Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Carsington Fields Caravan Park And Rally Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Carsington Fields Caravan Park And Rally Site
Millfields Lane
Carsington Water
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3JS
Tel: 01335 372872
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: Easter To Sept

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 92 Reviews
                9/10 from 92 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bmwbabe 2 reviews from this member

We have been going to this site for many years after not being able to use the caravan site next door and have kept going back. The site manager and her husband are so helpful, and keep the site so clean and well maintained it never feels too busy as the central area of the site is always free of campers and is only used for children to play on. The showers are hot and spotless - worth 1. Even when the site is classed as full, the facilities are in no way overstretched.

I have several dogs and the dog walk on site is ideal. I love this site so much and I am sure anyone who tries it will also fall for its charm.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Grahamnshaz 1 review from this member

Just spent week at this lovely campsite were every thing is very well kept showers and toilets were spotless. The dog walk was spot on, you could let them off to run.

The wardens who were very friendly and always went the extra mile to help nothing was to much trouble for them. Would certainly return to this campsite when back in the area.

Short walk to casington water short drive to ashbourne and belper both nice towns

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stanmoor 6 reviews from this member

We had a lovely weekend at this site finding the welcome very warm, the pitches level and large and the site spacious. It is well situated for walks and activities. The nearest pubs need a bit of a trek but are well worth the effort. We did a round walk which took in 3 villages and 3 pubs which was picturesque and not too strenuous.

The site is much less compact than the neighbouring Caravan Club site and much easier to pitch up. The only problem we had was the shower block. A charge of 1 per shower was unwelcome given the standard of the toilet block. Only two showers with a push button operation and even more annoying a sensor on the lights which meant the light kept going off requiring a hand waved about outside the shower to get another 2 minutes of light. I don't think children would cope very well with this set up and a family going for showers would find their bill being bumped up quite a bit. Only 2 showers for such a large site is not enough and we were put off the site by the penny pinching on the showers. Given the choice, because of this, I would choose the CC site next door. A shame really because this is a really friendly well run site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cottagegardener 1 review from this member

We booked into this site fairly last minute over the Bank Hol weekend, lots of other places were full but the site manager couldn't have been kinder on the phone saying that they would 'squeeze us in'. That said, I kind of expected the site to be heaving and not up to much. I was totally wrong. Upon arrival, both the site manager and her husband were friendly and welcoming, it didn't feel too busy and nothing was too much trouble for them. We asked about local facilities (ie - where the pubs were!) and they were open and honest about what was available & what they were like.

They put us in a perfect pitch overlooking a wide open space which we assumed (wrongly) would be full of campers by the end of the day. No, on this site, they keep the whole central area free of campers (they explained that the area was for children to play on. We didn't have ours with us this time, but had they been there, they would have loved it).

The showers were compact but hot and spotless - worth 1 and we didn't have to wait, indeed, considering the site was classed as full, the facilities were in no way overstretched. We couldn't fault the loos and there was even a basket of toiletries in the bathrooms (both the mens & womens) in case you'd forgotten anything.

There were 2 decent pubs within biking distance and the beautiful attractions of Dovedale and Tissington just a 15 minute drive away. All in all, a perfect few days escape and this site is definitely on our list to return to. Also a total bargain at 15 per night.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sharpei1 2 reviews from this member

The site is pretty close to home in Chesterfield and was a good start to our camping career !

It was easy to find and the attendants met us straight away with friendly smiles.

The acreage is good at the site and units are not packed together-we chose our own spot close to a beech hedge slight slope but that was my fault for choosing it !

The camp was peaceful and everyone was mindful of everyone else.

The toilet/shower block is clean with free shower gel/soap etc.

Drinking water taps are sited around the site and hook ups are available.

Price for the pitch was 15 very- reasonable.

We had a lovely night at the site and visited Ashbourne on Saturday which is only a few miles away.

Carsington water is fabulous for walking and cycling round and full water sports facilities are available.

We would recommend this site to others and will definitely be visiting it again !

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tench 10 reviews from this member

This was our first stop on a two week trip in a rented motor home so we were completely green and unsure what to expect. We needn't have worried as the owner greeted us on arrival and helped us with everything we needed including a top up of the water tank.

There is a small shop as part of reception selling a few essentials including the bag of sugar that we had forgotten.

The site itself is neat and tidy and the pitches reasonably level although our pitch was on grass which was a little soft given the recent rain.

There is just the one toilet and shower block and not a very big one at that so it was a bit awkward at busy times. Showers were a 1 a time as well which we did not see on any other sites. All that said they were clean and everything worked.

It is just a short walk to Carsington Water although the weather didn't permit a walk there.

Note that the TV, 3G and phone signal are all very weak at this site so be prepared to find alternative entertainment.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tsanders 1 review from this member

We had a fantastic stay the campsite is in a great location with a short walk to Carsington Waters.

There are plenty of villages around to visit. The wardens were very friendly and met us on arrival.

The pitches had plenty of space and the site was quiet at night. There is a good area for dog walking.

The toilet and wash facilities were very clean and had a basket of essentials if you forget yours.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Em00tjw 1 review from this member

My wife and I stayed here the last weekend they were open last year (2011), and again this weekend.

We find it to be a lovely well thought out site - gravel tracks and hardstandings for tourers and tracks into the camping areas.

We use our own facilities so cannot comment on the showers etc. There are numerous water points around the site and a large dog walk area.

For those that think it's expensive try parking at Carsington Water! 2. 50 for two hours! (I drove the kids down for a treat after tea, you have to pay at all times!)

We have found the wardens and owners to be polite and helpful at all times.

I would recommend for those looking for somewhere fairly quiet

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jo mawn 8 reviews from this member

We all were not impressed at all with this site. It as far too expensive at 23 per night ( with hook up).

The wifi didn't work unless you stood outside the shack (office), the bins were miles away, there were only 2 toilets and the showers had a crazy price of 1 to use!

It didn't seem in the Peak District at all, just on the edge. There was hardly no tv stations and no phone signal for vodaphone, orange, or o2.

There were no views at all, it did have a nice pond and some ducks but that was it. Oh sorry there was a cockerel (didn't see it just heard it) that did not shut up from around 5am each morning!

The warden I do have to say was very nice, and the toilet block was clean and had nice towels and homely touches, but that is all the positives I can think off. We definitely wont be going back there.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Towzer 9 reviews from this member

Just come back from a great long weekend at this site. Owner and Manager were both lovely and very helpful. Toilet block, whilst small and basic, was clean and smart. Site was lovely and flat with spacious pitches and lots of electric hook ups.

Loads of open space for everyone to enjoy. The children all enjoyed biking round and had lots of room to do it. Ducks waddling round, fish pond, free range chicken area and very sizeable dog walking area where the dogs can be off the lead.

Very close to Carsington Waters which is a lovely resevoir with great children's play area and all the trappings one would like for a good day out.

Many other things close by, we had a great day at the farm and playarea at Chatsworth House too. All round super - highly recommend for familys and others alike.

Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4093 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!