Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Carsington Fields Caravan Park And Rally Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Carsington Fields Caravan Park And Rally Site
Millfields Lane
Carsington Water
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3JS
Tel: 01335 372872
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: Easter To Sept

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 92 Reviews
                9/10 from 92 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lozzer 4 reviews from this member

Would like to say what a welcoming and friendly site. The staff were very helpful, very polite and always available if you had a problem.
The site was very clean and well maintained, with a newly built shower block which was kept very clean and with plenty of hot water, you have to pay 1 for a shower which did not bother us a family of 7,as 2 of us would go in together, but when you consider the sites fees this is not a problem.
Also there was sinks for you to do your dishes again with hot water. There is plenty of space for the children to play in. We had a lovely walk to the Carsington Water. The site was very peaceful and relaxing. Overall excellent site with excellent fees, will be using again very soon.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alibongo61 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a weekend at this site with three other families, so we had 4 tents / trailer tent between us. Site owners were friendly and helpful. Pitches were ample and slightly sloping.
When we booked there were not enough electric hook up pitches available, so we opted to go without, which was no hardship. But it did mean we were situated quite a way from the toilet / shower block and close to the road that ran past it, which was occasionally a bit noisy.
The site was very busy with quite a few big parties which meant that the toilet / shower block was running to full capacity and members of our party had to queue several times, even for the loo! There were only 3 loos, 2 small handbasins and 2 showers in a very small area.
Also the pot washing area was rather small and at the side of the toilet block, after the first night we ended up heating water and washing pots etc by the tents.

We know the area quite well, only living about 40 mins away, so were able to take full advantage of the facilities at Carsington Water, which this campsite is ideally situated for. Overall a nice well kept site in a beautiful setting, but a bit lacking in ablution facilities.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris Bull 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here on a showery weekend. This was to our advantage as people had seen the forecast and wimped out making the site quiet for us !

The site is easy to find and a great location to walk to Carsinton Water and its attractions. Site has a large pond which is very well stocked with very greedy fish and a useful dog walk, although the grass can be long so expect a soaking wet dog!

Owners were very friendly and helpful. The toilet block is small but OK when not busy. It's heated and always has hot water. Our gripe is that you had to pay a 1 per shower and the showers were 'cosy' and needed a good scrub. If staying as a group / family I'd advise going at once and making the pound work. Owners should consider revising this charge or perhaps put it in their details. This probably will prevent us going again as it added 2-4 a night to the pitch.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mandipa 5 reviews from this member

Would definitely come back here again - it was quiet (I think everyone else had seen the forecast - terrible weather!), beautiful area, very friendly staff despite being busy organising their own children's birthday party at the same time as running the site!

Toilet block was one of the best I've seen - not even a cobweb let alone a spider, always toilet roll and soap and towels, and complimentary toiletries to use if needed. No shop but not a problem as we were only there for a weekend. Plenty of wildlife - cows in the field behind us, various birds of prey and other birds to spot.

Slightly sloping pitch but plenty of room, sheltered by high hedges and trees. Carsington Water few minute's drive away. Would recommend Cromford Village for a quick look around, very pretty.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 174 reviews from this member

Booked in to this campsite by mistake instead of the caravan club site up the road and was not disappointed with a very friendly welcome to a large site consisting of two large fields, one with a pond. Yes there was some road noise but disappears at night.
Was charged 19/night for two adults with ehu on hardstanding,the downside being the extra 1 for a shower but this perhaps is reflected in the immaculate condition of the toilets.
The site is rather remote with no pub/shop within reasonable walking distance but is good for cyclists with a cycle route along the perimeter of the nearby Carsington water but is steep in parts.
We cycled to the award winning GBG listed Barley Mow in Kirk Ireton where beer is served straight out the barrel,however this pub doesn't do food or open till 7pm. In the eve. And don't expect any music either as this is a 'proper pub' with slate floor, old wooden furniture and a real coal fire.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cariad 7 reviews from this member

We found this site whilst travelling around one weekend looking at all the different sites in the area. We only live 30 minutes away and were looking for somewhere to stay for the May Bank holiday. Everywhere was full but we left our name with this site and sure enough we got a call to say there was a cancellation.

I have never met such friendly people, always willing to help, asking if all is ok and smiling. They even walk you to your pitch.

This site is fab with a great area for children to play ball in the middle of all the pitches. There is a lovely pond that is fenced off and gorgeous friendly ducks that come and sit by you.

Pitches are gently sloping but there are blocks readily available for you to borrow if need be.

Toilets are immaculate with a personal touch of items like deoderant shower gel etc for you to use if you happen to have forgotten them.

There is a Sainsbury's, Co-op and Somerfield in Ashbourne just 5 miles away.

Carsington Water is a 10 min walk from the site with plenty to do.

We like this site so much that we have booked 3 nights for the Whitsun bank holiday.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Spencers69 1 review from this member

First time away in our new to us caravan after years of tenting. Very warm welcome and lots of advice and help on offer. Guided tour of all facilities given (toilets, water points, waste points etc).

Choice of pitches as quiet. Gently sloping pitch picked and van soon levelled. Lovely views and great atmosphere.

Walked across the dam and to the visitor centre (lovely walk) with a buggy, first 400 yds on grass verge of road (easy enough) but otherwise on paths.

We were allowed to stay until 6pm on day of departure as quiet, was a nice touch.

Toilets and showers immaculate.

Bit of road noise but nothing too disturbing - not a busy road, especially late evening and night.

Overall I'd really recommend it. Very nice staff.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Harrysmum 1 review from this member

We visited this campsite last weekend and was very impressed with the set up. On arrival the owner changed our pitches to enable us to be next to our fellow campers. The toilet/shower block was very clean and never over busy. The only downside was that you had to pay 1 for entry to the shower cubicle, although once entry was gained, the shower was very clean and plentiful. There were a number of toiletries suplied by the owner to use which was a nice touch and handy if you had forgotten anything.

The hook up pitches were a good size and well laid out, not over cramped as with many other sites, and although the site was full there was still plenty of open space for games and the kids to run around.

It was a peaceful site within walking distance of Carsington Water, but little else in walking distance. It was 15 minutes drive to Ashbourne and set in beautiful surroundings.

I would definitely visit this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ju6573 2 reviews from this member

We had a great/eventful time, on arrival the staff were very friendly, as if they had known you for years, took you down to where your pitch was, whilst there we ran out of gas so again they told us where to go which was only next door.
Then my son decided to get something stuck up his nose so again they advised us where the medical centre and hospitals, were, after a stay and operation in hospital, we returned to the site, they asked how he was. The Site has lots of room to play for the kids, they even made friends, we visited Gullivers Kingdom a great family park in matlock just a short drive away. We realy enjoyed it (the site not the hospital) that we have booked in for this aug bank holiday

Lets hope this time its not quite so eventful!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hertsteacher 1 review from this member

We spent two nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. My tom tom satnav found the site with no trouble. The pitches are very generous. There is plenty of space of children to play, and there were several games of football while we were there. We looked at the Caravan Club site next door, but preferred this one because of the open aspect and space between pitches. I agree the shower is expensive, but the free hand cream, hairspray etc in the ladies section was a pleasant surprise, and everything was spotlessly clean. The owners are always about and very helpful; when I wanted to know about well dressings in the area, she phoned the local tourist board to find out for me. The walk to Carsington Water was lovely. We will definitely return.

Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4235 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!