Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Carsington Fields Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Carsington Fields Caravan Park > Reviews

Carsington Fields Caravan Park
Millfields Lane
Carsington Water
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3JS
Tel: 01335 372872
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 17/03/2024 to 01/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nicholafisher 12 reviews from this member

 Spent two nights here over a weekend. Lovely site situated very close to Carsington Water. Very friendly staff on arrival told us we could camp where we wanted, the place was very spaced out and not too busy at all. Lots of space for the kids to play games.

Toilet facilities were very clean and tidy but just not enough. Ladies have 3 toilets, 2 sinks and 2 showers (1 per time) men have less, so in the morning and early evening there was usually a queue.

Fish & Chip van visits on a Friday at 8pm which was great and ice cream van came on Saturday night about 9pm. Would definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Georgethecamper 1 review from this member

 We were on the top field -smashing views with lovely mown dog walking area around a wild flower meadow. Raised BBQ's allowed - bricks provided. Fenced pond and trees planted in between pitches on lower field - will be great when matured.

Spotless toilets with creams, smellys to help yourself to (lovely touch). Very friendly, helpful staff with reception selling essentials. 5 mins walk to Carsington entrance which is a fantastic place for walking, picnics, wildlife etc. We only had one night but will be back. Thank you. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mobilis 3 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from Carsington Fields after a hot and enjoyable weekend. We found the site to be very good and generally quiet after 11.00pm, but the cockerel that woke us at 4.00am wasn't particularly popular.

Toilet facilities were reasonably clean( apart from the freshly cut grass trailed onto the floors) but were woefully inadequate for the number of pitches. I appreciate that there has been planning issues about increasing the facilities but the men only have two cubicles, one urinal, two sinks (very close to the urinal) and two shower cubicles (1 per go).

Pitch size was excellent, and there's a large space for ball games etc, but no actual playground. The remote location also means a small shop would be handy for basics / sweets / ice cream's this particular hot weekend.

Nice site overall but spoilt by the inadequate bathroom facilities, lack of shop and lack of playground. An opportunity missed I feel by the owners 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lawsyd 5 reviews from this member

 We only stayed here for one night, but one or two things stood out for us.

The owners of the site were really friendly & helpful. You can even order Sunday papers, delivered to your unit by the owners' young son in his toy electric buggy! The site is pretty, rather than spectacular. It is certainly very clean &, as has been noted in other reviews, there is a small duck pond by the hardstandings.

I don't think that one urinal for a site of this size (especially with all the tenters using the site) is nearly enough. Similarly, two cubicles in the gents & three in the ladies is an under resource from our point of view. The showers are pay per use - not very fair if you are a family & it is a hot summer day. Finally, please make sure that you are stocked up with provisions before you arrive - one or two (literally) basics available from the office, but other than that there are no food shops within sight of the site. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Albertandtilly 7 reviews from this member

 This site is right next to Carsington Water.

It was 15 a night for 2 people without hook up but it was worth it. There was loads of open space despite the site being classed as full. We were not all hemmed in like the sites further up the road (pudding room). Lots of children racing about so I prob wouldn't recommend for couples who dislike children doing the things kids do.

Lots of large tents and they had no probs pitching and having enough space around them (Monty's, Ohio's etc.).

A nice dog walk round one of the fields. Very dog friendly.

Loads of drinking water points and really great water pressure. In the washing up area the water was lovely and hot.

Limited facilities ie 2 toilets and 2 showers for each gender. However after speaking to the owners it appears that they could not get planning permission for anything bigger which is a real shame however they were clean and you didn't really have to wait very long.

We will definitely go again a nice friendly welcoming site with plenty of space we really felt like we had our little camp. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Antvtr1000 9 reviews from this member

 Went to this site (2 tents) for 4 nights commencing Whit Bank Holiday Monday.

On arrival had a very friendly welcome from the owners who directed us to our pitch and offered advice (as required), in fact they were great for a chat / local info. Throughout the stay and are always on site / on hand.

The site is set in 2 fields with the majority of pitches being slightly sloped (something to bear in mind!), although all are of a very good size.

Even though it was bank holiday week the site seemed relatively quiet, the owners preferring to keep it this way to ensure space, tranquillity and to avoid over-stretching the facilities (i guess).

There is a central pond feature with the surrounding grassed area left empty for children's play area etc.Overall the site was very relaxed and peaceful.

The toilet / shower block is new and meticulously maintained, albeit small (but copes OK); shower rooms again lovely and warm but small (and 1 to use). Entrance to Toilets also doubles as an information point it seems!

9/10 for the site I think, great owners!

Location is perfect, less than 0.5 miles to join the Carsington water circular trail (which is a lovely 8 mile walk/cycle). Visitor centre is @ 1 mile from site and is nice with good facilities, gift shops and cafe. Fortunately we had superb weather to make the most of it all!.

Out and about here are plenty of pubs /towns within easy reach.

9/10 for location.

Would definitely recommend this site (despite the slightly sloping pitches!). 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wozza5 1 review from this member

 I visited this site for my first time camping experience. 'what a lucky choice of site'. Yes the weather was fantastic which I suppose helped but the site was just what was wanted.

The owners provided a great welcome and escorted to pitch. Gave an explanation of the site and facilities. Delivery of morning papers to your tent was an optional extra, Fresh eggs, bacon were available to buy on site.

The toilet/shower block was exceptionally clean and complimentary toiletries were available for guest use. Outside the toilet block was an undercover area for washing dishes again bowls and wash liquid were available for use.

The weekend of our visit the site was full though definitely not crowded, children had plenty of space to play without interfering with other guests and plenty of space was around every pitch.

My only grievance would be the 1 shower facility which could build up with a larger group also the shower area is quite small if you are trying to shower two young kids with you but fine for one and we managed.

Overall fantastic def 9/10 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WolfLakeWanderer 7 reviews from this member

 Just had a one night stay at this site to test run our new tent before a longer break. They had no trouble finding us an electric pitch at fairly short notice, and as other reviewers had said the owners are very friendly and welcoming.

The location near to Carsington Water is beautiful and surrounded by lovely Derbyshire countryside. We didn't go into Ashbourne but as we are from Derby we know it well anyway, it's a nice town with lots of good pubs and popular with bikers in the summer but it does tend to close down on a Sunday.

The site itself is really nice, it's quiet and sheltered and the pitches are a good size, we fitted our wolf lake seven on with ease.

There is a large part of the site left without pitches for children to play on that is right opposite the pitch we were on so the children could play all over it whilst we kept an eye on them. A small kids playground would make this a 10/10 site.

There is a pond on site but it is securely fenced and in full view so not really an issue. Shower / toilet block is superb and spotless. Beware three day Bearded Theory music festival only a mile away in May though, doesn't finish until 2 in the morning! 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barry + Jo 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a 6 night stay at this wonderful site. On arrival we were made to feel most welcome and Peter, the owner, could not have been more helpful in assisting us choose a pitch. The site felt spacious and all the pitches were generous in size. Although it was not fully booked at the time of our stay we would imagine it would still feel spacious even when full. Plenty of room for the kids to play and run around.

The toilet/shower block was immaculate throughout our entire stay and the free to use toiletries were a nice touch.

It was possible to buy sausages/bacon/eggs from reception (we had some sausages which were very tasty!).

Great location and central to many attractions and places of interest. Lots of leaflets for days out/places to visit were available in the toilet block entrance along with local numbers for doctors/hospitals/vets etc.

We tried one of the local Pubs 'The Knockerdown' whose leaflet was on display but have to say that we were very disappointed by the lack of hospitality and the food was, in our opinion, rather poor.

Would definitely return to this site again and would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alphonso De Lard 24 reviews from this member

 Have to agree with recent reviews. Lovely peaceful site. Paid 19 a night with EHU. Plus 1 x 2 for two showers the next day. Didn't queue for showers but there are only two showers in the mens and likewise in the ladies so the OH informs me. They are also slightly on the small side. They were spotlessly clean though, with lots of pegs to hang clothes, a small stool to sit on, and plenty of shelf space for shampoo, soap etc in the shower itself.

The rubbish bins and recycling bins are right near the entrance to the site - quite a walk if you are pitched near to the back of the site. Small bricks are available for those wanting to use disposable bbqs.

Newspapers are available to order from reception, and are hand delivered to your tent at approx 9am the next morning. Wish more sites did this that's for sure!

Ideally located for Carsington. I only live 20 minutes drive away, for me, it's a perfect site for a short weekend break. Cheap and clean, with friendly owners. 


Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Carsington Fields Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carsington Fields Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Carsington Fields Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55997 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement