Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Carsington Fields Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Carsington Fields Caravan Park > Reviews

Carsington Fields Caravan Park
Millfields Lane
Carsington Water
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3JS
Tel: 01335 372872
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 17/03/2024 to 01/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Issym 30 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from this amazing site, we loved it so much that after 30 years of touring we have asked for a seasonal spot here next year.

Where do I start? Well obviously the warmest, friendliest welcome ever, and this is how it was all the time, and the owners even came out of the office to wave us off!

The grass had been cut and was wet which meant you took it into the ablutions, but next time you went it had been cleared away!

We used our own shower so can't comment on the showers but the ablutions were spotless and the hand washing water was hot. There were even toiletries and a clean hand towel every day.

We have no children but I would loved to have come here as a child; it's safe to cycle, lots of space to run around, the duck pond, the goats in the orchard.

We had plenty of space and the pitches have little hedges to mark your territory, but not offensive that you can't chat to your neighbour.

The little stores in the office was great for daily essentials and we shopped in nearby Wirksworth. We had days out at Dovedale, Bakewell, Matlock (Arkwright Mills) and Matlock Bath plus cycled around the reservoir.

I cannot fault this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: M70ssy 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site for 3 nights, well kept site with lovely owners.

Toilets clean but showers are quite small, toiletries for you if you forget to take them in with you

There is a dog walking site which you can let your dog of if you want to.

Lovely friendly ducks that like to be fed

All in all very nice and not over crowdered we would return. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Val lisle 1 review from this member

 The site is so obviously cared for. The owners and staff are genuinely lovely folk and made us feel so welcome. The little shop on site is really well stocked and even has a welly box and an outside toy box for customers to borrow. My 8 yr old niece was stung by a wasp and the staff were so kind and helpful, supplying us with their own potions plus lollies!

Carsington Water is a short walk away and a fab place to spend a day. We hired bikes and cycled the 8 miles around the reservoir. The playground proved very popular too. Close by is the Knockerdown pub which has good value meals (huge portions) plus a playground and resident ostrich!

I suppose the site showers could do with updating although for 3 nights, we managed fine. The family shower room at 2 for 30mins was definitely worth it.

I think the site may also benefit from a few swings and slides too. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Val4syth 1 review from this member

 Entirely agree with the rave reviews already posted. Would have given it a resounding 10 except for the showers. The site price is deservedly at the top end but I would expect that to include showers, which cost 1. The cubicles are very cramped and the shower head is fixed so that you have to wash your hair whether you wanted to or not (definitely recommend taking a shower cap. ) The temperature cannot be regulated and the flow is by push button, which of course goes off at annoyingly short intervals. We were also unlucky with less than hot water though other reviewers suggest this is not usual.

Having said that, we shall definitely be going again as in all other respects we loved it. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: ANGEDAWS 24 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a fantastic weekend at Carsington Fields with 6 adults and 5 kids between 7 and 16 and everyone loved it. The site is easy to get to if you are towing, no narrow or difficult roads and it is easy to find from the motorways.

After many years of camping we can quickly spot the sites where the owners really care about the place and want you to have a good time. This is definitely one of those places. We wanted 3 pitches together, 1 with EHU and this was no problem, in fact the site organised the pitches to make sure that we had plenty of space.

We were in the top field, the middle part is kept free for the kids to play and this worked really well. In fact there is a real feeling of space about the whole site which is nice.

Facilities were spotless but only 2 showers for men and 2 for women. This didn't seem to be a problem when we were there and at least the site didn't try and cram too many tents and caravans in.

An easy walk to Carsington Water, even for our reluctant 7 year old, and this is definitely worth a visit.

A special mention must go to the staff who are so friendly and helpful and must work really hard to keep this place looking so good.

We will definitely be back! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bendog 21 reviews from this member

 I can only echo what all the previous comments have said about this site, owners so helpful and everything about this site just so nice. You will not be disappointed with this site if you want a quiet relaxing break away from it all, children and dogs also made very welcome, will definitely be using this site as often as possible 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Spiceypip 6 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a two day break. Loved it, loved it, loved it. Great field for the dogs. Very friendly and helpful staff. I forgot the bacon but they had some in their shop, and free range eggs from the resident hens. All double yokers. The showers and toilets were great. Even the chemical toilet disposal area was nice and clean. Even had hand sanitizer and a little knome garden. Sounds strange but you have to see it. It's a lovely relaxing site even though it was during the school holidays. Lovely walk to carsington water. I cant fault this site at all. Its brill. Cant wait to go again. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zecis1 6 reviews from this member

 This site delivered a perfect stay for my wife, a camping virgin. She had resisted camping for 25 years of marriage, but ended up being cornered by an ex boss and great friend. The 4 of us ( two couples) had a fantastic time.

This is the cleanest site I have ever seen in the uk, it is complete in every sense. I would not hesitate to unreservedly recommend it.

It is designed for visiting Carsington, but Ashbourne and other great places are close by- a great find 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rstorey 4 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site. We visited at the beginning of August with friends and had a fabulous time. We had the pick of pitches in the top field. With only a couple other tents in the field it was fab for the children.

The toilets and showers were spotlessly clean and only a couple of minutes walk. The site is very close to carsington water which is well worth a visit. Ashbourne is also close if you need the shops.

My only gripe about the site is the walk from the top field to the bins. The site is very keen on recycling but could offer nearer drop off points for those in the top field.

We also made use of the local Indian which delivers to the site. Excellent service and the food was good.

Overall a cracking site that we will definitely revisit in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nicdak 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over the weekend as a lone camper with my two dogs. Made to feel extremely welcome and owners/wardens very friendly and helpful. The site has a lovely feel to it and is very peaceful. The toilet / shower block is very good with items in to use if you have forgotten anything. There is a fantastic dog walking field and there is a lovely walk down to Carsington Water, on this occasion as it was so hot I did not walk all the way round the reservoir. Already planning more visits, thank you Carsington Fields. 


Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Carsington Fields Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carsington Fields Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Carsington Fields Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55041 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement