Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Carsington Fields Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Carsington Fields Caravan Park > Reviews

Carsington Fields Caravan Park
Millfields Lane
Carsington Water
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3JS
Tel: 01335 372872
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 17/03/2024 to 01/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TimKing 3 reviews from this member

 Although we have visited many camp sites throughout the UK, this was our very first with a caravan! Being brand new to caravanning we were quite apprehensive about our first trip out! I was quite worried about getting it onto the pitch and setting it up! I need not have worried! We were given a very warm and friendly welcome by the owners! They took us to our pitch and then helped us to position the caravan and get things set up. Later came back to check that we were ok and told us to ask if we needed any help at all.

The site is lovely. It is clearly well maintained and very user friendly. It was so peaceful and had a really good feeling about it.

The dog walking field was brilliant for our energetic dog. The water points are well situated and the electric hook up was problem free.

We had constant use of the free wifi and the TV reception was excellent. I'm on O2 and the mobile signal for calls / texting was fine.

We walked the short distance ( which is safe and off road) to Carsington Water visitor centre.

I would most certainly recommend this site to my family and friends and we will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: V70tom 3 reviews from this member

 We been there last weekend.

Very clean, grass cut, large site as such, some Hardstanding, Rally side, big play area for kids and adults ( with into age related games, lol ). A pond in the middle with a big rabbit, ( not for BBQ ).

A big nice Dog Walk Area, Tent side, Ehu available, wifi advertised, near carsington waters ( 1 mile ), all in all very friendly and familiar.

The toilets are very friendly and nice, fresh flowers every day, some stuff they supply you can use, like shower gel, shampoo, deodorant and stuff, never seen this before on a side.

The showers nice and hot, just a bit too small in my opinion.

The WIFI Access is fairly poor, you only get good signal near the office otherwise if you use a ipad or something modern you can't get signal. My old notebook just managed.

I did not have any mobile reception, neither mobile network, but it looks is supported by O2 in this area.

The tent side is also very clean and very space.

Hardstanding are great and big.

Ehu available around the side, even for tents and Rally side.

No you can't swim in the pond!

There is a pen at the dog walking are with chickens, therefore you can buy fresh eggs in the shop,

Also supplies with news papers if you want them, and other basics.

There is a supply of dog poo bags around the caravan side which is very nice from the owners in case

Someone has the excuse he forgot this, lol,

It is quiet located even is next to the main road to carsington waters.

Well, you can hear some tosses speeding there motorbikes up and down on Saturday night, and the lorrys in the morning, but nothing major to complain.

We loved being there, big family / disabled shower room.

Easy walk around the site.

Ashbourne is about 20 minutes away, buxton about 40 minutes.

Unless you want to go shopping most entertainment like biking etc is available at carsington waters.

We definitely coming back as we enjoyed the very warm welcome, friendly owners, helpful advise and nice chats.

People on side are friendly and always chatting with you.

Missus had an issue being woken up by the ducks in the morning but she could hardly tell them off. Ha ha

If you looking for a nice, familiar, friendly and clean side, this is the one.

Just don't expect being on the internet all day. Lol

Tv reception is fairly good on standard caravan top aerials.  


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Max n Dave 4 reviews from this member

 Have been twice to Carsington Fields this year, at the beginning of April, and the back end of May. On both occasions, we have been welcomed by the hosts and made very welcome. It has been an absolute pleasure to stay there.

On our first visit in April, we were on pitch 12 1/2, no 13

!, which was on an incline but with the aid of some bricks that we for bbq use, I managed to get the van level on the legs, with one side up on a levelling ramp. It was also very windy at this part of the site as it is high up. Having studied the other pitches, on our second visit, we asked for pitch 10, down by the pond which was more or less level and sheltered by some trees.

Located more or less next door to Carsington Water reservoir, it was convenient for a wander round there, visitor centre etc. Etc. , an enjoyable few hours and the weather was with us as well. On our visit there we were blessed with a fly past of a DC3 from the Battle Of Britain Memorial Flight. A spectacular sight I must say.

Ashbourne, Matlock, Bakewell and Buxton are all in easy reach and well worth a visit, also Derby is not far away either. If you fancy a trip to Nottingham, this can be done either by car or by public transport, the Red Arrow service runs from Derby bus station every 10 minutes between the two city's.

We tried the Indian takeaway service that is offered by the site which comes from Matlock. We were a little worried that it may be cold on arrival, but in fact it was the opposite, piping hot and very reasonably priced. Can thoroughly recommend this if you like Indian food.

The toilet block is small, but very clean with toiletries provided should you have forgotten yours at no extra cost. A nice touch. We did not use the shower facilities as we use our own in the van, but understand them to be very good.

All in all, this site is great, quiet, with not too many units crammed in like you can find elsewhere. The hosts are very nice, very helpful and genuinely pleased that you have chosen their location to spend your time away.

Not being too far away from this site enables us to get a 'sneaky' weekend away with not too much effort and will be certainly going back again soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ljamfam 33 reviews from this member

 Very nice site kept clean and tidy by very helpful owners who delivered our newspaper direct to our motorhome each morning.

Large field for dog walking which had an enclosed pen for the chickens and goats. Nice to have such a large area to let dogs off the lead.

Pitches slope slightly so you need levelling ramps. Our pitch was at the top so looked down right over the site. Unfortunately weather not good while there but plenty of nice walks around Carsington Reservoir made up for it. It's 8. 5 miles right round - well worth the effort.

Just a couple of down points - the pot wash area is really exposed to wind and rain and has very basic facilities. It needs a fence panel (or something) to give a bit of shelter and a re-think on the small shelf which holds the drainer. It's a major balancing act when standing plates etc to drain.

My only other problem was the size of the showers themselves. I did not mind paying the 1 to use them, it's all reflected in the nightly price, but the size of them are really small. Not easy to keep both hair and clothes dry.

Nice site but only for one visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ALILOU 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here during the Easter break for 4 nights in our touring caravan. There is not a bad word I can say about it! Even though the sign on the gate said that the site was full, there was plenty of free space for the children to run around due to the owners keeping the green space in the middle of the site free of units. There was a lovely little pond (fenced, so safe for kids) and a bunny called Harry and also in an adjoining field there were pigmy goats and chickens. The facilities, although quite small for the size of the site, were immaculate and the owners and employees of the site were very helpful and friendly, always smiling and looking as if they love being there! It's very handy for Carsington Water and lots of places to see quite close to. The only one thing that slightly marred it (which is quite insignificant really) is the hardstanding pitches needed to be packed down a bit more as the gravel was quite deep and loose which caused us a slight problem when trying to level out our van. But otherwise we loved this site and are looking forward to going back as soon as we possibly can! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kittywhisker 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a short break with tourer and tent. It is a beautiful site located close to Carsington Water. Peaceful, Quiet, Clean - the shower rooms are well worth the extra, even down to the complimentary toiletries. The managers, The owners went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and helpful. The tv. And WIFI are a little unpredictable but, the facilities in general are brilliant even down to catering for young children, they seem to have thought of everything and our spaniel particularly enjoyed the walk. Well worth a visit whether in a tent or tourer. We hope to return soon. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daisyroots 2 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our four nights at this campsite and were made very welcome by the owners. As it was early September there were few campers so the camp was very peaceful. The large grounds are beautifully kept with a large fenced pond and feature rock garden.

We enjoyed walking the dog walk - without a dog. There is an orchard, a hen run and a bench from which to admire the view. The views are lovely even though there is no sight of Carsington Water.

As over sixties we enjoy our comforts and chose Carsington Fields for the quality of its washroom facilities (from reviews). We were not disappointed. The heated block was kept immaculately clean. As the camp was quiet we were given the key to the family bathroom - my husband has some mobility problems so this was very helpful.

The office has a supply of basics - milk, bread, eggs, bacon, etc and a freezer is available for ice packs. I was even offered shelf space in a fridge.

We had trips to Carsington Water Visitor Centre, Ashbourne, Ilam Park, Winksworth, Belper, Bakewell and Kedelston Hall - plenty of places to see without going too far.

We came away with happy memories of Derbyshire - and some apples from the orchard! Thanks. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tootncarmen 1 review from this member

 Our review covers a 4 night stay after the August bank holiday, the site was fairly quiet but still a good number of caravans and tents pitched. We were invited to self select a pitch in the top field where we sited close to the hedge on the top. A lovely spot for sun set views over the next few nights. The site is immaculate both the fields and the facilities were very well serviced by the helpful and friendly site managers. Toilets and showers (2 of each) were clean and tidy, paper, handwash and towels all fresh and filled. You need a 1 for a shower - which I think is perfectly acceptable for unlimited hot water and private space - albeit small - not a problem for us. For families there is a shower room available between 11am and 4pm. We didn't have to wait on any day to use the showers or toilets. The location is close for visits for Carsington Water where you can walk or cycle around the lake, without having to take your car the 400 yards up the road to the car park! Washing up facilities were good with unlimited piping hot water and adequate draining space. The site is child friendly with space to run, play, cycle etc without the need for any organised play equipment. And 10/10 to the site managers for friendliness and advice about the locality. Free refreezing of ice packs, lendy bats, balls, wellies. And a small but well stocked and well priced shop. Little bit of road noise in the evening and odd nights of aeroplane noise - but nothing that interfered in our peaceful family break! Looking forward to returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stokies 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this site for 2 nights (26&27/7/13). Excellent site and very clean toilet/shower facilities. Plenty of room for the children to play. We had a thunderstorm with torrential rain and the owners came to each tent to say that they had set up beds in the barn if needed. What absolute excellent service, although we did stay in our tents. Would definitely recommend this site - close to Carsington Waters too! Thank you for a brilliant weekend. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chezney333 1 review from this member

 We stayed here with our children for two nights, we thought it was a lovely site very tidy and clean, toilets block was very clean, 1 for shower but that was ok as was never a queue and was a little basket of shampoo and shower gel etc!

Great dog walk where they can be let off the lead:)

Only thing that let this site down was that there were no play ground for the kids, I think that it would be great to have one as there was plenty of room for one! Would be a great addition so that the adults could relax a bit more 


Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Carsington Fields Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carsington Fields Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Carsington Fields Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57156 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement