Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Carsington Fields Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Carsington Fields Caravan Park > Reviews

Carsington Fields Caravan Park
Millfields Lane
Carsington Water
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3JS
Tel: 01335 372872
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 17/03/2024 to 01/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jo mawn 8 reviews from this member

 We all were not impressed at all with this site. It as far too expensive at 23 per night ( with hook up).

The wifi didn't work unless you stood outside the shack (office), the bins were miles away, there were only 2 toilets and the showers had a crazy price of 1 to use!

It didn't seem in the Peak District at all, just on the edge. There was hardly no tv stations and no phone signal for vodaphone, orange, or o2.

There were no views at all, it did have a nice pond and some ducks but that was it. Oh sorry there was a cockerel (didn't see it just heard it) that did not shut up from around 5am each morning!

The warden I do have to say was very nice, and the toilet block was clean and had nice towels and homely touches, but that is all the positives I can think off. We definitely wont be going back there. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Towzer 9 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a great long weekend at this site. Owner and Manager were both lovely and very helpful. Toilet block, whilst small and basic, was clean and smart. Site was lovely and flat with spacious pitches and lots of electric hook ups.

Loads of open space for everyone to enjoy. The children all enjoyed biking round and had lots of room to do it. Ducks waddling round, fish pond, free range chicken area and very sizeable dog walking area where the dogs can be off the lead.

Very close to Carsington Waters which is a lovely resevoir with great children's play area and all the trappings one would like for a good day out.

Many other things close by, we had a great day at the farm and playarea at Chatsworth House too. All round super - highly recommend for familys and others alike. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizzz 5 reviews from this member

 The owners of this site have really thought of everything and clearly care about their customers. Lots of small details make this site just that bit better than most.

The site itself is very well kept indeed. A butler sink under each water tap, so no mud. A lovely dog walk area where you can let your dogs off the lead. Several types of handwash in the loos. Plus basket of toiletries for your use in case you forget anything. No electrical sockets in the toilet block, but a notice saying a hair dryer is available for use in the office. A fenced in hen area, with chicks and rabbit! A fenced in pond, again with resident mallard and chicks.

The views are stunning.

Plenty of space to play games.

At the top of the site is a gate which takes you onto the lane, across which is a lovely public walk taking you through the woods. Very pretty.

Toilet block kept spotlessly clean. 1 for the showers, but never a queue.

The kids booked on a multi activity day at Carsington Water which was excellent and included wind-surfing, sailing and kayaking. Followed by an hour and a half of windsurfing the next day - 10, great value. They also hire bikes and have a climbing wall. The visitor centre and shops are pretty good too.

My kind of site. Thanks. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clairemce 2 reviews from this member

 We visited for 2 nights at short notice, and were pleased to find a generous size site, which looks well kept. However, we were told to pitch in the camping field as the lawns were to be mowed on the lower field. It was quite exposed and as it was really windy, was difficult to pitch, and a really good walk to the facilities. The toilets were clean as other reviews state, however they were tiny. Sinks squeezed into spare spaces. Showers not big enough to take a child in with you. 3 toilets, 2 sinks and 2 showers are not enough for the size of site. Especially as we were charged 19 per pitch per night without electricity. The bins are by the way in which is a long walk from the camping field with armfuls of recycling. Wouldn't go back as I feel there are much better value for money sites around. There is no play area for children even though there is plenty of room for one.  


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Billy Can 14 reviews from this member

 My family (2 adults, 1 child and a large energetic dog!) have just returned from a wonderful extended weekend break at Carsington Fields. The site is extremely well-planned and well-managed by the resident security-conscious site managers who are friendly and passionate about their site. Nothing is too much trouble - he even rescued my son's estranged rugby ball from the tall nettles beyond the fence with a long rake and fishing keep net!

The site itself consists of two large fields - the lower one mainly for caravans and large tents and the rear, higher field for tents. We were in the rear field which seemed quieter and was closer to the huge dog-walking field which suited us down to the ground. The dog-walking area is fantastic. The dogs can run, lead-free round the mown grass track which skirts a vast expanse of long meadow grass. Half-way round the track is the fenced off 'Happy Hen House', where chickens wander free-range. This was both popular with the children on the site and the dogs who lingered to sniff at the hens! There are two handy dog waste bins along the track.

It is great to have a site that is truly 'dog-friendly'.

The site is beautifully land-scaped, with a duck pond in the centre of the lower field and large area for kids to play ball games, ride their bikes etc.

The shower and toilet facilities consist of a rather tightly packed but immaculately clean combined block on the lower field area. Ladies have 3 loos, two sinks and two showers and the gents 2 cubicles, one urinal, two sinks and two showers. The shower rooms cost a 1 to enter which many people thought was a bit steep. Once inside, the shower is operated by a mechanically timed push button but the flow and temperature are just right. The cubicle and dressing areas are extremely small. There is a mirror and row of hooks and stool for storing items whilst in the shower. What the facilities lack in space, they more than make up for in cleanliness.

The site has a 'quiet after 11pm' policy which was adherred to whilst we were there. There is a free wi-fi hotspot on site but only close to the warden's office. Fires are not permitted but raised barbecues are allowed and bricks are provided for the job. Rubbish is segregated into recycling bins at the entrance to the site which is a long walk from the rear field.

Nearby Dovedale offers pleasant riverside walks with the very busy 'stepping stones' to cross the river. Carsington Water is very close and popular with kids who want to try watersports.

We paid 19 per night. Be aware that this is a site where you provide your own entertainment. If you are looking for a clubhouse, 'holiday park' affair then this is not the site for you. Carsington Fields is a quiet, spacious family orientated camping area. Overall, a very impressive site which we would gladly return to in the future. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sallyv 5 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a 4 night stay at this site. What a gem! I would think nothing is too much trouble for the owners, we haven't met such friendly, chatty owners before.

The site itself had the 'full' sign up, but there was plenty of space all around, with a large area in the middle of the site for games/playing. Even football was allowed!

the dog walk area was awesome, best we have seen yet, loads of room for our 2 whippets to stretch their legs.The charges were reasonable as well, no extra charge for the dogs.

There are only 3 toilets/ 2 showers for each sex, but they were kept nice and clean, and we didn't have to queue at all. The basket of complimentary toiletries was a nice touch, just the job when you've forgotten something.

The site is only 400metres from Carsington Water which has lots of facilities, my children enjoyed the taster sailing sessions they do. Excellent value!

No shop on site, but only 1 mile or so to nearest village which has a general store. Be warned mobile reception seems to be poor on the site, a bonus for me.

Overall we had a great stay, and will certainly return this summer. What more can I say? 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julie296 3 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site many times, and will be visiting again many times more I'm sure. This site is really good for family's, especially groups, as their is so much space to enjoy together for games etc. If pitched around the top of the site then you can see your children playing, or riding their bikes wherever they are on site, while you sit and relax and enjoy the views towards the Reservoir, which is just a short walk away.

Dog exercise area is a large field where they can run freely. The site is very well maintained and thought out, and the owners Pete and Judy will always make you very welcome, and always helpful. Facilities adequate, and maintained very well. Close to many places to visit in a very large tourist area. Highly recommend a stay here. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jackrascals 11 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this lovely Site - having booked a last minute weekend visit. Though the entrance to the Site is a little narrow - it opens up into a lovely parkland with generous open spaces. Clearly a lot of thought put into the landscaping of the park plus a great dog walking area.

The resident Warden was genuinely welcoming and very helpful throughout our short stay. We visited both the Caravan Club Site next door and the Camping and Caravanning Site just outside of Ashbourne to check them out but happily returned to this lovely retreat, knowing that we had made the best choice. Highly recommended and we will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kevnik0 6 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were shown to a hard standing pitch (note there is little or no grass around these pitches - it's like being in the middle of a car park!) which wasn't big enough for our unit and there was an awful stench coming from behind the pitch.

Luckily when we asked to be moved they found us a grass pitch further up the site. Staff certainly are very friendly and helpful. The site grew on us over the course of the week - the grass pitches are wide and the main field overlooks the large 'play' area, with everyone pitched around the outside of the site. This gives a very open and spacious feel.

Toilets facilities are small but we understand the owners can't get planning permission for anything bigger. Showers should be free! The newspaper delivery by the little boy was a nice touch, as was the ice cream van(weekends)and fish and chip van (fridays eve).

A local indian restaurant will deliver to the site and we even saw someone have a sainsbury's delivery. The site would definitely benefit from a small provisions shop.

We feel the site is overpriced. We even had to pay for our 22 month old daughter who couldn't use any facilities anyway!

A very good pub 5 minutes drive away and overlooking Carsington Water is The Knockerdown Inn. A typical country pub, serving meals (Fridays is 2 steaks for 10). It has a good children's play area and a few animals. They also have a field for tents and caravans!

Places to visit with young children - Matlock Town Park and Chatsworth House Farmyard & Adventure Playground. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mumidebba 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely relaxing weekend at this site.

The owners are very welcoming and friendly. We arrived Friday lunch and were told we could pitch anywhere we wanted (non elec)

There were a few more arrivals Fri evening, but the site was by no means busy. A few more people arrived Saturday, but the site has a policy of not overcrowding, so the tents were still spaced out around the edges of the fields with loads of room in the middle for kids to play.

The toilet facilities have already been mentioned, but we never really witnessed any amount of queueing, they were just a bit busy. Always very clean.

There isn't really any facilities here apart from the loos/showers, the office which sold sausages/bacon and you could get a paper, and a dog run - a huge field for them to run round. This is perfectly adequate for us, as we like it quiet. The site was quiet after 10.30pm, but then people were getting up at about 7.30am - ok for families I guess.

We will definitely return next year. 


Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Carsington Fields Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carsington Fields Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Carsington Fields Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


56407 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement