

The toilet block is small but is very clean. We visited Ashbourne, Wirksworth and Matlock all full of amazing shops and things to see. There is so much to do in the area, we took a trip on the Ecclesbourne Valley railway this is well worth a visit, at the Peak railway at Matlock you may be lucky enough to get a steam train ride.

The road by the campsite is busy but not to noisy,

We would visit again if in the area.

Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2776 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!