Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gillside Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Gillside Farm
Glenridding
(lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0QQ
Tel: 017684 82346
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Flysplat 1 review from this member

This is a simple site for seasoned backpackers and families alike.

Th facilities (toilets & showers) are always clean. The lady at the farmhouse sells a few essentials like milk but the village shop is just a short walk away.

I prefer to pitch at the top of the hill by the house. It's usually quieter there.

Ideally situated for steamers & walks round Ullswater or for an assault on Helvellyn.

I have returned at least once a year for over 15 years.

Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Etherbeliever 5 reviews from this member

Firstly the location is fantastic. Helvellyn on the doorstep and the amenities of Glenridding a short but lovely stroll away. We took a reasonable amount of food with us so only needed to stock up on essentials. If you're into cycling and walking then this is a really good base for that. The local pub serves fairly good pub food and is just down the road.

The site itself is I suppose a bit underwhelming. We felt that if it were in a less desirable location it wouldn't do well. The facilities are dated but actually very clean. Constantly trying to find 20p pieces for the shower is a frustration. It's a bit last century.

We'd booked ahead for our pitch with electricity. When we arrived we discovered that not all pitches are born equal yet the price is. The main motorhome/caravan pitches are large, spacious and level. However there are three or four other pitches by the stream that are small and not that level. Being honest we didn't even think they were proper pitches because we couldn't believe that we could fit the van onto them.

The pitches are not pre allocated so when we arrived at around 15:30 we only had a choice of the two half sized pitches wedged into the trees by the Stream. Obviously you can change pitches later in your stay but really it's probably a faff one could do without. My final gripe is that there isn't a designated grey water drop for motorhomes. We lifted a man hole cover near the static vans to drop our water having asked the reception. I suspect others wouldn't go to the trouble and would drop it on the roads from the campsite or worse still on the pitches.

So in summary an adequate site, just get there early, enjoy the surroundings and don't expect too much from the site!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Patti+daz 3 reviews from this member

Stayed in static for one week as attending a wedding at Inn On Lake. Caravan was spotless and modern with everything you need. We were lucky to have a van with river running at the back. When looking on website I did not expect caravan to be so nice and was very pleasantly surprised. Great site and location. Just short walk from pubs etc. We would definitely stay again. Did not use site facilities so cannot rate. Did not have kids but there were lots of kids in tent field.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Markpye 5 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site in a delightful setting. Lake Ullswater and the villages of Glenridding and Patterdale are a short stroll away.

The site itself is immaculate as are the showers/toilets. There is a pot wash and plenty of piping hot water. Showers are 20p.

Leisurely climbs from site include Glenridding Dodd, Sheffield Pike and Birkhouse Moor.

Striding Edge on Helvellyn will be the main attraction for many visitors and this together with many other Wainwright tops are accessible directly from the site.

I paid a reasonable 9 for a night in my campervan.

I find it impossible to find fault with Gillside - almost! (I feel that due to its location and the fact that many campers will be headed for the fells it is a serious failing that there is no access to Mountain Weather Information. I spoke to a fellow camper who had enquired and been directed to the local tourist information centre - a short walk away - but sadly they too were unable to provide specific Mountain Weather information. )

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joolieboole 1 review from this member

Great location for hillwalking and near to village amenities but far enough away for comfort and seclusion. Right next to a lovely river. Staff very friendly and helpful. Toilet/shower block basic but fine and very clean.

Ground was a bit stony but managed to get pegs in. Lovely views to the hills.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lovesoutdoors 3 reviews from this member

We have been going to this campsite for a few years now and it never fails to wow us.

The location is fantastic with mountain views all around it.

The owners are extremely pleasant - you can get fresh eggs and milk on site and a lovely fresh bacon and egg butty in the morning from a butty van on site.

The village is just a few minuites walk away with a couple of nice pubs that also serve good food.

As we do not have children I cannot personally rate it but always lots of children camping there.

My favourite campsite and will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 493 reviews from this member

Location:

Brilliant setting: on the Helvellyn trail, 10 minutes from Ullswater and a great pub in the doorstep. Beautiful scenery.

Facilities:

They are a little dated but always kept clean. The 20p showers are always hit and powerful.

Prices: good value for high season at 17 for 2 people.

Excellent site!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: HayLee 12 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site to break up the journey home from Scotland. Location can't be beaten. 10 minute riverside walk into Glenridding village. Lots of walks directly from the site. The site facilities are quite basic but clean. The views from the site are not great as it is surrounded by trees. Unfortunately for us there was a rather noisy group staying in a couple of the statics which did spoil it a bit but not the sites fault. Glenridding is a beautiful place and we would return to this site but not on a bank holiday or school holidays.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: James breslin 3 reviews from this member

This is our first visit to gillside. What a beautiful location it has. The stream is so pretty. The toilets are basic and kept running out of toilet roll. The water is hot hot hot but the hand dryers are cold cold cold. The area is second to none we believe. So beautiful. Lots of walks. Local shops, pub dog friendly. And they do a cracking breakfast sat, sun morning. See you very soon gillside. And thank you

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kitana8 5 reviews from this member

Me and the wife went here for good friday weekend. Stayed 2 nights and was amazing!

Weather was amazing during the day which was a suprise as I got burnt but froze during the night.

Anyway on to the camp site, staff were very friendly and helpful especially when leaving as someone left the car light on in the car (not going to say who. Wife!) and the battery was dead and they were happy to provide jump leads.

It's a working farm and although we don't have kids yet I believe it would be great, there was lots of baby lambs around.

Prices - as no one on here doesn't seem to mention. 7. 50 per person and 1 per tent, 1 per car and if you have a dog that's an extra quid. I won't say it's the cheapest but worth it.

Facilities were really clean which personally I was quite suprised. 20p for a shower although if you want a longer one best to take 40p. Water was hot and no issues but then wasn't overcrowded.

Location is good, although the pubs near by aren't the cheapest but then it's a holiday so tend to spend a little extra. Would definitely recommend renting a boat in glenridding but then I am biased and have been coming here since I was a kid.

We would definitely visit again and plan to in the near future.

Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


260 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019